The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A New Home
Review(s): 109

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-08-03
Reviewid: 144616Chapter: 5
I love the part where Minerva put a paw on Harry's foot. That was so cute!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135513Chapter: 5
Interesting.

Reviewer: TiffanyDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120437Chapter: 5
I like this story a lot. Is this the end of it? How sad if it is, I like it so much. You made it all believeable and such. And I love the way you made it from Professor McGonagall's point of view.

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110213Chapter: 1
Very good! It's interesting to get in the head of Albus Dumbledore, as not many writers dare to do it. But you have done it just great, with little quirks like

'Even more pleasure he derived from imagining the characters and appearances of new students only to find he had been horribly wrong during the Sorting Ceremony.'

and

'He had successfully subdued his flaring instincts with his own reasoning, and the only thing left that could bother him now was the fact that Minerva was standing in front of his window and thus blocking the sunlight.'

Brilliant! And the first line made me think about GoF, where Harry imagines Dumbledore sunbathing. :D

Again, very good story. Thank you!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109404Chapter: 5
Good, good, good. You explained everything thoroughly, or enough so that I could guess how the characters came to their conclusions. I really liked the image of Dumbledore sunbathing!

Reviewer: MercedesDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109360Chapter: 1
Nice,real nice

Reviewer: CybčleDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106866Chapter: 5
"I hope this story managed to live up to the expectations."

Oh yes, it really did !

I love your writing, I love your "Artists and Scientists Universe" and I will read the second sequel as soon as I can. See you in the review.

Cybčle.

Reviewer: CybčleDate: 2004-12-04
Reviewid: 106862Chapter: 1
lol I can picture Dumbledore with his list so well ! You wrote that in a very J.K. Rowling kind of way. It's just great !

Reviewer: LoddyDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98219Chapter: 2
I absolutely love this story (all of this series)...My only complaint is that 'snapping a wand in two is the only way to stop being a wizard'...I guess I just always thought that it wasn't the wand that made the wizard, and that maybe all wizards can do wandless magic...But it's your little fanfic world and I still adore the series no matter what!

The whole Evans-genealogy twist is ingenious...

Reviewer: KagomeDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96853Chapter: 5
:D Now I start to see where your universe is driving you :)

I like your idea of having harry find a new family and the way you've done this makes it very canon-ish. I have loved Petunia's burst over her freak's family. LOL poor ole Petunia had thought not to have freak relatives anymore -- except for Harry -- but she finds herself with having another two of them. LOL.

I also liked your McGonagall. She's perfectly in character, and Albus too. Even though thinking of sunbathing!Albus build a smile on my face. I imagined the old wizard with something keeping his long beard all set up together and sunglasses at his eyes, wearing a bath sui and lazily stretching his arms over a sea seat LOL. But of course that wasn't the case ;)

I am a bit confused about Fudge though. Or rather, I think there's a little problem in that chapter. Minerva hasn't said Mark's name to the Minister. She has only said that there was an underage boy who is relative to Harry. Now, Fudge *might* have realised his family name (even being Fudge, he can't be completely unaware that the Potters were all dead so the only relatives Harry could have were the Evanses), but how could he realise Mark's name?

But maybe I have missed something.

great job anyway!

Reviewer: mattDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93365Chapter: 5
I realy like your storys!! Countinue on writing!!!!!

J.K. says that mark is not relatid to harry but for get that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Nicky KendallDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91718Chapter: 5
Thanks. I enjoyed reading this.

Reviewer: nooneyaknowDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 89007Chapter: 5
wow. i just finished the whole thing. I just remembered too. Mark Evans was the little guy that Big D beat up before Harry's fifth year, right? I never even thought of Mark being related to Harry. It's great though. It's like Harry having a little brother. I loved these stories!! Right more! Pleaz...

Reviewer: AbbyDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88993Chapter: 5
Wow! absolutly fabulous, this story is wonderfuly written and fits right into the harry potter universe. i can't wait to see the next instalment!

Reviewer: HarrietDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 88011Chapter: 5
Aww! I'm so glad Harry found relatives that don't treat him like crap!

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87484Chapter: 5
I really like this story. I think that it was cool how in the story harry has found out that he has remaining relatives that are not evil and don't hate magic. Thanks for this story.
It was great!

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86422Chapter: 5
I really, really liked the two stories, I really hope to see more of this series. You're a fantastic writer, and you have a lot of talent. Keep up the good work. If you need any ideas or help or the such, feel free to e-mail me:)

Reviewer: nocturnusDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85770Chapter: 5
It's me again. just realized there was a sequel, I'm enjoying this universe...A LOT.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80083Chapter: 5
Sorry - short review

I really enjoyed this. As always, I wanted to punch Fudge. I like the hint of Mark's power, and Harry's reaction to what happened... I might have thought he'd be slightly skeptical about having family just turn up on the doorstep but when you live with the Dursleys, anything to escape!

I would have liked a bit of Dudley in it, but that's just because I love reading him. Oh so obnoxious! The story didn't need it, that's just for me.

Thanks!

Reviewer: GiniDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79828Chapter: 5
Yay! I love your story, your universe with Mark Evans. And this story was more centered around evryones reaction to Mark instead of Mark himself. Very interesting, I think you are a wonderful writer.

Gini

Reviewer: KEDmeDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77402Chapter: 5
Yea! Just when it was getting interesting. I was hoping to see more Harry in this. Make the next one chalk full of Harry and Mark, and I'll be happy! Great writing. I love this idea!

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77171Chapter: 5
Hmm. Maybe the Weasleys'll invite him and his new-found friend for the duration of the summer later, but who knows? Heck, maybe after seeing his son recieving his letter a few days ago, he might be willing to go back as a wizard, but I doubt that he'll not use magic as often as he used to.

For one thing, Vernon's not to mistreat Harry that badly ever again, not after the encounter with Harry's Advance Guard's Moody and his magical eye at King's Cross. He should remember that Harry's bound owl the Advance Guard because he mistreated Harry.

From what I've heard of in Ms. Rowling's interview at the World Book Online or something in March, Harry's summer at the Dursleys would be the shortest as it ever has been. It could be this, or maybe that the Weasleys would invite him over earlier than usual. Also, minister Fudge won't be minister anymore. There'll be a new minister, hopefully the elections will happen during the summer. I just can't wait for the sixth to come out!:)

Reviewer: AtreyuDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 76002Chapter: 5
WRITE MORE!! WRITE MORE! WRITE MORE! WRITE MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!PLEASE WRITE MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75910Chapter: 5
I really liked this sequel, especially how Prof McGonagall came inside as a cat. *grin*

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75610Chapter: 1
and one more thing! if there was a contest for fanfic most likely to turn canon you would win, over any fluffy h/hr ship fic or whatever. and your name is like the sound a frog makes. bir-GIT. bir-GIT.

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75608Chapter: 1
i just wanted to add that you got an incredible amount of maybe-canon material from one very short line, "i heard you did mark evens..." i never pick up on stuff like that. man! you're so cool.

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75605Chapter: 1
wouldn't it be horrible if your story is more or less correct, and harry could have been living with the evenses for his whole life instead of the dursleys? not to knock jkr's writing, but i think a kid who was raised in a closet would turn out more messed up than harry. and i'll bet mark is the cutest kid ever. i love your dialogue; you do petunia very well.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75548Chapter: 5
Once again you finish your story and I'm not ready to say goodbye to your characters...I'm glad you enjoy writing about Mark, because I think that many people enjoy reading about him just as much!!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75518Chapter: 5
Great story! I was really happy when I realized that there were 4 chapters that I hadn't read of this story, because I've really been enjoying this universe. Thank goodness Harry doesn't have to live with the Dursleys any more! I thought it was really create that you found a small loophole through the ancient magic, it dawned on me as soon as Minerva started to talk about how the problem of Mark and Harry's safety would be resolved if they lived together.

This story was great, and I look forward to reading the next part of this universe.

Liz

Reviewer: Anthony DiGeorgioDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75237Chapter: 1
Wow! I read the story before this, and it was great. I've been looking for good stories about MArk Evans for weeks; and I've found em! I love the Dumbledore sunbathing thing, too. :) *continues to read*

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75209Chapter: 5
Wonderful! I hope to see a sequel coming soon!

Reviewer: TalimeekaDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75204Chapter: 5
As much as I enjoyed that and am very pleased that Harry finally found a home where he is happy, I can't believe that that's the end! Can you please write about Harry's life with the Evans', brigit? Please? I want to learn more about Mark's relationship with Harry. It can be plotless. :)

Other than that one thing I especially enjoyed in the story is cat!Minerva spying on the Dursleys and the description of Minerva heading for the Evans house at the end of the story. Good job!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74905Chapter: 5
Your take on Harry's "new home" certainly agrees with JK's latest web chat, in which she stated that Harry will have the shortest stay with the Dursleys yet. Could be that he moves in with the Evanses, could be!

A couple of other things in your story don't agree with canon, though. For example, canon shows that breaking a wizard's wand doesn't make him non-magic. Hagrid can still do magic with a splinter of his wand concealed in the umbrella. And Harry did magic before he had a wand. So in my view, Mr. Evans should still be a wizard, although he doesn't practice anymore. Perhaps you'll give him the chance to do magic again with Mark's or Harry's wand, in the sequel. I'd love to see it.

Oh, another thing I have doubts about: not sure Harry would be blamed for Mark's accidental magic. He wasn't blamed for Tonks' magic when she packed his trunk. Only for Dobby's spell, but we know that elf magic is "a different brand" so maybe that explains it. Of course, canon doesn't give us a definitive answer, so perhaps I'm wrong.

Anyway, I'd really really like to see a Mark-Harry interaction. Mark has such a refreshing outlook on life, and Harry needs that badly. Plus, Harry can teach Mark a lot of things.

Keep up the writing. It's been getting better and better.

Reviewer: GDDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74816Chapter: 5
I love Mark Evans too, so write as much as you want to about him. This chapter seemed to have ended a bit abruptly, so i can't wait to see what happens in the next story.
Great job, BTW.

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74799Chapter: 5
really good, please, please keep going!

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74796Chapter: 5
If only it could work out so easily for Harry! I can see Harry jumping at the chance to live with an new relative -- anyone would be better than the Dursleys. Cute story. Are you going to show Harry getting to know the Evans family?

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74788Chapter: 5
Hello birgit,

This is a wonderful story. I thought I'd save my review for the end. It's not the same as "Artists and Scientists" because it doesn't come from Mark's POV (which I love, somehow dreamy and factual at the same time, like a mixture of Luna and Hermione!). However, I was very pleased to see that we get a lot of McGonagall/Dumbledore interaction in this story. I was also dryly amused by the Fudge/McGonagall interaction, I kept nodding my head and going "Yep, that's exactly what I'd expect him to do". He really is incompetent, isn't he? I loved the way McGonagall ran rings around him. Plus, the Dursleys were their usual horrible selves; Harry seemed to be slightly better than before, but still an adolescent, you got the balance right, well done! Dumbledore's "stroke of genius" made me grin.

I look forward to reading more about Mark and Harry.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Edd WoodwardDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74775Chapter: 5
I read every word. The story is fantastic. I wish you would do a sequel since young Mark will be leaving soon along with Harry to attend Hogwarts. Hope to see something from you soon. On any subject.

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74768Chapter: 5
WRITE MORE!!!!! Get up right now, get to the computer or notebook or however you write, and WRITE A SEQUEL TO THIS...er...SEQUEL!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74707Chapter: 5
Thanks for making Harry happy! As JKR says he will spend his shortest time yet with the Dursleys, perhaps we'll be reading Book Six and saying "hey, that's what birgit wrote!" Nice plotting.

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74675Chapter: 5
Wow. I've always enjoyed reading your stories, and this one is particularly touching. Hooray for Harry finding a new home away from the Dursleys! I love it. :)

Reviewer: kamilla beaverDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74643Chapter: 5
That was terrific!!! Hurry up with the next story, I can't wait!!!

Reviewer: kamilla beaverDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74642Chapter: 5
That was terrific!!! Hurry up with the next story, I can't wait!!!

Reviewer: NARDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74613Chapter: 5
I really enjoyed the story (and I would like to read a sequel :-)

Reviewer: hamsiniDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74603Chapter: 5
Keep up yer great job! I only wish you would write a little faster!

Reviewer: SerendipityDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74599Chapter: 5
Wow, I read Artists and Scientists and i really liked it (im reviewing them both here hope you dont mind! coz i just read both of the stories today) and this is really good continuation of the Artists and Scienctists Universe and i cant wait to read more!

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74590Chapter: 5
Yay. I'm so happy that you've updated so rapidly. Yes, I greatly enjoyed this story and I definitely will be looking forward to whatever you have in store for this universe. Great job.

Reviewer: AlyceDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74585Chapter: 5
Yes, I have enjoyed your two stories. Every time I see your name on the new chapter list I think great, and read it imediately. So I am glad you are going to continue the story.

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74563Chapter: 5
I like the Artists and Scientists Universe a lot and I am glad you will continue writing it!! Great job!

Reviewer: khatijaDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74562Chapter: 5
that was an odd ending... nice... but odd

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74555Chapter: 5
That was awesome, I really enjoyed it! I hope you write another one very soon! I look foward to it! :)

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74545Chapter: 5
Oh, yes, I realy liked the 'Artists and Scientists' explanation that Mark came up with. I'd like to keep reading more of his/this story.

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74540Chapter: 5
Hi Birgit,

That was wonderful! I'm so happy for Harry! It's about time he lived with someone who treated him well. :)

As always, I loved McGonagall, and Dumbledore was great in this chapter too. There was just one small nitpick, but it's nothing major... it seemed a little strange for Harry to be so open in his letter... but I suppose he knew he had to inform Dumbledore of this change, because of the protection that the Dursleys' home can't provide him with anymore...
anyway, I said it was a minor thing, and it was.

This was a wonderful chapter. I'm disappointed that it's the end though...

I hope you continue soon! :D

Dinka

Reviewer: meDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74537Chapter: 5
well its good you enjoy writting about mark because i enjoy reading about him...... the story was great you should do a story not so short though where harry and mark are at school keep up the good work

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74533Chapter: 5
OOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
That was absolutely brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I cannot wait for your next story on Mark Evans!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You write so well about him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74522Chapter: 5
I think it was a awesome story and i hope you can do another one tell about how well harry does there and gets along with mark. i have thourghly enjoyed this story

Reviewer: RobertDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74495Chapter: 5
This had better NOT be the end... LOL. Many smiles. I like your AU a lot and look forward to seeing Mark interact with the rest of Hogwarts! Keep up the good writing!

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74440Chapter: 4
Definalty getting better. Interesting story. Keep Going!!

Reviewer: Alabaster BlackDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74354Chapter: 4
Fudge. Is. A. Git. And I must say, you've got him perfectly in character!!!!!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74259Chapter: 4
great chapter keep up the great work

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74234Chapter: 4
Another chapter!!
Things are getting messier and messier...
I like the way you keep track of all your sub-plots and manage to melt them together in a very believable manner...Good writing, can't wait for the next chapter!!

Gufa

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74230Chapter: 4
Great chapter Birgit!
I loved the way you portrayed Fudge. So full of it, and yet completely useless.
I loved that McGonagall ran to protect Harry. Goodness, poor Harry! He gets blamed for everything!

I absolutely LOVED that we got to meet Mafalda Hopkirk. That was the best part of the whole chapter, in my opinion. :D We've heard about her in practically every book, and it was great to finally meet her.

And, as before, I LOVE your McGonagall. She's just, perfect! You have no idea how much I'm enjoying reading this.

Hope you continue soon.

Dinka

Reviewer: AliDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74229Chapter: 4
I just want to thank you for your well written story .Bringing out the evanses anger from Mark is just one more strong way to prove their relation to Lily.I liked Macgonagall too in this story and Fudge's frustration.I cant wait for more.Post the rest soon.

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74203Chapter: 4
Ooooh, boy, was wondering when you'd throw Fudge at us...funny ickle man, isn't he? I love how he turns purple. Twiddledee! I love this part, especially Minerva's frustration. :)

Reviewer: harryp123Date: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74197Chapter: 4
Hmmm. Interesting chapter. I wonder what Fudge will do now. What will Dumbledore's reaction to the disicion.

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74181Chapter: 4
Hey Birgit,

I liked how you brought together various threads from OotP in this chapter and how you resolved the whole problem of Fudge mentioning previously that the Ministry kept an eye on Little Whinging.

I especially liked this passage:
"Fudge just smiled slightly. “Minerva, you have no idea of how You-Know-Who gets his information –”

“Don’t I?” asked Minerva icily.

Fudge was taken aback for a moment. Apparently, he also remembered all the confined information that had leaked to You-Know-Who during the previous year, not the least of which had been spilled by Fudge himself, to Lucius Malfoy."

And I like seeing interaction between Fudge and McGonagall in general because you never see much of that in the books and McGonagall is such a forceful personality.

It's kind of fun to write Fudge, isn't it? He's so full of himself. Well, good luck with future chapters.

Reviewer: ElfirDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74172Chapter: 4
Squeeee! I love this story. ^^

Even though I still really want to see Mark or Harry's perspective on events. o_o

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-03-10
Reviewid: 73903Chapter: 3
One could call it spying. Minerva rather thought of it as taking care of one of her students.

I do love that line, it's so...McGonagall. It seems so in character for her to lurk around Little Whinging - again. I wonder what you have in store for Mark. He does seem to have that Evans temper, hmmm?

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-03-10
Reviewid: 73896Chapter: 3
Whoa...

Birgit, that was incredible! I can't believe I waited so long to read this chapter!

Can I just tell you? I don't even know how to articulate it... the whole time I felt like I was reading pure canon. Are you sure you're not JKR? I demand you prove your name is really Birgit. :D

There is something about McGonagall's POV that makes the whole thing even better... I can't quite put my finger on it. For example, the scene where McGonagall sees Mark and his father was incredibly vivid. I could *see* them walking and Tom pushing back his hair! All I could think was "Whoa!"

Birgit, this was an amazingly written chapter, I am in love with your story. I am also feeling very sorry for Harry and becoming more anxious for Book 6. lol

I really hope you continue soon.

Dinka

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-03-10
Reviewid: 73895Chapter: 2
Birgit,

I *loved* this chapter. Mark feels as real to me as any Harry Potter character, if not more so. He's such a special boy already in my heart, I'll be very disappointed if he doesn't turn out that way in canon. The fact that he's done so much magic is very interesting, and I find myself more and more intrigued as your story progesses.
How do you do that??

:D

Great job!

Dinka

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-03-10
Reviewid: 73880Chapter: 3
I always enjoy reading your stories, they're so lively and wonderful..the sequel is amazing, and I love how it's gone into the points of view of Albus and Minerva; you characterize them so well! This last scene is also sounding spectacular, and I look forward to the next chapter. Hopefully Mark and Harry meet soon! :)

Aerin

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73643Chapter: 3
Awesome chapter! Aw its so short! *pouts* Great job though! The Dursleys are such wankers! Urgh! Did they lock Harry in the cupboard?! Argh! LoL Great job!!!

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73582Chapter: 3
Dang it, Dursley! Don't be such a bigot! Nobody likes you anyway!

Reviewer: TabeaDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73551Chapter: 3
This story is soooo good! After I read the Sugar Quill's OotP Chapter by Chapter Discussions, I really began wondering about Mark Evans. You've answered some of my questions.
Your story fits perfectly into canon; I hope J K Rowling writes something similar in Book 6 :).
I have a question about Mark's 319 times "accidental" magic: Were most of those the times he used his "Artist" gift on purpose, or were they just normal accidental magic incidents?


P.S.: I think the Dursleys got angry too quick in this chapter. After all, Tom Evans is one of their neighbours, and they're supposed to ACT as if they like him. I mean, what would they do if their other neighbours found out?

P.P.S.: Excuse my English, it's probably quite pompous...

Reviewer: susanDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73515Chapter: 3
Uh oh. Poor Harry's in trouble for being around magic during the summer. Good thing MM is there to give a true account.

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73495Chapter: 3
ohhhhh! that would be SUCH A COOL THING IF THAT HAPPENED TO MY AUNT AND CUZIN! ROXIN! I WANT MORE!


mark is very powerful

Reviewer: Penelope AntwerpDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73381Chapter: 3
This is really great - I love it. What is McGonagall going to do next? I .... want.....to ..... know!!!!! No patience! OK, well I guess I have to. :(.

Penny

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73369Chapter: 3
Ooooh, very interesting...update REALLY really soon, PLEASE!!!!!

Reviewer: ElfirDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73340Chapter: 3
Darn you for putting everything from Minerva's perspective! I really want to know what happened in there! Hope you have more soonish :)

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73317Chapter: 3
OOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That was very interesting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Write more soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73311Chapter: 3
I like your premise, and the way you take time with the story. I feel the flow of your writing has improved in this episode, but you should watch out for things like "exaggeratedly friendly".

Reviewer: harryp123Date: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73309Chapter: 3
Good chapter. Can't wait to see what McGonagall does and about the Evans and Dursleys.

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-03-05
Reviewid: 73238Chapter: 2
I'm really enjoying this story. The pacing is nice, the dialogue is clear, and your characters are essentially canon. You write very cleanly.

Reviewer: Margaret BDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72525Chapter: 2
Very, very interesting...I've seen the idea of MArk and Harry related in a lot of fanfics, but I love reading about it from a new POV!

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72485Chapter: 2
*chocking* must. read. more.
You don't exactly leave cliffhangers, but your writing's so good that it feels that way nonetheless. Keep writing and I'll defenitely keep reading. I can't wait for more about Mark.

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72455Chapter: 2
Birgit,

I like how you neatly wrapped up some of the dangling threads in this chapter, finding an explanation that answers the questions of why Tom left the wizarding world, how Tom and Lily are related, and why Harry never had any Evans grandparents in the picture. The latter question has always bothered me, what did happen to Harry's grandparents?

Although you seem to have answered this problem, it still sort of disturbs me that you have Lily's father being a Petunia sort since Lily's parents apparently were proud of having a witch in the family. But then again, that opinion came from Petunia so it was probably quite biased.

Best of luck with the following chapters.

Cendrillon

Reviewer: harryp123Date: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72417Chapter: 2
I like the chapter. Can't wait for what happens next.

Reviewer: Emma GraceDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72392Chapter: 2
As I said, I am raving about your story. Wow, 319 cases of accidental magic. Mark is a pretty powerful little wizard there.

I can't wait for you to start writing from Mark's POV.

Reviewer: Emma GraceDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72391Chapter: 1
I'm looking forward to really reading this sequel, as I greatly enjoyed Artists and Scientists.

I do have one pick before I continue to read, though.
[quote]This year, a new pair of twins would be entering Hogwarts: Ellie and Katie Snow. Albus stroked his beard while he wondered if they would be more like the Weasley twins or the Parvati twins.[/quote]
Parvati twins? That's like saying Fred twins. Parvati and Padma are the Patil twins.

I don't mean to pick on your writing, it was just a little nitpick. I'm sure in a few moments I will be raving about the story in general.

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72376Chapter: 2
Oooooh....update soon! I'm REALLY liking this! PLEASE update SOON! PLLLLEEEEAAAASSSSSEEEEEE!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72373Chapter: 2
I certainly hope it will be all right...
You're an excellent writer, have I already said that?!

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72328Chapter: 2
that was good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Write more soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72285Chapter: 2
What an awesome story!! I can't wait until Harry discovers that he has relatives! This is so awesome! How cool will that be for Harry to have a younger sibling type thing!!! I can't wait! Great job!! Please update as SOON as you can!!! Thanks so much!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72242Chapter: 1
im so glad your continuing with this story cause it is such a great one please keep writing =)

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72203Chapter: 1
Birgit,

This is certainly interesting and a fun read. I like all of Dumbledore's thoughts and assumptions about the students simply based on their names. And you've put in a lot of nice detail.

There's just one little problem - in OotP, Madam Bones said that "they had no record of any witch or wizard living in Little Whinging other than Harry Potter...That situation has always been closely monitored." There are probably ways around this, perhaps they meant only witches and/or wizards of age or who are registered. Just something to consider as you proceed.

I look forward to seeing Harry and Mark meeting at Hogwarts. Why hasn't Harry questioned Mark's last name yet (in canon) I wonder? Anyway, I'm glad you've decided to tackle the question of the mysterious Mark Evans.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72128Chapter: 1
Hi!
So good tho see that you've started on this...unfortunately, you just get us hooked on another story and then write those awful words: "To Be Continued"...NO fun!
Anyway, this chapter is very interesting and a very good read. Ilike the way you start because it reminds me of Harry imagining Prof. Dumbledore sunbathing somewhere...I also think it's highly probable that he does play a guessing game of this sort.
One thing - it should be the Patil twins, not the Parvati twins.
Let me know when you update, would you?

:-) Gufa

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72026Chapter: 1
YAY! So we begin again...hehe. Hurry up and update soon, you hear? SOON!

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 71991Chapter: 1
Wow, what a great beginning!

Birgit, how are you still managing to keep me intrigued when this is a different story??
:D

I *love* the way everything ties in with Artists and Scientists. Especially the fact that Lily's and Petunia's father at first rejected his brother's family, which explains why Lily didn't mention having any other family.

I love that both Dumbledore and McGonagall thought of the possible connection between Harry and Mark. Oh, and the mental image of Dumbledore sunbathing was a highly amusing one (hehe).

I also love how both Dumbledore and McGonagall are perfectly in character.

And I love that you updated this sequel so fast!!


Hope you continue soon.

Dinka

Reviewer: DollyODate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71935Chapter: 1
OOOOHHHHH, How fast can you write? Like Molly Weasley would asy, "I'm all of a dither" about the sequel. Because of the way that JK sort of tickles everyone's interest in a book for something whick will happen further on, I think that Mark Evans just may be an important character waiting in the wings in book 6 or 7 and this will pique the interest of many readers.

I'm not real good at holding my breath in anticipation of something, so I hope it doesn't take too long to get the next chapters written and posted.

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71909Chapter: 1
will you wrtie more? it doesnt really amke any sence and why whould McGonagall walk on to Albus SUNBATHING?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --