The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Hair of a Dog
Review(s): 33

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135407Chapter: 1
Ooh, that was brilliant!I hated the movie Remus as well . . . he's supposed to be so much more attractive!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-13
Reviewid: 132436Chapter: 1
Well done and please let the tales continue.

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-01-15
Reviewid: 110957Chapter: 1
Very funny!!!! I loved it! You have to love marauder!Remus. And I quite agree about the moustache.

BTW, I couldn't help but notice Margaret Prewett. Could that mischievous vixen be a young Molly Weasley (formerly Prewett)? Little wonder where Fred and George come by their wily streak.

Nicely done!
Eudora

Reviewer: SeluneDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103468Chapter: 1
yeah, this is an odl one by now but I loved it and laughed. there were some double words and missed ones but I loved the sense of humour ofall of them.
There was barel ya sirius in there so odn't worry about any portrayals in this. Thanks!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99545Chapter: 1
Cheers and kudos! From ivy & Gracie, who firmly believe that movie!Lupin looks like a weenie.

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94719Chapter: 1
That was spectacular, and very funny. I've rarely seen Marauder fics that actually show Remus's mischievious side, and I must say I really do love it. I do have to say, however, that I kind of...liked...the moustache :P Very cute fanfic; I'd love to see some more Marauder fics by you!

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92425Chapter: 1
I really liked this story... and the Remus in the movie wasn't as good looking as I thought he'd be.. You portrayed them well.

Reviewer: Cheesy MonkeyDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92330Chapter: 1
*laugh* Remus Lupin would probably look fine if it hadn't been for that weird little caterpillar above his lip. Thanks for writing this wonderful piece, as it WAS great therapy. Tee hee.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92269Chapter: 1
Ya know why Movie!Lupin has a mustache? Well, I think he's trained it to jump off his face and dip itself in ink so he can write with it. It looks exactly like two pencil-points...

Reviewer: ValDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85051Chapter: 1
Much needed therapy for that awful mustache, thanks so much. It was quite amusing, and i really liked it.

Reviewer: lineDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80647Chapter: 1
wow, I loved this!!!

I also hate the Remus picture!!
~~Line

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80593Chapter: 1
Hah! That was bloody HILARIOUS!! I'm actually okay with Lupin's mustache in the movie, but I really enjoyed reading this anyway. Great job!

Reviewer: HAIR IS STUPIDDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80566Chapter: 1
Remus's mustache is dumb! I'm not sure if you think it is or not (I barely have time to go on Sugarquill and really anaylze all of this stuff since I have SOOO much algebra II homework), but THE MOVIE REMUS IS STUPID!

Reviewer: RunespoorDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79570Chapter: 1
Thank you. You convinced me I should go and suffer through the whole movie - not much use in pretending it doesn't exist. I'll be grateful for the longest time, until I 'm sitting next to you. At which point I'll just conjure the fic up to keep away the Dementor-produced bad vibes of mustache!Remus.

Reviewer: cinderellabopDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77485Chapter: 1
Great story! Cute, sweet... and well-written! I think you've captured young Remus's thoughts perfectly...

And yeah, I hate the look of "movie Remus," too. I hope the actor's performance makes up for it, but I'm very skeptical... Thanks for the "therapy."

Reviewer: GwendolynDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73670Chapter: 1
I love it! That mustache has bothered me as well. I love reading early Remus fic and I think you've done a great job. One of my favorite lines was "Oh, theyd been outwitted, outplayed, and outmaneuvered. And, by the quiet one, of all people." :)

Reviewer: IsabellaDate: 2004-03-04
Reviewid: 73118Chapter: 1
hahahaha, that was great, really creative. and i also happen to HATE lupin's mustache...it's extremely scary. i call him "the loon with the tiny badger growing on his upper lip." you're right, this little fic is extremely therapudic. thank you! and you're a great writer!
Isa =)

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73098Chapter: 1
oh, I LOVE you! Thank you so much, that was AWESOME! I hate Lupin's mustache as well...actually, I don't hate it, I'm just a couples shades short of despising it... ::shudders::

It looks like something awfully hairy and puny curled up and died there!

But aside from the fact that this was much-needed therapy, it was also brilliant writing. I mean it! I was completely not expecting any talent because you're in the Library (before you take offense, you should know that I am in the Library as well...) and here I am, clicking on your story and WOW!

You amazed me! This was so cool that I am going to review this and rush off to read more of your stories. I especially liked how it turned out that Maragaret got what she wanted as well from Remus... and why does the name Margaret Preston sound so familiar? Poor Severus, everyone gives him such a terrible time.

Favourite Quotes?

"He swallowed nervously and turned around sharply to watch the lake. A great amount of water, nothing special, he thought." heehee! Just a load of water!

"Hed used every method imaginable to get rid of it, from a charm to inhibit hair growth, to the desperate act of using Accio on every single hair. Predictably, that had been very painful, and of course it hadnt worked" Ouch! You poor dear!

loving it,
~TPR

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72900Chapter: 1
OH, this is a perfect take on the movie look - I wish you could give the Snape hair to these movie makers!

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72884Chapter: 1
Gah! I despise Movie!Remus. Thanks for this excellent little fic, which did something to ease the pain of having to look at various pictures of David Thewlis with a horrible mustache. *shudder* Great work!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72836Chapter: 1
very funny great story and i so agreee with you on the guy they picked for the remus in POA what a aweful pick i was so disappointed when i found out

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72809Chapter: 1
Ha! indeed! I love it.

In my opinon the only thing worse that the moustache is the really Bad Pompadour Hair. I really hope he does justice to the part, but every picture I see depresses me.

Thanks for a funny little fic. Part I especially liked:

<<I think thats payment enough, Remus Lupin. I do believe Im the first girl to get what she wants in regards to you she said shamelessly as she winked at him and proceeded to skip away.>>

*grin*

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72781Chapter: 1
I generally don't read Maurader stories, but the first few paragraphs caught my attention and I read through to the end with a silly smile plastered on my face. Oh, revenge is sweet! Go Remus, go! Nicely done.

Reviewer: Aurora DevlinDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72745Chapter: 1
I quite agree, the way they portray Remus in the next movie is......well...... Anyway, I loved your story. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Sammy WeasleyDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72735Chapter: 1
Very cute. remus with a mustache would be interesting. it is nice to see that james and sirius can be gotten, and who best to do it but a very close friend. great story!

Reviewer: RainydaieDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72711Chapter: 1
oh, that Is good therapy. I feel... released. The revenge part was perfect. I've always loved Marauder fics, but yours is best because of the... internal... conflict. Love Remus's concince. (or however you spell that.) Great job!!!

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72682Chapter: 1
Don't worry Starbuckx, you're doing fine writing Young Remus!

Your story is very therapeutic indeed. David Thewlis had better be a very good Remus otherwise, OR ELSE!!!

I'm not entirely clear on how the "revenge" actually came about (the "cure" is clear), but it's a great idea. I love the idea of Remus being able to be just as mischievous as the other Marauders, and in this very elaborate and tactical way. He wouldn't do anyone lasting harm but the way he's able to silence his otherwise ever present conscience with a loud "HA!" is very refreshing.

Oh, and I loved "One. Two. Three." LOL!

Good job! Looking forward to more Marauder fics from you! :-)

Jolie

Reviewer: Scriptum VeneficaeDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72679Chapter: 1
HA! Loved the story, you're so right about the look of Lupin in the movie, I have an image in my head of the "real" Lupin looking at the picture with a confused expression, shaking his head, and walking away mumbling to himself...I especially liked the part with snape, he gets manipulated so much...its kind of funny really.
good work!- Scriptum

Reviewer: sonicDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72641Chapter: 1
cool. its nice to read happy/fun remus once in a while. :)

Reviewer: AmberelDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72631Chapter: 1
Thanks for the "therapy"! :) It's helped dispel a little of the horror I've felt ever since I first saw that mustache on Remus! Honestly, what were they thinking?!

~amb (still smiling)

PS - I loved the revenge Remus got!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72615Chapter: 1
He he he... Very amusing, made me smile and giggle. I love Remus...

This was so sweet, and the light way it was written really helped bring it to life!

Great job!
Liz

Reviewer: HPNanaDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72609Chapter: 1
I HATE HOW AWFUL REMUS LOOKS! Add one more to your list. I somehow imagined him so different than the person casted to play his role>
Anyway, I think you nailed down Lupin's character in your fic.
Great job and a VERY unexpected outcome. Imagine that; to have James and Sirius have the Snape Look! Very unexpected; look foward to finding more of your fics.

Reviewer: ChloDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72608Chapter: 1
ROTF !!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm actually banging my fist next to my head right now ...... You're right, we sure needed some therapy ... now when I'll see him first in the train I know I'm going to pee myself. Damn you! when the picture of his first appareance shows that his THING is hidden by a scarf ... damn you again.
Froggie, Thewlis' defendress in bad pictureness, moustacheness, and evil strandness .

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --