The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 61

Reviewer: kim kikimDate: 2007-09-08
Reviewid: 149193Chapter: 1
YAY! I'm loving it!
I will read some of your other stories now...hehe so much fun :)

Reviewer: discordant_harmonyDate: 2007-06-18
Reviewid: 148279Chapter: 1
I've already reviewed this, but I'm going back and re-reading a bunch of my favorite authors and fics. I just wanted to let you know that when I read Harry's final line in her dream, I got goosebumps. Again. Even though I knew it was coming.

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2007-04-09
Reviewid: 147714Chapter: 1
I don't know how I missed this before and I hope you get this review. I enjoyed this very much. In a way it's nicer to read this knowing for sure that Ginny and Harry do finally start going out together than it would have been to read it before HBP. Ginny's feelings have been skimped on so much in the books (necessarily, I think) that its lovely to read her point of view, especially when it's written by you. Not many writers seem to be able to get her right. There's a common perception that either Ginny is too perfect or too nasty and that's so often the problem with how she's written in fanfiction. You always manage to make her feel like a "real" person.

The dream was interesting. I knew you'd already associated Ginny with a phoenix and it's so appropriate. She's rising out of her own ashes of CoS but also out of Harry's ashes for a bright new future at the end of the series. As the book covers for DH seem to have the Forbidden Forest, or at least some of it, on fire I'll also accord you amazing powers of divination - or is that just symbolism telling you things I mis?.

A lovely read from St Margarets - just as I've come to expect! Thank you.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2006-08-28
Reviewid: 145055Chapter: 1
What a lovely and mystical story.

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2006-08-15
Reviewid: 144805Chapter: 1
This is really nice, St. Margarets. I really enjoyed the dream sequence ... it had the feeling of a dream, with the seemingly random events, the surrealness of the Death Eaters as Quidditch players, and the way that even at the end it still didn't quite make sense to Ginny.

Nice work.

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: discordant_harmonyDate: 2006-07-29
Reviewid: 144531Chapter: 1
I really liked this piece.

It has angst, to be sure, but not an overwhelming amount of it, just the right amount. And fluff, yes, a little. Well, it's more the promise of fluff. *sigh*

This is such an interesting plot bunny, I'm surprised I haven't seen it all over the place. Waiting to read it seems so much like Ginny. She waited for so long for Harry, and he didn't notice her. I love the hint of the fact she isn't really over him, but is in her mind, if you understand what I'm saying.

Lastly, Harry's final line in the dream gave me chills. "The Darkness." Oh, it's so good.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-06-14
Reviewid: 143436Chapter: 1
*smiles* loved the title. i enjoy 'missing moments' it always adds a special somthing while re-reading the books. if they had ratting stars here, i would've rated this one rather high... sooo since we dont, i'll do Hogwarts rattings, E

Reviewer: smart cookieDate: 2006-06-14
Reviewid: 143433Chapter: 1
I really like it, this is the first story that i've read, and i thought that it was marvelous!

Reviewer: CarolineDate: 2005-09-22
Reviewid: 133028Chapter: 1
This is actually the last one of your fics that I've read, and I loved them all. I've always been a fan of H/G, I just couldn't find that many well-written fics.
As far as this fic is concerned, I loved Ginny's reaction to the article. I have a lot of friends that are just now starting to talk about Iraq, and after spending my morning listening to my best friend tell me about what he saw... sometimes all you can do is remember that they survived :)
But yay for wonderfuly written H/G. I hope you'll be writing more soon!

Reviewer: JamieDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132503Chapter: 1
Hey there, remember me from Pheonix Song. ;) Guess I'm your fan fiction stalker now.. huh? This story isn't on that site!!! And I absolutely loved it, so I'm glad I found it here. Ginny's dream could have so many meanings, and I love that. I also love the craziness of it- just like most dreams people have. It seems real and was very easy to imagine. Great work!

Your #1 fan (don't worry I'm not a stalker),
Jamie

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-13
Reviewid: 132439Chapter: 1
I think I like your work

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2005-07-20
Reviewid: 127512Chapter: 1
What a warm, brilliant, in character, fluffy wonder of a story!

Reviewer: BerteDate: 2005-07-18
Reviewid: 127384Chapter: 1
I just had to re-read this, Mary. If this is your first shot at writing fiction (and we all know how it continued) then I have great big trouble seeing why you shouldn't pursue that as a career. And great symbolism, of course.

B

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-07-03
Reviewid: 125932Chapter: 1
I like this. I always look hard for things that actually feel canon, and this definitely felt canon and could very well have been. I'm off to read your other fics! :)

Reviewer: SofiaDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103522Chapter: 1
that dream was bloody brilliant.

chao,
Sofia

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102322Chapter: 1
That was really cool. Ginny's dream was really well done. And I loved the graphing aspect. Awesome job.

Reviewer: Lumos P. NoxDate: 2004-10-24
Reviewid: 102248Chapter: 1
Nice Fic, a very original idea!

Loved this quote

Graphs, Ginny thought, I should have known. It hasn't happened on the Hogwarts' Quidditch pitch unless Terry Boot and Anthony Goldstein have graphed it!

She glanced at Michael to see if he was amused. He wasn't; he was studying the charts as well.

Ravenclaw boys, she thought fondly.

This makes me laugh so much! Ravenclaw's are the smart nerdy guys hehe, you gotta love them =P

Reviewer: CaseyDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100553Chapter: 1
Very, very nice. Short and sweet, but leaves you wondering. You have a very nice hook here. Does Ginny catch the snitch? Does the dream mean more than Ginny realizes? Do the Gryffindors win the Quidditch Cup? etc. You've written a very nice scene here, and I like seeing the interaction between Ginny, Micheal, and his friends.

Reviewer: ArtemisDate: 2004-08-22
Reviewid: 98273Chapter: 1
The Ravenclaw boys were spectacular and that was really witty, the whole thing about the left handedness and favoring the second ring.

I know some people have said it before, but what I enjoyed most was the unromantic, but extremely loving outlook that Ginny had on Harry. Beautiful.

Artemis

Reviewer: SkyeDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96281Chapter: 1
I loved this! It was so refreshing, seeing a H/G fic that... followed canon! Ginny is over Harry romantically, but she still likes him. You did this perfectly!

Reviewer: NymphadoraDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94209Chapter: 1
Great!!!
Ginny is perfecf, just like in the OotP.
I also loved the title and how you were able to use it in the OotP context.
Congratulations.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88579Chapter: 1
Wow. It's so beautful to see that your excellent analytic skills are paired with such a wonderful writer's gift. A story that speaks right to the heart.

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-05-28
Reviewid: 84985Chapter: 1
Wow. I really need to save up reading your stuff for someplace other than work. This piece goes waaaaay too deep to fathom while sitting in a cube surrounded by people discussing hockey. The Ravenclaw boys strike me as totally accurate. Like with Ron in 'Say it with Sox', your version of Ginny doesn't exactly match my previous imaginings of her, but it definitely works. Good stuff!

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83509Chapter: 1
Heh. When I read the title and saw the summary of this fic, I made presumptions about this fic and then you just surprised me with this.

This was excellently written, wonderful characterization of Ginny. Also loved the Ravenclaw boys :D

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80258Chapter: 1
Wow. Now I can fully comprehand why you are a 'professor of symbology' (apologies if that isn't the correct title) on the board. It's as if you've taken so many aspects from the books; the phoenix, Quidditch, Voldermort's return to power at the graveyard, and used all of them to create an amazing piece of imagery. Ok, so it was a dream that Ginny had, but everything that happened in it had precedent from the books and I really wish that my analysis of symbology was of a higher standard so that I could offer more coherent praise!

That has to be one of the best Ginny/Harry pieces I have ever read. Very emotive and yet you are able to pull off comedy as well with the Ravenclaw boys and their graphs, and Ginny's interpretation of a Ron and Harry conversation.

I think the Weasley's must be paying you. Usually you make me fall in love with Ron but your portrayal of Ginny in this was so beautiful. Trying her hardest to move on and yet she is still overwhelmed by her thoughts of Harry.

Nic xx

Reviewer: VisitorDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79999Chapter: 1
THis story is very good. Realistic, and well written. Using the same phrase Harry used was very clever, and it made for a very sweet touch. I also enjoyed Wallpaper Moments a lot. Good characterizations of Harry and Ginny in both!

Reviewer: LegalBlondeDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77164Chapter: 1
Beautiful piece -- I love the way this just falls perfectly into place. Great work integrating various elements of Harry's experiences and Ginny's own hopes and fears into the dream.

Lines I loved:
"It wasn't logical, it wasn't predictable; it just was."
"She could never be as brave as Harry, but she could be as hopeful."

Both are powerful, moving statements which sum up Ginny's feelings and her situation beautifully. Great work.

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75927Chapter: 1
Wow! Great story. I'm not even going to pretend that I understand all the symbolism.

they still had a chance. It wasn't logical, it wasn't predictable; it just was.
.
.
.
Here's to the slimmest, wildest chances life can send . . . here's to hope.

Terrific lines as well.

Very realistic Ginny and I love the Ravenclaw boy's Quidditch Graphs!

now I'm off to read your other fic!

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75828Chapter: 1
That was so touching its no doubt the best fic on here please write a continuing chapter.

Reviewer: DevaDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75826Chapter: 1
Good I like it but it needs so much more. just elaborate on everything. I want to know more about the article, more about what she knew and thinks. Like my english teacher says sometimes."Don't skim the surface of teh pond, Dive into the muck way down at the bottom." Great dream, great discription but why does it have to mean something, maybe it is just a dream.I'm also not sure how the match ties into all of this. More, Give me More. Awesome fic!!

Reviewer: ZeenatDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74929Chapter: 1
(I realise I'm probably spouting nonsense here, St Maragarets, so I'm hoping that even if I fail to at all impressive you will at least find my guesses somewhat amusing...)
The mirror that Harry shatters- could that be the Mirror of Erised? He no longer has any need to gaze into the mirror because he has become happy and fulifilled.

The Snitch is reborn and becomes a Phoenix- Both birds are rare and precious but in different ways -this could show the change from love as a difficult prize to be won (the Snitch) into something everlasting and forever loyal (the Phoenix)

I know there must be something significant about all the water in your story but I just can't figure out what it might be. There's the heavy rain and flooding river and then the silver pond too... I don't have a clue!

That's it I think... although I'm struck with something new each time I read this so I may well be reviewing again :D Thankyou for a story that writes Ginny with more truth than I could absorb on first reading.

morcherry

Reviewer: ZeenatDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74909Chapter: 1
St Margarets,

-The Ravenclaw boys analysing Quidditch was perfect (and adorable)! ["You know, I've given stats to Lee Jordan every match, but he never seems to use them."] Really? how strange! LOL

-I think you showed just beautifully how deep the connection between Ginny and Harry still is despite her 'moving on'The dream was wonderfully written IMO- it felt real the way dreams do- with immediate images and instincts you just know and focus on although they can't be real...

-The message of survival in your story makes me clasp my hands together with glad hope for him and for them.

I think I'm going to be brave and have a stab at looking at some of the symbolism if that's ok :)
Harry and Ginny combine to make one Seeker. The quidditch game is a metaphor for the war and soon only H/G are left fighting the Death Eaters alone. The goal is still to catch the Snitch which turns into a live vulnerable creature. I'm tentatively interpreting this to mean that the Snitch might symbolise love which must be captured and harnessed somehow in order to win the coming war. Ginny is essential to Harry as the only one who can give him a this particular love. But love is a mutual thing and they both work together Seeking it...

Reviewer: KEDmeDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73266Chapter: 1
Awesome story! Sounds like a prequel to me....

Reviewer: LDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73061Chapter: 1
aw, that was cute...wish you'd follow up with something else!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73027Chapter: 1
Just saw your name on the list!! Lovely story!! I like how you take the dream and run with it. I think that was a nice way of letting us see into Ginny's heart even if she won't look there very hard. And I love the title! Even without the CoS reference. With the reference, it's brilliant!

And I love the timing. The way you set your story into the context of OotP! It makes the Easter egg a catalyst. And it sets up a great rationale for the eventual split with Mr. Corner.

Thanks for putting out a really good Ginny story! I'll be looking for more!

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73016Chapter: 1
Oh, wow! Beautifully written. I especially enjoyed her dream... ad the despcriptions of the graveyard. Terrific job keeping Ginny in character.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 72984Chapter: 1
three cheers for St. Margarets! it's been so long since we've read any fanfiction; yours was a real treat. congratulations on a story that's beautifully written, bang-on characterization and a great topic to boot. can't wait to see your name on the postings again soon!

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72889Chapter: 1
Lovely.

Congratulations, St. Margarets, you have achieved one of the best Ginny characterizations I have ever seen.

'Here's to the slimmest, wildest chances life can send . . . here's to hope.'

Bravo. That was a perfect line to close Ginny's ideas.

Hope to see more work from you soon.

Animus

Reviewer: GwendolynDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72863Chapter: 1
Wow! I love reading H/G stuff when it really isn't entirely H/G yet. I like how you have Ginny regretting that she can't spend more time with Michael and beginning to anaylize their relationship. The dream was incredible making wonder how someone like Prof. Trelawney would make of it. Great job!

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72840Chapter: 1
I liked it a lot! I think your interpretation of Ginny is bang-on. Thanks for a revealing look into why Ginny and Michael broke up. Ginny herself said (in OotP) that Michael was sulking about Ravenclaw losing, but this is a logical explanation for some things that went on before that event.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72830Chapter: 1
"Here's to the slimmest, wildest chances life can send . . . here's to hope."

Wonderful piece. You're imagery is breathtaking.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72827Chapter: 1
Lovely, truly. I felt it was very true to Ginny's personality, true to life, delicately drawn, and very well written. I'd have put it on *my* bookshelf! ;-)

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72812Chapter: 1
Very nice. I really enjoyed the dream and Ginny's reaction to the article. Good job.

Reviewer: BerteDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72797Chapter: 1
This story was wonderful, and I love all the symbols in it. Now I'll try to analyze it thoroughly, checking your posts on the Symbolism.. thread. I love this dream, and wouldn't it be great? Yes I'm an H/G shipper, too.
A little nitpicking: Line 19 from the bottom - have you missed a 'she' in "Ginny giggled to herself as smoothed the covers on the bed."? Shouldn't it be "..as she smoothed the covers..."? I'm not a native English speaker, so I don't know if this is how you would normally phrase it in spoken English.

Reviewer: SteppsDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72790Chapter: 1
>>She could give up on Harry from now until next Tuesday, but she could never be indifferent towards him.<<

That's exactly right. Just because she's "given up on Harry" doesn't mean she doesn't still feel for him. Big wopping difference!

Very nice work for a first fic, St. M. Must confess I haven't the faintest idea how to interpret the pheonix from the snitch, but hey, I'm not a dreamologist!

Stepps

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72782Chapter: 1
St. Margarets,
It's great to see you here!
Your story is beautiful and beautifully written, which isn't surprising since you've brought the thoughts and emotions you work with in the Sumbolism and Anthology threads into it...

"Here's to the slimmest, wildest chances life can send . . . here's to hope."

Wow. I am silenced by the power in that simple line.

See you around Mythology!

Gufa

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72780Chapter: 1
This is absolutely terrific! I really like the idea that as part of her 'getting over' Harry she postponed reading the Quibbler article and her reaction to it. Her actions and thoughts are true to canon and I like how you have characterize Ginny very much. You also, preface the dream well with Michael's and Anthony's Quidditch stats and graphs. As for the dream itself, you've written one of the best I've read. I like how you let Ginny decide which parts to analyze and which to let go as well.

I look forward to reading more of your writing.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72717Chapter: 1
Wow, St. Margarets, that was an awesome story! I like how you have Ginny work so hard to get over Harry, almost to the point of not wanting to deal with him at all, and then being irresistably drawn into his affairs. Interesting foreshadowing of the deterioration of her relationship with Michael. That dream was very prophetic--I think in symbolic terms it covers nicely what is likely to happen in the seventh book in fight against Voldemort, and after. Harry and Ron's "analysis" was hysterical! Nicely done, and I look forward to reading any more stories that you write!

hairy_hen, who enjoys perusing the "Lucky You" thread and reading Ginny stories

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72713Chapter: 1
Now I want a full-blown analysis on the Symbolism thread, St. Margarets!!! That was great! And yes, she has worked hard to get over him. Her work is finished, yet his has just begun. :)

Reviewer: DubhRoseDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72699Chapter: 1
Terrific story. One of the best examples of someone taking their posts in the forums and turning them into fiction. It's the highest use of fanfic.
I also liked the portrayal of the Ravenclaw boys. It's absolutely right they would be totally involved in Quidditch statistics. They also seemed like normal young wizards. Ravenclaw has been taking a beating lately due to Marietta and Cho. Balance is good.

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72692Chapter: 1
Awwww! Very sweet. The imagery of the dream was beautiful.

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72690Chapter: 1
The dream was very cool, you pretty much avoid hitting the reader over the head with the symbolism. I liked how you presented the Ravenclaw boys, you gave them personalities. Your portrayel of Ginny was in character, though I think that Hermione or Molly would wash her mouth out wuth soap if they would have heard her.

Reviewer: MadelynDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72659Chapter: 1
I was so excited to see that you had written a fic! I love reading your posts on the forums. This is absolutely fantastic. It captures Ginny and who she it.

I love the way you think she avioded the Quibbler article. That makes so much sense that I've decided it really happened. And the dream was really good. It's hard to write a good dream sequence, but as we all know you were more than up for the challenge.

I'd love to see more from you in the future. This was great!

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72657Chapter: 1
Ah, the symbolism! It was wonderful. I loved every moment of it. I especially loved how you used the phrase Harry used about Ginny. It made it so special. My favorite part was Ginny's take on Ron and Harry's analysis of the dream. The ending was perfect! I love good endings. I think I'm going to read this sometime in the future to see if I can catch more symbolism because I'm sure I missed many things.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72656Chapter: 1
Hey, it's me, reviewing like I'd said I would. I must say this was a brilliant story. I loved the symbolism of the colours echoing through the story and the way you made the dream so real, yet surreal at the same time. My written dreams always end up being logical and boring. The overall story was strong. The little details (like Terry and Anthony reviewing Quidditch matches with graphs, so anal-retentive yet amusing) added to the atmosphere. My only criticism is that I felt the ending was a little too abrupt, as if you had more material but decided to end it there. Still, a great story that ends up giving you hope.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: JellyDingyStarDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72655Chapter: 1
Harry wasn't crying in Mrs. Weasley's arms--he just almost was. Also how the bloody hell did Ginny find out so much about the night when Voldy came back?

Reviewer: MLYDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72629Chapter: 1
it was BEAUTIFULLY written.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72626Chapter: 1
Congrats, St. Margarets, on becoming an SQ author! I enjoyed your posts so much in the discussion threads, I was sure this story would be a beautiful, insightful piece. And I was right. The only thing that bothered me is your verbs. You don't always use them in the right tense, and it jars a little. Maybe you could discuss them with your beta. I hope you take this precisely as intended, as constructive criticism. And I can't wait for another story from you.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72617Chapter: 1
What a wonderful story! I was extremely touched by the twist at the end: Ginny comparing Harry's escape from the Death Eaters to Gryffindor's escape from defeat, and believing that her dream was about Quidditch. Comparing death to Quidditch, it's a bit strange, but the symbolism is wonderful.

I was also impressed by the dream you wrote. Dreams are always hard to write, because strange things happen in dreams while at the same time, everything seems very real. I think you did a great job with Ginny's dream.

Finally, I like your characterisation of Ginny and the minor characters in this story: Harry, Ron (that Divination thing was brilliant!), the Ravenclaw boys.

Oh, and even more finally: the title is very good.

Reviewer: caitlinDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72610Chapter: 1
Of course you would write such an amazing, meaningful ode to Harry and Ginny. I've read your thought-provoking, intriguing comments on the boards and I'm glad you've brought out your writing. More, please. More.

Reviewer: BonnieDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72607Chapter: 1
I can't believe I'm the first reviewer. First, I just want to say I really enjoyed it. I could definitely believe Ginny putting off reading "The Quibbler" article as long as she did, and finally having that kind of reaction after she did. I also liked the foreshadowing of Ginny's and Michael's break-up later in "OotP".

My favorite part though was definitely the dream. As Professor of Symbology, you certainly put your excellent expertise to use.

I don't know what write, except that I look forward to reading more of your work in the future.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --