The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Breaking News
Review(s): 45

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145541Chapter: 6
Quite Nice.

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141319Chapter: 6
Wonderful.
- Well-written. Chronologically this story is very well strung together, so one thing leads to another leads to a flash-forward leads to a flash-back.
- I could feel the strong bonds existing between Ted, Andromeda, Tonks, and Sirius (though the last one to a lesser extent. Sirius' relationship with Dora Tonks was sort of lost on me.) You did a very good job, methought.
- Excellent charecterizations.

-Q

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2004-12-25
Reviewid: 108599Chapter: 6
LOVED it...all the details, like Andie's glasses, Tonks unable to control her animorphimagus capabilities, Ted being the reporter from book 1...Andie feeling guitly about being a Black...LOVED IT!

OK, it probably has *something* to do with the fact that I have a cosplay of Andromeda Black...and two friends have cosplays of Narcissa and Bellatrix Black. :p

GREAT JOB!

More, please? :p

Debora

Reviewer: vixDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98223Chapter: 6
i like a lot i want more

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95293Chapter: 6
Great story! I like how you brought Andromeda and Ted into the fold through Tonks, and I think you really captured Sirius' mood well in the end with his letter to them. I would love to see how they react to his side of the story, and to see if they do anyhting to help the order.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95251Chapter: 6
Aww! That was such a good epilogue. The letter was touching, and I liked how Andromeda always, inside, wished Sirius was innocent. Nice twist. :)

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95042Chapter: 6
Okay, I like this story, and the last chapter made me want to cry. I miss you Sirius! *sniff* Good job!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95035Chapter: 6
What do you mean, epilogue??? You can't leave us hanging like that. I like this fic too much not to see it through to the awful reaction they must have to Sirius' fate. Please write more.

Reviewer: TobyDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94936Chapter: 6
Ah. Nicely wrapped up.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94762Chapter: 5
Nice story. I especially like Dora's chapter - it's an interesting missing moment. Clever idea about the chocolate frog cards!

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94440Chapter: 5
ARG!

ARG!

I'm really irritated.

I've been resisting reading this story, simply because I find it too depressing to read about people who mistakenly believe that they were betrayed by someone close to them.

However, I decided to read the latest chapter about Tonks, just to see what it was like.

Arg.

Now I'm hooked.

Now I have to read it.

This is good stuff.

-Steve

Reviewer: frankie beeblebroxDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94400Chapter: 5
Great story, thus far. I really enjoy the plot you have laid out with Andromeda, Ted, Alice and Frank. It's very chilling to think Alice knew it was coming, yet couldn't do anything to stop it. Wonderful ideas of how Tonks was brought into the order, and I really like the "very large memo" that she had to duck. I am assuming it was headed to Arthur? How very JKR of you! Great job, and I am looking forward to more!

Reviewer: Hermione_the_hobbitDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94309Chapter: 5
I was so excited to see this story updated! I really like this chapter. It was quite interesting to see the way Tonks was introduced to the Order. You should continue with more Ted and Andromeda. It's hard to find a good fic about them. This is one of the few that I've found.

Reviewer: AliciaDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94232Chapter: 5
Great story! I love it. Update ASAP!

Reviewer: AliciaDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93982Chapter: 1
Awesome story! I love Dora. Update soon!

Reviewer: heartseaDate: 2004-06-28
Reviewid: 89249Chapter: 1
this was perfect! i have been searching high and low for some exceptionally good stories, and yours have definitely made it into my list. i applaud how you've made everything click brilliantly, especially the whole army of facts from canon, which in my opinion are rather tricky to elaborate and fit into plots. i loved your characterisations of almost everyone in the story, as well, especially ted and alice.

please keep up your fine work. this was a wonderfully simple and smooth read. do update chapter five soon!

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-06-13
Reviewid: 86978Chapter: 4
This kind of fics make me realise how horrible it must have been then... They make me sad.

Well, anyway, great story! Very well-written, and I do hope this isn't the end. I'll keep an eye on your name :).

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86855Chapter: 4
I've said this before, but this is a really good story, and each chapter is better than the last. I must say I like the Ted sections a bit better than the Andromeda sections, but it's still great. Your Nymphadora is very cute, and has the bubbly personality from canon, I loved her interaction with Ted in chapter 3. The "Snakes and Lions" game with her and Neville was priceless!
I really like your depiction of the troubled time following Voldemort's fall. Even though the biggest threat is gone, everything's still not rosy in the wizarding world. Andromeda's fear that Death Eaters might come after Nymphadora illustrates this really well, as do Alice's insider info about the Aurors' business.
Finally, that's an evil cliffhanger. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: MollieDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85890Chapter: 4
this is really interesting...I hope that once you're done with this, you write a sequel about Andromeda, Ted, and Tonks discovering Sirius' innocence 13 years later after the TriWizard Tournament

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85827Chapter: 4
Wow- what great story so far. I really enjoyed this- well written, interesting viewpoints, attention to detail and canon and nicely paced. I too share a sneaking suspicion that Ted Tonks will turn out to be the newscaster-it's what drew me into your story, and I really liked the way you incorporated his having dual jobs for both the Ministry and the newstation.

I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85743Chapter: 4
Oh, no! What are they going to tell her? Dora will be so upset; I feel bad for her. I hope you update soon!

Also, very clever twist on Aquila's name. And I always thought of some Purebloods thinking of their heritage on a religious level, too - sort of like how Kings used to believe that they were given the Divine Right to rule and such.

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82443Chapter: 3
Wow.... I like what you've done with little Nymphadora. Andromeda's a lot better about it than she was in a fic I wrote. ^^ But anyway, I think you should do Dora's thoughts next - though that might be too depressing. I feel so bad for all of them, though! "Cousin Sirius is in the paper." :(

Reviewer: Livia LianaDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79356Chapter: 3
This story is continuing very nicely. You write good dialogue and your little Nymphadora is adorable. Ted is also extremely well-written.

Regarding dates, November 2nd is certainly plausible, but I wonder if it fits with what you're writing now - a Sirius that is mad with shock or grief, and that helping Ted and Andromeda believe he could be innocent. To me, that's more easily explainable to the Tonks' if it happened much more closely to the events of October 31st. Still, I think you're perfectly free to do as you wish with dates, given that I don't think canon can be interpreted clearly at all on this issue. :)

Looking forward to more!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75255Chapter: 3
This was perfect! I love fics about Andromeda and Ted. Nymphadora is adorable, also. It was cute and heartbreaking at the same time, how she interpreted the reason for Sirius being on the front page...

I hope you'll update soon--I love this story.

-Linnet

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75013Chapter: 3
Wow...I never would have thought to make the connection between the news reporter from SS and Ted Tonks. That alone is amazing! The story itself is great too, an excellent portrayal of what Ted and Andromeda probably went through upon Sirius' arrest.

Reviewer: Hermione_the_hobbitDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74954Chapter: 3
This is one of the best stories I've seen in a long time! I really like the way you portray both Ted and Andromeda. Please update soon!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74901Chapter: 3
Very nicely done. Brilliant correlation with Ted being the news reporter from PS. . .what a great way to keep tabs on the Muggle world without drawing suspicion. I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74895Chapter: 3
love this story so far can wait for the update

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74881Chapter: 3
Wow. This is a REALLY good story. I'm really enjoying this. It's excellent. Update soon.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74875Chapter: 3
I'm really enjoying this story. It was a slow start, with the build up between Ted and Andromeda, but I think this chapter is where things will really get going. I'm interested to see your take on Sirius's lack of trial. Andromeda's and Ted's disbelief and confusion was brilliantly written, as was Ted's physical and mental nausea over the corpses of the explosion... Very topical.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74869Chapter: 2
This is a great story. I haven't seen many fics focusing on the Tonks family as a whole; usually people just write about Andromeda and not the rest.
I love the concept of Ted working as a news anchor, and hiding magical stuff from Muggles as well. Very nice idea.
Off to read the next chapter!

Reviewer: ElfirDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74835Chapter: 2
Little (and big!) Dora is so cute. You've got a great grasp on what it must be like to be the parents of such a creature. But that's the only niceness in this story. How disturbing it must be for Andromeda o_o

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74462Chapter: 2
This was written very well and I love how you made Tonks as a child, clumsy and slightly naive but yet convincing. I also like how you had Ted interviewing one of the people in "the gas explosion."

I hope you write more fics about Ted and Andromeda (or maybe there's more to this...)

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74376Chapter: 1
Very clever
like I've said before I love when you guys flesh out minor characters and events and give them a story it just seems to drive the whole point of fan fiction home

Reviewer: Livia LianaDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71571Chapter: 1
I like this chapter. There are some really nice details in there, especially the part about having to convince Ted's family that the Hogwarts letter was real. I think that probably happens in most cases, and I like reading about it in fic.

I'm not personally of the belief that the newsreader was Ted Tonks, but it's certainly a smart, interesting way to start a story, and you've created a very likeable character who will be a very interesting voice to follow. I'm looking forward to more!

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71537Chapter: 1
Very nice. It picked up on a few things I hadn't ever really considered, especially the reaction of the Tonks family to the news that their beloved cousin Sirius was implicated in all of this. I think that the sorts of things that Ted is doing in the story are what I always envisioned the "Muggle Worthy Excuses Office" doing, and so it was nice to see Ted's "double life".

Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Erin LovegoodDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71390Chapter: 1
Very Nice start. I'd never thought of the newscaster but you know J.K. she surprises the reader everytime.:) I can't wait to read the rest.

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71315Chapter: 1
Ah, very nicely done! I love the image you snuck in of Neville's Gran. All the interweaving with snippets from canon is delightful. And thanks for giving life to Ted.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71306Chapter: 1
I love your idea that a wizard can be a respectable member of the Muggle world...especially in Ted's line of work! He certainly seems to see the whole of each situation. What I like about this story is it's point of view; how we see Ted's thoughts processing the information he's given, how someone connected with not only the Muggle and Wizarding Worlds but the Black family as well, might have reacted to finding out the real truth connecting Voldemort, the Potters and Sirius Black. I can hardly wait to read more.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71285Chapter: 1
Ted as the newscaster is a very creative idea. 8-)

So far, I'm really enjoying this. The frenzy was nice, and I like what you've done so far with Ted's character. Great premise and beginning, I'm anxious to see where this goes.

Thanks for sharing it!

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71249Chapter: 1
A nice start! Yeah! And, Aragog, Ted is a Muggle-born, not a Muggle, so everything is in order.

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71244Chapter: 1
I hate to rain on the parade, but OotP clearly states that Nymphadora's father was a muggle, not a wizard. This story is therefore A/U.

It's reasonably well otherwise.

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71211Chapter: 1
Excellent! I absolutely love fics about the Black sisters.

This was really, really great. You handled Ted very well and the situation with Sirius and the Blacks. I also adore News anchor!Ted, I just love the idea of Ted being a news anchor. I can see it all too well.

This is really great and really rare, there's hardly any fics that even mention Andromeda! I cannot wait for the next chapter! Keep up the amazing work!

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71209Chapter: 1
Wow. So far I really like this story! Keep up the good work!

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: AuthorByNightDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71195Chapter: 1
*Gasps* No fair, that was an evil cliffhanger. Ah well, update soon and maybe I'll forgive you. ;)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --