The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Reflections
Review(s): 32

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2006-10-10
Reviewid: 145655Chapter: 1
Oh, I really like this story! I am not a fan of R/T, though I love each character separately, and I realize it is canon. I'm so glad you didn't succumb to a temptation to include flirtation or overt sexual tension here. The pain of losing Sirius is still too raw, and it would have seemed dishonest at this point in time. I loved Tonks' voice in this - stubborn and tough and in pain, but clearly vulnerable as well. And I loved your explanation for her clumsiness. Very nicely done!!

Reviewer: pickledishkillerDate: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137453Chapter: 1
Interesting way of mourning. Poor Leah.

Reviewer: TraceyDate: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125399Chapter: 1
You've got me hooked now. What a somber mood, too, but I've been drawn into your world completely...

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119529Chapter: 1
Very, very good. Thanks.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2005-04-05
Reviewid: 118690Chapter: 1
You have a knack for making me cry. I read this once, it seems like it was at least a year ago, and I loved it so much that I remembered quotes from it without meaning to, and I've thought about this story countless times, comparing it to everyday life. I only read it the once, and I still remembered it almost perfectly. Nearly word for word. You are truly gifted to be able to leave such an impression from a single encounter. Keep it up.

Reviewer: philippaDate: 2005-01-15
Reviewid: 110990Chapter: 1
This is stunning. Absolutely brilliant. I love it!

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79790Chapter: 1
Wow. Just rereading this, and again, wow. You've fleshed out Tonks' character so well, and the hair idea? Perfect. And a GREAT ending. Just -- wow.

Reviewer: MeDate: 2004-04-09
Reviewid: 77837Chapter: 1
Wow... that was really nifty... and thouching... and thoughtful... *applause*

Reviewer: LHDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77779Chapter: 1
I really like the depth you put into Tonks your characterazion was brillant as well

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77547Chapter: 1
That was really interesting, thanks. I always wonder to myself whether Tonks knows how she naturally looks. Tying it in with her clumsiness was a great idea.

*pokes Remus for opening his big mouth*

Reviewer: azaleaDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77530Chapter: 1
That was really beautiful. So sad yet with a touch of hope at the end. When you read you really feel the melancholy-- it takes a good writer to be able to do that.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77482Chapter: 1
i just love this story, it's a great look into what's behind the Tonks we see in cannon. i've read this before, and i'm sure i'll keep reading it later. thank you.

Reviewer: TerriDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77427Chapter: 1
Ohhh, that was so sad. I very rarely cry when I'm reading fanfic, but this one made me tear up. Really moving, and beautifully written.

Reviewer: Loriel ErisDate: 2004-03-05
Reviewid: 73219Chapter: 1
This is perfect, so poignant. It's a fantastic, emtional piece that gives us insight into Tonks, and we a little of Remus too.

This line:

<<But it's much harder to become acquainted with that fact when I'd only recently made myself believe he wasn't going to leave again.">>

almost had me sobbing,

I loved how you protratyed Tonks, and all the little details you included.

Loriel

Reviewer: Livia LianaDate: 2004-02-13
Reviewid: 70503Chapter: 1
Lovely story. As was said, doesn't necessarily fit canon, but it's so interesting I don't really mind. It's always a treat to find a thorough investigation of an idea like this.

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68639Chapter: 1
Oh! Such a great story. The last line brought tears to my eyes. Thanks for that very poignent look into Tonks' head.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-01-26
Reviewid: 68453Chapter: 1
There’s only one word for this story: powerful. You see a side of Tonks that most of us don’t which makes the impact of her POV so much more commanding. I really like her back story explaining why she looks the way she does, but I also like what she says about letting others see Sirius through her natural looks. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68232Chapter: 1
Sweet and sad. I like your take on Tonks and why she wears the hair and faces that she does. Excellent work.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68218Chapter: 1
poignant and dead-on.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: lindsayDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68132Chapter: 1
sniff, nice corrilation, i like your look into Tonk's soul, she's one of my favorates as well, actually so is lupin, this one was a double treat.

Reviewer: R.J. AndersonDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68128Chapter: 1
This was rec'd to me by someone, and I am so very glad she did. A lovely, poignant story, deftly written -- mind you, I have to confess that I don't think the Metamorphmagus power is learnable in the way the Animagus transformation is, nor do I think Tonks would use her power as freely and often as she does (making different noses for people to laugh at, for instance) if it hurt as much as you describe. But still, it's an intriguing premise, and the story's well-executed. Thanks for writing it.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68075Chapter: 1
touching

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68049Chapter: 1
This is amazing--you've taken a character whom JKR herself seems to have used for comic relief, and invested her with surprising depth and seriousness. You've made her acute, observant, sardonic--it's absolutely believable that this is the voice of an Auror, of a woman who's no stranger to loss. I've never read a first-person story written from Tonks's POV, but from that very first sentence I couldn't imagine her sounding any other way. And your explanation of Tonks's clumsiness is nothing short of brilliant: the flip side of her special ability is that she lacks consciousness of the *gestalt* of her own body, because she has no single, consistent way of *being in her skin*. You've made it clear that there's more to being a Metamorphmagus than kewl super-speshul powers--there's also the sheer strangeness of knowing that she's one of only three in her generation, an isolation that's surprisingly like Remus's, only more so.

I love the way Remus keeps seeing resemblances to Sirius in Tonks's face, her turn of phrase, her gestures...and yet she and Remus both bear their grief similarly--they're restrained, dry and precise in their speech. You bring their sadness out, not in weepy rhetoric but in their small observations: that Sirius would have liked hearing Tonks say "peachy," for instance. And what does it say of Tonks that once again she's taking on (or letting emerge) the characteristics of someone she has lost?--first it was Leah, now it's Sirius. "I see almost all of the people my cousin used to see, and through me, they see him." This is lovely--a tribute, an act of love, maybe a small act of defiance too--as if to keep hold of the dead.

The one tiny nitpick I can think of is that it's hard to believe that Tonks would have tried on different noses for Ginny's amusement, as she did in OotP, if the changes were painful. As you've drawn her, she seems much more likely to say "Enough of that!" But this is really a small complaint to make about a story that is not only an exemplary fanfic, but simply a fantastic short story.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68023Chapter: 1
wow, i wanna go cry now... that was wonderful

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68007Chapter: 1
Well done! This is powerfully and beautifully written. For all the talk there is of Tonks on various boards, I don't think I've ever stopped to actually look into her as a person or even wonder about her reaction to Sirius's death. But you've brought all of that and more home with this piece that just... sings. You have a lovely, conversational tone that flows so well and describes so wonderfully I could watch this all as if it had been a film.

And you know how to pack an emotional punch:

>>“Yes,” he said carefully. “I do. But it’s much harder to become acquainted with that fact when I’d only recently made myself believe he wasn’t going to leave again.”>>

My eyes watered.

Lovely. Down to the last line.

Reviewer: US HP fanDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67986Chapter: 1
Great Tonks story! Never really thought about her transformations being painful. Great job!

Reviewer: DexDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67983Chapter: 1
Very nice. Excellent background and character on Tonks. Of course, after I finished it, I thought of how much I'd like to see a sequel with Remus and Tonks consoling each other, but I'm a fluff-nut. :-) Great work--keep it up!

Reviewer: ME!Date: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67959Chapter: 1
brilliant. i was almost crying at the end. just brilliant.

Reviewer: Sergeant MajoretteDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67949Chapter: 1
Nice Tonks. She's probably my least favorite character, but you gave her dimension; I especially like that you gave her a reason for being clumsy.

Reviewer: Luthien TinuvielDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67932Chapter: 1
That was fantastic! Please write some more stuff! I liked hearing Tonk's point of view, especially after Sirius's death...

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67925Chapter: 1
I always had a peculiar look at my face at the whole "Come and bite me in the ass" thing, lol. I went "Does-she-know-who-she's-talking-to?!"

:) But it made me cry, which is good, and I really would love to see Tonks like that, lol.

Reviewer: TalynDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67901Chapter: 1
Wow. I absolutely love this story, and that little glimpse into Tonks' background was unbelievable. This is one of the best one-shots I've read in a long time!

Thanks for posting it!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --