The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 214

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-10-17
Reviewid: 145772Chapter: 17
Well thought out and written, Quite enjoyable, and very very funny at times. A wonderful read. Thank You.
There is also a slight unfinished feeling - Is there more?

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-07-31
Reviewid: 144581Chapter: 17
You Promised: Rest assured, for those of you who decide to continue reading, some time in the very distant future I will complete this story.

Well... That time is here. What are you goimg to do?

Reviewer: knovakDate: 2006-03-19
Reviewid: 141077Chapter: 1
I'm back to beg again for the next installment. :) I enjoy your stories so much and check regularly for an update. Please!!!

Reviewer: DalfDate: 2005-11-26
Reviewid: 136341Chapter: 17
Good chapter. I liked the explination about Snape and the truth potion and not being able to use occlmency.

I do wonder why he did not simply cast scorgfy to clean himself after being in the pig pen. Him being a wizzard and all. Ginny used it to clean stink sap off of everyone in book 5.

Mary FLoyd is obviously not what she seems, though it strieks me as falst that a child who truly wanted to go home would not even be allowed to comunicate with her parents. Much less leave.

Reviewer: HedwigDate: 2005-11-16
Reviewid: 135932Chapter: 17
I very glad that you are continuing with this story. It is much too good to just leave it!
Great chapter! I am looking forward to the next one!

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2005-11-12
Reviewid: 135809Chapter: 17
Oh! It's so wonderful to see this story active again!!! An absolute delight to read, as always. :~D

Reviewer: ZsenyaDate: 2005-11-10
Reviewid: 135769Chapter: 1
test

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2005-11-05
Reviewid: 135718Chapter: 17
You seem to being having an unreasonable amount of fun torturing Snape. Having him detail his boyhood fantasies about Narcissa while under Veritaserum was hilarious. Glad to see an update to this story.

Reviewer: SilverthreadsDate: 2005-11-05
Reviewid: 135698Chapter: 17
Excellent chapter, especially Severus going on about Narcissa's attributes. Hahahaha!

Reviewer: Kathi NovakDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128426Chapter: 16
Please, please, please continue with your story. I've enjoyed it so much!

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 125999Chapter: 15
Clad in alarmingly shiny black robes with a full-length cape, Professor Snape stood in the doorway sneering. Harry’s first thought was that he looked like an arch-villain from one of Dudley’s superhero comics. This impression was reinforced by the fact that smoke seemed to be pouring out of Snape’s ankles.

"A mad, inexplicable folly." "A bit like your dress robes, sir." HA! I really want a drawing of Snape in those robes now.

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 125996Chapter: 14
“Miss Patil,” Snape snapped, all the while taking long strides towards Filch, “remove that monstrosity from your head. Five points from Gryffindor, for disgracing your school by dressing like a Fwooper.” --*screams with laughter*

I know this sounds odd, but I like your use of inverted sentence structure:
Past rows of crooked houses with gaudy window boxes Snape trudged....
Nowhere that he searched could he find Sybill Trelawney.

Molly Weasley is a mailbox!! I like it!
Jo in the Hog's Head, writing Harry Potter... I like that too, very much. Thanks for writing!

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 125994Chapter: 12
“It’s so unfair! The only half-blood we’ve got is Millie, and she’s half hag!”
HA!

Can't wait to find out what's the real deal with that plant.

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 125992Chapter: 10
So FUNNY! Plot also coming along nicely! I like Snape. Some favorite lines:
He was on the verge of reminding her that the reason her cup had no tealeaves was because she had filled it with sherry.

“You don’t have house-elves at home?” “We don’t have any horrible things at my home, sir.”

I like Snape and the Sorting Hat and the Sword of Gryffindor (though I thought it was in a case in DD's office).

“Heroic efforts,” he observed nastily, “are exactly what Mr Potter likes to be known for. It’s consistent and conscientious effort that eludes him.”

And Ron's "sweet little owl pie" line.

HA! Ron Splinched his toe off, that's brilliant.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-06-26
Reviewid: 125279Chapter: 16
Doh! I meant Quidditch not football. Oh dear, I suspect I'm entirely muggle and not going to receive my belated hogwarts letter this september after all.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-06-26
Reviewid: 125275Chapter: 16
I just love your Snape. You put him in such wonderfully unlikely scenarios and make him suffer so much, The cape, the football supporters assualting his nostril, accidentally nicking that robe ... I hope you get him out of this little scrape though. Can't wait for the next installment.

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125011Chapter: 6
*laughs at Luna*
*laughs at Snape's wand being eaten*
*laughs at spattergroit coming and going at sufferer's convenience* Ron should find a way to use that to advantage. "Hermione, can you cure my spattergroit?" "Hermione, it's come back again..."
“If Enid Fudge expects to keep a place in my bridge four…she can just… think again!” HA!

I like the unexpected, sinister use of the Weasleys' Extendable Ears.

Reviewer: PaulineDate: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125010Chapter: 1
Hi Maria M.,

I just noticed your reviews - no you're not bothering me by reviewing every chapter at all! :-D I think I need to warn you, though, that this fic is currently unfinished, and I'm afraid my promise of completing it by 16 July is looking rather shaky. Real life has been somewhat *real* of late.

In answer to your question about how Harry knew that Cho was in the Room of Requirement: It's true there are lots of other things on the seventh floor of Hogwarts Castle, Professor Flitwick's office and the entrance to Gryffindor Tower among them. But in Chapter 4 I let Harry overhear the conversation between Luna and Cho, where Luna told Cho she shouldn't have been *sneaking about* on the seventh floor. I suppose that was Harry's hint that Cho had been in the Room of Requirement, since Hogwarts students are no longer supposed to go there.

Hope that makes a bit more sense now. :-)

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125009Chapter: 5
"If I was aiming for gender ambiguity, I could have put Blaise Zabini on the team years ago.” *laughs*

Despite the fact that Snape was sick to his stomach from hopeless fear and too much chocolate, he nearly laughed out loud at the Auror’s apoplectic reaction.

Department of Magical Law Enforcement’s Hogsmeade branch office--now that is a clever and quite reasonable thing to put in. I applaud you. And the You-Know-Who poster, now that's creepy. Muggles for Dimwits--HA! Hope I'm not bothering you by reviewing after each chapter instead of all at once, but I've just started today, and the chapters are rather long.

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125007Chapter: 4
Ron stood, waved a page above his head and announced loudly, “I’ve got timetables for compulsory Muggle Studies lessons for all students in fifth, sixth and seventh-years. Read them and weep.” I like Ron's use of that last line.

Severus Snape’s employment history had, until that morning, been beyond reproach. While his colleagues saw fit to absent themselves for a bizarre variety of reasons (possession by Voldemort, year long imprisonment within trunks and lycanthropy among them) Snape had never been so much as five minutes late for a lesson. It was an achievement that was never noticed by his workmates, nor appreciated by his pupils. --brilliant!

How does Harry know Cho was on the seventh floor? And I only know this cause I just looked up the Room of Requirement today, but according to HP Lexicon there are actually a few other things of interest on that floor: the Gryffindor entrance, and Trelawny's room.

Can you explain Bovril?

Snape, that “Nasty, hook-nosed blood traitor that he is,” gives Ts! Brilliant!

Actually, what they've been taking so far is astroNOMY not astroLOGY, which are, as I'm sure you know, slightly different things. Unless you mean what they've had in Divination class, but that was never referred to as astrology either.

Poor Snape. I'm wanting him to get a good break later on in this story. C'mon, give us some good news for ol' Snape.

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125006Chapter: 3
P.S. We’re prepared to offer a ten percent discount on your account if you put Ronniekins under Imperius, and make him kiss Hermione.
P.P.S A further five percent discount will be offered if you Crucio Snape.
Go Twins! Well at least for the first postscript. That's sense. The second, I'm glad you have Harry reject.

“But Hermione comes in here sometimes,” Ginny argued. “Don’t tell me you’ve forgotten she’s a girl again.”

“Don’t worry, mate,” Dean said, much too cheerfully. “Even if you’ve forgotten to buy her anything, I’m sure Viktor Krum will get her something really good. Did you read that bit about him being the richest man in Bulgaria?”

“Can we borrow your perfume, Hermione?” Lavender asked hopefully. “You’ve got that big bottle beside your bed you never use -”
Ron stopped eating and shot Hermione a sideways glance. “What, never?” he mumbled.
Hermione bit her lower lip, and then said, “No, I’m – I’m saving that. For a special occasion.”

I like all the general conversation floating aroudn here.

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125005Chapter: 2
Callidus, clever, there's a new Latin word for me.
Three cheers!! For some reason, it seems that quite often, when authors have someone who can't remember a word, they have them say it right, which I think is cheap. Even Jo, actually: Krum says "Your Mr. Crouch or votever..." I think he should have said "Crunch" or something. But you've got it down. Queenie? Daphne? Nice work.
“Don’t forget how much Albus Dumbledore loves all his little oddballs. Who knows, he might even make her Head of House one day.”

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125002Chapter: 1
"Adhaerere!" Someone knows Latin! Sweet. I love the Imperius Curse poster, and Snape's inner turmoil and silky "Not at all." Yay, a long story to read.

Reviewer: BertradaDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124209Chapter: 1
Finally! I've been waiting for this for <i>months</i>.
But you is a bad elf! Cliffhangers all around!

I love your plot, humour and R/Hr-subplot (It's excellent! I love the misunderstandings and hurt feelings, and seeing all from Harry's POV).

Hurry up with the rest, please!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123891Chapter: 16
You sure know how to write a cliff hanger, missy!

Loved the R/H interaction. The ultimatums and realizations and tension...oh my!

Reviewer: xanthophyllippaDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123653Chapter: 16
This is a delicious story - I can't wait to see what happens next, especially given Harry's newfound ability to Apparate! But I have to tell you how brilliantly written your Snape is - he's SO true to canon in his stubborn insistence that he could not possibly be wrong, even when all evidence clearly points to the contrary. I usually like fic in which Snape is a snarky bastard but redeemable and/or ultimately becomes a firmly accepted member of the Order, but it's a testament to how you've grasped his character that I really, really like how you've captured him.

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123580Chapter: 16
Oops. I had a bad feeling about Snape's excursion...
:) Good chapter!

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120723Chapter: 15
I'm thrilled to see an update - I haven't been back to SQ for a while, and it was a treat to read through six chapters of "Flowers of Mimas." Thank you so much!

I want to add that your writing is really incredible: it flows so easily that I never have to squint through a paragraph to find out exactly what you mean. I can see what's happening when - even in the complicated battle scenes, which I must applaud you on! - and your descriptions of people's interactions are also very "visible."

I love the way you've gotten right inside Harry's head and are keeping to canon without being boring. You've introduced new characters and new concepts galore, but I don't feel like I need a list to keep up with them - they come and go or stay as needed. It's brilliant.

Keep up the good work!

- The Eighth Weasley, visiting from FictionAlley

Reviewer: LulabelleDate: 2005-04-08
Reviewid: 119042Chapter: 15
I like this fic. Honest. I come back from time to time to see if you have updated it yet & I see that you have promised to get it done before HBP comes out in July. I'll hold you to that. I can't wait to find out what happens next. Update soon please !

Reviewer: LilDate: 2005-03-09
Reviewid: 115939Chapter: 15
W.I.P.? Oh no! (Shakes fist) Durn you, Suburban House Elf, you got me addicted to a W.I.P.!

Would flattery and bribes of chocolate prompt the continuation of chapters? (Looks hopeful) This is how *I* want Year Six to go!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114049Chapter: 13
I can't believe I missed so many chapters!

I'm glad Ron's present finally arrived and that it gave Hermione a major guilt trip! Sorry if that was mean, but I love Ron and think that, despite all his faults, he loves his friends very much and gives them gifts from the heart.

Looking forward to his talk with Hermione!

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2005-02-14
Reviewid: 113865Chapter: 15
The ancient holy relic misses you, SHE!

This fic is just a delight to read - the characters, the pacing, the plotting, the lovely little turns of phrase, everything. I'm thoroughly enjoying it all. Snape's cape is very much a mark of high fashion!

And a very deep and sincere Thank You for the fate of Mandy Vanstone. She deserves everything she gets. And absolutely nobody is allowed to say sorry to her, not even Costello.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113516Chapter: 15
Cute! Nice touch with the goats, but my favorite was Trelawney's wanting to go to a quack divination school.
It said to me, ‘Sybill! Sybill! Don’t forget the Rich Teas!’”
-Very, very funny.

“Maybe old Snape’s paying her a call tonight.”
-Yikes! That was good.

The ogres had me laughing and Mrs. Weasley as a scolding postbox was great.

Reviewer: dalfDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113345Chapter: 15
[quote] “A mad, inexplicable folly,” the first ogre agreed enthusiastically.

“A bit like your dress robes, sir,” the second ogre said with a chuckle. [/quote]

less-than-three Fred and George!

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113342Chapter: 15
Well, *I* wouldn't forsake your story for new canon -- I'd read both. I fear *your* head might be too full of new canon and the ideas from it to continue, though, and as I would much *rather* read both in whatever order, I hope you finish in time. :)

I love your plots and sense of humor and zaniness, I really do.

(And I still have a few floating fic-fragments of dialogue relating to your four statues of the Founders from Brotherhood of the Besotted. Salazar grumbling about not being kept polished, and the like. Discussion among themselves of the slightly deranged student of Godric's sitting at his feet. Sadly, I suspect they were really just scenery.)

Reviewer: Elysia_SnapeDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110473Chapter: 14
Excellent!!

Great chapter. I like all your characters and your attention to detail. Great work. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 110020Chapter: 14
As ever your writing is alive with detail and full of fun. Your Luna is priceless! It's the little gems like spinning earrings, Molly-voiced "post-boxes" and dragon-hide clad trolls that make your writing such a unique and enjoyable experience. And I hope I get the chance to call someone a "grumpy son of a bludger" Soon! Can't wait for more.

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2005-01-05
Reviewid: 109890Chapter: 14
*gasp* This is such a good story! I started reading it about a day or two ago and finally made it to the last chapter. I shouldn't say "finally" because now I am devastated that I'll actually have to wait for the next chapter. Anyway, you have woven such an amazing tale, worthy of JKR, herself. I sometimes forget I am even reading fanfiction and that the sixth book hasn't come out yet, and that it has a completely different title, but I digress. Excellent story, I can't wait to find out what Trelawney's "appointment" is and if it has anything to do with Draco's Death Eaters. By the way, I particularly liked the description of Ron's toe. Repulsive. Just repulsive :P

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109612Chapter: 14
Joanie
-Cute.

“I think we’d better find you some SC robes. Scrawny sized will fit you better than slender.”
-Ouch.

I told him he shouldn’t become a Death Eater until after he’s won the Quidditch Cup.
-Made me laugh. Sorry, Dark Lord, I must win a silly sports contest before joining your cause. Priorities you know.

Reviewer: JackDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109393Chapter: 14
As always, a great chapter and the funniest so far. I'm lucky the office is near empty today because I was laughing so loud over JK's cameo appearance. Will the next chapter have the necrosis in Ron's severed toe reversed by the Mystic Kettle of Knackledirk?

I did need to pull down my dictionary to find out that in your hemisphere ropable means angry; is that term also used in Great Britain?

Happy New Year, may it bring us many new chapters.

Jack

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109228Chapter: 14
Blonde, heavily pregnant, with an obviously false goatee! LOL! LOL! LOL!

Argh! As always, I wail when the chapter ends. And this one was chockablock full of injokes that had me laughing most of the way through, literally from the moment I read the title of the chapter. :~D

So now I'm left with visions of Snape running around in half-finished robes, and I'm desperate to know what's happening in Madam Puddifoots! *flails*
Need more now!

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109167Chapter: 14
"Joanie" and her false goatee -- too funny! Love all the little meta-references here.

Reviewer: DalfDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109102Chapter: 13
<i>“I did not,” Firenze admitted serenely. He flicked his long tail and continued to walk away, before glancing over his shoulder to say, “I read it in Witch Weekly.”</i>

Classic! OMG that is so perfect! Its even enigmatic! Perhaps its serial-o-mancy or pulp-o-mancy ... *sigh* so cute!

Reviewer: DalfDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109098Chapter: 10
Well I cant decide if this is one of the better or worse fics I have read :-p The writing is good and the plot is intresting. I have decided that e4h whole prophecy confusion is going to be Lucious trying to fit Draco into the prophecy dreaming of the power (to defeat the dark lord means he woudl be very powerful) I think narcissa is a prisinor and Bella has taken her place.

The only flaws really are that Herminoe is apparently not going to be in this story at all. She seems to have been replaced by a very unplesant and naggy girl that bears virtually no resemblance to Hermine form cannon. But who needs a threesum when you have a duo? Also some of the plot devices are good on their face but you seem so excited to get on with teh story that you skimp on fitting them in so they seem implausable. McGonagal would surly have just talked to Harry and not gone round and about, and some other gripes I had in previous chapter reviews.

As a nitpick why did harry give a password to LEAVE the common room in this chapter?

Im excited to see where the story goes. WHat happens etc. Please concider including Herminoe *IN* the story rather than have her pop in form time to time to hurange and nag and look dissapprovingly at them (honestly she has not done a single other thing in 10 chapters! *crys*)

All of that is ment constructivly. Really I think this is one of the better fics that I ahve read, it just seems to really have needed beta reading. The writing style is quite good and though I have complained about some of the charatzations some of the others are perfect. I usually hate how people write snape but you seem to do him very very well.

I have a question about that two person apparating. Is that common in yoru universe? Is that a skill many people can learn? Is that part of the reason Ron splinched?

Reviewer: DalfDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109094Chapter: 8
"... leaving Snape to finish his Firewhisky and think dark thoughts."

I love that line not sure why!

I also love your propaganda posters! "Not as dumb as they look" *grin* so cute.

Dalf

Reviewer: ScottDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109087Chapter: 8
I bet Narcissa is actually Bellatrix in polyjuice! That woudl be evil.

Reviewer: DalfDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109086Chapter: 7
Why would firnaz be upset by a question about what he ment now but not originally when harry planned to ask it? This whole 7th month thing better be a red hering because it does not fit with tehprophecy or cannon at all :-/.

Hermione needs to calm down too and the boys need a good swit kick for excluding ehr she has been breakign rules iwth them since book 1.

Reviewer: DalfDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 109072Chapter: 6
Amazing end to the chapter. Comic Relief Ron is a little offputting and this September is really number 7, perhaps Draco is who the prophcey means hand waving is a bit weak as a plot device but I am going to reserve judgment since its an intresting twist.

I *REALLY* like how you have done Lucius here! You are channeling evil I say! But, really you have his character pegged. His interactions with his family, Draco's behavior, Snape all of it was really well done.

Ahhh ambition *evil laugh*!

Why would Hermione complaine about using the room of requirrment though? Why would the staff? Why is Luna takeing it on her self to sit infront of it (where she is infact breaking rules being on the 7th floor?) Surly Hermione (and Dumbeldore now that we mention it) would realise the need for Harry to use the room. Hermione espically if he told her it was that or Hogsmead!!!


All in all a good story. Nice plot so far, aside from ron the charatzation is really good. I love yoru Nevel. Some of the plot devices need a little more explainning (like the RoR and 7th month thing as mentioned are a bit weak), but I am hooked in never the less so that si good.

Dalf

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2004-12-29
Reviewid: 108997Chapter: 14
I've been following this story for awhile, so I'm coming out of lurkdom to tell you how much I enjoyed this particular chapter. I had to smother my giggles when I recognized the mysterious pregnant witch in the Hog's Head because I was reading at the office. I love all the fandom jokes. Good job!

Reviewer: TashaDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108915Chapter: 14
Hi! Really loving this fic!

Found a small typo.... It should be "half an hour" not "half and hour." All the best!!

"He had gone as far as Zonko’s Joke Shop before he realised that

Podmore was not following him. Hermione had asked him to leave her alone with Ron for half and hour, and Harry still needed to while away twenty-five minutes of that time. He decided to enjoy the distractions of Zonko’s for a few moments, and checked the shop windows to see if anything new was

Reviewer: UnspeakableDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108912Chapter: 14
I love your fic and the way you use Rowling's own stuff here (Prof. Icklibogg for example). The image of the kind-looking witch with a goatee was hilarious! I look forward to more!

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108812Chapter: 14
What an ending...a cliffhanger, but not. Great chapter, and I look forward to an update!

Reviewer: taliaDate: 2004-12-21
Reviewid: 108214Chapter: 13
absoultlky wonderful! i love all off it, and the animal urine parfume-its so ron! Please continue. I love the way that you describe apparating. I always wished JK would explain that better

Reviewer: charlie roseDate: 2004-12-20
Reviewid: 108175Chapter: 13
ur all great tit head

Reviewer: Solarius ScorchDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106434Chapter: 13
A really good one. I've always really liked Your fics, Suburban House Elf (hmm... is there a less official name one might use ;] ?), and this one is probably the best. Waiting for more!

Reviewer: JessDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106373Chapter: 13
You have to write more!!! You can't leave me hanging!!!! I need to know the rest!!! Keep up the amzazing work, =D

Reviewer: TashaDate: 2004-11-23
Reviewid: 105589Chapter: 13
Oh, my...In my last "comment" I failed to mention how VERY VERY much I enjoyed your portrayal of McGonagall's teaching technique, and notable lack of discipline problems. I have always fantasized about sitting one of her Transfiguration classes, but it was great to see her genius applied to imbueing the mundane with fascination. That being my day-job, it was an inspiring read. Thanks!

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105482Chapter: 1
Wow, I just finished the first chapter, and it's quite enjoyable.

Just a few things though... Dumbledore doesn't seem to be the type not to appoint prefects from Slytherin just because of the war, they can't all be bad. Also, I tend to think that Flitwicks size wouldn't really affect his ability to move Firenze using magic, but that's just me.

On the whole, this chapter was an amusing, well-written read, and I now move on the 2nd chapter...

Reviewer: TashaDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105334Chapter: 13
This story is just great! I laughed out loud at least twice--the stoat perfume and earlier. I am always rather interested in Professor Snape, who is certainly a central figure here. I'm not sure that I'll like the way that he is ultimately portrayed in canon, but I like the exploration of his role as teacher in this story. Your characterizations are amazing, and so is the texture of your prose and your development of the relationships between characters. The use of the so-called "landscapes" is intrigueing--how did you think of that!! It was of course, very enjoyable to see the Malfoy's family reunion in Azkaban of all places. The idea of the song sung both in the failed attempt to discover Narcissa's thoughts and the Owlery is very fascinating--as is your use of Nelville's beloved plant to bring so many possibilities to mind.... I'll be looking forward to seeing where these disturbing developments take your story! Thanks so much for such an enjoyable week--I've been tuning in whenever I can.

Reviewer: SofiaDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 104996Chapter: 13
witch weekly..thats rich.

chao,
sofia

Reviewer: SofiaDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 104990Chapter: 10
this is a brilliant story!!!! one of the best i've ever read. the only things are that in an earlier chapter Dumbledoor was teasing about letting Voldemort have Draco. even though he was just kidding, i dont think he would joke about something that awefull (even if the was Draco)
the other thing is that i figured SPLINCHING would hurt a little more than how you portrayed it. but hey, its never happened to me, so i wouldnt know!!!

Chao,
Sofia

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104930Chapter: 13
Yeah! an update... I was so excited to see it, and I loved the chapter... it seems that things are starting to roll a bit now... Does ST's disappearance have something to do with dinner at the Malfoy's, will Ron get his toe back, but more importantly, a clue... alas, only to find out in the next update! I can't wait!

Reviewer: ElysiaDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104812Chapter: 13
Hi,

Thanks for the email. This was a great chapter. I love the Snape-Firenze relationship, it is very funny. Firenze is a fantastic character and I like the way you have developed him. Hermione was so very sweet in this chapter. Poor Ron he is so very clueless!

Can't wait for more. Thanks for sharing.

Ely.

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104801Chapter: 13
I was surprised and delighted when you chose this chapter's title as Mostly Harmless. Are you a Hitchhiker fan as well? =D

Overall, I'm still very annoyed with both Ron and Hermione -- and it bugs me that she's still wearing the bracelet around. I dunno why, but it just does! Hopefully, their arguing will cease a little, giving both Harry and me a break.

You know, despite the fact that this story is serious, there's also a light part in it, making me smile or laugh. It's a good balance. *sniggers at the thought of Firenze reading Witch Weekly*

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104797Chapter: 13
hee hee...nice little nod to the Hitchikers Guide for this chapter title.

I could totally see Luna sending a letter to the Daily Prophet!

Oh...is Hermione going to turn Ron down? :( The agony! :P

I look forward to the next update!

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104755Chapter: 13
Loved the Douglas Adams reference! Will we be seeing more of Theodore? Only a few lines, and already he sounds like a most interesting character...

And Firenze reading Witch Weekly :D

Reviewer: Mrs's_Norris's_MouseDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104754Chapter: 13
Thanks for another episode. Nice anticlimax at the start. Good tension with Hermione. And a lovely closing line.

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104653Chapter: 13
Delightful as always, SHE. I was getting worried about Ron's toe; good to know they'll be hunting that down soon.
I LOVED the eau de Hermine! Hysterical. Poor, sweet Ron!
I can't wait to see what Hermione wants to talk to him about. ;~)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104641Chapter: 13
Huzzah! Huzzah! An update! Snape is still snarky and the details and plot are just so!

I love the way McGonagall runs Muggle Studies! And the visit to Moody's office was great!

Just a great chapter, Pauline!

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2004-11-12
Reviewid: 104619Chapter: 13
Firenze reads Witch Weekly? Hahahaha! Good twist!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-11-12
Reviewid: 104602Chapter: 13
You manage to make me soooooooooooooo angry at Ron and Hermione, and now at Harry, too.

And you lost me completly with that last paragraph. I have absolutely no idea what's going on.

Reviewer: ElysiaDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 103973Chapter: 12
This is fantastic! I hope you update soon. Please let me know when you do (elysia.snape@gmail.com). Great story so far, sorry I can't be more descriptive but I have been absorbed in the story for the last couple of hours and my brain is fried. Like Snape and the little Slyth. Thanks for sharing this, Ely.

Reviewer: Sharanya KunnathDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100562Chapter: 12
Hello! I enjoyed reading your story very much. You have written Snape's parts very nicely. You have also got Harry's and Luna's characters down vey well. My only criticism is that Hermione is a bit too cold in this story. She does'nt act very friendly towards the two boys, especially Ron. Other than that, I've really enjoyed your story. Please update soon. Bye.

Reviewer: Jack JarveyDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100265Chapter: 12
It wasn't easy to ignore this story for so long after reading chapter one when it was first posted. But now that you have graced us with a round dozen installments, I was able to luxuriously savor a few chapters a day. Long have I known the perils of anxiously awaiting the next chapter of a finely wrought story. But this time the wait will be different. Why? Because this is an excellent piece of work. It is VERY well written in a style that is astonishingly close to JK's. Except your cliff-hanger chapter ends are better. And your humor too; I especially enjoyed chapters one and two. Yes, the wait for the next chapter of this story will be worse than ever. Don't compromise on the quality, but keep in mind that your audience clamors for more.

Best regards,

Jack

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 99998Chapter: 12
well could you leave it at any more of a cliff hanger man i am dying to find out what happens and i think the next time draco trys to balck mail snape you should have snape remind him that the dark lord wants him there as a spy and that it would look very bad for his family if the dark lord discovered it was draco that got snape booted any how its not my story and if i want it written like that i should go write my own. Loved that chapter though and cant wait for the update

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99869Chapter: 12
Usually, your chapters leave me grinning and happy. This one leaves me with an ugly feeling in the stomach and I'm extremely angry. At Hermione and Ron. At Ron, for being so rude to Hermione. For repeating exactly the same stupid accusations as at the Yule Ball. At Hermione, for vanishing his flower. But more so for accepting Krum's present. An extremely stupid thing to do in more than one way.

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99818Chapter: 12
Poor Ron!! I could just cry for him!
And damn what a cliffhanger!!
Man, did I laugh at Seamus and Dean's reaction to Neville cutting the bloom! Beautifully and snappily written.
Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99817Chapter: 12
Great stuff!! I was glad to see your update today! I had just re-read several of the last chapters last week, so i could just jump right in. I love the way you do Snape. All your characterizations are bang on, but Snape just jumps out of the page.

The plot still moves along really well. I am enjoying those parts of the story that seem obscure but I am convinced will play an important role later on.

Great work Pauline!

Reviewer: JamesDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99804Chapter: 1
An excelent chapter 12. A great cliffhanger, And I realise that I don't know why the title is what it is which is not a bad thing.

We await the next chapter :)

Reviewer: MariagonerDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99802Chapter: 12
I am very, very, VERY glad you are still working on this story! It's as excellent as all of your other work, very detailed, very riveting, and full of amazing plot twists. Please continue with it!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99796Chapter: 12
Excellent chapter. More, please! :D

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99794Chapter: 12
Boy, am I glad I kept myself updated on this story, so I didn't have to play any catch-up.

This chapter was enjoyable as always. I really like the way you write, paying attention to the little details (like Harry using recycled wrapping paper) and doing so in such a way that readers don't have to leap for a dictionary to get what you're saying.

I don't like what happened -- or didn't happen -- in this chapter, though :( Poor Ron! Where in the world is Pig? What did he get Hermione anyway? Will he ever be able to give it to her? Will they ever make up? The suspense is unbearable...but I must bear it and wait patiently for your next chapter!

PS I'm so glad I read this. I've had a bad day and reading your update is the best part of it so far. *hugs*

Reviewer: linda rolfesDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99004Chapter: 1
nicely written. interesting plot. good dialogue - not amateurish.

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97869Chapter: 11
AAAAH! PLEASE *PLEASE* WRITE MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ARE H&R GOING TO GET CAUGHT????????????? I *NEEEEEEEEEEEED* TO KNOW!!!!!!!!! Er, yeah, tis a fanbloodytastic story, lurvvvvve it etc, so KEEP WRITING! PURLEASE!!!! Lizzy x

Reviewer: Ara Kane, part 2Date: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97017Chapter: 11
EEEEEE!!! I am in suspense! Where's Pig? What's going to happen at the Malfoys'? When is Ron going to get his toe back? Inquiring minds want to know!

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96648Chapter: 11
Brilliant chapter.

I'm really, really pleased with how much everyone's in character. I'm most impressed with your characterization of Snape because not many people get him quite right but you've hit the nail on the head.

Update soon!

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96647Chapter: 10
I feel so horrible for losing track of this fic! I just refound it and am hooked ... again.

I love your writing style. Funny in a background sort of way (much like Ms. Rowling's, actually) and at the same time there's lots of drama, action, and the like. Your work is truly a joy to read.

I smell a rat and I think that rat's name is Bellatrix ... and I think she might just be meeting Snape at his supposed dinner arrangement with perhaps Natcissa and a bunch of other Death Eaters at her side.

Dun dun DUN.

Really though, your writing's brilliant.

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96466Chapter: 11
Ach! This is so truely delightful! I can't believe I missed a post! But that of course gave me the pleasure of reading TWO tonight. :~D
The hilarity of the boys Apparating into Honeydukes and Ron splinching off his toe! How is he going to FIND it let alone 'stick' it back on?? And the Daily Prophet's report was hysterical. I also adored the fact that Hermione put two and two together.
The Muggle studies class; another good laugh. You mentioned CATWEAZLE!!! *hugs and kisses SHE madly* I was a HUGE Catweazle fan and read the novelisations to my kids just recently! I SO wish I could get the series on DVD!! (or even video)
The picture in Snape's bedroom - I was kind of surprised that he had it there, specially since we know folks from other paintings can 'visit', even if they're not native to the painting so to speak. And Mary Floyd... curiouser and curiouser. ;~)
I also loved Snape's sudden realisation that his warnings to Potter were probably what made the boy more determined and curious. I found it interesting and believable that he had not understood this trait in Harry.
Poor, poor Ron. What is he going to give Hermione for her birthday?!
I can't wait for the next chapter!!!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96429Chapter: 10
woot! That was hilarious! Great physical comedy in Honeydukes; especially loved the way they kept ahold of their bag of sweets through the thick and thin of it.

And Ron got splinched! SHE, you're full of surprises. This is a great story.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96318Chapter: 11
"economy-sized tin of Bob Carr’s Budget Owl Treats". LOL. And Miss Amanda Vanstone. *snort*. I'm feeling sorry for poor Miss Floyd but, being a Slytherin, I'm sure she'll refuse to be intimidated for long.

Reviewer: ShellsDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96312Chapter: 11
Awww. A beautiful chapter, and up to your usual high standard too. Go you!

Reviewer: JamesDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96255Chapter: 11
Thank you, it's worth waiting for each chapter.

Reviewer: BeatriceDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96250Chapter: 11
Aww, poor Ron! Update soon- I wanna see if Pig ever returns. (I hope he wasn't eaten by a harpy! D=)

Reviewer: new fanDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96235Chapter: 5
"“If I was aiming for gender ambiguity, I could have put Blaise Zabini on the team years ago.”

Draco chuckled sycophantically. “Yeah, Blaise - that’d confuse everyone.""

Brilliant!! I've been reading-- and really enjoying your story. Truly original and a nice change from everything else. Interesting POV. Although a tiny bit of con. criticism-- I think that the story could use a little more prose/description as opposed to just dialogue--in the few places you have tried this it's worked out really well.

Looking forward to the rest of the story!

Reviewer: CrookshanksDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95484Chapter: 1
KEEP WRITING! I"M BEGGING YOU!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93955Chapter: 10
Ok, here I am and ready to review...**rolls sleeves up.
:-)
Well, I'll get the slightly negative bit out of the way, shall I?
THere are two things in your story I don't agree with, although they do fit in well and realistically in this context - but it's only my own opinion, and I realize that everyone has different ones! In the first place, I don't think that Arthur would have been quite as content as Molly in welcoming the Prodigal Son back to the bosom of his family. I think that his anger and his hurt would be too strong for forgiveness, at least at first, although I can see him coming around in the end, since he loves all his children so much. Molly's attitude, on the other hand, is perfectly consistent with canon; she sent him a Christmas jumper, after all, and was very upset when he returned it...I don't mean that Arthur wasn't upset, but that it would take him something more than Percy attempting to get back in the family's good graces to convince him.
The second thing that sounds a bit...off to me is the downfall of Slytherin House. What I mean by that is that, while I agree that the Slytherins will probably be shunned and in disgrace etc, I really can't see Dumbledore not appointing prefects and all the rest of it. What about unity and all that? On the other hand, I do think some decadence is inevitable...
Now that I've said that (and I hope you don't mind!), let me say that this is one of the best stories I've had the pleasure of reading, under all points of view. Your writing is incredible, the plot is intriguing, mysterious and just plain interesting, your characters (for the most part!) are entirely belivable - not to mention very IC and very well-drawn. Then there are all the little (or big) bits of humour floating along your story that have made me laugh out loud more than one (such as the Mobilihippus episode, but it's more than that; it underlies most of the dialogues, just like in JKR's own writing).
I especially want to compliment you on Snape's characterization; he's a perfect mixture of sarcasm, anger and annoyance, mystery and unexpectd dry humor (in his crossword puzzle dealings with McGonagall, for example). You manage to show us a Snape who is at the same time the students' nightmare and something else - his own mysterious self, that we've only been able to guess at so far.
I like your other characterizations as well; the Trio (calling them that is so tempting!) is just perfect - Harry's thoughts and actions, Hermione's advice, words and anger, and then Ron, who's very...Ron. Especially when Luna shows up!
I'm also interested in seeing what happens to Mary Floyd (I'd like to see her ambition and cunning) and the Malfoys. Also the new possibilities of the prophecy. And the Mimbulus Mimbletonia - will its flowers remain beautiful and soothing or will they turn into weapons?? And what about Ginny...shall it be Dean or Harry?
Etc...
As you can see, I have many questions and ideas, but I think I'd better stop here...this is a fairly long review, and I wouldn't want to flood you anymore!
So, great writing, and I'm really looking forward to more.
:-)
Gufa

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93608Chapter: 10
I don't have time right now to write a decent review, but I will as soon as I can...for now, just know that I'm loving it!!

Reviewer: Sophie MarksDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92584Chapter: 10
I loved your story! It seems like JK Rowling herself wrote it. Please keep writing!

Reviewer: Sophie MarksDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92582Chapter: 10
I loved your story! It seems like JK Rowling herself wrote it. Please keep writing!

Reviewer: Al GDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92275Chapter: 10
this is a great fan fic, it's just like reading a J.K. Rowling novel. You have some real talent. Keep it coming. Thx

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --