The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Meet Petunia
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-22
Reviewid: 117383Chapter: 1
It was worth the pause for thought. Now shoot that damn bunny.

Reviewer: emilydog777Date: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94761Chapter: 1
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
That pretty much sums it up.

Reviewer: Moon GoddessDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 75994Chapter: 1
I have a story about Petunia that I submitted in Feb. that should be posted any day now. Our stories could almost go together, except yours is much more in-depth and better written. I liked the way you mixed present-day dialog with flashbacks and letters; Petunia trying to be nice and slipping back into "habit"; and her motivation of wanting the opposite of her father and ending up with Vernon who, though totally different, makes her feel the same. I was confused in one flashback where Lily started out being nine, but you ended it with Pet mentioning her 11th birthday.

Reviewer: ShellmeDate: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 74042Chapter: 1
That was really poignant (sp). I really like fics that show a softer side of Petunia. Great job!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73815Chapter: 1
very nicely done i think you gave harry and aunt petunia to much open emotional honesty credit but it was nice

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73636Chapter: 1
I really liked that. I mean it was good, it didn't make the whole 'Petunia-going-nice' thing so unbelievable, and it made sense too...good job.

lates..

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73544Chapter: 1
That was really very good. I loved your characterisation of Petunia; the back story seemed plausible, as did her choices. The dialogue was also very good, and Lily's letters. You've dealt with James the Bully to James the Wonder Husband in a very believable way. The only part that jarred, for me, was Harry's letters to Hermione. Somehow, they seemed too much too soon. In a while maybe, but directly after book 5? I don't think he'll be emotionallysharing!Harry for a little while yet. Other than that though - fantastic, and I can't wait for more :)

Reviewer: meanieDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73518Chapter: 1
im never this mean but i just wanted to say that as soon as i read the letter at the begging i knew i didnt want to read this story, from the way harry is throughout the 5 books this doesnt mathch his charachter ussualy he wont say what he thinks or feel and in this letter it actually sounds like hermionie writing to harry im so sorry for being rude but i just wanted to say that this , to me, seems very not cannon, Please forgive me

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73512Chapter: 1
"please, sir, can i have some more?" *puppydog eyes*

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73466Chapter: 1
REALLY GOOD. Interesting and informative. Five stars!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73441Chapter: 1
Excellent, excellent fic. Very well thought out. Only thing I caught was the reference to Harry being born before Dudley: in HP:PS, Dudley's birthday was before Harry's. Other than that, this is another post-fifth-year fic I'll be following.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73437Chapter: 1
This was fabulous...I love your characterizations of Lily, James & Petunia--they were perfect.

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73392Chapter: 1
Wow. That had so much emotion packed into it and the writing just flowed wonderfully. All the deatails were placed just right and the overall message of the fic was great.

You are, without a doubt, a very excellent writer.

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73360Chapter: 1
Very interesting. I'm not 100% convinced by the backstory on Petunia and Lily's parents (just because I have trouble imagining Lily as the child of an alcoholic father), but it does make a lot of sense in terms of shaping Petunia's character. You make it very plausible that she'd choose a man like Vernon--a steady, provider-y type--in order to get away from the bad aspects of her family. I also loved the parallels between Harry's letters to Hermione and Lily's to Petunia. Nice use of the overheard conversation as well. A very nice story, and a lovely glimpse into the complexities of Petunia.

TSS

Reviewer: Red MonsterDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73354Chapter: 1
This is excellent. You've done an accurate job of portraying Harry's emotional progress, his reaction to Petunia's sudden revelations rings true, and I rather enjoy seeing him write to Hermione because she's good with feelings. Most of all, it's wonderful to see Petunia written as someone with a decent person hiding under that armor.

The only thing I have to criticize is Petunia saying she was pregnant with Dudley when Lily contacted her just after Harry was born. Dudley is a month and change older than Harry, so Dudley should have been a teeny baby at that time.

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: EmDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73330Chapter: 1
that was really good!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: lilsDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73329Chapter: 1
I really like this story. You should do a follow up or something.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --