The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Descent
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: irishham97Date: 2005-12-03
Reviewid: 136705Chapter: 1
I think that boy's cheeze done slipped off his cracker....total case of schizophrenia if I ever saw one...brilliant work! He's mad, I'm convinced...

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136481Chapter: 1
Quite Good

Reviewer: AdaraDate: 2004-12-28
Reviewid: 108871Chapter: 1
This is my favorite of your stories. In fact, it is one of my favorite fan fics of all. I've read it three or four times already.
You have captured Voldemort so perfectly, he is so IC, it's amazing. That can't be easy to do. It doesn't exactly fit with 'write what you know'.
I love the... the comments in italics, they add so much to the story, the way Voldemort is jealous of Harry.... No wonder he turned out the way he did.

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-05-04
Reviewid: 81230Chapter: 1
Amazing. This has got to be one of the very best Tom Riddle/Voldemort stories I've ever read. You took a cliche and gave it a fresh perspective - indeed the writing is very good. When I read this line - "that's what a father should be" - everything simply fell together. Thank you for providing insight into a character that had never inspired much within me previously!

Reviewer: StereoMDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80861Chapter: 1
Wow! Brilliant, but scary. ;) I never thought I'd feel sorry for Voldemort, but now I do. This is sort of how I always imagined his childhood, but never having really paid it much thought, I didn't realise how sad it really... is. Wah. Poor Voldie.

I don't think I've ever read a story from his PoV before, and certainly not one that felt so poignant and in character - I've found he often comes off sounding like a cartoon villain; amusing but not very scary.

Great job! :D

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79757Chapter: 1
Chilling but brilliant. This is exactly what Voldemort's mind must be like: repetitious, evil, insane but brilliant. The way he's jealous of Harry but won't allow himself to acknowledge it was an excellent touch. Fear mixed with jealousy: a potent combination.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79707Chapter: 1
A very interesting style of writing. Frightening.

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71731Chapter: 1
Beautiful =) A perfect interpretation of Voldemort's thoughts, his jealousy, just.. woah.

Reviewer: AngelaDate: 2004-02-10
Reviewid: 70045Chapter: 1
Wow! What a dark story, full of anger. Good concept. It's interesting to explore the idea that one's character can be shaped by one's up-bringing; what would Tom Riddle have become if he had had a loving family?

Reviewer: K. LupinDate: 2004-02-09
Reviewid: 70001Chapter: 1
OH wow! You've really captured Tom's mind. Beautifully (and darkly) done! Awesomely captivating! Keep writing!!

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-02-09
Reviewid: 69977Chapter: 1
Absolutely mind blowing. This gives a lot more depth to Voldemort--it shows his more human side and (as your title depicts) his descent into evil. Very nicely done.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69803Chapter: 1
Hhhhmmm. I like it. It's an amazingly accurate analysis of what goes on in a psychopath's mind. Very well done!

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69659Chapter: 1
Another extremely insightful piece. Fanfic Voldemort so often deteriorates into the cartoon Bond villain, but here you have captured his extreme complexity and motivation for his turning to Dark magic. I like the way that you use his inner voice in italics to comment on the rest of his monologue. It is an effective way of illustrating things that he would never admit in his conscious thoughts, such as the fact that he envies Harry for the way that James & Lily loved him. I have a feeling that I will be mulling over some of the ideas in this fic for a while - a great job.

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69616Chapter: 1
This was intresting. Voldemort seemed to have more substance than just your typical evil villan set on world domination. I mean, just hearing about his father, you cant help but think, we reap what we've sewn, can you? I enjoyed this--creepy yet sort of satisfying.

Reviewer: EliseDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69594Chapter: 1
Wow! I've read both of your "Two Sides of a Coin" stories, and they're both fantastic!

I really enjoyed this one, and the way you worked Voldemort's hatred of Muggles, (and his evident disappointment over his father's lack of interest and support,) into everything was brilliant. The bits in italics which sort of modified the parts that came before really helped to show the intended emphasis.

Riddle's observation that Dumbledore never did anything to stop him was intriguing. If Dumbledore was aware of Tom's feelings and the direction he was going, why didn't he take a more active role in his life, or at least try to set him straight? I doubt it would have done any good, (Tom would probably just brush it off,) but it seems rather silly to just sit there and watch a promising young boy deteriorate even further without attempting to help him.

Excellent one-shot. Well done again!

~Elise

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --