The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Patchwork Quilt
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-07
Reviewid: 136880Chapter: 1
I like your work.

Reviewer: Deadly_SecretsDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130635Chapter: 1
I - wow. I really don't know what to say, I'm speechless at the moment. This was so beautiful - I cried. I honestly did. And I'm feeling oddly choked even while writing this review. You capture Neville so, so, so well, I doubt even JKR can do it that way. It's very, very beautiful, and you need to write more Neville fics. I haven't seen anyone capture Neville the way you do. Simply amazing. Thank you so very much for sharing this with us.

~ DS.

Reviewer: ZahriDate: 2005-05-02
Reviewid: 121263Chapter: 1
*is currently blubbering*

Ciircee - that's just beautiful. Poor little Neville, who's too small to understand 'dead', who knows his way all around St Mungo's, who puts on a brave face for everyone....

Arghsosaditsterrible.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-06-14
Reviewid: 87039Chapter: 1
That almost made me cry. :( I didn't realize until the pallet was mentioned that Gramps was probably going to die, and that Neville would have to witness it. I can definitely see Neville being observant and compassionate enough to notice when his father smiled. I also liked the touches like Neville having ashes in his mouth after going through the Floo network, that does sound like Canon!Neville. I think your Gran was quite IC as well. Very sad but touching story.

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82362Chapter: 1
i love this story and though i hate to admit it im almost in tears it was so sad ive only ever cried at one other book and that was (THE OUTSIDERS) BUT THIS STORY ALMOST BECAME NUMBER 2
please keep writing neville fics you capture him even better then j.k.r.

Reviewer: jstur83Date: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81716Chapter: 1
really good nevillefic

Reviewer: CaliDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80872Chapter: 1
I don't even know what to say. That was wonderfully written and oh so sad. *crying* I love Neville and you've only cemented that love further. You captured Neville's innocence so perfectly it hurts. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

Reviewer: YVonneDate: 2004-03-20
Reviewid: 75334Chapter: 1
8sniff*

Reviewer: Phoenix BlackDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73271Chapter: 1
OMG! **cry**

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-03-04
Reviewid: 73140Chapter: 1
This is so, so sad.
the line where Neville thinks about everyone leaving the hospital except his parents, and he thought it would be lonely without him...:-( This is perfectly worded, it really feels like a six-year-old boy talking.
He hated to feel like that because he tried so hard to be extra good for Gran and Gramp. He thought that they loved him quite a lot, even though they didn’t always say. He buried his face in the folds of Gran’s dress and sniffled softly so that she wouldn’t know he was crying. Gran and Gramp always hated to see him cry. And Neville loved them quite a lot, too.
Now I'm sniffling softly as well.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73006Chapter: 1
Just wonderful! Such a nice blend of life and death from a child's perspective AND a great characterization of Neville. I love the ability you give him to know how to comfort. This bit:
>>Gramp was in the hospital and Neville knew just what he should do.
Hi, Gramp. Gran and I came to the hospital after the Healers came and got you.” Neville swung his feet and missed the stool from beside his mum and dad’s beds. “You’re right over the embedded spines ward, I bet. I bet you saw that sort of stuff a lot when you were a teacher, too. You probably sent loads and loads of people here.” Gramp didn’t move. “I think Gran’s probably talking to the Healer. But she’ll come to see you in a little bit, I think. She’s awfully worried. I don’t know why, though. It’s just St. Mungo’s but I guess you’re really, really sick if you had to come to the hospital.”<<

There is something so poignant about Neville's reaction. His mature way talking to his grandfather, mixed with the naive coversation.

Just wonderful.

Reviewer: GwendolynDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72855Chapter: 1
Oh! Poor Neville. Thank you for writing such a sweet story. It truely brought tears to my eyes. I liked how Neville knew every inch of St. Mungo's and how even in times of hardship and heartache Gran was still in control. Great job!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72813Chapter: 1
That was so sad! You did a great job showing both Neville's bewilderment and acceptance of his life. Gran was heart-breaking in her stoicism concerning her husband's death, and also in her disregard of the true gift she has in that little boy. I hope that JKR's Gran will someday wake up and see the light when it comes to her grandson!
An excellent job!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72804Chapter: 1
Touching and sweet. Thank you.

Catherine

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72762Chapter: 1
I...wow. Wow, wow, wow. That was amazing. It totally made me cry. I loved how you showed Neville as really young and not understanding exactly what was going on. I love his Gran's reactions. I loved Neville. All of him.

Reviewer: pablo alvarezDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72753Chapter: 1
very touching... a really charming Neville.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72747Chapter: 1
That was so sweet. I think the style was very appropriate and effective. I also think that must have been just what Neville was like as a six year old. I loved it!

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72704Chapter: 1
Mmm, I see what you mean about it being a strange style. It felt really dreamlike, slightly fuzzy around the edges, somehow.

I really liked it, though. I think you captured Neville's voice really well. And I'm intrigued by Gramps.

Thanks.

Reviewer: C-MageDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72678Chapter: 1
Beautiful. That's almost all I can say. I love the style - it portrays his childish emotions so well, as does the simplistic logic. Oh, I love Neville and his family so much right now! Thank you for yet another insight into their lives. I really hope his Gramp was like that - this seems too real to not be. Wonderful, beautiful, touching. ~ C-Mage

Reviewer: PokeyDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72667Chapter: 1
Its things like that that tug at you heart and make you want to smother Nevill in a hug. That was terribly sad and extreamly well writtin. I'm hoping that wasn't all.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72664Chapter: 1
This is a very sweet story, and you've captured Neville's "voice" perfectly, but where's the quilt?

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72638Chapter: 1
That was so sweet. I love the way that you portray Neville, as a little boy who is dealing with life the way he knows it.

Reviewer: JessDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72605Chapter: 1
Oh my word! What a sad, beautiful story. Incredibly well written. Marvelous work.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --