The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dueling Wands
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: jsonDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133388Chapter: 4
hi there!!

I've read all of your works and i am a great fan of your writing.
You have a talent in recounting a scene as if you were actually there wearing an invisibility cloak.

Its just sad that you have not written anything since this chapter... if i can make a request though.

can you write about Susan Bones? i think she will be a great topic...

thank you and i hope youll go back to writing here again.

Reviewer: TheresaDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99020Chapter: 4
Animus..incredible stories..I just discovered it and found it so enjoyable! Is this the end? Do you have any other stories? Thanks for sharing with us!

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82869Chapter: 4
**AUTHOR'S NOTES:**

Once again I would like to thank everyone who has reviewed Dueling Wands for having invested their time in reading it and kindly leaving a review. They are most appreciated and encouraging.

Now, I want to answer to some questions and comments left by some reviewers:

<b>The Eighth Weasley</b>,

I am fully aware that my first chapter, 'When Titans Clash', has a very similar setting to the one of 'The Battle of the Underground', but I have my reasons, which are that I wholeheartedly agree with that setting. Albus and Grindelwald must have fought in a dark, isolated place, because duels between such wizards cannot be fought with someone else around (that's why none has a second with them); then, it must have taken place in London because Grindelwald was obviously striving for something big, and in London you can almost all the important places that realy matter to British wizards (Hogwarts is the exception, but he couldn't have taken it by himself). Finally, I also think that Albus must have lost someone very dear to him because of Grindelwald, and this caused him to duel Grindelwald and kill him (plus giving him the knowledge that there are worse things than death, i.e, losing a loved one).

I hope that explanation is satisfactory.

<b>Birgit</b>,

I thank you once again for your kind review and constructive criticism. I always appreciate it because it helps me become a better writer.

Now, I would like to comment about your last review:

The Death Eaters gave Gideon and Fabian some time because they were regrouping and recovering their own breaths, or at least that's what I had in mind when I wrote that scene because often after a rapid exchange of blows, both fighters would stop for a few seconds to think what to do next and recover their breath.

I agree with you, I should have put the physical characteristics somewhere else. Next time I will not make the same mistake.

About the curses fighting in mid-air, I think you did not understand it wrong, but that I was not very explicit. In that scene I wanted to show that both curses actually met in mid-air, but contrary to what usually happens (as you pointed out), Fabian's spell was too weak to effectively oppose the Avada Kedavra and make it bounce away, so all what happened was an explosion and the Killing Curse kept its course, while Fabian left his wand raised as if fighting it.

In anyway, thank you a lot for your constructive criticism.

To everyone, wait for the next chapter to be done in aproximately 10-15 days.

Everyone, take cara and again, thanks.

Animus

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-05-10
Reviewid: 82014Chapter: 4
Great chapter. You described a true battle this time, not just a duel, and I love it. Poor Fabian and Gideon...

I liked the way you set this up, with the start of the fight in the middle instead of at the beginning. However, I think you could have made the beginning more breath-taking. I doubt that the Death Eaters would wait for Gideon and Fabian to stop joking, but even if they did, the middle of the battle is not the place to describe the physical characteristics of the brothers. That felt a bit out of place to me.

Another thing I'm not too sure about is the end, where the two curses fought with each other. I don't think that's possible: in GoF, the curses Malfoy and Harry sent to each other hit in mid-air and just continued at another angle, hitting Goyle and Hermione instead. So it doesn't really make sense to me that the two curses of Fabian and the Death Eater fought in mid-air. Or did I understand that wrong?

However, you did a great job with the chapter. It's very creepy to read this battle from the point of view of the two good guys, while you know that the good guys are going to die. Especially when they had 'won', it was really scary. You did a wonderful job writing the suspense in it.

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81782Chapter: 1
You seem to have borrowed an awful lot from a similar story, "The Battle of the Underground," found on witchfics. Was this derived from that story?

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81767Chapter: 4
Awesome chapter. I like really like your characterization of the Prewetts--truly worthy of remembrance, as brave as anyone in the Order. I like how you had Dolohov using his purple fire curse that he used against Hermione--good way to tie that in. Great job!

Reviewer: JsonDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78282Chapter: 1
THANK YOU!!!
I have read all of your fics and I really am thankful that you thought of a concept like this.
I LOVE your story of Dumbledore's victory over Grindewald, this is one part of Dumbledore's life that I have always been intrigue with (being a Dumbledore fan), and you did not only made a wonderful story out of it but you satisfied my curiousity, for this I THANK YOU.
The other stories are both great, especially this third one. I love your concept of having a duel with no wands and using swords and pure power, IT WAS GREAT. I totally agree with your idea of great power between the male founders because what else can you expect from wizards of that level?
THANK YOU for these marvelous stories and PLEASE DO WRITE MORE of this stuff.

Reviewer: mrscribbleDate: 2004-04-10
Reviewid: 78079Chapter: 3
Whoa. This is a piece of art in itself- absolutely wonderful. I don't really see the connections between the chapters but all in all, a great fic.

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2004-04-10
Reviewid: 78035Chapter: 3
After only three chapters, I've come to rely on you for majestic stories that are well-told. Thanks for this most recent story.

I love the complexity of Salazar and Godric's relationship. It makes sense that they both love and hate each other.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-04-10
Reviewid: 77980Chapter: 3
I love your rich descriptions, which are even richer in this chapter than in the others. And that fits the chapter, because was there ever a greater duel than that between two of the founders of Hogwarts.

I also love the way you show the characteristics that the founders valued. I especially love this line:
>>“It is with a strategy I devised that you defeat me… how fitting,” Salazar commented as he rose his eyes to meet Godric’s. He simply nodded.<<

Great job!

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2004-04-10
Reviewid: 77920Chapter: 3
I think this third chapter was the best yet. The fighting description was inventive and exciting, and I love the touches of old camerarderie and humour between Gryffindor and Slytherin.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75720Chapter: 2
Well done. This is very good. I've got just one tiny piece of constructive criticism. It happened once in each chapter:

>>"Farewell, professor... Avada Keda--!"

Much to Albus’ surprise, his conjured badger had attacked Grindelwald and prevented him from using the Killing Curse.<<

>>"Lily, take Harry and go! It's him! Go! Run! I'll hold him off --"

But James had been interrupted by green light.<<

The flow is interrupted both times. I'm not exactly sure why, but it just doesn't flow well. The first time, I think it would better if there was a sentence like "But the curse was never finished" in front of "Much to Albus' surprise..."
In the second case, I think it's the tense that interrupts the flow. Wouldn't "But James was interrupted..." be better?

Everything else is just brilliant. Your duels are very creative and very realistic. The details you write in the story are wonderful. Your writing in general is very engaging. I also like the symbolism in the story. My favourite bits are:

>>His dream was over.<<

>>Albus searched the darkness where he was now. He had just descended a flight of stairs leading to one of the most obscure places in the whole of London: the secret catacombs of the Tower of London, where countless prisoners had been buried in the past. The room in which he had arrived was a circular one, dimly lit by torches set in four points, forming a square, of the stony wall. Beyond the square, shadows hid everything, including he who Albus had come to fight.<<

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75033Chapter: 2
This was probably the best James:Voldemort duel I've ever read. It was perfect. I loved the idea of the Bludgers going after Voldemort--perfect. James's emotions are realistic and, well, emotional at the same time. You're an insanely good writer--I hope to see another installment soon.

-Linnet

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75027Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I love this...stories about how Dumbledore defeated Grindelwald are few and far between, but they're almost always well written. Have you ever read "The Battle of the Underground"? Try it...

Anyway, I'm off to read the next chapter. Good job!

-Linnet

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74460Chapter: 2
That was really well written and packed with emotion. I love how you started off with a peaceful scene which is so different from the usual fics where panic is high. Really good job.

Reviewer: MafferDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74433Chapter: 2
Are you on the Professor's bookshelf yet? Because if you aren't, it's only a matter of time. Great writing.

Reviewer: Alabaster BlackDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74357Chapter: 2
Goodness, this second chapter was so chilling...*shivers* Very in character but so SAD!! I love the last line...very effective. I like how you didn't over-elborate the last paragraph because that's sometimes hard to avoid.....great job!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74346Chapter: 2
'some people liked to call it ‘that little bugger’ and others the ‘best catch of the day’.

Lol. Nice detail. I loved the opening. I can really picture a scene like that happening.

The abrupt shift to a dark tone was good. It felt right for it to be shocking and jolting. And the last line, though simple, was very fitting and effective.

Nicely done again.

Kate

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-02-28
Reviewid: 72470Chapter: 1
***AUTHOR'S NOTES***

Thank you to all for your kind reviews, they're most appreciated and encouraging.

Also, thanks for taking the time to read and review this, and if there are any questions, comments or suggestions, feel free to make them here or email me. I'll do my best to answer them.

Everyone, take care and again, thanks.

Animus

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72217Chapter: 1
Very, very good. I enjoyed it, keep up the great work!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72114Chapter: 1
What a wonderful concept for a series of fics. I like the title of the chapter, too. ;-)

The battle between Dumbledore and Grindelwald is certainly a point of canon that has always intrigued me, and I really enjoyed your take on it. I also think you have a nice handle on Dumbledore's character. Definitely not an easy feat.

Congrats, this is wonderful so far. I look forward to seeing more. Thanks for sharing this.

Take care,

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: AiramieDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72053Chapter: 1
This was great- I can't wait to see the next one!! What a great idea for a collection of fics...
Happy Writing!
Airamie

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72024Chapter: 1
I have always been interested in how Dumbledore defeated Grindelwald. The parallels with Harry in the Chamber are intriguing as well.( since I keeping thinking that Harry's final battle with Voldy has been forshadowed) The badger, as one of Hogwarts house mascots was also an inspired choice. All in all a thoughtful scenario, and a great idea for a story series. I look forward to reading more.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71916Chapter: 1
That was a really cool story. I like how he used the sword to destroy Grindelwald, rather than sinking to the level of the Killing Curse (it had the same effect, but still . . .) The part where the sword deflected the curse reminded me of the Zelda games, where the power of the Triforce can be deflected by the Master Sword (and no other). Nicely done, and I can't wait to see future chapters!

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71901Chapter: 1
The first new author archived - nice! And you've set some pretty darn high expectations for us.

I LOVED how this battle ended. Such a creative concept - you've captured Dumbledore incredibly.

“How-How could this be?” Grindelwald gasped before collapsing to the floor and dying.
I like these dying words. Egotistical maniac, he is.

He then left the shadows of the catacombs and returned to the world as a new man.

Wow... wow. That's so Dumbledore.

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71887Chapter: 1
Wow, I am looking forward to reading more of your work. This was truly an excellent story, full of suspense, and pretty much flawless in its execution.

The paragraph near the end where Albus asks himself questions is touching, to say the least.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71867Chapter: 1
Wow. That was really impressive. You managed to weave a very tight story, and yet provided us with a lot of details. And Dumbledore's fury was almost tangible throughout.

I'm really looking forward to seeing the next duel!

Reviewer: ElkieDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71865Chapter: 1
Good story, I can't wait to see where it goes.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --