The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dumbledore's Socks
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-18
Reviewid: 137361Chapter: 1
Brilliant.-- Bloody Brilliant.

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129465Chapter: 1
WIKEDD!!!!!BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: KatDate: 2004-12-24
Reviewid: 108518Chapter: 1
Rainy, I was under the assumption this was about socks like the fuzzy one's i gave Maria last week. Any ways good story as ussual, you need to post more... I know I've read more stories bout hp by you that you have yet to bother to post... stop writing your series and write more fanfics that have no use other then the free enjoyment of the readers. I am probs being mean again...
~Kat

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89803Chapter: 1
Aussome

Reviewer: SuzanneDate: 2004-02-04
Reviewid: 69409Chapter: 1
Excellent story. I loved this. Very well written and interesting, a little angsty but not sad. I really liked the conversation between Dumbledore and the mirror. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-02-04
Reviewid: 69408Chapter: 1
Great job. Makes me wonder just what Dumbledore saw in the mirror. Keep up the writing! <><

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68867Chapter: 1
Wow! This is really a wonderfully written and conceived story. Your style is very simple, yet lyrical, and I love your version of Dumbledore's deepest desires. The most interesting part, though, was your characterization of the mirror. I thought it was really engaging to create a being sentient yet skimming below true feeling, lacking freedom - and hence responsibility - yet still capable of mercy. Fantastic job! The one typo I noticed was the word "admitably." I think "admittedly" is the correct usage, but I could be wrong. In any case, thanks so much for a lovely story. I hope you'll post more!

Reviewer: RainydaieDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68795Chapter: 1
In response to babydraggon - in PS/SS, it was noted that Dumbledore worked with Flamel on alchemy. That was where Harry had heard his name before, remember? I assume that Dumbledore is quite old already (i think Rowling said 150 or 175, must check) and that Flamel had already created the Stone, which enabled him to live so long. Alchemy is not just the creation of the Philosopher's Stone, but the process of turning lead or another element into gold. Flamel, perhaps knowing that the Stone could not produce so much gold, was (I assume) working on another method with Dumbledore when they got to know each other. Thanks to everybody for their comments - I do have another story coming up. Luck to all!

Reviewer: BabyDraggonDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68748Chapter: 1
I loved the story, but one thing didn't make sence to me. Nicholas Flamel was very old already by the time that Dumbledore was a young man. Dumbledore would not have worked on the creation with him. The sone must have already have existed, otherwise Nicholas would have been dead for years before Dumbledore was born.

Reviewer: shimmerDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68735Chapter: 1
love it. exceptional. well balanced. more please. :-)

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68716Chapter: 1
never thought about it before, cool story very well done, too bad Dumbledore can never get his socks, but I guess life would be pretty pointless if he did

Reviewer: Alethia SuDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68683Chapter: 1
The Mirror's inscription is actually wohsi, not woshi, but it's a minor detail. Great story!

Reviewer: fawkes101Date: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68629Chapter: 1
Wow! That's such an original way of the Stone getting into the mirror. I never really thought about how it got there... this makes me think

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68616Chapter: 1
oooooh I never thought of how Dumbledore got the stone in the mirror. Nice Fic!

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68608Chapter: 1
Very well done! I like the way you ended it since ending with a smile is always better thana frown. Please give us more!

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68605Chapter: 1
Hmm, interesting idea about the mirror having a personality and intelligence. Also interesting that Albus was tempted to use the stone but 'his will is stronger than his want.' Goos job and I hope you write more.

Reviewer: dreamerDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68593Chapter: 1
What does he want?

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68575Chapter: 1
This is a great missing moment story. I love the idea of the Mirror having a personality and voice of its own. You did a great job characterizing Dumbledore. My favorite lines:

>>Its voice was like violins and cellos, deep and high and all between.<<

Lovely auditory imagery here - I can hear the sound it would make from your description!

>>But my will is stronger than my want.<<

Yes, the essence of Dumbledore here! Well worded.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68574Chapter: 1
This is a nice look at what probably happened between Dumbledore and the Mirror. You've done a credible job and I enjoyed reading it.

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68552Chapter: 1
Wow . . .just wow. That was wonderful. I loved the mirror's personality and its own tortures about not really being alive. Well done.

Reviewer: Frank RawlandDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68548Chapter: 1
Well done.

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68529Chapter: 1
Excellent concept! I had never thought of the mirror being greed before, but if fits. It is difficult to write a good Dumbledore, but I think you've accomplished it.

And I can't believe you ended with "Minerva was still snoring."

I'm laughing right now, but somehow, it just fits. :)

~Ella

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --