The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Child Of Mine
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: WormyDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128307Chapter: 1
At first I thought this would be about Lily and Harry...but somehow this way it's even sadder.
It's an excellent story though. The details are amazing and it's almost unbelievably well-written.

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-06-15
Reviewid: 124030Chapter: 1
That was so wonderful, and so tragic. I love the blunt, spare way you write; poetic, but with no frills attached. I think this is one of the saddest stories about Riddle that I've ever read, because in his mother's love you can see the possibility of a very different life, had she lived. A truly beautiful story about a truly remarkable woman.

Reviewer: David MasonDate: 2004-12-12
Reviewid: 107606Chapter: 1
Intense! You should write more

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71936Chapter: 1
wow...at first i thought this fic was about lily but then i got to the part about the woman waking up and i realized it couldn't be her, and then i found out at the end and i was a bit stunned. well done!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71246Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this very much. Your use of the first person made the fic very dramatic and immediate, and I liked the way you concealed the mother's identity until the end of the story. As some other reviewers have said, it's interesting to think about what might have happened had things thured out differently for Tom's mother.

Atropos

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71136Chapter: 1
I thought that this was a lovely story. I had wondered before about Tom's mother, and like another reviewer, I wonder how Tom's future might have been different had he grown up in his mother's care, rather than the muggle orphanage...also, to another reviewer who offered criticism of pronoun usage (jumping from you to him, referring to the baby): I believe that the author was using "him" when the mother was talking about her baby, but was using "you" when she was talking to the baby; thus, justifying the change in pronoun.
Anyhow, it was a beautiful insight into Tom's past. Keep writing!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 71049Chapter: 1
Wonderful! This is such an unexpected and beautiful piece. No one says much about Voldemort's mother, and it's a very interesting role in the story. Makes me wonder what would have happened had she survived his birth. Would he still have turned into the Dark Lord? Hmmmm. . .

Anyway, very, very nicely done!

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 71004Chapter: 1
*waits for normal breathing to resume*

What a surprise ending! Excellent writing. Thank you for a compelling look at Tom's mother, and his early life.

Reviewer: lineDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70992Chapter: 1
So sad, but wonderfully written!
I thought that it was Lily Potter at first, but then I found out that is was Tom's mother....
I imagine that she might have been this way, and this story was beautiful,
~~Line

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70927Chapter: 1
Very moving. I hope his mother never knew what he became after her sacrifice.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70904Chapter: 1
At first, I assumed that you were writing about Lily Potter. Then, I realized that you were describing a very similar yet divergent tale of maternal sacrifice, one that is very rarely covered in fanfiction.

Overall, your writing style is very good. The passage that most struck me was:

<Give me the boy.
<No!
<The realisation hits me suddenly, and runs through my dying body on <veins of lightning. He will not have my son. I have already <sacrificed myself, and I will not let all my labours have been in <vain. I clench my fists with effort and I-
<-I wake up.
<It is over.

I like the ambiguity between the character of Death waiting to claim another victim and the doctor delivering the child.

My only criticism is that you jump back and forth between referring to the child as "he" and "you". Try to be consistent with your pronoun usage.

Reviewer: SheilaDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70894Chapter: 1
It's so sad. It really must be terrifing to have something so sad occur at a time that should be so happy. Well written.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --