The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Last Black
Review(s): 39

Reviewer: VerseDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123631Chapter: 1
I always enjoy seeing Phineas show up in stories. His reaction was the one that made me sorry Sirius was gone.

Reviewer: VerseDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115879Chapter: 1
Always glad to find a story with Phineas :)

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114424Chapter: 1
Okay

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 100038Chapter: 1
That was quite sad- but also amusing
"Suddenly, I heard a loud crash coming from the room directly above me. I dashed up, and prepared to gaze upon a young, ill-tempered man.
Instead, all I saw was a young, ill-tempered hippogriff, his face grotesquely twisted in hunger."
*giggles* poor Buckbeak. You captured Phineas' character well, but also his grief, and that of Harry and Dumbledore. Avery well balanced piece, keep it up!

Reviewer: FireflashDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 100027Chapter: 1
Awwww.... *tear*

That was very good, I always like to hear the points of view of smaller characters. Keep it up!

Reviewer: RancidKornDate: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99700Chapter: 1
Dude that was cool!!!!

Reviewer: Vikki KennedyDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94155Chapter: 1
Short but soooo sweet!!
I never thought about Phineas looking for Sirius or how he felt to lose his grandson. When you said it was the "Last Black" I wanted to cry all over again. Please e-mail me! mudblood345@aol.com

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89069Chapter: 1
I loved it, pure greatness....

Reviewer: chelseaDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88099Chapter: 1
that was good. i had never really thuoght about what he did or thought while searching for sirius.

Reviewer: Selene Y.Date: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88096Chapter: 1
That was sweet. It didn't register in my mind when I read the book that the Black family was gone. E-mail me, please.

Reviewer: padfootDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80558Chapter: 1
I LOVE it!! I want to cry all over again...

Reviewer: MabruDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79610Chapter: 1
It's a very strange story... I liked It! But there's something that bothers me... Phineas hated Sirius, doesn't he? It seems that he liked him but he refused to show...

Something to think about...
*
Mabru

Reviewer: Serena SnapeDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79604Chapter: 1
This is a great fic. There's just one problem. In retrospect, you see, Phineas is not the last of the Blacks. The Weasleys are distantly related, as are the Malfoys, and the Tonkses, and... I could go on. Ginny is the youngest, so that should make her 'The last of the blacks'

Then again, this is a great fic, I really enjoyed it. Good writing.

Serena Snape from Accio Firebolt.

Reviewer: QuantamusDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79599Chapter: 1
Hey GinnyAuror, this is Quantamus. I followed your link from Project Ferret - your story is wonderful...It really touched me that there would be a Black to feel bad for Sirius's death. I'm not sure if Phineas was feeling bad for the wrong things, but that final tear may be a give away to what he truly feels. Kudos to you - I liked your story a lot.

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74918Chapter: 1
I read your story and I really like it! The opening especially is very attention-grabbing (nice adjective, huh?). Honestly I haven't gotten very attached to the minor characters in OOTP, so I've never thought much about Phineas or what he would think to Sirius's death, but I think your fic was a very realistic about how he might react. I'd even expand more, or put more emphasis on his dissapointment about the fact that he was last [I]heir[/I] of the Black family, since the Blacks seemed to really place high importance on the family name, and I'm sure Phineas was no acception. Also, this is stylistic, but your sentence structure is a little choppy, which is good for most of the time, but it's a little excessive so it would help to combine some sentences to smooth it out. Just something to think about, too- I think it would sound really good in present tense, it'd be more personal that way.

Reviewer: Olive HornbyDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73277Chapter: 1
This is an interesting take on Phineas. It sounds like he's torn between his prideful interest in keeping the Black family line intact and a genuine fondness for Sirius, even though he remains somewhat scornful of Sirius at the same time. It would be nice to see a conversation between Sirius and Phineas's portrait to maybe show some of the background story of Sirius's relationship with Phineas.

While Phineas is not necessarily a NICE person, he seems to have escaped some of the madness and emotional instability that plagues later generations of Blacks. I liked his mention of the tapestry and how he was so desperate he actually asked Buckbeak about Sirius.

The one thing that jarred me slightly was that Phineas referred to Mrs. Black only as "Mrs. Black." That just seemed a little odd since she was either his granddaughter or his grandson's wife and he referred to Sirius by name.

Nice story!

Reviewer: noneDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73265Chapter: 1
sad

Reviewer: funkyfairyDate: 2004-03-05
Reviewid: 73240Chapter: 1
this was short but just the right length it that made sense. I like the way you captured the emotion of the painting

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-03-04
Reviewid: 73160Chapter: 1
This is an interesting take on the story. I feel that it could have been developed a bit more, but you definitely had Phineas's character down, and the tear at the end was a great detail. The thought of him walking through the house calling Sirius's name was the image that woke me up to Sirius's death in the first place, so... well done.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: pirateloverDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73089Chapter: 1
I like the unique point of view.

Reviewer: StormdelverDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73064Chapter: 1
Not bad- in fact it could be an interesting beginning to something. I am still in denial- Sirius can not be dead- to many details were left out- no explaination of what happened to him- and no Author, jk included goes to length to provide such a useful device (the mirror) and then ignor it completly. So I applaud your story- interesting take on the missing moment. Best of luck and here's to future stories.

Reviewer: FalkorDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 72992Chapter: 1
O.k... sad, really sad story with emotion and feeling. Please write one about Bellatrix and ol' snapey boy.

Reviewer: FalkorDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 72991Chapter: 1
O.k...

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72916Chapter: 1
Well done - a touching moment from the last "person" anyone would expect to have real feelings.

Reviewer: AuthorByNightDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72883Chapter: 1
I always wondered how Phineas felt; and this fic definitely has a positive theory. :)

Reviewer: Frankie B.Date: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72829Chapter: 1
Very well done. I like how you incorporated the lines from OotP into this to start it off. Nice run in with Mrs. Black as well, and her anger at someone looking for her son. Very nice!

Reviewer: shadow 2 lightfootDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72820Chapter: 1
wow...wow...wow(still in shock) this is amazing work! such discription, imagary... i couldn't beleive someone with such talent is here writing hp ff when they could be off doing other greater things!

Reviewer: MeiraDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72814Chapter: 1
That was soooooo sad, yet it was soooooo good.

Reviewer: big daveDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72810Chapter: 1
for some reason i found the phinaus (sp) charricter quite likeable in OOTP don't ask me why i just liked that stuff he said to Harry in Grimald place it made sence you know

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72784Chapter: 1
I never expected to see Phineas Nigellus lose control of his thoughts, his feelings and of course his calm and rather coldly sarcastic voice...
And instead, I find myself enjoying a believable story in which he does just that...
Keep up the good work!
Gufa
Oh, by the way; the title's perfect!

Reviewer: Natasha & MeredithDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72776Chapter: 1
Meredith: I thought it was really good that you had very little information about Phineas to write a story about but you did and it was excellent :-) Three cheers for you!!!!!!!!!!

Natasha:I feel so sad now you really captured the feeling . Even now I don't think I 've come to terms that he actully died. He can't have but he did .your a great writer.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72767Chapter: 1
I've read OotP five times since last June when the book came out and every time I have felt no sympathy whatsoever for Phineas Nigellus until now. You've done a marvelous job with this story; you capture Phineas' mounting sense of panic and catastrophy quite well. I enjoyed it.

Reviewer: KewiiDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72680Chapter: 1
I liked it, but I wish I could have learned more about Phineas. Does he cry for Sirius because hes the last black? or because he was like him in some way? Did he agree with Sirius' good actions, that sort of thing.

I liked how you went through the range of emotions, rage, denial, acceptance. Good job on that.

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72672Chapter: 1
That was good. I never gave much tought to that particular thing of Phineas going to look for Sirius, but you had done it, and done it well. You have presented a side of Phineas that seemed to not exist,a nd you have done it quite well.

Good work.

Reviewer: MadelynDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72671Chapter: 1
Aw, poor Phineas. It must be horrible to know that you are the last of your family or to watch the last of your family die out. I imagine he really was racing through the house to find Sirius. You've captured his emotions quite well.

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72670Chapter: 1
That was really good Ginny! The emotion was done very well and you kept Phineas in character. Excellent job!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72646Chapter: 1
Yes, I enjoyed your story. I've seen where others mentioned this painting, but you made it into a story.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72619Chapter: 1
Nice story. I think we all were touched by the image of Phineas running through the portraits and calling Sirius when we read OotP, but you made it into a story, and did it well. I especially like it that Phineas composed attitude slowly fades and is replaced by despair.

Reviewer: ElkieDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72601Chapter: 1
Wooohooo!!! Go Ginny!! Even though I have read this story countless times, and I have seen it evolve from what is was to what it is now, and I have corrected it over and over, (even though it was always corrected back...lol) I still have managed to find a typo... so we're not infallible, its all good...
Great Job!!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --