The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Practice
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: Seedy BeaDate: 2005-11-19
Reviewid: 136009Chapter: 1
"Well, there was his first night in Remusí bed after fourteen years. Remusí arms, he thought. Remusí eyes." What are, they, gay or something?

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85787Chapter: 1
That was sweet. Iím not a huge fan of Sirius/ Remus pairings (I really hate that word) because I donít think thatís what JK Rowling intended there relationship to be, but your fics are so well written, and so in character I canít help but be moved by them. I liked how you showed Sirius facing his memories of Azkaban, and Lupins gentle- ahem- tutoring.

Reviewer: amyDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84568Chapter: 1
"Who would ever have thought that Sirius Black, once the scourge of his school, would one day find a Hogwarts professor so damned sexy? It was, he reflected with a dreaminess only lightly tinged with bitterness, all he had ever known of justice. And equally, all he had ever known of grace." Aww. Best lines out of a very good fic. You captured Sirius's ungraceful aging perfectly but then gave the puppies a believable, weatherworn, sweet ending. Yippee.

Reviewer: GehayiDate: 2004-02-11
Reviewid: 70131Chapter: 1
I would say that this story works wonderfully well. I liked the image of the Boggart becoming Sirius' cell; generally, Boggarts remain one creature or one person, it was surprising, and surprisingly effective, that a Boggart could become a hated and feared place. The fact that Sirius had lost almost all the memories that he had (and certainly all the good ones) was appalling. I wanted to smash Azkaban at that moment. I loved Remus holding Sirius, and trying to talk him out of the cell that Sirius' fear had created.

(I did wonder, briefly, what Sirius' Patronus was. I'm guessing an eagle or a hawk.)

The paisley-decorated cell was more kitschy than ridiculous, but it was an effective change from the dark, dank, isolated prison cell. There's just something very "grandmother's cottage" about paisley; it's the antithesis of prison decor.

Finally, I thought that the themes of love and fear were well-balanced. Kudos to you for mentioning that love and good memories don't just happen--they have to be sought after, and practiced once found.

Excellent, excellent job.

Reviewer: ChloťDate: 2004-02-11
Reviewid: 70124Chapter: 1
*sigh* So perfect .... *sob*

Reviewer: ElphabaDate: 2004-02-11
Reviewid: 70114Chapter: 1
Your story has been reviewed online at <a href="http://www.quibbler.org">Quibbler.org</a>. Click the link to access your review.

-Elphaba

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-02-10
Reviewid: 70077Chapter: 1
This is a pretty good story. I don't like slash, but I managed to ignore it. I would've liked a warning in the summary, though. (Now you're thinking: "Ah, but if I had put a warning in the summary, you wouldn't have read it!" And you're right, I probably wouldn't. :) )

On to the good parts of the story. At first I was a bit put out by a Dementor being the form the Boggart took for Sirius, although I could see they might be his worst fear. But I was very happy when I realised that the Boggart didn't turn into a Dementor, but into Sirius' cell in Azkaban and everything that belongs there, like Dementors. You did a wonderful job describing that and Sirius' reaction to it.

>>I donít intend to lose you again.<<
Poor Remus. :-(

Reviewer: SteppsDate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69810Chapter: 1
Beautifully written and utterly heartbreaking... I don't know why I subject myself to post-OotP, pre-Veil Sirius and Remus fics. When one knows what tradgedy will befall them both...

You're a very talented writer Rose... so thoughtful and thorough. I really loved it.

Stepps

Reviewer: DemonAngiDate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69800Chapter: 1
aww, very sweet! I enjoyed it, you're a very good writer.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69737Chapter: 1
must say i havent read a R/S fic before and it is weird to think of them like that and that is not to say the thought hasnt crossed my mind because JR does right them as VERY close friends and sometimes it seems to close but thank you very doing it tastefully and tactfully (if that is a word) it was well written and very sweet I think you should write more on it

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69672Chapter: 1
Yay! Angsty/fluffy R/S slash! :) :) :) :p!

This is a great fic -- I love the Remus's eyes thing!

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69599Chapter: 1
pretty good-i don't really like slash but ur writng is excellent-and the emotions come out nicely.

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69519Chapter: 1
PLEASE keep writing these amazing stories! You really capture the greif that both Remus and Sirius have been through. It is truly beautiful.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --