The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dutch Courage
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: AshendenDate: 2007-07-16
Reviewid: 148579Chapter: 1
I've rarely read a story which gives Peter's character so many layers. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136613Chapter: 1
Interesting

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117293Chapter: 1
Beautifully done. I loved this line:

"James worked hard to help me learn the disguise that would allow me to escape punishment for his death."

That really does bring home the essential irony of the situation, doesn't it?

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113991Chapter: 1
Amazing story. To the best of my knowledge no one has given Peter a better reason for his actions than you just have. He needed to be "needed."

Very well written. Your style is perfect for this sort of story.

Reviewer: Christina KeimigDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92443Chapter: 1
Your writing is so very impacting! I just have one little detail--James Potter wasn't head Chaser, he was Seeker, if you will remember.

Some of your later stuff about Lupin and Sirius had me bawling my head off like a baby here at work! Impressive writing. Thank you for sharing your abilities with us!!

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85542Chapter: 1
Not much to say except that I really liked this - it was original, well written, succinct, and interesting. Well done!

Reviewer: CarlieDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85065Chapter: 1
Fantastic! You really got inside Peter's head. I can see Peter feeling this and the progressive jealousy is all realistic. So many stories leave him out or he's not really a part of the group. I think you hit Peter right on the mark. I've always wondered why Peter choose to betray his friends and you came up with a very plausible and realistic reason.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84602Chapter: 1
Wow. That was extremely well written. I loved the bit where Peter was being made fun of and the Marauders rushed out and pulled him into the compartment, and Peters growing jealousy… amazing writing, keep it up!

Reviewer: StereoMDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80862Chapter: 1
Fantastic. :D

I suck at reviewing, so I'll leave it at that.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80574Chapter: 1
Oh, wow, that was probably THE best Pettigrew story I've read so far!!

Reviewer: CassieDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80373Chapter: 1
First of all, I can't tell you how much I thank you for this story. i believe there is much more to Peter that we don't know, and I hate people always treating him like trash in their stories, or leaving him out altogether. So, thank you for writing this. I really enjoyed it, in a sad sort of way. It shows insight to the Peter we barely know, yet judge so harshly.

Reviewer: Olivia WoodDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77118Chapter: 1
Wheee! :) Pretty. Best Pettigrew fic I've read. You deserve marshmellows. :)

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71738Chapter: 1
*whistles* that was intense. Wow. You portrayed his possible thoughts and emotions seamlessly. Perfect.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71589Chapter: 1
Wow. This is fantastic. Your window into Peter's mind is not only amazingly detailed wonderfully descriptive and fascinating, it's also depressing as anything. His self loathing and fear is so readily apparent.

"It brought my selfishness home to me. I would have died for them, but only to repay them for their friendship.

He would have died for them because he loved them."

Brilliant. This whole thing is amazing. Very, very well done.

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71504Chapter: 1
I'm becoming addicted to your stories. This one was great. You have a knack for being able to get _inside_ the character's minds and Pettigrew was very well done. Great job and keep writing.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71460Chapter: 1
This is a great interior monologue of one of the story's most (in my view) enigmatic characters. Often put down as two-dimensional and worthless, he is harshly condemned and reviled by all. However, no one stops to think just what made him what he is, and this you have done very well. His lifelong jealousy, his terrible guilt, and his broken courage come across very strongly in this story. It has always been a great mystery to me why he would have turned on his friends, one demanding of a much more complex answer than the typical shallow reader is prepared to give. Congratulations on your incredible insight and writing talent.

Reviewer: C hocolate Frog CardDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71365Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this. Peter's character was perfect. I liked how you made him talk about a bunch of different events (instead of just betraying James and Lily): the train ride, the Sorting, becoming Animagi. Really great exploration of Pettigrew! Great job!

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71363Chapter: 1
Wow! This is really good! I've never thought of Peter in quite this way, but it makes a ton of sense! I also like the writing style! it's really neat! I just realized I'm ending every sentence with a ! Okay, stopping with that, I just want to say that this is a really good fic, Peter seems really OC, and... well... this is great, overall.

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71358Chapter: 1
Although I am more inclined to believe consumption of Firewhiskey would lead him to a welcome oblivion rather than clarity of thought, this is a worthy exploration of the mind of Peter Pettigrew. Especially if it was presented as something written the night before he was to be sent to Azkaban.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71356Chapter: 1
Excellent characterization of the Marauders, and the prose is really good. The dates, though, are a bit off. It's likely the Marauders started Hogwarts a couple years before 1971 (see the Dates & Ages thread on the SQ). Also, the Order suspected there was a spy for a year before the Potters were killed. So it's unlikely that Wormtail became a spy much earlier than that, and starting in his seventh year would be a bit too early.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --