The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Test of Time
Review(s): 1469

Reviewer: ChocolatierDate: 2008-11-07
Reviewid: 151209Chapter: 16
Ahhhhh, that was lovely, purely beautiful. I've read your work several times before but I've never reviewed, thought it was high time I did. I love all the little bits that make the story so perfect. I loved the references to Nancy Drew, I loved reading the books when I was a child and the style of Virginia Woolf in the narration. I had to read all her work when I was at school and thoroughly enjoyed them. The story overall does have a very Woolf feel.

Anyways there's not much I can say, apart from saying I love this story and I come back every now and again to re-read it and it's still as magical as when I first read it. And on a side-note, there is a pub that sounds just like the The Warlock's Whistle in the Cotswolds, it's called the Green Dragon in a little village called Cowley. It makes me grin sillily when I think about it, an whenever I go there now I'm always reminded of this story

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2008-04-24
Reviewid: 150803Chapter: 1
Yes, Microfatcat, it DOES mean what you think it does. Just an obscene joke, a Fred and George kind of joke. Remus didn't make it into the story I'm afraid, sadly. Too many characters to cover already.

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2008-04-24
Reviewid: 150802Chapter: 1
Thanks Heart and Sol, for such a heartfelt review! It's a pleasure to hear that my writing has moved you, even if it results in tears. I don't get the chance to write much anymore, so I only occasionally check my reviews. My story is now so completely against canon, and I am thrilled whenever I get a reader who sticks with the story to the end. Thanks again, alchemilla

Reviewer: Heart and SolDate: 2008-04-18
Reviewid: 150791Chapter: 16
Sometimes, when going to leave a review for a truly great story, words are difficult to find to truly express your reaction. I can only hope that this will suffice: I registered for the Sugar Quill only just now, in the off chance that you still check your reviews so that I could properly thank you for such a fine story. While I found some of the magical inventions a bit unbelievable in JK's World, your characterization was brilliant, the plot was engaging, and you truly have a command of the English language. Its not something one finds in many fanfictions.

What I loved most is what I have the hardest time expressing. Your story had such a heart touching element to it. I suppose it was love, as an overriding theme in your story, that would be the proper subject. The way you wrote it, it was soul gripping, profound and at the same time, resoundingly simple and pure. 'Love' in its essence. Described by you, accurately, as something beyond the daily human scope, above our existence, but something we can all have; the simplest of joys. That is what I took from your lovely, lovely story. And you did it beautifully. I cried like a baby with that last line of the epilogue. "That's called happiness." I'm tearing up just now.

Thank you.

Reviewer: microfatcatDate: 2008-04-05
Reviewid: 150729Chapter: 15
"She'll love it, Ronnie, it's a beautiful, enormous gift. I see years of reciprocation ahead for you," quipped George, putting stuffing into the carcass of the turkey in a rude way.

^Does that mean what I think it means? :P Brilliant chapter. I favourited this fic years and years (and years?) ago, and have read up to chapter 15 in three days. It's awesome! Though in my head, Harry is gay, and Severus is the best character. Where's Remus?

x

Reviewer: InexcessDate: 2008-02-18
Reviewid: 150534Chapter: 16
Hey there Alchemilla! I've read this whole story over a period of the last 3 days(I couldn't stop myself) it was just to great to stop! Your style and use of description with the characters was perfect. I truly enjoyed reading this, and I might just have to reread it one day! Hope all is well.

~Inexcess

Reviewer: lauracDate: 2007-11-22
Reviewid: 149982Chapter: 16
Dear Alchemilla - I've enjoyed your very creative story. The plot was quite involved but true to the characters and the Potter universe. Probably the thing about your story that stands out the most, makes it different and unique, is the humor: very subtle, in character, and very dry. I really enjoyed how gradually out of control Draco became, and of course Ron was a riot, and little Al was very funny in a cute little kid way, but without being cloying or unrealistic. The romance was sexy but not too explicit, and both R/H and H/G were delightful. Very nice work - congratulations and thanks from this reader.

Reviewer: ropeterDate: 2007-11-19
Reviewid: 149954Chapter: 1
I have just finished this story and I think it is fantastic! I bow in awe of your plot bunnies. I'm so glad Ron wasn't bankrupted, that there is some hope of Harry getting his money back, that Harry and Ginny got married and that Ron and Hermione are so committed (a wedding would have been nice though but I can't ask for anything more!) Well done and I look forward to reading even more of your stories.

Reviewer: kismattDate: 2007-09-20
Reviewid: 149345Chapter: 16
Congratulations. You managed to keep me absolutely riveted to this story all evening - finished it at 5:30 in the *morning*! I realize I'm coming in late to the party, having finally relented and started cautiously reading HP fic after years of telling myself I wouldn't and seeing that this particilar tale is already three years (!!) on this site....great story. Wow. I'm still in alt.

I can say this - those of my online (and off-line) friends that want to read HP AU will be pointed at this story. Great job!!

Reviewer: HermnyDate: 2007-09-05
Reviewid: 149173Chapter: 16
That was an awesome story to read!
You've got a gift for novels like that,
keep moving forwards!

Reviewer: mudbugDate: 2007-07-22
Reviewid: 148626Chapter: 16
She called him Albus!! Al!!!! It's been a long time since I was here, but I thought of your story as soon as I read this :)

Reviewer: DebbieODate: 2007-06-02
Reviewid: 148170Chapter: 15
I LOVE this chapter. The resolution of Harry and Ginny's long separation is so beautiful. I've read it several times now. It is sweet, powerful...perfect. I don't know that I've ever read a romantic ending I found more satisfying. Excellent work.

Reviewer: DebbieODate: 2007-05-31
Reviewid: 148157Chapter: 16
I devoured this story. It is excellent! I love the canon-like feel of the characters, the exciting twists and cliffhangers (although I'm very glad you were done before I started, because waiting for resolution would have killed me!). Very exciting, romantic and fun. Thanks for sharing it.

Reviewer: qwaffle64Date: 2007-01-31
Reviewid: 147048Chapter: 3
hi!
ur story is amazin, i even Somehow managed 2 resist th pull of gravity on my finger towards th "nxt chptr" nd review! nt tht i cn say mch, xcpt congrts 4 bein a vvvvvvvvvvvvv(ect.).gd writer!
*bow down b4 u*
hehe
lv
qwaffle 64
xxx
p.s lovin th northumberland, it rulez!!!!!!!11
hehe

Reviewer: mariah_gooseDate: 2006-09-10
Reviewid: 145276Chapter: 16
ohh iloved this story. It has been on my to read list and i finally got around to reading it im glad that i did.

Reviewer: adri278Date: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145256Chapter: 16
This story will always have a special place in my heart because it's the absolutely FIRST multi-chaptered fanfiction (my first fic ever was Midnight Musings, hee) I ever read. And ever since, I have only come across a handful of fics that live up to my first experience.

There's just so much to like about it. I absolutely love Bludger. You came up with a really strong, stubborn, risk-taking OFC that had excellent chemistry with Harry. Job well done. Al is just the cutest. It's so sad that he lost his parents, but I'm glad that Harry decided to step up and be a father-figure for him. I love that Ron is an inventor. I just really like that he has a talent that's his own and that it isn't some supernatural ability. The VoiceFloos and the Terrormeters are just great inventions. Your Harry is perfect. He's mature, he's mysterious, he's protective, he's utterly in love with Ginny...and speaking of Ginny...I love her in this story. She's strong and independent, but at the same time so vulnerable when it comes to the guy who broke her heart. Hermione's great too...the whole backstory with her getting kidnapped was just heartbreaking. Poor Ron. But then she outsmarted Voldemort! The scene with the house that Ron bought and fixed up for her was so touching. I love them together. Love all the Draco stuff too. He's such a slimeball.

The story's great, the characters are great, you're great!

Anyway, I just wanted to try to let you know why and what I love about this story. It's great, and it'll always be at the top of my list.

Reviewer: RevellynDate: 2006-08-11
Reviewid: 144759Chapter: 16
No matter how many times I read this, I can't get over the flawless integration of the family dynamics you have created. Harry seems to be characterised to a fault, and his relationship with Ginny is both sweet and good; the same with Hermione's relationship with Ginny. Overall, well done :)

Reviewer: Lemondrops8Date: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144560Chapter: 16
An amazing story! I loved the suspense and the plot! ***** It is my favorite fan fiction of all time!... continue writing!! (please make a sequel!)

Reviewer: leiselilyDate: 2006-07-18
Reviewid: 144260Chapter: 1
I've just spent two wonderful days (and nights) reading this story after I read your more recent one, and I have thoroughly enjoyed it. I really loved the action, and usually I'm not that keen. I thought your original characters were great, as well as your interpretations of canon characters such as Colin, who will don't necessarily see that much of. I really enjoyed the R/H storyline, and thought it was very well done. Of course the H/G plot was lovely too, and I agreet that though your Ginny is not as confident as JKR's, she's still Ginny...great story, thank you very much.

Reviewer: ViperXIVDate: 2006-07-18
Reviewid: 144245Chapter: 16
I love your story. I found it late one evening, and I couldn't stop reading. I had to force myself to go to bed so I would get up for work the next day. I came home and immediatly finished reading it. I love it, a very good post-hogwarts fic. And I love how Al did the epilouge at the end. I would love to read some of your orignal stuff as well.

Reviewer: kim kikimDate: 2006-07-07
Reviewid: 144014Chapter: 16
PARTY!!!

Reviewer: sheepstamperDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142347Chapter: 16
A better story - i haven't read. Excellent, the way the people interaction. Please keep writing..

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-04-11
Reviewid: 141825Chapter: 1
Nice job! Great fic...argh! ur killing me with all those cliffhangers...

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140666Chapter: 1
Ah, thanks, recent reviewers! I do still check, and it's a thrill to see new and enthusiastic reviews, even though my fic is so completely AU now. I write sporadically these days, working on both an original work and a little side of HP. But my real-life work is madness these days! Thanks again. --alchemilla

Reviewer: UnclefesterDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140657Chapter: 16
Only one other fic has affected me in the same way yours has, and that is the one and only After the End by the SQ founders. Your use of original plotlines and characters fit in perfectly together with the golden oldies, and the build up to the end was almost too hard to bear at times. I was thinking about reading this fic while I was stuck in Latin class during the day, and it was a total (but welcome) distraction. Nothing is better than a happy ending for everyone, and you made sure of that. For some reason I hoped above all else that Bludger would end up happy and you accomplished that too. However, the whole Bill Weasley springs on to the scene at the very end (and out of character Bill Weasley, sry) didn't seem that right to me, and I know that you probably didn't fully like that part either. The H/Gness was amazing because it took awhile, and the R/H was tolerable (I have to deal with it, it's just something that cannot be avoided in this world). Actually, the R/H was much better than normal because there was all that extra angst stopping them from being "themselves" for the entirety of the story. I hate to say it, but you wrote some great action and suspense scenes. I shy away from all adventure fics, but the action here was impeccably written, and without it, it would just have been another in a long line of mushy romance. Your efforts for over two years yielded amazing results, and I can count on some great things from you in the future. Keep Writing!!

Reviewer: cloudDate: 2006-03-05
Reviewid: 140529Chapter: 16
This story is fantastic i wish it were longer please keep writing

Reviewer: IsoldeDate: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139795Chapter: 16
Over the last few months, I've seen this title pop up several times in fic recs, so I decided to finally sit myself down and read it. And oh my, what I've been missing all this time!

Little Al was beyond adorable. Bludger was such a likable and interesting OC. And your Harry... I constantly wanted to hug him.

I didn't mind at all that your Ginny wasn't spunky like JKR's Ginny, because I think that for all her spunk, JKR's Ginny still possesses most of the qualities *your* Ginny possesses -- and unfortunately, I think it's a side of her character that fanfiction has largely neglected since OotP came out. Yes, Canon Ginny *is* gutsy and stubborn and mouthy (and I love her for that)... but, like your Ginny, she's also warm and intuitive and (when she's not angry) she can be very gentle and tactful. I do think Canon Ginny has the makings of a good therapist. It was nice to see that side of her character more fleshed out than it usually is in fanfic, and I'm grateful to you for that.

The final scene between Harry and Ginny (and Baby Bee) at her flat was so beautiful and poignant, and so *satisfying* after all they'd been through. It made me want to laugh and cry at the same time.

Really, this fic was such a joy to read. I even found the R/Hr bits bearable (and believe me, that's a much bigger compliment than it sounds, because normally I can't stand the R/Hr ship, even in canon). Thanks for writing it.

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135678Chapter: 1
Elsbeth-

It's a gorgeous name! My parents knew an elegant English lady named Elspeth when I was a kid in Texas, and I always loved the name.
--alchemilla

Reviewer: elsbethDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135662Chapter: 7
I noticed Ginny's owl's name is Elspeth. This may be a very off the wall comment- but thank you for using the name. My name is spelled with a "b" but that's because it's the Swiss version- Elsbeth. I just get very excited when I see it used. So thank you for using such an off the wall name. You might be interested to know that the actress who plays Petunia in the movies, Fiona Shaw, also played a character by the name of Elspeth in Three Men and a Little Lady.

Reviewer: dinojDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134916Chapter: 16
Thanks for writing a very good story that has badly affected my sleep schedule ;) I like the OCs you've created - Al and Bludger. What happened to Angie? And post-ootp canon could be incorporated by replacing most occurrences of Sirius with Lupin.

Reviewer: amandaDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134763Chapter: 16
what a fantastic fic!

Reviewer: FrankyDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133965Chapter: 1
Really excellent. Please write more!

Reviewer: emjayDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133894Chapter: 16
wow. just wow.
that is the only word used to describe this fantabulous fic.
i love it.
no doubt.

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133888Chapter: 16
I JUST READ THIS STORY AGAIN. SECOND TIME. GOD GOD GOD OH GODDY GOD.

Alchemilla, this is the best fic I have ever read. Ever. Yours tops them all. Takes the cake. ROX my SOX (first time I've ever used that Quill lingo!). I can't even describe how much you have influenced me. You put so much effort, I can imagine, into this, and it has brought so much emotion and inspiration to hundreds (maybe thousands?) of readers. Don't you feel great? Ha, not as great as I do right now, having read this. Again. Thank you so much.

Love, Adele

Reviewer: KimberleyDate: 2005-09-27
Reviewid: 133344Chapter: 16
Gosh, what a beautiful story. I've just read flat out in one sitting because it's just so compelling. I love it how you've manages to sneak in all my favourite books into one fic, anything by Virginia Woolf and Nancy Drew, it made me laugh when I finally saw the connection. Thanks for the great read, now I have to go and re-read it again. And don't forget to continue spoiling us with your wonderful writing.

Kimberley

Reviewer: MarcellaDate: 2005-09-27
Reviewid: 133336Chapter: 16
I LOVE THIS STORY!! The parts with Harry and Al are darling.
H\G and H\Hr are the best!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-09-18
Reviewid: 132784Chapter: 16
I just wanted to say that I love your story, and its beautiful ending. I love the relationship of the Harry in your stories has with Al, and the way you develope the characters to how you perseive them to be. I can't wait to find out how it really ends (from JKR point of view!) but while i'm waiting i'm happy to read your stories. Thanks for the great read.

Reviewer: crucioDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132732Chapter: 13
After Nimbus 2000 we get Nimbus XP, hehehe. Probably Nimbus NT is quite dated by now, and we are all looking forward to Nimbus Longhorn to hit the shells...

Reviewer: Lloyd LoganDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132547Chapter: 16
OMG! SO FRIKKIN GOOD!

Reviewer: RichDate: 2005-08-21
Reviewid: 130475Chapter: 1
Ach........there is another author who goes by Abraxan....you and her are still the best...your story was kind of my "first" fan-fic love...and I still love coming back to it.... I am sure whatever you are writing is better than 95% of the other stories out here.... please do not keep your talent to yourself....

Reviewer: MarjDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130305Chapter: 16
P.S. The thugs Frank and Joe! I missed that while reading, but now that you pointed it out...very nice! LOL Regarding your notes at the end, I did wonder about the absence of Tonks and Lupin, but it would have been odd to have them suddenly appear so late in your story; most of it was written pre-OotP, wasn't it? Anyway, to repeat myself, excellent work.

Reviewer: MarjDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130303Chapter: 16
Coming to this so long after you finished, I had the luxury of reading it through completely. What great continuity, considering the length of time it took you to finish writing it! And you got everything RIGHT: the characters, the dialogue, the plot. Wonderful, wonderful job. I would be very interested in reading ANYTHING you wrote; obviously you have a great deal of talent. Thank you for the BEST fanfic I have read thus far.

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130190Chapter: 1
Marj-
You are perhaps the only person who has commented (or perhaps even noticed) the Nancy Drew reference. Hooray, at last! There's a more subtle Hardy Boys reference in a later chapter. I initially substituted those names at the first writing, intending to invent real names later, then I decided just to leave it and see if anyone noticed.

Caroline-
I thoroughly enjoyed HBP, but I too wished we had been privy to more of the H/G conversations. I wanted to get to know JKR's Ginny better. Perhaps at the wedding...

Reviewer: MarjDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130143Chapter: 9
Nice, a nod to Nancy Drew, LOL. The characters that aren't JKR (particularly Bludger and Olly) are very well drawn and the ones that are JKR still seem like the characters we all know and love instead of the bizarre caricatures they seem to morph into in a lot of other fanfics. Thoroughly enjoying reading your story.

Reviewer: MarjDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130136Chapter: 7
No real need for the update for anyone who's paying attention (multiple threads make it interesting)! And, I, for one, think Colin being gay and extremely protective of his dear friend Ginny makes perfect sense. Absolutely awesome job.

Reviewer: MarjDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130130Chapter: 5
LOOOOVE your story.

Reviewer: CarolineDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 129993Chapter: 1
Hi Alchemilla!
I'd love to know what you thought about Half Blood Prince! - especially the Harry/Ginny interaction!

I was thrilled Harry/Ginny finally happened in canon but I was disappointed there were not more scenes of them together - before and after their relationship developed.

Thank goodness I have "The Test of Time" to satisfy my need of Harry/Ginny moments! :)

Reviewer: Syed HaqueDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129429Chapter: 16
This is quite possibly the best Sugar Quills story I have ever read. I started reading it after lunch and read it straight until 8:30 that night - I couldn't stop. The only other stories that I've had to read straight through are the actual HP books themselves!

Alchemilla - I hope you keep writing. Even if it's not HP related.

Reviewer: NatashaDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128878Chapter: 16
I just started reading Harry Potter fanfiction recently and I already doubt that I will find anything better than this. You have set my standard; I have few words to explain how impressed I am with your work. Thank you so much for such a worthy contribution. I applaud you and wish you the best in all of your writing endeavors.

Reviewer: Kristen DeckDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128697Chapter: 16
please e mail me as soon as you write more

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128589Chapter: 16
Just finished! It was a great story. Good Luck on your future endeavors!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128384Chapter: 16
What a great story. Had me hooked the entire day - yes I spent an entire day just reading a story on Sugar Quill! I just had to find out what happened. Good luck in your endeavors with your continued writing!

Reviewer: KRISTEN DECKDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128044Chapter: 4
PleASE WRITE A BOOK FROM THIS
PLEASE TELL ME WHEN YOU DO
I LOVE THIS SO MUCH
PLEASE, PLEASE WRITE A BOOK FROM THIS
MY E MAIL ADDRESS IS MissRedhawk_22@yahoo.com

Reviewer: AnjaliDate: 2005-07-27
Reviewid: 128031Chapter: 16
wow... that was the most amazing HP fanfic i have ever read. It was so good, i even got mixed up between the real Harry Potter story and your story. If J.K. Rowling ever read this, she would say it was amazing writing. Equal to hers infact. amazing amazing fanfic.

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-07-22
Reviewid: 127578Chapter: 16
That was excellent!A couple of (good) things!:
-It was very well-written, and I can tell that you spent a lot of time on it, and didn't rush the writing process
-It was imagintive,funny,and creative
-You captured the charecter's and their traits magnificently
-You put in the right amount of detail into things
-Last but not least.....very well done!Suspensful!Thanks for the story!
~*~Accent

Reviewer: lucyferDate: 2005-07-20
Reviewid: 127490Chapter: 16
i finished reading "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince" yesterday, and thoroughly enjoyed it. i got quite freaked out, tho, wen reading the part of the last chapter where Harry tells Ginny that they can't b 2gether because of Voldemort, as i had such a strong sense of deja vu. i couldn't work out why i recognised it!! i suddenly remembered this morning, however, where i had read it before - The Test of Time!
you must b very chuffed that you came so close to the truth with this excellent fic!!

lucyfer

Reviewer: MattDate: 2005-07-16
Reviewid: 127324Chapter: 15
SHE STOLE YOUR IDEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAs

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127267Chapter: 16
That was an awesome fic. You should definitely keep writing and not just hp stuff. You have good main and sub characters . You did a good job with the many different relationships and how they grew or changed . I also think that the hp world after voldemort dies will be like this one. Oh and Al was such and amazing character. And yay for h/g .Awesome fic.

Reviewer: AmandelleDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125855Chapter: 16
This is one of my favourite fics ever...You do have talent and I'd love to read some "real" stories from you. I'm just sad it's over.
And I agree, Dumbledore would have made a fine mother.

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2005-06-26
Reviewid: 125318Chapter: 1
Don't worry, Alec, it's meant to confuse you. Keep on reading and you'll find out...

Reviewer: alec leigh josephDate: 2005-06-26
Reviewid: 125317Chapter: 3
is al harrys son?
im confused im sorry, it might just be me im a bit slow :)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124880Chapter: 16
Ah. Um. WONDERFUL.

Reviewer: JayDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124825Chapter: 16
Awesome, i hope you do ok with publishing if you ever writte anything publishable (a true pain...) i loved your story, there was room for improvement, but honnestly you could easily pass yourself off as a professional (author).
best of luck,
Jay

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124732Chapter: 1
OMB YAY OMB YAY!!!!

*deep breath* *another deep breath*

I've found this fic again!!!

I must've read it about a year ago, not knowing it for the classic it is. Then I lost track of it.

And then I saw a recce today for "The Test of Time" and thought, "Oh, I recognise that name, why don't I go read it?". So I went and read the prologue. Familiarity niggled in my brain. Moved on to Chapter One. Went: OMB OMB OMB OMB I RECOGNISE THIS!

I am so totally happy to have found it again. I cannot wait to re-read and re-read this - it's a classic, it's brilliant, it's an uberfic. I know where it is now, too, so no fear of me losing it again. *resolves upon it*

Okay, this is so not a proper review, but I'm just so excited to have found this wonderful fic again! :)

Reviewer: emmaDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124330Chapter: 16
i loved this story, i am not being selfish or nothing but can you please write one when albus starts school. plzzz all the best from wales WE LOVE HARRY POTTER!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: emilyDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124277Chapter: 16
that was a WOUNDERFUL STORY!!! keep it up!!!!

Reviewer: AllyDate: 2005-06-15
Reviewid: 124054Chapter: 1
Just re-read this for the fourth time... it gets better with every read. After the first time- in which my absolute focus is the plot and what's happening- I'm able to better appreciate the detail and how beautifully written this is (actually, that's exactly the way I feel about canon).
So glad to hear you're writing more fanfic- even if it isn't Sugar Quill approved, you'll tell us where to find it, right?

Reviewer: AmnahDate: 2005-06-15
Reviewid: 124023Chapter: 15
OMG!! i read this story over and over again I LOVE IT!!! it would be sooo cool if u did like a little bit about ron and hermione..like maybe they can be married *aww*

Reviewer: a personDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123948Chapter: 2
grr! this is sooo long!!! lol. but it's really good!

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2005-06-09
Reviewid: 123529Chapter: 16
I have to say that I've been very, very fortunate to come across such talented and amazing writers on Sugar Quill. This site takes up many hours of my time and I want all the writers to know that I appreciate that, lol, even if my mom doesn't. My one problem is that if I find a fic I fall in love with, I must keep reading it until it's completion...especially if it's already finished...and my time on here competes with my time for homework and unfortunately for my school marks, Sugar Quill wins :S. I have two projects due tomorrow...the last day to hand them in as exams start next week...I'll get them finished *fingers crossed*, but they won't be my best work. Now that's my fault because I have procrastanation issues...The way I look at it is, it's just a grade 11 course and I've already been accepted to university...so as long as I get them finished I'll be ok, lol. So when I started your story (either late last week or on sunday or something....it's thursday june 9/05 today) I had to finish it a.s.a.p. so I could finish my projects! Ha! Well it's done and now I'm reviewing.

Unfortunately for you I don't have the time to lay down a quality review which I try to do when I find a story that is of amazing quality. I also run out of adjectives (those are describing words right....Gosh I feel so...unlearned sometimes :S) to describe how I feel, but I want you to know that I was simply floored by your interpretation of the HP characters and universe and everything! I would love to promise you that I'll come back and take the time to write a review that is worthy of this story, but I just know that that is not going to happen. Between working at McDonalds all summer (gotta pay for university!), sleeping (something I haven't had a lot of this year) and just enjoying the summer in general (as well as reading fanfiction, lol) I know that I won't remember or just simply won't take the time to come back and write one. I deeply appreciate and want to thank all the writers (and beta's!) of SQ who take so many hours out of their busy lives to write for all of us. The fact that you all also try to do so quickly to satisfy us readers is even better. I myself have tried to write a story...I've got 4 chapters done and it's been two years now I think since I've started it (about Fred and George...highly predictable and embarrassing now that I think about it). I'd much rather read than write, but maybe because I won't have much access to the internet next year, I'll actually re-write a story using a lot of what I already have. So thank you from the bottom of my heart, for your attempt at making a truly wonderful piece of literature even if the characters and history of the story aren't your own. To be honest you guys are an inspiration and I wish I could generally post this so that all SQ authors would see it. Again, thanks and what a wonderful job.

I wish you the best in your endeavours at writing your own novel. I'm sure that you can do it, and I'm sure that if you did people would enjoy your writings about original characters as much as they enjoy your writings of the HP characters. My sincerest best wishes. Thanks again!!! :D


~Geena Waters

Reviewer: Casey wasey bo baseyDate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123494Chapter: 16
Oh please please please do a prequal! About like Hogwart days . Oh Please!

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2005-06-06
Reviewid: 123396Chapter: 16
I've reread it for what-the third time?- and your story is as pleasurable as it was the last two times. A very memorable fanfiction, indeed!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-05-31
Reviewid: 123125Chapter: 12
[pour himself another cup of gut-cleansing coffee]

Great description, very unique!

["Luckily, the death curse has a lot of syllables," said Mrs. Utterston feebly, still hovering over them.]

*snert* Good point, very practical.

Lots of great action, can't wait to see the story come to its climax, although it will be a little sad since then it will be over!

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123097Chapter: 1
J Forias-

Ah, I cannot take credit for 'research'. My husband loves the northern beers, particularly Coniston Bluebird, and many of the Jennings. The beer I mentioned in the first(?) chapter, Numpty's Brown Bitter, is also a real beer. He hasn't tried that one, I just liked the name. Today, we stopped at a pub in the Eden Valley and he had a Yates bitter that he really enjoyed. I don't even drink beer!

Glad you enjoyed the story.
--alchemilla

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123065Chapter: 16
Ah. Division of Law and Equity. Good research again! I had my Property Exam the other day, so for some reason I liked that comment as well. Anyway, two bad eggs is a bit much so I'd better put some constructive comments in too.

Your story was un-put-downable. I stayed up far later than I should have done reading the first 15 chapters. This is a really amazing story, although it was very sad in points, and I would have hated to have been reading this story at the time you were posting it - the suspense would probably have killed me!

By necessity, and as you pointed out, you couldn't cover all thread lines mentioned. I think Bellatrix's strange comment to Hermione about matching the Dark Lord in 'wit and intelligence' suggested there were aspects to Hermione's kidnapping that went over my head. It would be interesting to figure out how she survived and what exactly the Dark Lord wanted with her. Although, of course, that could probably have been a story in and of itself, as would Voldemorts eventual defeat.

Anyway, your Ginny was just wonderful. You made her into a fantastic character who it was pretty much impossible not to fall in love with. I also rather liked Colin; the way he faced down Harry was brilliant.

And my absolute favourite bit was Ron going, "Shoo, you pesky intellectual!". That was genius. You consistently portrayed his relationship with Hermione with insight and humour - well done. The same goes for H/G, where you really captured just how much the relationship is an emotional rescue for both of them - particularly Harry.

Anyway, I am sorry about the one line review earlier. To be fair, I do really like Bluebird and I was sleep deprived (which is really your fault anyway!).

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 123007Chapter: 6
I LOVE Coniston Bluebird. I nearly fell out of my chair when I saw the reference. I'm glad you take author research so seriously! This is probably a lousy review, as it doesn't say anything about your writing skills, but heck, you've got well over a 1000 of them so far. What's one bad egg?

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 122969Chapter: 1
Alchemilla, what many authors do is write the fic how they want it and for sites such as the SQ, they edit it down a little. We all love your previous fic, and I'm sure this next one will be just as good.

Gryfny

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122814Chapter: 1
Hello Rich-
I have an HP thing half-written, and my own original work is almost nowhere. I've been swamped with college projects and my 'real' career, which is landscape design. But thanks for asking. I am sort of waiting for HPB to come out before taking my fanfic further, as canon will be radically amended again. As currently written, my fic may be too adult for this site. I waffle between trying to represent reality (where adults occasionally or frequently engage in you-know-what and occasionally or frequently use bad language) and trying to make my fic palatable to a Sugarquill audience.

So...I don't have a satisfactory answer for you! My apologies.

Reviewer: richDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122772Chapter: 1
Ach, When are you going to get another story out??? Any luck getting anything else written???

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-05-24
Reviewid: 122674Chapter: 11
Great chapter, I really liked seeing the "feminine" side of Bludger. And in his own way, Draco is just as evil as his father, although to paraphrase Phinneus Nigellus, "You can't deny he's got style." The matron scene was also funny, especially her barking at Harry to drop his trousers. This is a great fanfic, even if it is AU. Here's hoping that HBP inspires you to write more fanfic!

Reviewer: NatashaDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122477Chapter: 1
This was a fantastically written story, I couldnt stop reading it! I hope you'll be writing more HP sories in the future

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121861Chapter: 5
Oh, Harry. You do such a good job of being faithful to who he is in canon. He's so clueless about how deserving he is. This line just makes me cry:
"Maybe one day they'd be fed up with him."
The poor chap. Doesn't he know better by now?

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121346Chapter: 1
Violet!
Thanks for another one of your detailed reviews. You obviously take the time to give careful thought to your comments.

But I have to chuckle as I watch your progress through the story. Whenever another of your reviews appears,I sometimes look back to see when you read the previous chapter. When two reviews appear within a few weeks apart, I give a little cry of triumph. You are hard to hook, woman! Either that or you have a busy life and an excellent memory. Or a lot of fics in progress (either reading or writing). Anyway, thanks again for a nice review; I look forward to the next one. Cheers, alchemilla

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121095Chapter: 10
[don't particularly care for the HQ camp beds." They were in a tiny windowless room. Too much like a cupboard.]

Oh, that's so sad. :(

[The last time Harry had stayed with Sirius, he had discovered a tin of the most addictive ginger biscuits in the kitchen cupboard.]

Made by a certain seamstress? Hehehe. I love when snippets of fanfics end up in otehr fanfics.

[Cereal Black] *snert* That's too cute.

Al was adorable, he's just so much fun to read about. Draco was delightfully nasty. You do a great inner voice with him, so smug and obnoxious and yet quite funny. Can't wait for Harry and Ginny to get together for real.

Reviewer: JoieDate: 2005-04-27
Reviewid: 120789Chapter: 16
I just wanted to take a moment to say that I really enjoyed this story. I love the characterizations of Ginny and Bludger in particular. All the characters just felt very real to me. I also thought the plot was well-crafted, and gripping enough that I stayed up far too late three nights in a row just to find out what happens next. Thank you for a very entertaining story!

Reviewer: !!!Date: 2005-04-23
Reviewid: 120403Chapter: 16
I've read this over and over! I luv it. I think you should know though, that Ginny's real name is not Virginia. It's ginevra. HJR said that on one of the online interviews.

It's still great though!

Thanks.


~ !!!

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2005-04-22
Reviewid: 120331Chapter: 1
Reading this fic makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside. I'm kind of an old reader--I followed this fic chapter by chapter when it first began, checking back here every day to see if you updated. I just wanted to stop by again to (hopefully) reread your story and say that I greatly ejoyed this fic. I used to stay up all hours of the night just to finish your long, satisfying chapters that made the wait between them well worth it.
This will forever be one of my favorites. :)

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-04-15
Reviewid: 119687Chapter: 9
Great chapter, I love how you mix the personal lives of the characters with the bigger plot of trying to take down Malfoy. The scene at the barn was really good, action packed and the asphyxiation spell provided for some real tense moments! I did LOL at Ron's "I am toast." I also loved his ranting on the "frustrating" turn his relationship with Hermione took. And I loved how daffodils would be Ginny's favorite flower instead of roses. Great chapter. I almost feel as if I'm reading about new characters and that they could all be the basis for a very cool TV show.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119203Chapter: 8
["You mean..." he was trying to find a more polite word than 'suck' but could think of none. Images were coming to his mind, and he had to suppress them immediately, or he'd find himself with an erection. But his subconscious rioted with the imagined feeling of her soft warm lips on his leg. Oh bugger. Professor Snape. Slug-based potions. Voldemort's laugh. Goblin rebellions: 1243, 1518...]

OMG!!! I just love the range of emotions going through Harry at this point. It's so raw and yet so funny at the same time. And I like Harry's version of "baseball" Professor Snape *dies laughing*

*snert* I love how worked up Harry gets about Ginny's underthings. Poor kid really needs a thrill. But then I like how you turn it into an emotional moment when Harry looks at how his life and Ginny's divered into two different paths. The whole "Oh my god-I'm a grown up" feeling I can definitely relate to.

[Oh Lordy, what have I done? Mum thinks I've just lost my virginity.] *snert* I love your very chatty Mrs. Weasley who is incapable of figuring out body language.

[As she opened a tin of Grindylow 'Chunks in Gravy' (yuck) for Crookshanks] Great name!

Great chapter! EVerything really seems to be heating up. I really admire how you juggle so many different story lines.

Reviewer: IreneDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118830Chapter: 8
AAARRRRRGGGG!!!!! YOU HAVE THIS UNNATURAL, COMPLETELY MINDBLOWING TALENT TO END A CHAPTER SO SUSPENSFULLY IT MAKES ONE WANT TO WRIP ONE'S HAIR OUT! I've been reading for 6 hours straight now, it's 4 in the morning and I need to go to bed! I was going to save a comment to til the end but I needed to fully relay at this moment in time the scope of the torture you have me in. Up until this point, BRILLIANT, BLOODY BRILLIANT! You're a wonderfully talented writer, I love what you've done with the characters, the plot is rivetting, and I can't wait to see how it all develops. Oh the agony! All my best to you and praise for your writing abilities. ~Reenie

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118335Chapter: 16
*sigh* And now for the longest review I've ever written, and also the most pleased one. Prepare yourself for a review almost as long as your captivating chapters (although probably much less captivating - lol)...

This final chapter was so *pause* peaceful. I am truly at a loss for words as to describe how it's made me feel. (Does 'all warm and fuzzy and totally longing for what they've got' make any sense?) The cozy-rosy-cheeked-happily-ever-after-sickeningly-Utopian ending is often so cheesy and out of place, but you have managed to master it and leave the reader (well, at least THIS reader) with a perfect sense of all's-well-in-the-world and ultimate smooth closure. Endings are one of the hardest things to write, in my opinion, but you have ended this perfectly. I'm very sad to see this fic end, but I think that continuing any further would ruin the moment.

The scene when Harry tells Ginny he's been offered a position as a professional Seeker was very well-done. I've come accross other fics where he becomes a professional Quidditch player, but none of them have ever worked. Once again, you have mastered the seemingly impossible. I also thought the epilogue was adorable, taking things from Al's point of view. You captured a little child's mind perfectly, without going overboard in the least.

Throughout this entire fic you have amazed me with the plot twists and character developments. I can seriously think of no faults to point out. Not a single one. Each time I THOUGHT I knew what was going to happen, you brought in something so simple and yet so brilliant - usually so much better than anything I could ever imagine. You found a perfect balance of romance and suspense and action that, in my opinion, only a truly talented writer can accomplish. The romance scenes were perfectly 'romantic' (so NOT the right word, but I can't think of a better one) and yet you kept out just enough details as not to make it plain scary. The action scenes were well-written and veered away from the 'Harry Potter = Superman' scenario that so many people try and create. The invisible wand was perfectly modern, and yet it still fit in well with the plot. I also have to say that I loved it when Harry broke down in the room with Malfoy. Like I said in a previous review, heros CAN break. So many people make Potter the 'man of magical steel' and forget he's still human, or just give him an easy way out of a seemingly hopeless situation.

I really feel like I'm gushing here, but I don't care. I mean every word of it!

One thing I really liked about this fic was the way you intertwined the Muggle and Wizarding worlds. So many FanFicers try to bring in elements or places from the Muggle world, and I am yet to find a fic in which it works (other than this one - once again you've proven me wrong!). You made everything so credible, and yes...it feels wierd saying it, but you brought the characters and places to life so much more than JKR has done up to this point. Like I've said, I am absolutely amazed at what you have written and despite the lengthy review, at total loss for words.

Another thing I thought you handled well was the addition of new charaters (Al, Bludger, Nannie...). So many people try and add in new characters but they always end up sticking out as obvious newbies. I must admit I found Al a little annoying at the beginning, especially when he kept ruining all the Harry/Ginny moments but after a few chapters of the sweetie, I changed my mind completely. Bludger was an amazing add-on, who blended into the plot perfectly. Paring up her and Bill was great, I have to add that.

Wow - I know there is so much more I could be saying about this fic, but I've run out of superlatives and gushy phrases. I wish you the best of luck with any future publishing ventures of your own, and please, if you do get anything published, LET ME KNOW!! Email me, please and let me know so I can go and get myself a copy and go through the wonderful torture you've put me through these past few days. The pain as I pound angrily on the desk at the blind/aggravating characters (lol - can still see the cut of my knuckles!), the tears as I cry at the sweetest scenes imaginable, and the on-the-edge suspense that keeps me clicking for the next chapter, way past my bedtime. *deep breath* Yes, I think I will take that gold trophy for ultimate-gusher now, but only because I mean every word I've said (erm...I mean written). The Half-Blood Prince is going to have a lot to live up to, after reading this.

Okay, am going to shut up now before I write so much that your computer dies from the load of input. EXCELLENT job on this fic - I am hailing your greatness to all my Potter-fan friends and telling them to read this fic and tell you how wonderful you are. Thank you for such a great fic!! *applause*

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118329Chapter: 15
I had to stop so many times during this chapter because I was crying so hard I couldn't read properly. The sweet (such an understated adjective!) scene between Hermione and Ron was quite expected, so I only cried at little at that, although if someone ever did that for me? *sob* I'd be an emotional wreck!! But the scene with Harry and Ginny and the love potion? I'm getting tears in my eyes again because of that. It was so absolutley beautiful and emotional and touching and wonderful and adorable and perfect and excellently-written and *huge sob* I don't know how else to put it!! *starts balling her eyes out again* Beautiful is such a degrading term for this chapter and excellent is such a degrading term for this story.
I usually don't go for post-Hogwarts fics, especially army-style Auror ones with the Malfoys as baddies, but this fic has taken it all to a simply superb level. I am amazed at what you have accomplished and feel like these reviews are yet to give it the credit it deserves. I think of my own attempts at FanFics and feel so unworthy in the light of a fic like this. *nods* I've got a good mind to print this out and personally send to JKR via overnight post and MAKE her read it!! I am not just being nice when I say I think you've done a much better job with the characters than she has. *gapes at screen* I seriously cannot think of a superlative wonderful and praising enough to describe how much I loved this fic. *ooh, wait, just remembered there's another chapter!! EEK okay...will try and think of some more superlatives and worthy closing comments as I read your *sniff* LAST chapter...*

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118322Chapter: 14
Who cares about the stupid old barn and the ships at this point!! OMG this was exciting!! I LOVE Draco in this...he's such a whining little kid and HE AND BLUDGER killed Lucius!! *squeals* I LOVE THIS!! LOVE THIS!! LOVE THIS!! This was 200 times more exciting than the scene in the ministry of Magic in bk5. This rocks so much and *eek* I am just so hyper right now!!!! *huge screams of excitement*
Ahem, yes...calming down now while I can still retain some of my dignity. *whispered screams of excitiment* I loved Harry's reaction to all of this as well. A hero can break. This whole scene was so realistic, and the Malfoys make way better baddies than Voldemort. JKR move over, Alchemilla's taking over!! Excellent job!!

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118291Chapter: 13
*eeks again* I have to say this fic has kept me more on the edge of my seat than even Order of the Phoenix did!! *eeek* Draco is a totally pompus git, you're right. "Call me Master" Humph!! I think not!! His evilness does cancel out his good looks. I'd hate to be Bludger during this (or any of the goodies actually...). I hope Ron shows up in time and eek Bill's outsite and when Ron arrives and finds out it's Draco's house...EEK!!

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118258Chapter: 1
Thanks, Hidden Flame for all your reviews!

A writer really appreciates feedback, and when a reader comments every chapter...well, it's heaven.

Yeah, you can see this was written half before OotP and half after. I am slowly fixing those uncanon bits (Ginevra, fixing the Ministry layout bit in the scene with Colin, dropping in Tonks' name every now and then)in a re-posting at theinkpen.net However, I have left Sirius alive in the update, so it's still an Alternate Universe fic, I guess.

Again, thanks! Your enthusism makes me smile.
--alchemilla

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118227Chapter: 12
Okay, knuckles still stinging but now my head's also ringing from all this info and excitement. *screeches angrily* How dare you keep me on the edge of my seat!! Knew the 'arse' Hermione was a fake, although I didn't know who. So glad they got Bellatrix and I'm still in shock about the whole Al and Ginny thing. So glad she was there!! Can't wait to see what happens next!! (btw, you may have already been told this a million times, but Ginny's real name is Ginevra not Virginia, just in case you ever go back and edit)

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118226Chapter: 11
Forgot to mention that I LOVE this line: "It was the following Saturday night, and Draco was feeling rather high on himself." LOL, so Draco!!

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118225Chapter: 11
Hehe, I can so picture Colin going gay for some reason, and can hear him calling Ginny 'love' and all that. Am so glad the whole Kate Bell thing is pretty much sorted out (although I really want Al's parentage made known to Ginny!) and I think it's really sweet as well. I punched the desk when Bludger and Harry started kissing and my knuckle's actually bleeding because I hit it so hard...lol...you didn't really need to know that, but it shows how into the story I am. I'm still trying to figure out how her whole plan thing is going to work, what with Draco and her not being an Auror anymore...*shrug* Excellent fic though, am REALLY enjoying it (despite my stinging knuckles... lol)

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118223Chapter: 10
Arg!! This is so AGGRAVATING!! I just wanna Apparate in there and smack all four (Harry, Ginny, Hermione, Ron) up the side of thier heads and tell them to get real and tell the truth to the ones they love!! *ARG ARG ARG SMACK SMACK SMACK* Draco's a right git, although a clever one, so he deserves a good smack too, but just for being an evil git.

Reviewer: HiddenFlame42Date: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118220Chapter: 9
I was wondering why they didn't just do it all with magic - actually Ron could've just done that in the first place! lol Am loving the adult Harry and Ginny - they're so cute!! Draco's whole plan thing is getting really exciting. Still think he's hot, but as he's a baddie he's got to go! lol

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --