The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Halloween
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141514Chapter: 1
Interesting ficlet

Reviewer: BeccaDate: 2005-05-03
Reviewid: 121301Chapter: 1
Loved this story, truly fabtastic. If you ask me there can't ever be too many Sirius stories, Mr. Black is quite possibly the finest character ever created, thankyou J.K and thankyou Lady Narcissa

Reviewer: KathrynDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90628Chapter: 1
That was realy good! i loved reading it... vrey interseting.... r u gonna right any more?

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86600Chapter: 1
Oh, the end is so chilling...

This is a wonderful Sirius POV. In a few minutes his world is about to come crashing down, and reading about his oblivious contentment and amusement makes it even worse.

Reviewer: Ligia ElenaDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82698Chapter: 1
Excellent job. One of my favorite lines: "One more spell unraveled by the team of Potter and Black, and damn, we're good. Very good." So true to character and so sad.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81688Chapter: 1
That last line is so cruel. Great imagery.

Reviewer: Jolie BlackDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78900Chapter: 1
Narcissa, I really love the way you write Sirius – your stories just get better and better. Write more! This one was worth the read for the final paragraph alone, it’s so brilliant it gave me *goosebumps*. You’re officially my Queen of Brilliant Last Lines now.

Another favourite line:

>>>> You get named after a star and that comes with big expectations. You get named after the brightest star in the night sky and the expectations only grow and grow. <<<<

This is so poignant, it’s a fantastic. All very much in character, and the stream of consciousness technique, jumping from one subject to another, works very well.

Oh, and I love the word “wolf-sit”.


Another very enjoyable story – thanks for sharing it, and keep them coming! :-)


Jolie

Reviewer: GailDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77749Chapter: 1
That's an imazing story!!U Rock!!Make with more stories.TTYS ;)

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77120Chapter: 1
Damn! That was good. I'm definately a Sirius-ficcer through and through. I thought this was extremely well-written! You've managed to capture young!Sirius so well. It seems like canon-Sirius is still very much there. But...I don't know. It just seems like some how you reached into MY brain and were able to pick out the image and write it as I can't. Excellent job! Really outstanding!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75561Chapter: 1
At the end, after it feels like you've been up in the sky with him, there's the Dark Mark and, WHUMP!, you land. Back on Earth. Not really a surprise ending, just sudden. And you aren't expecting it.

Reviewer: Elsie-May CulpepperDate: 2004-03-05
Reviewid: 73231Chapter: 1
Nice one!

Reviewer: Diggory LivesDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71741Chapter: 1
Still just as good as when I read it in your car. :) Except less bumpy. I really enjoy delving into the mind of Sirius Black and so far you have been the best tour guide I've found. (Even if it does make me cry sometimes.)

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71171Chapter: 1
Wow. Wonderful job with this. I like how you end it with Sirius noticing the green light on the clouds. Very ominous. Fantastic work!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71140Chapter: 1
This was wonderful! I loved it...it characterized Sirius perfectly. My favorite line:

"The wind doesn't think so and the stars don't care. You get named after a star and that comes with big expectations. You get named after the brightest star in the night sky and the expectations only grow and grow."

It made me smile.

Thank you for providing me with relief from a very boring English class.

-Linnet

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71114Chapter: 1
Incredibly in-character Sirius? Check.
Fabulous descriptions and turns of phrase? Check.
Successful interweaving of canon and fanon? Check.

This fic meets all my criteria for a ROX'n Sirius fic :) (There's not much, but I like to think they're stringent!) Yay again for you!

Reviewer: miss_lily_lupinDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70807Chapter: 1
"There's even, I notice with some amusement, a silver cloud not too far below me reflecting green into the night sky. How bloody poetic."

*shivers* It's so subtle that some wouldn't even get it if they didn't read into it enough... *shivers* You're way too good at that.

"Dumbledore offered and so did Remus. Remus has enough on his plate, though..."

Remus offered? But Sirius thought Remus was the traitor. Wouldn't Sirius, even if Remus HAD offered, have just blown him off?

Other then that little aspect, I thought it was a great story. I loved the motorbike and how it made Sirius feel free. I loved the flashbacks and everything to deal with it. I could even sort of guess who was saying what line in teh paragraph of lines from the past.

All around great job! I look forward to more of your writing!

Reviewer: Zephyrus ProlixityDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70768Chapter: 1
Anther Bloody marvelous work. I do love your insights into the Character of Sirius Black.

Wonderful Job!!!!!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70713Chapter: 1
Wow.

You continue to amazme me with how wonderfully bitter you can make Sirius. I've never, ever, read a Sirius that even comes close to yours--Rash. Reckless. Brave. Loyal. Opinionated. So perfect. I can't even find words to describe how much I like this story. Great job!

Reviewer: Sammy WeasleyDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70712Chapter: 1
I liked. Very nice story. Some of Sirius's thoughts were cute. Like the one about changing Harry's nappies and green being his parents colors when tickled. Great story.

Reviewer: AmberdulenDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70699Chapter: 1
Beautiful! I like how you chose to end it. Yes, those are probably the best five words ... man, OotP must have killed you.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70677Chapter: 1
I would like to write an intelligent review, but I am silenced by Sirius's voice.
This is a beautiful, heartrending piece.

Gufa

Reviewer: Sunny DayleeDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70675Chapter: 1
I can hear this whole story in my head in Sirius' voice. There's really only one way I can describe it. Ironic. Beautifully written and heartbreakingly ironic. You have such a way with words and characters that moves me every time. Thanks for another awesome piece.

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70627Chapter: 1
Oh. My. What an ending. My.

Reviewer: Erin LovegoodDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70582Chapter: 1
Lady Narcissa,

A very interesting protrait of such a tragic, flawed character. I particular enjoyed his thoughts on the family your born into and the one you choose. (I thinks it's interesting that's pretty much what Dumbledore has said in the past). Very nice indeed.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --