The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Get Yer Gun
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: *-Date: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134409Chapter: 1
finger broke
forgot how to use a computer
A chance to give up again

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104707Chapter: 1
You are extremely cruel, aren't you, leaving off such a wonderful story just like that. I even ventured into fictionally looking for your fic. (The link was faulty - actually the links for all your stories were...) PLEASE continue. I've been waiting for this story to update since last year, when I first read this prologue.

Reviewer: Lady LongbottomDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72179Chapter: 1
I was really intrigued by your premise. It's great getting insight into some of the more minor characters. I can really feel Moody's anger when he's talking about how most wizards just don't care. It really helps to see where he's coming from later in life.

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68503Chapter: 1
Wow - this is the first fanfic that I have read that has been from Moody's point of view. This is a very powerful piece. I haven't actually spent too much time thinking about the two simultaneous wars, but I like the idea that you made Moody pay attention to the larger issue. The wizarding world will sort itself out. Moody focused on the human theatre of war. All people are people, and the wizards in the Potterverse that go on about purebloods are honestly not better than Nazis. It is a powerful link, and I'm glad you made it.

I thank you for creating this thinking piece.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-01-26
Reviewid: 68488Chapter: 1
I really like the background you have given for Moody's character! I think you have captured his emotions and reasoning quite well, and have given a very plausible reason for his disfigurements. (One quick snippet, though. I thought he had both eyes in book 4 during Crouch Jr.'s trial in the pensieve? True or not, I like this version.) Few people have taken on the Grindelwald era, and this is the first I have seen dealing with WWII. I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68239Chapter: 1
I love WWII stories and this one had me hooked from the start. Your character development is excellent; I love the Alastor you have created. What we know of him in canon, the irrascible old Auror, and given him a past to be proud of. I look forward to more chapters.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68198Chapter: 1
Bravo! When I read your summary, I was immediately intrigued by your premise. Yes, it makes sense to place Grindelwald within the context of World War II, and Moody is the perfect character with which to explore this connection. I love how he risked his neck to fight a Muggle war without the use of magic.

My only quibble is your overuse of commas. For example, you don't a comma before the subordinating conjunction "because".

Commas aside, I very much look forward to reading the rest of your story. Please update often.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68194Chapter: 1
Great story. You write Moody exceptionally well. I have always kind of wondered what wizards did when Muggles had their wars, and I am glad to see that someone else has given some thought to the subject.

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68159Chapter: 1
Wow. This is really, really amazing. You got Moody so...I've never seen him so well done. And as a young man. This fits so perfectly with what he is to become. The bravery and the paranoia, the need to protect the world but also a great mistrust of it. Very, very well done. I'll be looking forward to any future stories you decide to post here.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --