The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Perfect: Ink Stains
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136484Chapter: 1
Vert enjoyable. Thanks.

Reviewer: AristotleDate: 2004-08-19
Reviewid: 97913Chapter: 1
Yay! Fic-ness!

Hmm. Anyways...Great Percy fic (again)! I just love the way you portray him, and Oliver for that matter. It's very sad that we don't get to hear much from the two in the books, and I think you've portrayed them quite brilliantly!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93391Chapter: 1
Awww! They're both SO IC..."To have to be perfect all the time!" Poor Percy...Lovely fic, as usual. And of course the last line is great :D.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90426Chapter: 1
very sweet! We never thought that Percy and Oliver would have been roommates, but you're right. So many people are critical of Percy; we like that Oliver has been honest but kind. And it's great how he tries not to be so anal-retentive, by leaving the crumpled parchment on the floor, but then he just can't stop himself going back to close the door. Nice story!

Reviewer: kathleen c.Date: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77680Chapter: 1
The story was a little bit bland, but you did portray the characters well.

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72438Chapter: 1
Sweet take on Percy and Oliver both, although I wish from an editorial perspective that there was a bit more narrative and a bit less dialog in the middle section. The whole concept is interesting because JKR almost always shows Percy as alone--in his room at the Burrow, or at the staff table at the Yule Ball.

I like Wood as hot-headed and I think you could have painted him as even more fanatical, had you chosen to flesh out the characters a bit more with description rather than dialog.

Reviewer: GwendolynDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72410Chapter: 1
Sweet! I loved it. I think since OotP came out we often forget that there's a seventh Weasley. Thanks for showing us some of his character. I personally can relate with this line:

"To have to be perfect all the time!" Percy shouted, slamming his quill down on his desk.

I have been there often and so felt very sympathic towards Percy when I read that. Great job!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72383Chapter: 1
Nicely done! No one ever really thinks about Percy and Wood having roomed together and what that would mean for each of them, but I think you captured the personalities nicely.

Reviewer: EsraDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72375Chapter: 1
A great take on Percy, it's simple but it conveys a lot. I particularly like the way in which Percy resists picking up the crumpled paper, but goes back to close the door - he can loosen up a bit, but that desire for order/control is still part of his personality and it would hardly be realistic if it dissapeared overnight. A really nice piece of writing.

Reviewer: ElisabethDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72371Chapter: 1
Very good. I like the thought of Oliver and Percy living together for seven years not really talking to each other.

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72355Chapter: 1
This was very good. Somewhat sad, but funny, at the same time. I loved the last line:
"Percy followed him down the first couple of steps, then ran back up and closed the door behind him.
"I'm not anal-retentive," he told his roommate when he rejoined him." I laughed so hard! Great job, you made Perfect Percy seem human.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72348Chapter: 1
I think this was a great glimpse into the inner workings of Percy's character. Oliver was a bit too subdued, though. He sounded more like Ron, rather than the "catch the Snitch or die trying" madman of our acquaintance. Still, I can believe that off the field he's the way you wrote him, and I loved the interaction between two very different people that have known each other for a long time.

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72347Chapter: 1
Ah!! How wonderful! I'm somewhat speechless...you nailed their characters beautifully and you left me with a lovely warm feeling.
Great job!

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72343Chapter: 1
Well, that was different.

I really liked it. It was a nice little sojourn into both Percy and Oliver's minds. It would almost be nice if you did a couple of little snippets of incidents over their years rooming together. Surely there must've been two or three other times when they didn't just "talk about classwork or the weather"?

Reviewer: ElfirDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72335Chapter: 1
Very cute story. Love the dialog between them...

but the funniest part of the story was when it occured to me how important saying 'non-slash' in the summary because of what fandom has done to those characters. :D

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72323Chapter: 1
An interesting premise. I like the way that Oliver and Percy are portrayed. I haven't ever given much thought to the fact that the two of them did share a dorm for seven years and yet never seemed to associate much (of course Harry does miss a lot, but still...)

And I loved Percy's last line.

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72298Chapter: 1
Hooray for a Percy & Oliver fic that isn't slash!

I can't believe how well you characterized them. We haven't seen a side of Oliver like that - he was sort of like an older brother to Percy, even though they hadn't talked all that often. He's a real sweetheart when he's off the pitch! MmmmOliver.

I can't wait to read more from you! :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --