The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Hiding
Review(s): 168

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-01-08
Reviewid: 146790Chapter: 17
Julie, This was a grand read. Your Percy and Penelope are so right for each other. And you spin an exciting tale. Tristin has dark hair so the red-headed girl must be his little sister?

Grandma Kate

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-01-08
Reviewid: 146789Chapter: 12
Yikes! Two action packed chapters. And the plot is definitely thickening. I don't think of Wormtail being that smart, but I will read and learn.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-01-08
Reviewid: 146788Chapter: 10
Your Percy is so perceptive. "It was hard to think how close his family had come to this and his mind ran through every ‘what if’. What if it had been his father? What if something happened to Ron or Bill or Ginny or – oh God – what if something separated Fred and George? How could he live without Penelope? Who would take care of her if something happened to him?" Realizing the bond between the twins and his need for Penny expresses his feeling so well.

And I love your Penny. She is headstrong but loving and quirky but solid.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-01-08
Reviewid: 146787Chapter: 7
This is so sweet and scary at the same time. Of course, the lawyer is EVIL. And Malfoy is a right bastard. Being mean to a tiny girl elf has to be way down there. And the angel baby Daniel is in danger.

I love the ending-"The room was fuzzy and the pillows were warm. The chair was rocking back and forth and he was floating, not flying, just floating in some place safe and secure. He had a familiar feeling. A feeling he could vaguely remember from sometime long ago. He opened his eyes and saw her. She pursed her lips and made a gentle hushing sound. He breathed out and floated again. He remembered it now. It was home."

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-01-07
Reviewid: 146777Chapter: 5
Julie, This is wonderful. Your Percy and Penny complete each other (in a quirky way). Your Bill and Charlie and Remus and Sirius are rich and very true to the books. Molly and Arthur ring true, as well. This must be so difficult for them.

I will try and finish reading the whole story later this week. It is a real treat.
Grandma Kate

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-11-19
Reviewid: 146234Chapter: 17
nice -- thanks

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-27
Reviewid: 145037Chapter: 17
It's like a really good warm drink. trully amazing, I hope you'll do one for HBP or somthing. It's good having Percy stuff around. Thank you for this special contribution.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-27
Reviewid: 145036Chapter: 16
I feel emotionally drained. that was fantastic!If there is anyone in the world who didnt compleatley HATE peter, this would change their mind. amazing.....

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-27
Reviewid: 145035Chapter: 14
oh great, now that's a hell of a rough patch isn't it? the talk with Hermes was wonderful, and very well done. i only have three more chapters to go :( oh well

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-25
Reviewid: 145018Chapter: 13
"The fastidious flusher" that had me in gigles. but as for the rst of the chapter... I sure as hell did not see that comming!Norman, a squib... and a GOOD one too! wierd. but amazing. I got really exited with the actual part fromthe book, those are my favourite scenes.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-25
Reviewid: 145017Chapter: 12
yeesh. Malfoy must have been PISSED when he found his wife (broom lol). that part with the twins had me feeling very prickley, I was ready to pounce on either of them. Oh, and the plan to rescue Percy was awesome.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-25
Reviewid: 145004Chapter: 11
wow. just ... wow. I'm going to beat myself up for not continuing to read it right now... but it's laye, even for me :( But your wrtting genius is shining through, that much is for certain. (oh, and i like how Ron was mentioned, made me smile)

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-25
Reviewid: 145003Chapter: 10
thats sad, and a bit intimdating. seriously, that last line made me shiver, not to metion that this is the first time i'm been really angry at Lucius in a long time (caannnee)hehem, I loved percys behaviour throughout the funural, that was good.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-25
Reviewid: 145001Chapter: 9
THE CLEARWATERS INVENTED SWAROVSKI!!!!!!LOL! sorry, i couldnt help it... *smacks self*. nyways, good chapter, I liked the discription of Penelope it was nice. And Percy seems all dressed up and gentlmanley... swoons. And you cant Trust Browns, lavender and norman... the name is a bad egg.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-25
Reviewid: 145000Chapter: 8
HO----MYGOSH! that had me as on edge as i was while reading it in the book. but you know, what's wierd? I always had hoped that they would cast Hugh Laurie as Mr Weasley...they didnt, but if they HAD there would be a slight resembalence between him and Chris Rankin (Percy). rammbbling... lol, sorry. i really, really, loved this chapter. my favourite so far.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-24
Reviewid: 144999Chapter: 7
*smiles* well, he definitly the weasley side in him, didnt he? Lovely chapter, home... adorable.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-24
Reviewid: 144997Chapter: 6
That's horrible! they want to kill off babies?! I'm already worried about Daniel! (does the yello mean he's going to make it into Hufflepuff?... if he makes it.) loved this one!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-24
Reviewid: 144996Chapter: 5
awww he always wants to be there for Ronnn! that's so sweet! And i knew he was an owl! woot! i think it had somthing to do with the glasses...

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144966Chapter: 4
That was brilliant! The whole thing with the court was fantastic,him sending the memo, pissing Harry off intentionally... I love seeing things from his point of view, it really gives me hope. And I need hope...

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144965Chapter: 3
*smiles* Ok, I feel a little better now. And I'm glad that he is too, how can people NOT love Percy??

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144963Chapter: 2
Will Penelope be in this a lot? I hope she is, I like for Percy to have somthing this nice just for him... he needs it.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144962Chapter: 1
I'm sniffling like mad right now, I cant tell that tears will be streaming all throught the next chapter. Very good so far.

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129651Chapter: 17
Fantastic! I don't know what else to say. If only it were all true.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-07-16
Reviewid: 127296Chapter: 17
I've finally finshed your wonderful story, Julu. Real life got in the way for a while, but here I am, at its end, so impressed by your talent. Your story was wonderfully complex - relationships, adventure, good vs. evil, good intentions and misperceptions, romance, and all the while infused with your creative sense of magic. Your writing was beautiful in so many places, vivid poetic imagery, raw emotion, grounded by your beautiful characterizations of Percy and Penelope. And you snuck up more than a few surprises on me! It all tied together so nicely at the end- it was an extremely satisfying read. Thank you.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126838Chapter: 17
Oh, Julie,
It's lovely to see this here at last. I love the ending, of course. Made doubly poignant by knowing what the future has in store for you! I know you will be a success if you put the same sort of thought and energy toward your classes as you did toward this story!

You have so many great visuals and scenes in this last chapter without a word wasted. It's so very lovely - the binding - Penelope's braid, the dream that no longer has the same hold over Penelope - Percy's relationship with his family as shown with Hermes's family. You connected all the dots and have given us a beautiful story - thank you for that.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126674Chapter: 17
Excellent ending to a brilliant story. And to think I wasn't sure whether I was going to like this when I started it! You capture the characters so well. I love Percy's comment about Ministry regulations and witnesses when Penelope suggest marriage then and there. You know I think Norman's a great character, and that's why I particularly enjoyed this line:

--Norman smiled but wagged his finger at her. “Never have complete confidence in someone in power, my dear. There must always be checks and balances in any system. Correct, Percy?”

Percy nodded. “Yes. Completely correct.”--

What a lawyer Norman is! And Percy would make a good one, too!

And then Ginny, wow. She only gets a cameo but you handle her wonderfully. She is definitely my favourite character and to see her in this story was really special. And I love the bond that you demonstrate between them - as well as Penelope's droll comment after she's gone!

All in all, great job. You have every right to be very proud of this story!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126448Chapter: 17
Yay! What a great ending to this absolutely wonderful story, Julu! The scene with Ginny had me bawling. >>“Well, I remember. You said - ‘I like you. I’m your brother and I’ll always be your friend.’”<< Yay for big-brother!Percy. We don't really see that side of him. Congratulations again! Well done!

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126403Chapter: 17
So few people write Percy stories, and even fewer write good ones. Yours has been excellent. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Reviewer: jemDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126377Chapter: 17
Finally finished! Does that make us -- both reader and author-- happy or sad? Actually, that is the feel of this last chapter. A mixture of joy and fear, certainty and uncertainty, belief and doubt (with Ginny), new life and yet the ongoing potential for death-- a summing up of extremes. The dream is a symbol of all of these as well. Uncertainty of what is real, but hope that what we feel can be trusted. I think that is a fitting summary of the life experience itself, and so is beautifully done. Lovely, Julu. Thank you for all your hard work. I have certainly enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126326Chapter: 17
Congratulations on finishing your fic, Julu!

Of course, once HBP comes out hopefully we will know Percy's full story and whether or not he was a spy for the Order. Hopefully you're right that Percy will never betray his family.

Glad to see him make up with Ginny. And of course it was nice to end with Percy proposing to Penny.

You deserve a dancing Remus! And I hope to read more of your work soon!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126192Chapter: 17
Julie -

That proposal and binding was perfect! I'm almost so sad to see this story end...it has been a pleasure getting previews and finding out what is going on with Pen and Percy before everyone else.

Your writing is flawless and inspiring. I count myself lucky to know you and to be able to share ideas and dreams with you.

I look forward to many, many more of your stories.

~Heather

Reviewer: BeDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126163Chapter: 17
*sigh* Such a beautiful ending to your great story... Thank you, Julu!

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126143Chapter: 17
Ah, great finish. I love happy endings (and happy beginnings, as it turns out). And I do hope that what you've envisioned - Percy the spy - comes to pass next week. Thanks for writing.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124944Chapter: 15
Oh my. I was glued to the computer screen the entire chapter. You lifted the bar once again. This was great - so tightly written and building in suspense steadily until the very last sentence. It was so frightening. Once again your creativity with magic is completely impressive. And Norman - first I was mad at him and upset that I was wrong about him, then I was breathing a sigh of relief, now I'm...I don't know! Julu I feel like I could just keep listing superlative after superlative for this story. You are a truly talented writer.

moonette

Reviewer: phoenixphileDate: 2005-06-20
Reviewid: 124593Chapter: 16
Wow, I really loved this story! Is that the ending or do you have another chapter to come? It feels unfinished to me... How does Percy propose to Penelope? What happens with Percy and his family, his job and his secret agency? And the "disappearing" children? Congratulations on making him such an interesting and sympathetic character. I also loved your symbolism with Penelope and her visions and the whole swan symbol - very well done, imo. This really was an excellent read. :)

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124418Chapter: 14
'“Yes, I saw that. It looks delicious.” Though not as delicious as you. Things were starting to go rather blurry. Oh right, his glasses were fogging.' LOL

I really enjoy the parts where you emphasize the developing relationship between P and P. Percy's overreaction to something so innocently said by Penelope rang quite true to the doubts people experience before they make such a huge decision such as marriage. He just grabbed onto it and ran, unfortunately. At least he came to his senses. And now we have good fodder for increasing drama and angst next chapter! Your scenes that occur out in nature are beautifully written and have a very poetic feel - your love for nature is clear. And the way Percy described love to Hermes - simply beautiful.

Reviewer: tashDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124323Chapter: 1
This is a great story
I can't wait for more
It makes you wonder if it could be

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124161Chapter: 13
Still reading, Julu. It's just that real life has been busy lately. I continue to enjoy this so much. And for some strange reason, I'm glad Norman is OK. Before today, I had been looking forward to him being a villian, but I guess we didn't need another blond bad guy, did we? Actually, I just felt Penelope deserved things to go her way a little after all that's happened. I like how you make Penelope's world so vivid, from her work to her home to her job - it all comes alive. And this idea about Clearwater is so wonderfully creative. Great job again.

Reviewer: Chelsea EvansDate: 2005-06-15
Reviewid: 124048Chapter: 16
Came here by the niffle. Amazing fic, truly grand!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-06-14
Reviewid: 123999Chapter: 16
Ack! Another great chapter. You are slowly turning me to the Percy/Penelope 'ship, and that's all right. I'm on pins and needles to find out what's going to happen next!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123892Chapter: 12
All right, you got me! I didn't think for a minute that Percy would escape the Malfoys' clutches in that way. Great job! This chapter was tightly written, tense in all the right places, and with another cliff hanger at the end. Wow.

“Oh you Gryffindors are all the same,” she sighed. “You think you are the only ones who can ever be brave. Come on then, let’s go home. I’m suddenly starving.” I love her! And I loved your Sirius characterization. Spot on.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123816Chapter: 10
Each chapter is better than the last. How do you do it? This one had so many wonderful magic touches. The tone was just perfect, understated during the sadder parts, and allowing some humor later on. I loved the contrast between how Penelope was at the funeral - all proper and buttoned up, and then later, when she was truly herself and flew to the cemetary - of course foreshadowed by her removing the hat pins from her hair and crushing her hat with her heel as she left the funeral. The entire scene of her nighttime visit to her grandmother's grave was beautiful. I still don't know what Norman is up to, but I think I have a good idea. We'll see. And again, Iris and Phillip provide a wonderful place of comfort in the story where love and humor abounds. The reader feels towards them like Penelope does - they're a sanctuary. I'm really enjoying this!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123716Chapter: 16
Great chapter as always!

And so we've reached the big climax. That was clever how Penny used Norman's blood in order to try to confuse Pettigrew. I do hope that Norman's all right.

About Percy and Pettigrew being similar -- in some ways Wormtail is right. They're both rather ambitious.

Good chapter! Like your other reviewers, I was confused as to whether this is the final chapter. If you're done, then congratulations on finishing your fic before HBP. If there's more to come, then I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123687Chapter: 16
Oh, Julu! You do write Percy as he ought to be, and I'll have no problem confessing that I cried a bit in this chapter. I love this story, I really do.

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123665Chapter: 16
Oooh, great chapter! But there's more, right? This wasn't the last? Please?

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123634Chapter: 16
Julu, this is such a powerful chapter. I really enjoyed rereading it. You've made Percy and Penelope into strong and believable characters. I just love the ending! Blowing up a Dementor from inside, Just LOVE it! Yay, can't wait to read your next story! Will there be an epilogue?

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123601Chapter: 9
Well I have to be thrilled about any chapter that starts out with Lupin bearing gifts. I loved the note from Molly - so in character and with a distinct sense of worry for her son. And LOL funny about the muggle knitting. I'm very intrigued about the swan issue. What are you getting at there? And Norman Brown is giving me the creeps each time he enters the picture. Once again, you effortlessly weave wonderful magic throughout - I love those touches. And you seem to be building quite a complex plot, with intriguing OCs and now the whole swan issue. You move from scene to scene with ease, developing nicely vivid mental pictures of each one for the reader. Your dialogue is entirely natural, and each character has his/her own unique voice. I wish I could stay up and read the rest, but mums need their energy. Until tomorrow...

moonette

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-06-09
Reviewid: 123534Chapter: 16
*jawdesk* Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. The soul falling section was written beautifully. The plot idea itself was genius. The way you hit the Percy/Peter comparison full on with an amazingly powerful dialogue sequence that showed Percy as an brilliantly strong character was stunning. The action flowed superbly and matched the plot perfectly. This was just brilliant. I've run out of superlatives! :p

Also, the dementor sequence was really funny.

---“Yep. There are a few bits of it over here,” Sturgis said.”

“Well, for goodness sake, don’t get near it,” Molly called. “Mad Eye, make yourself useful and get a broom.”---

That is just so Molly. Marvellous!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123474Chapter: 7
Oh Penelope and Percy are just so adorably good together. They are open and at ease with each other, perfectly comfortable, yet not annoyingly so. It is comforting to read their scenes together. I thought your Malfoy characterization was spot on. Severed finger? Eeew. At first when you mentioned Nod's hand hurting, I thought it was going to be her finger. How creepy! The scene with Percy's animagus form and dialogue with the owl were inspired. Very creative and perfectly in tune with the rest of the story. I was feeling quite nervous for Percy when he was an owl. He'd better watch himself and his impulses more closely in the future. Again - nice job!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-07
Reviewid: 123427Chapter: 6
Me again.

'Over the years, she had learned that her prince could not always save her. Yet strangely enough, it didn't matter. Real love was so much grander than fantasy. She painted a small circle in the condensation on the window. Somewhere, under the same rising sun, her love lived and breathed. She murmured a silent prayer to keep him safe.'

This is so pretty. It reveals so much about Penelope - her practical nature, her love for Percy, her loneliness.

And again, you've deepened the plot, for now we have a very suspicious Norman Brown in the picture. There are several plot threads now and I can't wait to see how they come together. The magic was nicely promiment as usual - especially with that precious little boy. What a lovely scene that was! Penelope's joy was palpable. And Iris and Phillip's characters were revealed so naturally and seem wonderfully likeable - the type of friends we'd all like to have and that Penelope needs so desperately. I loved the comment on Phillips acceptance of magic and how he believes the mountains of Scotland were filled with it. I'd love to see more of their family. Once again, great job.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-06
Reviewid: 123380Chapter: 5
Wow, Julu. The chapters just keep getting better and better. Loved the foreshadowing of the rat in the cellar. (Hope it's not Peter.) Loved the ambush that turned out to be Bill. The interaction between Percy and Bill seemed so real - just how brothers do behave. Your pacing is great, and the intrigue just keeps building, but your writing really became poetic in that last part about the owl. Loved the last line. Actually - you always end your chapters well - giving the reader something to think about. Very nicely done!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123305Chapter: 4
Oooh - this chapter was GOOD! Nice, dramatic backround on Penelope - (poor thing) with a caring, sensitive response from Percy, although not too much so. Nice "workplace stuff" for Percy, giving us a good sense of his work and the risks he takes for the Order, as well as how wearing it is on him emotionally. And a really intriguing ending with a surprise visit from DD. The story is getting wonderful depth now and I am completely enjoying it. I think your dialogue sounds very natural and the progession of their relationship is realistic and very nicely done. Interesting that you can do this so well in a timeline that is not chronological, but it really works! You also have a nice way with descriptive phrases that really hit home. I'll highlight a few of these next time, when my husband isn't clamoring for the computer.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123257Chapter: 3
I love your sense of the magical - it has a bit of whimsy and it is not just an afterthought but an integral and consistent aspect of your story. The cows were especially funny. (As was the discussion regarding Penny's bed) P & P have an easy way with each other that is enjoyable to read. Another good chap. Until tomorrow...

moonette

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123210Chapter: 2
“I do love my Lapis,” she said slowly, “but I am afraid for it. No one will know its secret. What if it should become lost – or, or broken?”

Percy pulled her close. How he loved this clever girl. “You don’t need to worry about that old stone. It’s sturdy. And as long as you keep it close, it will never be lost.”

She brushed her fingers against his cheek, “Then I will keep it safe because I know what’s inside it.”

Love it. She's smart and loyal and knows her man. Nice imagery/metaphors. The entire scene was wonderfully described and I loved the magic of the lapis. Looking forward to more!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123168Chapter: 1
Nice start! I love being a fly on the wall in Order meetings. I'm intrigued. You have a smooth writing style and I can tell already you aren't afraid to get into the emotional center of things. This is going to be good.

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122502Chapter: 15
Julu,
Another excellent addition to your story. A nice twist on what Norman is trying to do for Penelope. Hope it works.
Let us know soon!

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122500Chapter: 15
"...and that the man who had trapped him had once eaten bits of apple and sunflower seeds from Percy’s own hand." Beautiful sentance, Julu.

A lovely cliffhanger! The sort that I think I know what just happened, but I can't wait until the next installment to find out for sure. You're weaving an excellent tale.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122341Chapter: 15
This whole story just exudes intelligence! The relationship between Percy and Penelope is really beautiful and you work it in and through the plot brilliantly well. There's plenty of suspense and surprise and some really well worked and well thought out devices. The idea of the blood quill and the means to conn it is really smart as was the watch and the map. But your story is a lot more than clever plot devices and or even beautiful relationships. It's the way that the story gels together that is really important. It just fits and feels right!

I should also say that I really like Norman Brown as a character. I think I just identify with the way he carries himself and I feel so sorry for him that Penelope still doesn't fully trust him. He seems to me to be the arcehtypical English legal type (even if he isn't a lawyer), and I've been studying law for too long not to love any tricky means for getting out of a contract!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122301Chapter: 15
Now that Wormtail has Penny, Percy threatening to avenge her and take on his former pet. His words remind us why he was chosen to be a Gryffindor.

I like how you take ideas mentioned in canon and twist them to suit the plot. The map to find Daniel is like the Marauder's Map, yet it works on the power of love. The watch is like the Weasley clock yet it, like the Polyjuice Potion, contains the hair as the essence of the person. And a Blood Quill, like Umbridge's, appears, yet here it's used to sign a magically binding contract.

Another cliffie! Did Penny really forfeit the power of all in the world who isn't pureblood, just to save merely one child, or does she have a trick of some kind up her sleeve? And Norman -- is he really on Penny's side? I can't wait to find out! I hope you'll update soon!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122257Chapter: 15
Whew! This is just as exciting as the first time I read it. From the opening to the finish, this chapter flows. And it's not just running hither and yon. The characters do so much thinking and coming up with clever solutions (which is all because of you, my dear) The magical watch, the quill coated in blood - all of these things are so intelligent and fitting for a Ravenclaw Prefect and a Head Boy with twelve NEWTs. But the best has to be how Penny thinks of Percy in a crisis and how Percy thinks of love as the final boost that will help the little boy. They have truly learned from their relationship - it wasn't just fluff! Good stuff ahead I know!

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122242Chapter: 15
Very exciting! I wish you didn have to stop right there, though. More, soon!

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-05-02
Reviewid: 121238Chapter: 14
No! Wormtail got her! That isn't fair, she needs to be alive, Percy needs to propose!!

Please let Penny be OK.

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121119Chapter: 14
You make a great righteous Percy. Please, hope to see more soon. It's getting exciting.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121101Chapter: 14
Another good chapter, as always. It begins on a fluffy note as Percy contemplates on whether he should propose to Penny. Then we have some angst, as Penny reminds him of their relative financial situations lest he appears a "gold-digger." I liked the conversation between Percy and Hermes.

Then you conclude on a dramatic note, as Penny is kidnapped by the rat (Wormtail, I presume). I hope she ends up safe!

Good job, and I look forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121091Chapter: 14
Oh, Julie, it's so good to read this all together! The emotions in this chapter from happy to anguished to philosophical to frantic are all so well done. I still really love this line:

<He felt completely happy and, at the moment, very sure of himself. He, Percy Weasley, was capable of great things. He was brave and clever, obviously, quite good looking, and he had an engagement ring in his pocket.> It's so funny and so Percy!

<Love is like flying, Hermes. And Penelope is like my sky.”> That whole passage is beautiful!

I know how hard you worked on this chapter and it really shows! Can't wait to see the resolution of that evil cliffie!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121026Chapter: 14
Such an important chapter! And it doesn't disappoint!

What a lovely ring Percy had commissioned. I'm not much one for two-toned rings, but I really like the meaning behind the gold fire and the silver water intertwined. For a moment, I thought that Percy might return the ring to the jeweler (Tinpenny! What a great name!) because he decides not to propose to Penelope, and then she goes to the jeweler, finds it, and buys it to propose to Percy with. That would show that he's not after her money. *sigh* I really, really like them together in this story. And I'm hoping that Percy wasn't being foreshadow-y when he kept saying that if he was alive in a month he would come back for the last payment.

I'm still looking forward to more!

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121011Chapter: 14
Oh, no, you can't stop there! Bloody cretinous Peter Pettigrew, I sincerely hope he suffers mightily some day...

Reviewer: GingerDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119217Chapter: 13
excellen,,,superb detaling and quite nice job in fitting it with the orginal stories!

never thought i would ever find such a great mix of drama, action, eccitement and suspense with just the right dash of romance in the plot!

amazinglly fluid and easi to read...would benefit if the story had more unfortunate events ..nut hey that's just me!

anyway...keep up the great work and hope to be able to read on!

cheers

ginger

Reviewer: Rebecca Erin ConnollyDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119098Chapter: 13
This is excellent. Well done.

However, I feel Sirius would not have been a part of the rescue mission as he posed too much of a danger to the order.

Love it though. Thoroughly impressed.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118799Chapter: 13
Hmmm, so the pieces are starting to come together. So Norman is really a Squib and Clearwater Enterprises is linked to Gringotts. Still, this Norman guy sounds a bit shady -- I'd be especially careful around him, if I were Penny.

Keep up the good work! I look forward to reading the next chapter, of course.

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-04-05
Reviewid: 118677Chapter: 13
Yay, an update! I love the idea of the magical/Muggle company. Very clever. And I love Percy being on the side of the good guys. The only thing that worries me is that bloody rat...

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-04-05
Reviewid: 118669Chapter: 13
Oh no! I'm more scared for Penelope than ever I was before! I'm glad that I didn't have to wait too long for this chapter! ;)

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-04-05
Reviewid: 118659Chapter: 13
I hadn't seen the Snape scene with the Norman scene - I really like how it flows together. Interesting about the "everyone lies about something" It really is the conundrum of the magical world - Percy's world in this story - and the events that happened in OotP. Your selection of scenes really brought that home.

Wonderful as usual. And I still like the nose-is-very-brown line. So Snape.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117877Chapter: 1
[From the far end Minerva McGonagall let out a small sniff as everyone slowly looked away from Molly. Even Snape seemed very interested in a portrait on the opposite wall.] You write a great Molly and I liked that line about not even Snape wanting to get in Molly's way when she's on a rant.

I really liked the wand lighting as a voting method for letting people into the Order.

[Molly’s lip trembled as she smoothed imaginary wrinkles from Percy’s robe. "What are you going to do Percy? Where will you live? How will you cook? Who’ll wash your clothes?"] Aw, I love Molly's mothering and the questions she asks are so ordinary yet you can tell she's really masking her true concerns.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117176Chapter: 12
Holy Moly--so many things--this chapter--plot unfurls--plot thickens at same time--...

Will have to wait patiently for next chapter.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117045Chapter: 5
Julu! You're my new favorite author! I'm enjoying this story and your writing immensely! I had read the prologue and the first chapter once, many moons ago, and forgot about it. After you left that very nice review of my story Consequences, I thought I would look into your stories. I absolutely loved Sleeping Princesses and It's a Wonderful Story, but Hiding is something more. Penelope's backstory and the way that they met gives wonderful rich detail to something I hadn't really thought much about.

Your style is a little reminscent of St. Margarets (since I know you're writing partners, this isn't surprising) but the distinctness of your narrative voice is clear and I just wanted to tell you that I'm thoroughly enjoying the story so far and will finish reading it as soon as I can.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115519Chapter: 12
Julu - sweetie I haven't left you a review since we started the writing group together and I feel terrible 'bout it. I came back today and read it from beginning to end. And I must admit the Percy in minds' eye is now very different from the one I've got in the movies and whatnot. And I must admit Walt and I have a bit of a crush. You have developed such a wonderful love story for these two, and I know that's not the only tale you're telling her...but it just gets me right in the middle when Percy and Penny are together. It is so deep and right between these two ... its just grand. The layers you have built in this story and deep and varied and are truly enjoyable! Well done my friend, well done!

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2005-03-02
Reviewid: 115266Chapter: 12
I am so horrible to not have come across this sooner! I just finished reading and I have to say that I never thought that Percy was acting as he did just as show, but as I thought about it, it made perfect sense and is entirely plausible. This has been a great story to show Percy beyond what many (guilty as charged) have shown him as in the past. Between you and ivy&Gracie, I have to say that the boy is really growing on me. This has been a very exciting story and has been about like a rollercoaster. I can't wait for the update!

Alex

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114661Chapter: 12
Excellent chapter but you can't hurt Penny!!!!!!!

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114515Chapter: 12
This story is absolutely fabulous. I never paid a whole lot of attention to Percy and Penelope, but this is a real charmer. And I'm glad to see that Percy isn't the complete git he appears to be. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114425Chapter: 12
Yaaay! Penny saves the day! What an ingenious plan, Polyjuicing herself to be Narcissa. And the line by Sirius about wanting to sweep the floor with his cousin was very funny!

Oh, I don't like the sound of Wormtail's plan. Penny had better watch out for the sneaky rat.

As usual, you tell a wonderful tale, and I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: jemDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114401Chapter: 12
I love how you bring Percy to terms with the possibility of death: another child born to see the sky, smell grass, touch skin... Very moving and brings out the best of Percy's qualities. Oh yes, and I enjoy your characterization of Sirius in this chapter! A nice touch of humor and still a bit of his angst.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114348Chapter: 12
I finished chapter eleven, I think I'll go to Disney World! Oh - wait - hee -hee. You did finish chapter eleven and aren't you proud? The wonderful tension and release you built up - cutting from one scene to the next. And then the ending! Danger not over yet! I loved how you added the F&G similarity to Percy. How Penelope can't entirely cold to them. I also like those sly details - like the goat in the Hogshead!

Wonderful stuff!

Reviewer: big dDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114314Chapter: 3
just wanted to say that molly weasely comment about the bra made gatorade spray out my nose. good show!

Reviewer: HannaDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114040Chapter: 11
Cliffhanger! Ahh, hehe. I've just read through your whole story and I must say...it's fabulous, fantastic, and splendid! I love all your descriptions and...your characters are so realistic! I can almost hear them talking! Your plot is also good and makes perfect sense...In other words, I loved almost everything about your story! Hope to see more and keep up the good work~!

Reviewer: fairy-haDate: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113777Chapter: 11
I absolutely LOVE this story. It is completeing enthralling - who wouldve thought perfect prefect Percy could be such a wonderful, brave, mature man. It fits so beautifully with cannon as well - really seamless. I hope you post the next chapter VERY SOON.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113514Chapter: 11
Oooh, a cliffie! I hope, of course, that Percy can escape from Lucius (if that's who it is) okay.

Hmmm, I wonder whether the letter Penny found will mean something. Anyway, I look forward to reading the next chapter and the resolution to this cliffie.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113358Chapter: 11
I liked the garage description - you know, all the things a magical garage would contain. You have certainly moved out of "Titanic" territory! I still like Penelope's description of her "fantasy" and Percy's rather practical yet all toghether sweet answer!

That lawyer - grr - don't turst him! And I must say again - you do a good job with the elf talk without making it too annoying. A very enjoyable chapter!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113336Chapter: 11
We continue to love this story; Percy & Penny have such chemistry, and you're weaving so many threads together into a tapestry that will surely go down as one of fanfiction's classics!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-01-25
Reviewid: 112023Chapter: 10
**sigh** Oh Julu, you've worked your magic again. Your writing is so full of imaginative details--the 4 seasons fresco; the pool at the Ministry; the Muggle emergency owl...every chapter brings more, and you slip it all in with such subtlety and confidence that it might as well all be part of canon. At the very least, we're left thinking, "Now why didn't Jo think of that?!" Other things--We always say this, but it bears repeating: P & P's chemistry is just THERE. So very sweet, and yet not just sweet--there's lots of spark too!

Thanks for another great chapter!

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111245Chapter: 10
Another wonderful installment to this story, full of non-Harry related angst and a lot of intrigue.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-01-17
Reviewid: 111145Chapter: 10
I sitll like your last line and I'm glad you didn't muck with it. The scenes of Penelope grieving are so well done -visual and affecting without being melodramatic. I love how Percy is all business yet finds his mind wandering to Penelope - what's the line? "all the time." If that doesn't sum up 19 I don't know what does. :)

And you have written such an intriguing plot with dangers for both of our heros. It's been a wonderful read!

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111127Chapter: 10
It looks great Julu! Reading it again, I really enjoyed the details like when Percy was talking to the memos. I still can't make up my mind about Norman Brown--good guy or bad guy, and now I'm wondering if he could be a death eater spy? I like how when Percy thinks of Penelope, he sounds so protective, but when Penelope thinks of herself she sounds so confident and independent even in her grief. And that last line is a great one!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111106Chapter: 10
What a sad chapter, with Penny losing another member of her family.

I wonder whether Dobby will have anything interesting to say. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: crzyspaceystraceyDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111088Chapter: 10
i liked this. I already reviewed this on ff.net, but there are a few changes. I can't wait for the next update.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111064Chapter: 10
Jo has said that Percy is doing what he is doing 'of his own accord'. My hope is that it is exactly as you have portrayed it so far. Lovely story that I am looking forward to continuing.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-01-16
Reviewid: 111057Chapter: 5
Ahhh, I think Sirius does the same thing to you he does to me. He sneaks into the story and tries to take it over! ("It's a club." hee-hee)

Reviewer: NehaDate: 2005-01-15
Reviewid: 110965Chapter: 9
BEST STORY OF MY LIFE!!!! I love percy-centric stories! wish there were more of them!!
thanks thanks thanks!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-12-14
Reviewid: 107694Chapter: 9
You know, it just occurred to us we hadn't left a review for this wonderful chapter, so we had to read it again and say a few words...

First: Some of our favorite lines; lines that, in themselves, proclaim a wealth of information about your characters:

* Molly telling Percy, "You'll need to wear a vest under it...." and "Remember who you are." It gives us faith that Percy will, indeed, remember who he is.

* Percy saying, "It's usually about finding the weak links in their protections..." *shiver* We're afraid this might be a bit of ominous foreshadowing....

* "Penelope, don't curse. Dammit." a;fldkjfas;ldfj!

Some random thoughts:

*Is Norman some erstwhile lover of Penelope's?
*Penelope--so funny, talking about Arthur and his top-secret experiments with flying cars!
*Do we detect St. Margaret's influence, with the swan symbology? Lovely, how it's so hopeful and tragic at once. Very significant that Percy ends the chapter gazing at the swans...

A masterpiece of intrigue and relationships! Can't wait for more from you, Julu!

Reviewer: Frankie B.Date: 2004-12-13
Reviewid: 107684Chapter: 9
Wow. I haven't read anything in about 3 months and I couldn't have picked a better way to get back into the swing of things than with these two chapters. Brilliant as always, and lovely in every respect. I teared up at the end of seven, and this one is just as good. As always, I can't wait to read more of this universe!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --