The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Daylight Fading
Review(s): 10

Reviewer: EnidDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125623Chapter: 1
That was amazing! It was really touching and I loved it!

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 114941Chapter: 1
Short, sweet, and to the point! I like it!

And YAY also! Lily and James are still together (in a sense), and Harry gets a chance to live! Yay! See, it's not quite AS depressing as the stories about Lily or James worrying over their friends, because these guys both die TOGETHER.... I know that sounds cruel of me, but they're still with each other, right? And Harry's had some major hurdles to jump, dodge, and have to run into- but at least he's got a chance to live now. :) :D ;)

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100946Chapter: 1
How very poignant. It resonates almost eerily; sometimes I forget how horrible it would have been for Lily to comtemplate being left without James, especially with their friends dying all the time. It's not as if she had a family to go back to or to support her. Really lovely.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97737Chapter: 1
>>You hold my hand, I touch your cheek. I feel our child stir.<<

Gufa, my friend, this is lovely! Just so you know...and why haven't you submitted anything here in such a long time? *shakes head sadly*

Reviewer: ZeenatDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72030Chapter: 1
This moment is so perfect...*sigh* It's so full of her love and a sense of completion: "You are me and I am you, and there is nothing else. And there is nothing else I need. Only you."
I love the way her thoughts come full circle, beginning with her so content and happy, then listing all her fears and the dark times their living in... until she looks back at James and the feeling of completion is restored and she ends the moment feeling secure and in their love. The fears have not disappeared but they are forgotten for just a moment, which is a reverie full of joy, love, laughter and hope.
I never realised how rarely anybody writes of pure happiness, and being glad to be alive, despite the evil their facing. You haven't ignored the darkness here, but made her strong enough to realise her and James and Harry are all she wants or needs, and she has them both right now...

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70728Chapter: 1
You've got such a nice touch with the internal dialogue! I can see Lily's mind ticking over these points over and over as they're confined by their hiding space (even if it was a whole house).

I'd like to see you stretch yourself when you think you're ready (or maybe even when you don't think you're ready), go beyond what you did in 'Secret-Keeper', try a story with a little more formal structure. I'll be looking forward to it.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70715Chapter: 1
Gufa
How very beautiful. I imagine that is the strength of people like Lily and James, to balance the love with the fear. This is very moving, it is written so that we can hear each breath. I am happy to be reading it on Valentine's Day.

Coquillage
(PS - you don't have to be a seer to know the gender of your child - I knew all of mine.:)

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-02-13
Reviewid: 70522Chapter: 1
I thought it was great. A nice look into the pleasure and pain of Lily's life during that difficult time. The lyrics framed the fic nicely, as well. Great job. 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-02-13
Reviewid: 70470Chapter: 1
Gufa, that's absolutely beautiful - your best yet, I think. I loved it! I'm lost for words right now ...

(Hope that makes up for the OWL-stealing! You did get my email, didn't you?)

Nigella.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-02-13
Reviewid: 70466Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Do I need to say something else?

All right. The way you set this up helps a lot for the feeling you create. The "I look at you", then "I am afraid", and then "Then I look at you again and my heart lifts, because I realize suddenly that it doesn’t matter what happens tomorrow – if there is a tomorrow; all that matters is here and now, you and me."
That's just brilliant. You know exactly what to do to move your readers. That's a sign of a very good writer. There's no way this story could've been written better. Excellent job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --