The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Being Muggleborn
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-13
Reviewid: 134393Chapter: 1
Better than Fair

Reviewer: WormyDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128250Chapter: 1
I loved it. I've always wondered what it was like for other Hogwarts students before they were admitted to Hogwarts-Hermione especially-so this story is really my cup of tea!
Could you write another one about another student, pleeeeease?

Reviewer: JayDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123721Chapter: 1
Well, i liked the idea, but it hought you made Hermione too mature (compare her to herself on the train in Phil Stone), also i would add a seggment where hermione convinces her parents that she can go, after all they probably dont beleiv in magic.
great story sorry for the critique.
Jay

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87625Chapter: 1
I just stumbled upon a recommendation for this fic, and I'm so glad I did! What a great story! I especially liked how it added up with exactly what happened when Harry came on the scene...Hermione would have gone on to the back compartment and asked if they had seen Neville's toad, and the rest is history! I also liked how you had little Ginny running along beside the train...very nice story!

Jules

Reviewer: A. NonymousDate: 2004-06-11
Reviewid: 86739Chapter: 1
I think it would be nice to see the school year from Hermiones pov. But, thats my opinion

Reviewer: CliodnaDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86275Chapter: 1
How adorable! This is a very lovely story, and you're writing stlye is incredibly nice and easy to read. The plot was helpful, as well, as it was something that I'd always wondered about.

Reviewer: BriannaDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86265Chapter: 1
Very good. I can only picture a ten year old Emma Watson aka Hermione Grnger

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72224Chapter: 1
well done! I'm glad to see that Muggle-borns aren't just left on their own to figure everything out.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72164Chapter: 1
I really wish this story was longer and more detailed. You bring out several issues about Hermione's life with her parents and then don't explore the ideas very long. I'd really love to find out why Hermione didn't get along with the neighborhood children and what sort of discussions about her letter Hermione heard her parents having. You did a nice job of helping the Granger family get onto Platform 9 3/4 having them meet up with the Longbottoms. Overall, I enjoyed your story. I just wish there had been more of it.

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72162Chapter: 1
Very nice, I like your characterisation of Hermione. It's quite true to canon and the story flows well. Good job :)

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72009Chapter: 1
awww!!!!!
how sweet. portrays her perfectly!
my favorite line: "Books." (that was when she repeated what Tom said.)

Reviewer: TrinhDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 71950Chapter: 1
Yay! that was lurvly. :)

Reviewer: AuthorByNightDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71862Chapter: 1
Aww! That was really sweet. You should try doing her POV further, though.

However, I have one question-when you said Hermione was studying Democracy, did you mean because it was her Government? Because England is actually a Constitutional Monarchy, not a Democracy. I'm sure you know that, though, I just wanted to make sure. Sorry, not trying to nitpick.... I really did like that story, and I'm sure you just meant she was studying different Governments.

Reviewer: Ted M. HammettDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71817Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this missing moment very much thanks for writing it.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71804Chapter: 1
Not a bad try. I myself have wondered just how it went for Hermione. At least with Harry, we see that the Wizarding world seems to take a 'sink or swim' approach with people.

I wonder though, can Hermione's parents actually get onto the platform? I'd always thought not, due to it being a magical barrier. Hmm, now I'll have to go doublecheck the books.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71802Chapter: 1
This is an interesting take on what Muggle-borns go through in being introduced to the magical world. I always assumed that they would think it to be junk mail, so I imagined there might be some kind of seminar hosted by the school and the Ministry to explain things to the parents--just a thought. I really like your characterization of Hermione before she went to Hogwarts. Well done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --