The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Calling the Cards
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: TonyDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93573Chapter: 1
That was superb!
Ok, i gotta stop laughing now...

Please, write a sequel!!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91899Chapter: 1
Ugh... I'm not liking Ginny tonight.. first she walks in on Steppenwolfs strip poker game, then yours, just when its getting hot too! lol

I could see Hermione doing it :D

Good story

Reviewer: Katie BarrynDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79618Chapter: 1
This is great! I can't wait to hear more!

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74650Chapter: 1
That was fantastic!!!

All the little details that made me giggle (Ron buying Hermione lion gloves that Growl, lol!!!). I really anjoyed reading that, you write Ron and Hermione very realistically.....even if I can't imagine JK writing about the two of them playing strip poker, you made it believable!

Reviewer: *LuNa LoVeGoOd*Date: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69731Chapter: 1
Hilarious!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-02-03
Reviewid: 69318Chapter: 1
OH MI GOD> tis brilliant mna. BRILLIANT ! but im dying here. ur chapter says default not chapter 1 .. does that mean youre not putting up anymore ? i'd positively DIe if you didnt.

ok, maybe im overdoing it on the melodramatics but really.. WHERE@S the story ? and the dialogue and stuff was really really good i think. hehehehe

****** my favourite part*****
“What?” Ginny said, looking at the pillow. Then, to Ron’s great disgust, Ginny tugged at the Hogwarts symbol, and took hold of Hermione’s tie.

Ron gaped at the tie that Ginny was holding… it certainly was not his…. He could never tie a knot that neatly… his brain clicked over as Ginny gave him a confused stare.

“Ohh…. There it is… I’ve been looking for my tie EVERYWHERE.” Ron didn’t think he sounded to convincing, obviously Ginny didn’t either.

“But…. I thought you just woke up….” Ginny said looking around. “And where are the rest of your clothes anyway?”

Ron was all out of ideas; he lunged across the table, reaching out for the tie. A shocked Ginny looked at a number of things in quick succession. First a shirtless Ron, then the cards on the table, then the tie that she was still grasping, to Hermione’s bag in the corner, then Ron, then the cards, then the tie, the bag, then Ron…. Then the staircase… A wide smile crept across Ginny’s face.

“Positive you didn’t hear anything last night?” she said, eyes suddenly wide open and staring at a now very red Ron.

Ron just looked fixedly at Ginny’s face.

“Well, all I can say Ronniekins …” she said, getting up of the couch, “Is that you sure can call them!”

Ginny laughed as she threw the tie at a purely horrified Ron as she walked up the staircase, heading straight for Hermione’s room. Ginny just simply had to hear this story!

Reviewer: GeorgiaDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69230Chapter: 1
Thankyou for the reveiws! I know Hermione was a bit OOC, but i thought that the idea wouldn't work half as well with Ginny and Harry! You keep reveiwing and i'll keep writting!

Reviewer: MayDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69216Chapter: 1
Its a cute story but Hermione seemed a little out of character. I can't imagine her giggling so much or doing somthing just because she wants to "let her hair down". Remember, its the others who all want her to let her hair down and I don't think she would really try to conform to that. She's a stronger character than that...

Reviewer: BeastyDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69208Chapter: 1
Hahahaha.. that was really cute. It was original.. I liked it alot.

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69171Chapter: 1
Interesting...very interesting indeed...how two people can submit their own strip poker stories at the exact same time...(if you don't know what I'm talking about, look up Stepp's story).

Great story, quite amusing. There were a couple typos and such, but still good.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69143Chapter: 1
LOL! way too cute!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69105Chapter: 1
I don't know the first thing about poker, but this was fun, although a little unlikely! I liked Harry's exit right at the beginning! Just one thought, though - aren't Ron's jumpers usually maroon? (Harry gets green ones to match his eyes, I believe!). Actually, when is this taking place? In the fifth year they were at Grimmauld Place, and is sixth year allowed? And yet Hermione's a prefect ...

I really did enjoy this, honestly, but I think it could just do with a bit of checking and tidying up. Hope you don't mind me saying that.

Reviewer: angelofbooxDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69100Chapter: 1
aaaaah! no! write more! write more dammit!

Reviewer: LizzieluDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69094Chapter: 1
Ahahaha! The tension and nervousness that you had going between Ron and Hermione was absolutely brilliant! Ginny's reaction was perfect. Wonderful job, really great fic! I hope you write a sequel, hearing Hermione and Ginny's talk would be very amusing!

Lizzielu

Reviewer: ArtemisDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69093Chapter: 1
"Inside the package was a pair of soft, woolen mittens in an attractive navy, with the Gryfindor emblem splashed across in red and gold. The lion on the emblem let out a soft growl and winked at Hermione.

Hermione shoved them on. She let out a slight moan of frustration, as they seemed too big for her. However, as she gazed at her hands, the gloves shrunk to fit the size of her hand perfectly."
I have to say, those mittens looks so adorable in my mind. Very cute...
The plot was interesting...even though I have no idea how Poker works, I was fascinated as they went through their game. And the end was too hilarious. Poor Ron.
My only pick would be that I highly doubt Hermione would ever play strip poker - no matter how rebellious she felt. It's a bit OC...
Nevertheless, everything else was very enjoyable.

Artemis

Reviewer: fawkes101Date: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69063Chapter: 1
Strip Poker in Gryffindor, Ron, Hermione-- best combo
great job!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69032Chapter: 1
Very cute. Very fluffy. I could see some of this happening jsut as you write it. I think there are some alternative words and phrases you could use in some spots, but the idea and characters are very well done.

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: lineDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69009Chapter: 1
I Loved it!!
it was gorgeous!!!
and I would love to read more.....
would you please write more? just a little bit?
:D
~~Line

Reviewer: DDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 69006Chapter: 1
Ok, can I just say that this is good! THis is awesome do more please!

Reviewer: LutheRonDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68956Chapter: 1
That was so good! I couldn't stop laughing about the strip poker! VERY CUTE!

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68950Chapter: 1
There were some grammar mistakes like too when it's supposed to be to and things like that.

This was entertaining though Hermione was slightly OoC. Good job.

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68901Chapter: 1
Cute story, I really liked Ginny's reaction at the end. I had trouble believing that Ron and Hermione would play a game of strip poker though, felt a bit OOC, Canon Ron and Hermione would probably never risk it, for fear of being caught. I also can't see Hermione gushing and saying GORGEOUS. I don't know why, but it kind of scares me actually.

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68893Chapter: 1
Heheheh. That was fun. :~) I wanted to see what happened next.

Reviewer: Dina C.Date: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68876Chapter: 1
Fun story! I think a rematch is in order. Maybe Ron could challenge her to another game of poker?? Keep writing!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --