The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dead To Me Again
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117054Chapter: 1
I Liked it.

Reviewer: tobyDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96086Chapter: 1
I LOVE your story! It's terribly sad. Continue please.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95317Chapter: 1
Absolutely heartbreaking. You've created something that's very emotionally moving, but yet not maudlin. I'm in tears.

>>Lupin sighed. ‘Molly, sit down, please. You’re making me as nervous as Sirius does for all his pacing.’ <<

*wimpers* An excellent line for capturing the NEWNESS of the tragedy. It's sinking in, but it's not quite there.

>>'If you'll excuse me,' Lupin said, standing up, 'someone needs to tell Buckbeak what's happened.' He took his teacup to the sink and disappeared up the stairs.<<

*sniffs again* A wonderfully in-character Lupin. You accomplish a lot with just a few words. Well done.

~Katinka

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94129Chapter: 1
This is a very well-written story. You really pick out every person’s emotions and put them in exactly the way they should be – well done! The story is sad, but it really fits how I pictured each of these people feeling after Sirius died. Great job, and keep it up!

~Caitlin

Reviewer: The Morning StarrDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93649Chapter: 1
Wow. Short, but heartbreaking. Really heartbreaking.

Excellent glimpse into what things may have been like afterwards. Great work.

(And did I notice some Kingsley/Tonks vibes there?)

Reviewer: ~Pheonix~I know I spelled that wrongDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93574Chapter: 1
*sniff* thats so sad... i love it. Lupin's in total grief so thats perfect how you did him. its a great story... *sniff again*

~Pheonix~I know I spelled that wrong

Reviewer: SusanDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75429Chapter: 1
Great!! hope you can write more, to explain how Lupin feels or....

Keep it up!

Reviewer: VixDate: 2004-03-21
Reviewid: 75392Chapter: 1
Oh, this is so sad! Now both of Lupin's best friends have died, I feel so sorry for him. This is written really well, and I wonder if there will be another chapter.

Reviewer: MaarDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75016Chapter: 1
Wonderful!sad but wonderful!

Reviewer: RclawPrefectDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75008Chapter: 1
Very Good Thought Silver Spoons can kill Lupin.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74906Chapter: 1
"I have done this before."

That one line says so much. Truly amazing. Very well done!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74852Chapter: 1
This is terrific, so sad! You convey the sense of profound disbelief and grief extremely well. It was easy to picture this scene in my mind and to feel what the characters must be going through. Thank you for writing such a sensitive fic.

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73004Chapter: 1
Beautiful.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72219Chapter: 1
Very moving and sad. Everyone's quite in character, too; you've quite a nice touch with Remus. His way of exiting the room is completely in character, too.

I can't help but hope, myself, that it is possible to at least communicate from beyond the veil. His was hardly the usual manner of passing on, after all.

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72216Chapter: 1
A very unique idea. I never thought about how they would react to Sirius' death. I only though about Harry's grieving. Your story put it all into a new prespective. Good job! (and thanks)

"Tonks bowed her head and sighed, perhaps unconsciously creating black streaks through her pink mane."

Ahh. Simply great. Hah!

‘He was dead to me once. He will be dead to me again. But this time he cannot come back. I won’t believe that he can, because hope is not something I want to feel again.’

'If you'll excuse me,' Lupin said, standing up, 'someone needs to tell Buckbeak what's happened.' He took his teacup to the sink and disappeared up the stairs.

I loved these lines. They were perfect, and so sad too. However, I wish that instead of Lupin saying that they needn't stay with him... I wish he had said, "Stay with me." as in he wanted their care and comfort. I think it would be so right for Lupin to seek comfort for his terrible loss. So right...

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72180Chapter: 1
Very nice. Sad...very sad. But very well done. Good job.

Reviewer: Phoenix's MelodyDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72156Chapter: 1
Hmm, very good characterizations. I'm sort of picky, so just ignore me, but unfortunately, werewolves do not like silver...or so I've heard.

Reviewer: AiramieDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72152Chapter: 1
Ooooh, this was so sad. *sniff* It made me cry!! really well written though, especially Lupin...everyone was really in character....
~Airamie

Reviewer: Diggory LivesDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72145Chapter: 1
Yay! I really enjoy your story and BIG congrats for getting it on here. Looks like the ending worked out just fine. :) It's a really sad story. But I enjoy the insight it gives in to how Remus is feeling. I cannot imagine being in that same postion with my best friend. So...[taps impatient foot] I'm waiting for the next one. :P

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72115Chapter: 1
Wow. Very powerful. Yes. Yes, I can see Lupin acting that way. Very good. A powerful ending as well. Welcome to the Quill and great job!

Reviewer: Sarah (Crystal's friend)Date: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72106Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh. It almost made me cry.
Nice insight into Lupin's thought process.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72101Chapter: 1
Nice ficlet, Sunny - the title was very appropriate. Congratulations on making the Quill!

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72097Chapter: 1
'If you'll excuse me,' Lupin said, standing up, 'someone needs to tell Buckbeak what's happened.' He took his teacup to the sink and disappeared up the stairs.

What a last line. Had such an impact on me.

You characterization is chilling. How do you do it? And you portrayed Lupin's sort of.. bottled grief.

Reviewer: Zephyrus ProlixityDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72085Chapter: 1
Welcome to the Quill. I loved your story. Well done. Very well done, indeed!

But, erm...

"Lupin lowered his eyes and stirred his tea, filling the room with the bright ringing of silver on china."

How does Remus manage to handle the silver?

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72080Chapter: 1
I'm quite impressed. That was a strikingly good Lupin that you achieved. Good job.

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72079Chapter: 1
Oh, nicely done! (Finally got a chance to give it a proper read.) That's a very Remusy decision -- make it all tidy, and neatly folded, and put it away in the back of the drawer.

I like how you remembered Buckbeak as well; he, like most of the magical animals, shows more intelligence and comprehension than 'normal', and has shown strong affection for two-foots in canon.

[applause]

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72076Chapter: 1
Nice job! I particularly like the way you characterized Tonks, and the unintentional black streaks in her hair. The ending is much improved, too. Well done.

Reviewer: miss_lily_lupinDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72075Chapter: 1
‘He’s dead,’ Lupin interrupted. ‘I don’t want to believe he could still be alive.’

Ah! My favorite line in the whole piece. Very good at portraying Remus though you do leave me wondering what happened after he went up the stairs. Did he finally break? Did he tell Buckbeak? What was Buckbeak's reaction? So many unanswered questions. Great wording in the description and dialogue (and good choice with the "confirmation" *heh*). Very good Fanfic that leaves you guessing!

Reviewer: jamuDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72069Chapter: 1
very emotional and touching...i especially liked remus' dialog, when he talks about how sirius was dead to him. i hope you keep writing, and i'll look foreward to seeing more of your peices.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72067Chapter: 1
The one thing that really struck me in this story is Remus's reaction. I really think he would be the toughest of all of them. He'd be the most practical as far as taking care of Buckbeak. He'd also be the most skilled at setting up a wall to hide from his feelings. You did a good job of taking a sad situation, but not being melodramatic about it.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --