The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Midnight Musings
Review(s): 61

Reviewer: gracieskellingtonDate: 2009-10-05
Reviewid: 151518Chapter: 1
good start, im interested to see how this turns out

Reviewer: evenstar1389Date: 2008-02-28
Reviewid: 150574Chapter: 1
It's a really good read- enigmatic and makes the reader 9moi) want to read more.. And off i go to the continuation ^^

Reviewer: KylaDate: 2006-05-11
Reviewid: 142734Chapter: 1
Great story! I love how you write about Harry. It's just like him except more mature and very believable. This is probably the best story I've read that takes place after the war. Most people seem to write about what they want to happen, (Harry and Ginny getting married and having kids) but this is so much better than that. Thanks for writing this! Now I'm going to go and read your next story.

Reviewer: dinojDate: 2005-10-21
Reviewid: 134891Chapter: 1
One of the more original and plausible post-voldemort realities I've seen. Good job.

Reviewer: Miranda (AnotherDreamer5 at lj)Date: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134311Chapter: 1
I read this ages ago when I was new to fanfiction and spoiled by thinking everything was like sugarquill, everything as beautiful as this piece. I came back at the urging of my aunt to read this one and realized I had read it before. It really is wonderful. No grammatical errors that I could see, a background for the narrator that doesn't need to be explained because you show us how it shaped her, and the mysterious way of seeing characters that we adore. I suppose I don't mean mysterious so much as I mean subtle or round-about. We know who Harry's talking about. We know Hermione. We love the way he banters with Ron. We absolutely adore the fact that yet, Harry was that young when he saved the world and yes he is still a nice, easy-going guy. He is still fighting, still ready to take on twenty death eaters and trust the word of his best friend that this is the most important part. And, almost above and beyond everything else, Harry has learned to listen. Not just to Bludger (and i love that we never learn her real name, that tells us a lot about Harry's respect for protocal) but also to Hermione. He can recite back what she's told him. I love that Harry thrives in the anonymity of the Aurors. He doesn't have to use his name. Doesn't have to be himself. It's wonderful for him. And the way he joked with Ron just had me grinning.

I think you did an amazing job and I'm glad I read this all over again.

Miranda

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128179Chapter: 1
Very nice short story.

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127100Chapter: 1
Awesome, And funny too at times. Interesting scene .

Reviewer: AmieDate: 2005-04-23
Reviewid: 120382Chapter: 1
Sequel sequel sequel NOW

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118154Chapter: 1
Heehee "Quickie"! LOL I'm sure he had heard that joke a thousand times before. Great prologue, back to the story now...

Reviewer: wizardressDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117353Chapter: 1
wow!! love it!

Reviewer: FirenzeDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102629Chapter: 1
Not bad. Let's read your other story. And by the way, I liked that "Who would want to be the girlfriend of Harry Potter anyway? That would be like signing your own death warrant" bit.

Reviewer: SashaDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101390Chapter: 1
This is fantastic and I am longing for the next installment. The lighter is an idea worthy of JK.

Reviewer: biancaDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96140Chapter: 1
wow, interesting begining to what sounds like a really good story

Reviewer: natrahDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95927Chapter: 1
its a fine piece of lit.
but still, who is BLUDGER ?

Reviewer: LaurynDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95897Chapter: 1
Very good. You have a really extensive vocabulary and this whole chapter really intrigued me.

Reviewer: wsantelmDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95219Chapter: 1
Ahh good intro! I'm looking forward to continuing the story that this follows (saw the note that I should read this in Chappie 2). I also look forward to seeing if "bludger" makes an explosive reappearance!

Reviewer: GinnyRoxDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94230Chapter: 1
well it better b Ginny!

Reviewer: KwinelfDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89800Chapter: 1
Interesting!

Like the Greenhorn nickname, though I'm not too sure where you got it from...

Will now have to go and read the whole book!

Expect a review in there as well...

Reviewer: Rebecca JJDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89766Chapter: 1
Ooh, this was good. Excellent, thank you. :)

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89665Chapter: 1
one word (well five now!): fanbloodytastic!

Reviewer: peeping0x0tomDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84866Chapter: 1
I actually feel sorry for the poor bloke. *sighs and then grins* This is SO extremely well-written.

Reviewer: shriyaDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82342Chapter: 1
me like. 'twas fun figuring out the code names, and new character was definitely fun and fresh - i like this Bludger! she should return.

Reviewer: TrishDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81696Chapter: 1
Great fic! I LOVE it. :-D

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78231Chapter: 1
Wow. I only discovered this because I was pointed in the direction of 'The Test of Time', which recommended reading this fic first.

I loved it. Great writing, and Bludger is a wonderful character. Hope she crops up again in your sequel...which I'm hurrying off to read now!

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68082Chapter: 1
Hey I'm new to this site. This is the first fic I read here and it is incredibly well written! I love how you portrayed the charcters and gave those little hints and now I'll read the main story. Great Job!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67691Chapter: 1
strange, great take on the auror angle

Reviewer: Shan_KaioyuDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 65992Chapter: 1
This was great! This is the first time I have read a fic where Harry seemingly has no faults. A lot of other people portray him as really angsty or just plain completely wrong. Can't wait to see wahat he's like in the next one. I also wanted to say you did excellent on portaying Ron. That's exactly how he should be! He's probably my absolute fav character in the books. Great OC, too! Don't see many of them!
-Shan_Kaiyou

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2003-12-23
Reviewid: 64567Chapter: 1
Original. Compelling. I'm looking forward to more. :D

Reviewer: jessanndiDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53343Chapter: 1
"and could suddenly exhibit the most extraordinary powers." She would like to see that. - Will she regret these words I wonder.

I will read the main story with interest now.

Jessanndi - SQWS2-Reviewing members OC

Reviewer: mattyDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53164Chapter: 1
who's bludger????

Reviewer: JKDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53064Chapter: 1
This is great!

I love Bludger - she's a really intriguing and likeable character, but she's not perfect either.

The older characterisations of Harry and Ron are great and I also really like the little hints of history you give.

Nice work.

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52637Chapter: 1
Ouch Bludger, good job.

Reviewer: Loriel ErisDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52610Chapter: 1
That was great! I loved it! I really wasn't expecting *this* from the summary on your author page. It was a perfect snapshot.

I've read a lot of snapshots where there's just too little info, or the author has gone overboard and has, very obviously, tried to tell us everything. You've managed to find the right balance, telling the readers what we need/want to know without actually apearing to - it flows seamlessly into the story. I can't wait to go and see your other story now! :)

Reviewer: Tamira LuneDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52436Chapter: 1
keepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitupkeepitup! I really really really really like this story so keep writing it! Please!

Reviewer: Loopy Loony (Nicky)Date: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49906Chapter: 1
just re-read this and i'm now going to re-read The Test of Time to kill the time until you update! must say this is brilliant!

Reviewer: PiperDate: 2003-08-03
Reviewid: 45229Chapter: 1
I read this long ago but can't remember if I reviewed it or not.

I really like this. A simple moment in time. Really wonderful characterizations here.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2003-08-03
Reviewid: 45190Chapter: 1
sequal... Sequal... SEQUAL!!!

Reviewer: Dara finVidyaDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44969Chapter: 1
That was good. I think this merits a second chapter. *winks* Thanks.

Reviewer: HP Story SurferDate: 2003-07-26
Reviewid: 43974Chapter: 1
Great story. I especially liked the Ms. Lips part and I wondered who was in the fake lighter. I also wondered what
Bludger's real name was.

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43648Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I really did enjoy how you skirt the name business and instead use thoughts and dialogue to characterize the characters indirectly. I'm very intrigued by the whole plot, must go read the fic that comes after it!

Reviewer: cordeliaDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39923Chapter: 1
i love your style, and the characters (old and new) and really fab. this story line sounds cool, but why would Malfoy still be such a big threat 4 years after Voldemort's destruction? I mean, wouldn't he have been thrown into Azkaban the minute You-Know-Who had gone? apart from that, this is great and i can't wait to read the next part!

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2003-06-26
Reviewid: 38661Chapter: 1
WOW. Excellent fic. Kinda sad, but oh-so-true *sniffles* I really want to see a continuation of that! Loved it.

tta

Reviewer: BobDate: 2003-06-26
Reviewid: 38644Chapter: 1
This is really good but who is bludger????? and what happens to Cho?

Reviewer: BobDate: 2003-06-26
Reviewid: 38643Chapter: 1
This is really good but who is greenhorn?????

Reviewer: traydr vicDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 38049Chapter: 1
This is very cool. I love the idea of underground aurors fighting the dark forces - kind of reminds me of the minutemen of the independence war. I like the way Harry's character has developed - almost like a mercenary. I particularly like Bludger - I like the mix of toughness and vulnerability. Kind of wish they would hook up. Keep it coming.

Reviewer: C OlsonDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37858Chapter: 1
I think this story was great. I couldn't stop smiling. I would like to know who "the man in the fire"'s wife was. This was a great story, thanks for writing it!

Reviewer: Brian C.Date: 2003-03-18
Reviewid: 24439Chapter: 1
Good story! Keep it up!!

Reviewer: Fidelius FemmelaDate: 2003-03-03
Reviewid: 22521Chapter: 1
awesome! auror deelies, i love it. i like this bludger chick, and ron's Miss Lips comment was wonderful. sorry i can't write a more coherent review, but it's late and i'm tired. so anyway, starting in on the sequel now.
~FF

Reviewer: AristyarDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 17075Chapter: 1
You had me grinning the entire time! Your version of grown-up Harry is dead-on, and Bludger seems like a very realistic and very cool character. Ron and his Significant Other *snigger* we ALL know who THAT is... And Harry's Romantic Interest *sigh* we ALL know who THAT is too... (it's Ginny, right? RIGHT?)

Anyways, great great story. Short and sweet.

~Aristyar

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2003-01-16
Reviewid: 16491Chapter: 1
great! very cool, took me a minute 2 figure out the "freckled nose" guy was Ron...but the weasley mouth gave it away! very nice job

Reviewer: Kayelani JohnsonDate: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9685Chapter: 1
K this was a very good story. I honestly think u should keep goin in it and write some more. I would enjor reading this and i encourage u to continue
thanx
Veela

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-11-19
Reviewid: 9522Chapter: 1
mehopes that it is Ginny...that is, the person who Harry's attached to.

Really good; I like the Stonehenge theory. Going to read your other fic now....

~TPR

Reviewer: Madame SnufflesDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9513Chapter: 1
Oooh, alchemilla! Very good first fic! My interest is definitely piqued now. Loved Bludger's observations of Ron, and Harry's unconscious need to snuggle. I also love the code names Greenhorn and Quickie. Also, I'm interested in Lucius's little rally and who Bludger's fiancee was.

Reviewer: AshbyDate: 2002-11-17
Reviewid: 9398Chapter: 1
This was really great. I love the mental image - snuggling Harry! I know a guy who does that . . . Anyway, I like your OC. She's quite different. I'm off to read "The Test of Time" now!

~Ashby

Reviewer: jestDate: 2002-08-16
Reviewid: 2149Chapter: 1
Wow, what a great piece! I don't even like original characters but you got this exactly right. It is just how I imagine an older Harry would be.

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2102Chapter: 1
At first I thought "Bludger" was Ginny, but then the comment about Hogwarts. Me likey this mucho!

Reviewer: BernadeteDate: 2002-08-13
Reviewid: 1853Chapter: 1
Great story (or beggining). I loved it!

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-08-12
Reviewid: 1753Chapter: 1
I remember reading this and LOVING this and I think it deserves a review on the new SQ. This is absolutely great--rich with dramatic irony. WE know stuff that Bludger doesn't know... it just kills me. Well done.

Reviewer: ReaperDudeDate: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1663Chapter: 1
Just read this story, and I dunno if you plan to continue it, or if it was just a shorty, but it is fabulous, and I'm going to read 'The Test of Time' right now, cause this one was so good. Thought I'd leave a comment since this doesn't have very many, which is a shame. Anyway, keep up the good writing, you'll probs get another comment from me on t'other one soon.

Reviewer: Elanor GamgeeDate: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1595Chapter: 1
That was great! I love stories that give another perspective on the characters we love, and you did it beautifully. And I'd like to see more of Bludger, too--she's a great character.

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 370Chapter: 1
Great short vignette. I loved the hints of R/H. And I guess Harry is thinking about Ginny.

Bludger and Quickie LOL

And Harry snuggles when he sleeps...what a cute image. Completely share Bludger's sentiments re: snuggling in regards both to Serius and Moody :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --