The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Grim Tidings
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-11
Reviewid: 141828Chapter: 4
Another good section of the tale. Thanks.

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126046Chapter: 4
Awww. If only it could have happened like this in canon :(

Enjoying the whole series immensely, but especially this latest installment. (Nice to finally get to see something of Lupin, and his dry wit is spot-on.)

Loved this line, in particular:

<i>Peter's testimony at the trial had been quite complete. Too complete for Sirius' comfort. He had hoped to celebrate the unmasking of a traitor... but found himself mourning a boyhood friend, a quiet young man with a wry sense of humor who had been lost long ago without Sirius noticing.</i>

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78615Chapter: 4
more of the same good stuff... that sounds underwhelming, but it really means good things. However, you did make a rather crucial error, which was telling me that there were more chapters/stories over on FA.org. Oops.

Thanks for sharing. Keep it up! Write more! A/U's of the world unite!

Maybe the Boa and Crookshanks should have a conversation somewhere. That'd be a funny scene.

...art

Reviewer: GDDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78575Chapter: 4
Great chapter - what's the next installment going to be about? (Very ungrammatical I know)

Reviewer: Katcin LeeDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78258Chapter: 4
Back, long time ago, I tried reading "Who We Are" but didn't really enjoy it. I was too confused as to what was going on, and my prejudice against original characters was raring a little too high that day. Anyways, so I didn't read this series for the longest time. And now that I've started, I enjoyed it so much that I went over to FanficAlley in order to read all you've put up. But it's been so long since you wrote anything new! You will be continuing this series, right? I'm desperate to find out what happens next!

I love the character of Tom Riddle and how he's Slytherin without being despicable. I really would like to see more interaction between all the houses. And we need to get some Hufflepuffs into the mixture! Looking forward to what comes next.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78144Chapter: 4
"He tried to feel the satisfaction, the elation, that he'd dreamed of for twelve years and felt earlier that day, but it had left with the sun and he felt only emptiness. Peter's testimony at the trial had been quite complete. Too complete for Sirius' comfort. He had hoped to celebrate the unmasking of a traitor... but found himself mourning a boyhood friend, a quiet young man with a wry sense of humor who had been lost long ago without Sirius noticing."

Lovely! With a few deft words you gave Peter depth and acknowledged his importance to Sirius and the others. Thank you for putting that bit in.

This chapter was quite moving and emotional. It pleases me very much to look forward to seeing Harry and Sirius become a family, to see Sirus able to give Harry a home; chances that were tragically lost in the canon universe have now become believable possibilities in your AU.

I especially liked the way Harry, Ron and Hermione showed their delight at Sirius's freedom, and the way that their delight was echoed by their young Slytherin friends.

One of the most compelling revisions of a chance tragically lost in the canon universe is your wonderful endearing Tom Riddle! I'm eager to see what paths he's going to take in this brave new world of yours.

Yes, I think it makes a lot of sense that Sirius wouldn't want to bring Harry to Grimmauld Place and call it "home." In canon Sirus couldn't bear the place and only went there because he didn't have any better choices. He want something better for Harry now.

I really enjoyed Sirius's discussion about James and Lily. It makes sense and fits well with what we know. You're doing a great job of going AU while staying consistent with canon.

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76228Chapter: 3
Wow I have to say this is my fav chapter. Lol you gotta love the Sirius/Snape arguments hehehe. Looking forward to the next chapter :D.

Stephanie

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76122Chapter: 3
YOu know, something has been bothering me for a while now, and I think it's time that I got it off my chest. Your chapters are just too darn short.

There, I've said it.

Seriously then, that's a compliment. I like a story that makes me want more, right then, right away. That tells me that I've been drawn right in.

I wasn't expecting this sudden shift in POV. Nicely done how bits from Canon are worked into the background, like Sirius nearly calling Snape "Snivellus". You wrote "He needed a house"... Ummm, no summer in Grimmauld place, then? What about recompense for wrongful-imprisonment-without-a-trial? Hmm, now there is some potential Barty Crouch action, isn't there? (He's the one who sent Sirius off to Azkaban) Ooh, that could in turn lead to some Barty Jr action. Hmm.

Still looking forward to seeing Sirius and the twins doing some interacting. Hey, hang on then... Does Harry have the Marauders map in this A/U or not?

thanks for sharing,
...art

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76077Chapter: 3
"It hardly seemed real. The world was too big, suddenly; all the walls had come down. He'd stood paralyzed on Azkaban's shore before diving into the sea, staggered by the horizon; this felt just the same. He had too many choices. Too many things that needed to be done.

He'd need a house -- would Harry want to come live with him? And a job, because he couldn't live off his Gringotts account forever. And a new wand. And an Apparition license. And a haircut. And, and, and...."

Beautiful! Perfectly captures the joyous rush of Sirius's thoughts.

And I also loved the bit about Dumbledore trying to feed Sirius enough chocolate to either counteract all the Azkaban years, or else make the poor ex-convict pop! :o)

The three-way conversation in the staffroom between Sirius, Severus and Remus is another delight. If I quoted my favorite lines I'd have to reproduce the whole thing! Some of the many bits that stand out as highlights were Remus implying that Snape habitually talks to the furniture, and Sirius's remark about the boa's calming effect on Snape.

Favorite Line of the Chapter: ""AS I WAS SAYING! Sirius, you're going to apologize to Severus, who was kind enough to brew Wolfsbane Potion for me all year despite our past history, and Severus, you're going to accept his apology. Or we all stay here until the next full moon and the situation gets resolved on its own."

I think I am in love with your Remus. And the boa. I *LOVE* how they are the most reasonable beings in the room.

Sirius's apology and Snape's acceptance were so much in character that I didn't know whether to applaud or fall out of my chair laughing with delight.

"Look, Sni -- er, look, I've never been good at thinking things all the way through. James and... Peter... were the planners. And I was used to Remus being pretty calm, you know, around us, so I didn't figure he'd do more than give you a scare to keep you out of our business -- and for Merlin's sake, Snape, after five years you should've known better than to go anywhere I told you to anyway. I thought you were a nosy git and a rules-bound prig, but I never wanted you dead. Or turned into a werewolf. So... sorry. Really." He shot a sidelong look at Remus. "Satisfied?"

"I still find it incredible that you could consider that behavior a joke. But under the circumstances, I... suppose I can attribute it in part to stupidity rather than entirely to malice." He nodded sharply, jerkily. "Apology accepted."

Complex emotions, beautifully handled!

And then the "You'd better not give away Remus's secret and cause him to lose his job" conversation between Severus and Sirius was an utter joy.

"I was in prison for twelve years. What's his excuse?"

"I've been coping with dunderhead students!"

"And why the hell Dumbledore thought you should be turned loose on unsuspecting children I'll never understand."

"Penance, and a warning?"

"What, like 'There are gits in the world, here's the worst one, get used to it quick?' I suppose."

"At least I know the material --"

"I'm not arguing that, you've spent half your life muttering at cauldrons. The bit that gets me is you spend the other half being miserable to people."

"Oh, no, I can do both at the same time."

I laughed so hard I spit coffee all over my keyboard.

I'm really, really looking forward to more! (Seeing Sirius and Harry together is going to be lovely.)

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74221Chapter: 2
Yay :) Was looking forward to that chapter it was really good. I wounder if Tom and Peter acturaly meet face to face :).

Yeah i do go to school but im a quick reader :D Anyone know what the FictionAlley sight is :P.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74184Chapter: 2
I do like this story. I like this series.

The only thing "wrong" with it so far is that there is no Tom or Ginny.

It just occured to me that with no Shrieking shack confrontation we also don't get to have our favourite trio knock him to the wall with an "Expelliarmus". That is really a shame. Might I suggest that with Sirius and Lupin around that a bit of Snape bashing might be quite the natural outcome? Please?

I also like the snake. He's well written. There is some wonderfully dry humour in your writing.

thanks again for sharing,
keep it up!

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74182Chapter: 2
I *loved* McGonagall's line when she first comes to the dormitory, all ready to lay into anybody and then...*oh*. Okay, I'll get Dumbledore. *giggles*

I think you handled the whole scene in Dumbledore's office *beautifully*, especially the interactions between the three Marauders. Lupin's initial reaction to seeing Sirius AND Peter there was perhaps a bit too mild, but otherwise it was all wonderful. *beams*

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74179Chapter: 2
Ron was wonderfully patient with Percy, despite his very clearly portrayed frustration. (Bravo, Ron!) His concise account of events cracked me up. I also grinned when Ron's description of Pettigrew and Sirius "next to his bed" became "Sirius Black's in his bed" when Percy was telling the story to McGonagall.

This interplay between all the characters is sheer poetry:

"McGonagall sighed, but followed Ron up the stairs -- and froze in the doorway, her eyes going back and forth between the paralyzed Pettigrew and the besnaked Black. "I'll... just get Professor Dumbledore, then," she said faintly. "Well done, Weasleys."

Percy, for his part, was equally dumbfounded, and only managed a strangled "This is strictly against regulations...." before his knees gave out. Neville brought him a chair.

"We know," Harry said helpfully, "but we didn't really have time to ask permission." He paused, then added, "And it was Neville who petrified Pettigrew."

Percy stared a little wildly at Neville as he sank into the chair. "Good... good job, there, Longbottom, I, I, I think we should wait for Professor Dumbledore. That's what I think."

"We were doing that," Harry told him."


I absolutely loved slow-to-wake Percy, and McGonagall's reactions, first to the wake up call, and then to what she finds. Ron was commendably patient with Percy. It was another delightful touch when Neville brought a chair for Percy. And bless Harry for giving Neville credit where it was due.

I also very much enjoyed Sirius's reaction when Harry told him the story of Tom Riddle. The reckless side of Sirius is often emphasised in fics, but you've focused beautifully on his quick intelligence.

Loved this bit: LOVED it! (I wish we could see something like this in canon!)

"Longbottom?" Snape laughed derisively. "I didn't know he was capable of magic without Granger whispering in his ear."

Dumbledore shot him another quelling look. "That will be enough, Severus."

"I believe Neville's managed to impress Professor Sprout," Lupin remarked pleasantly. "She mentioned that she has him helping with several of the more delicate herb beds."

This version of events holds its own very well beside the scene in the Shrieking Shack. Especially fine were the interplays of intense emotion between Snape and Black, Remus's story, Sirius's confessions and Peter's continuous scrambling to extricate himself from the trap he's in.

And this bit was beautiful:

"I thought you were nocturnal," Snape muttered. "Don't forget your potion tonight. It's nearly the full moon."

"I didn't."

Does this mean that Remus will stay on as DADA Professor? There's no reason to dismiss him now...

And, as always, I love that boa!!!

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2004-03-05
Reviewid: 73168Chapter: 1
Great chapter! So the snake finally got to tie someone up; good for it. I'll send you my art (I warn you, it is really rough since I did it during class) but should I send it to sugarquill and have them foward it to you?
Please keep writing with your two blessed pens! (or a computer, whichever)

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72358Chapter: 1
Wow that was really good :) ive been up all night reading the Riddle series and cant wait for the next chapter :) like someone said I hope you dont let Peter get away :P.

Reviewer: EscherDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72212Chapter: 1
I want to thank you both for a very interesting and engagine AU fic. Probably my favorite of the genre since the "Promises Not Forgotten / Remembered" series. I look forward to more!

-Escher

Reviewer: RommDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72206Chapter: 1
Didn't realize quite how much of a difference having the boa there could change things... Great use though. If there's the big fuss about Sirius being caught... You're not going to let Peter go are you? Have Neville's spell break?
Sirius is a little blood thirsty right now isn't he? *grins* Will cause a bit of a shock with the old school reunion won't it.. Sirius, Peter, Remus, and Snape. Fun times ahead.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72031Chapter: 1
I liked the boa capturing Black (actually anything with the boa), but he conversation betweeen Harry and Black seemed a bit lacking in emotion. Less rage on Harry's part than I would have expected.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 71965Chapter: 1
Yes, well, bit unexpected that.

I find myself very interested to think about what might be happening next... You've kind of punctured most of the canonical PoA plot already. How will the time turner now fit in? Is Harry going to manage a corporeal patronus?

As for the QWC, I can forsee a then-free SB getting in on the action with Fred and George, and later helping them put more than a bit of pressure on Ludo Bagman to pay up. There's some potential conflict.

Hmm, summertime with Harry and Sirius. And Remus? And a motorcycle? And perhaps a bit of a visit to #4 Privet Drive? Please? Hmmmm. Maybe Tom should go live with Harry over the summer. Wouldn't that be a trick, having his former sworn-enemy, the "father" of the murderer of his parents, over to live. Yeah, I do like that idea.

thanks for continuing. I like how you manage to fit a fairly complex A/U into some stories that are not 150,000 words. Short stories that still are original and make you think are precious gems.

thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 71960Chapter: 1
Wow! What an amazing first chapter!!! First there's the glorious boa's eye view of the castle, the secret tunnels and Gryffindor tower, followed by Black's capture-by-boa, then there's that edge-of-the-seat tense conversation between Sirius and Harry, the unmasking (deAnimagi-ing?)of Wormtail and THEN Neville's wonderful Petrificus Totalis!!

You've left me breathless!

Some of my favorite bits:

"Sturdy was, in fact, quite accurate. The construction however, being magical, was in some ways very... fluid. For one thing, of course, it rearranged itself in many ways both regular and ir. Then there were the secret passages... and then again there were the passages that didn't need to be secret, but no one ever noticed them anyway."

I love that passage, it describes the magical castle in such a magical way!

And this first exchange between Harry and Sirius crackles with energy:

"Hello," Black croaked. "Did they move the dormitories while I was gone?"

"No."

"Then what's a Gryffindor doing with a giant snake?"

"I was," Harry said irritably, "sleeping. Until I was interrupted by a wandering murderer."

And this bit where Sirius sums up the history of the Marauders with eloquence, passion and brevity:

"Then briefly and vaguely, your father had three particularly close friends during his time here. I was one, the traitor was another, the third... is the reason we came together in the first place. We used to get into a lot of trouble -- pranks, rulebreaking, the usual kid stuff. One of the things we did, as a sign of unity, was -- well, we all became Animagi. Unregistered, because it was more fun that way. Even had nicknames for our animal forms. I believe the man who betrayed your parents is here, in this school -- perhaps in this room -- in his Animagus form."

"Really."

"I daresay we were infamous enough to be remembered... have you ever heard of Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot, and Prongs?"

This line from the boa made me laugh:

"Tom'ss being boring. Buried in his bookss with that friend of his. I thought maybe you'd have some leftover rollss. And then I fell assleep. And then thiss one tripped on me."

As did this one:

"Well, I don't want him now," it grumbled to Harry. "Too big. And he can't run."



I wonder who Tom's friend is?

Anyway, I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --