The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: There's A Place
Review(s): 42

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146501Chapter: 13
It's Time. More Please.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139940Chapter: 13
I wish you an early success as time is relentless and thus merciless.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137919Chapter: 12
I'm glad to see that you're continuing with this story. It was very interesting to be inside Henry's head and see a different view of Samantha; her spy job sounds very well planned, but one wrong move and it could all have come down about her head. Perhaps this is where she met Sirius?

Looking forward to the next chapter,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2005-12-29
Reviewid: 137757Chapter: 12
Hey,

Very nice to see an update before the year ends. ^^ And what a nice update it was, for at last we get to know what Samantha was doing that made things go so bad.

One thing I particularly liked was your handling of how Henry noticed all of Samantha's feelings and attitudes, and well as how he noted the things that stayed the same and the things that changed. Time, indeed, can change a person, and even more so if that person has gone through something as traumatic as war. Excellent handling of the whole thing.

And well, may you have a happy and prosperous new year as well and hope to see an update soon.

- Animus

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2005-11-22
Reviewid: 136171Chapter: 11
Hey,

That was quite a nice chapter, as well as being rather diferent from the past ones. I liked it, as it showed an aspect I was starting to wonder about: simple life in Avalon.

Hope to see an update soon, and thanks for sharing your work with us.

- Animus

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136069Chapter: 11
I'm looking forward to seeing how April and Michael grow up together and what choices they'll make. ^_^

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136068Chapter: 10
A beautiful and moving chapter: I loved the song, and it was very appropriate for April, Michael and Vivien's feelings. They knew it is not the end, or even the beginning of the end, but it is the end of the beginning. The more I read about Vivien, the more I like her, especially her wisdom and her serenity.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131965Chapter: 10
I am loving this story! All the intricate relationships are wonderfully written! Please let me know when you update this tale!

Reviewer: AQstar23Date: 2005-07-05
Reviewid: 126100Chapter: 10
The story gets more and more excited and suspence is around every corner at the end of every chapter.

P.S. I really didn't like Mists of Avalon that much. But you might actually enjoy it.

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125768Chapter: 10
Hey,

Ah, Avalon is back, and in what a deep way. April, Michael and Lady Vivien showcase such a great arrangement of feelings concerning war and grief that the chapter turns into a very powerful one... Avalon can't mourn their fallen in the way they would like to, for they know war isn't over and victory is not certain; Voldemort's defeat was just a cease of hostilities, and so they cannot rest in expectation of the mighty blow to come... and you showed that in a very good way. The only recommendation left to give, really, is to keep up the good work. :D

Well, hope to see an update soon and enjoy your vacations as well.

- Animus

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123547Chapter: 9
Hey,

Another interesting chapter, which I think will serve to set up the future happenings of the story. The writing was very good, specially as it felt very real. Your handling of human feelings and reactions is very good, and so the Tang clan seemed to have been taken out of reality.

Another thing I liked is, as you pointed out, this is a glimpse of another wizarding community different to the British, and that's always a plus.

And well, hope to see an update soon and keep up the good work.

Animus

Reviewer: AQstar23Date: 2005-04-15
Reviewid: 119697Chapter: 8
Yeah, it's me again. Once again good job on the story and please update soon.
Oh and what was the welcome for, not to be rude or anything.
Where did you get the idea to write this story, was it from the book THE MISTS OF AVALON? Just wondering.
;)

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2005-04-14
Reviewid: 119588Chapter: 8
Hey,

This was a rather interesting chapter, as you now introduced some new, interesting characters to your story. I'm looking forward to see how they will relate to your Avalonians and Fate itself.

And I agree with you on both points. The path of righteousness is the hardest path, specially when it's so close to oneself, and upon following it is the true quality of character shown. The attack against the Longbottoms, you are correct, hasn't been fully developed in the books, and your guess I feel to be correct in that it was a very low blow for all wizards, but specially for those whose duty was to prevent such from happening. The wizarding world saw that their peace was not real, and for Avalon it was an utter defeat.

Anyway, I hope to see a new chapter any time soon, but as I've said before, rushing things is of no use, thus finish all your issues and then commit to producing something good and that you like. We can wait.

Take care, and thanks for sharing your writing with us,
- Animus

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119349Chapter: 8
Yay! Update! Short, but I loved it. Looking forward to the next chapter! I would leave a longer review, but I'm kind of...out of it now. =)

-Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119326Chapter: 8
Ah, so you've got Sirius married. Interesting background for Samantha, her sense of being alone and drifting, anchorless, was really strong, especially in the image of her loose hair blowing in the wind. I felt so sorry for her being disowned and hounded like that. I hope she turns up again. "Sparrow" seemed a rather bizarre nickname for her, though.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111895Chapter: 7
Phoenix, you're welcome for the tip. ^_~

I like the way this chapter is divided into three parts: you have the explanation about Evelyn and Peter; the way Evelyn works; and the exposition of what's gone wrong. With each chapter, this picture of an invisible, powerful web of influence becomes clearer and clearer; it makes me wonder what's going to happen when one of the canon characters finds out about it, because so far, they've only appeared briefly or been mentioned in passing.

I particularly liked this sentence:

"The world would forget what happened and move on. It had to. But at least Avalon would remember; forgive maybe, but never forget."

Makes you wonder what else Avalon remembers, and if this knowledge could be useful in some way.

Looking forward to the next chapter,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111149Chapter: 7
Very good chapter!

I liked it quite a lot, for you capture greatly the post-war feelings of those who feel regret and grief over the past events and those who were mercilessly affected by them. Also, you beautifully finished the chapter with Evelyn's resolution to move on and struggle to make things be right in the end.

Keep up the good work, and update soon.

Animus

Reviewer: AQstar23Date: 2004-12-18
Reviewid: 108058Chapter: 6
update soon. it's a little sad, but it's a good story.
:-)

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-12-14
Reviewid: 107757Chapter: 6
Nice to see this story updated, though I'm sorry I missed it for three more months than necessary.

Anyway, this is another good chapter ( a very fitting title) that still is setting things up for the main plot, right? The reactions of all the different people involved are good and natural, and I liked quite a lot April's reaction when she 'met' the Dark Lord.

Update soon, and don't let any writer's block stop you.

-Animus

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101693Chapter: 6
Yay, you're back!

A lot of journeys in this chapter, both to and from Avalon. I loved the information about the Walk, and how James and Lily were 'quick but not eager'. It makes me wonder how Sirius was on *his* Walk. Perhaps the same way? This chapter felt rather bitty, but that wasn't too bad, given the disarray that followed Voldemort's disappearance and the Potters' deaths.

Maybe I'm getting confused, but I thought the High Lady was called Nimue, not Vivien? Also, you need to take away the correction marks in the later part of the chapter. Taking them out of the original document and then uploading the chapter again should do the trick, since I had the same problem. ^^

Excellent writing as usual, I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101526Chapter: 6
Glad to see an update! Can't wait to see Peter in the next chapter...oh, there's a few red marks once you get about halfway through the chapter...you may want to fix that. =)

-PQ

Reviewer: TabeaDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97535Chapter: 5
Wow! This is a great story! I hadn't read it before, because, erm, the prologue is a little long... :D I have actually never read a book about Avalon, but I'm going to soon; this story has made me so curious!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93243Chapter: 5
I'll remember not to panic at an OC named Peter. =) This chapter somehow seemed shorter than the others, somehow. But I continue to be interested in your combination of Arthurian legend with HP.

-PQ

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 92965Chapter: 5
Another good chapter, with less descriptions than the others but with more plot. The exchange between Merlin and Dumbledore was simply perfect, and that line about the Source taking care of the Potters and the Longbottoms after Dumbledore has seen to their safety was chilling, specially considering your little note at the end and the destiny both couples followed

So far this has been a great story. Hope to see an update soon.

Reviewer: LeslieDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83136Chapter: 2
I just wanted to say that any thing in Latin will inheritly look or sound like Spanish and Italian as both are directly derived from it. You can see it throughout HP and other books! Since Spanish and Italian are easier to translate to make new spells. But your chapters have been interesting! I'll keep reading now.

Leslie

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83112Chapter: 4
Dumbledore knows about Avalon? Of course. ;) Your interweaving of fact and fiction is mesmirising as always. It was good to see NimuŽ's and Merlin's frustration with the Ministry and Voldemort, you really nailed their desire to do something, anything. The moment with Angela lightened an otherwise dark and emotional chapter. I'm intrigued about the investigation into Mrs. Riddle's records...

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83085Chapter: 4
You know, I really enjoy this sroty! I hope you keep the updates coming! I look foward to the next one. I am very interested in how exactly these two lovely ladies will teach Harry the Avalonian magic. I look foawrd to it.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83072Chapter: 4
Great new chapter! I really can't wait for more. I don't think I've gotten as far as a heart attack, though...but if you put someone in named Sirius or Lily or something, I just might. =)

-Linnet

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83008Chapter: 4
Ah, good to know you are taking Professor Tolkien as your role model, I can hardly think of someone better and let me say that you are doing a fine job following his example. I also want to share with you that most of my writing time is spent on refining chapters, so don't worry about that being wrong and just keep doing it; so far it has produced good results.

About this chapter:

So far so good, the plot keeps revealing itself even more and you do it quite graciously. I really want to see how you handle this situation of introducing new powers to the HP Universe, because many have tried before and very few have actually managed it but I have faith in you.

Hope you update soon.

Reviewer: GDDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79512Chapter: 3
Great chapter - great story. I also thought that Alice was Alice Longbottom - totally ignored the dates.

Reviewer: VJADate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79491Chapter: 3
I'm enjoying this. Just to clear up - Hogwarts IS is in Britain. It is ALSO in Scotland, because Scotland is part of Britain and Britain is not synonomous with England.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: Morgan le FayeDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79476Chapter: 3
I love your story! I love Camelot and I love Harry Potter and this is really cool. Update! Please?

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79471Chapter: 3
Indeed I'm enjoying this. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

Now, onto the review - Another great chapter. The mystery is still up in the air, and it builds up even more with this chapter. Bad thing you had to end it right before they go to their meeting, but it was the natural thing to do so I will eagerly wait for the next chapter.

This time I don't have a part I liked best, because the whole chapter was pretty good. If I have to choose, though, I would go for some bits of the interaction between Angelina and Flora (very well portrayed) or how you present the setting of the chapter (in this you are a master, as I pictured the whole scenario in a few seconds).

I understand you about suffering what other student-writers suffer, because I experience it quite regularly, so my advice to you is not get desperate to finish a chapter and to write little bits every day.

Keep up the good work.

Animus

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79415Chapter: 3
Thanks for explaining about Alice. Another great chapter...you have a thing with using canon names for uncanon characters..."James" had me worried for a moment. =) Anyway, I'd love to see an update soon.

-Linnet

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79384Chapter: 3
I wondered when someone would address Avalon, and you are certainly giving the subject loving care and attention. The prologue was particularly fascinating, as was NimuŽ's interaction with the Source and Merlin's appearance. I like how you're carefully weaving the Avalonian background into the main HP universe, excellent!

Trivia: "Adeste Fideles" is often loosely translated to "O Come All Ye Faithful", since that's the English version of the Latin hymn. ;) You probably knew that already, though.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76153Chapter: 2
Nice chapter.

It's a shame to hear you are not going to delve too deeply into Arthurian legend, I have always liked it. IN anyway, your story so far looks interestingly enough for me to look forward to the next update.

Your writing is very enjoyable, as well. My favourite part was:
'A chorus of childrenís voices rose inside the snowbound building, its white marble reflecting the light of the snow sharply as if it was a beacon of hope for the hopeless and weary.'

Keep up the good work.

- Animus

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76054Chapter: 2
Wonderful new chapter! The long wait was worth it. I love your portrayal of Avalon, and the fact that you used characters such as NimuŽ and Arthur in this. Let me guess--Hannah's daughter will be Alice Longbottom, right?

Well, please update soon!

-Linnet

Reviewer: Cameo CaelanDate: 2004-02-10
Reviewid: 70028Chapter: 1
Interesting story so far with some very interesting possibilities. I love Arthurian legend and I'll be interested to see how this story turns out!

Reviewer: slate_oneDate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69787Chapter: 1
I have a question on the phase "At the British Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry" Isn't Hogwarts in Scotland and not in England?

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-02-06
Reviewid: 69656Chapter: 1
very interesting and well written.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69609Chapter: 1
This was so neat... I can't wait to read more. Beautifully worded, and leaves us in mystery. Update soon!

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69538Chapter: 1
Interesting.

The premise you make of Avalon and the structure surrounding it all sound interesting and make sense to an extent.

Good job. I shall be looking forward to an update.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --