The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Being Slytherin
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-27
Reviewid: 145040Chapter: 1
That has to one of the most powerful things I've ever read, as hard as stone. I feel solm just after reading it, a piece that definitly speaks to you.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-10
Reviewid: 138280Chapter: 1
Well, umm.

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103081Chapter: 1
This was really good. Really great job of getting into their characters. I love your description or being Slytherin.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102367Chapter: 1
This is the best summary of what it means to be a Slytherin that I have ever read. Your Draco is spot on and so arrogant and snooty that it's easy to see why he is what he is in canon. As for the other two, I'm glad there are a few Slytherins who actually have a conscience! They may be ambitious and know what they want in life, but it's good to know that the attitude of the Dracos of the world isn't present in everyone in that House. This is a story I'll be referring to often. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99878Chapter: 1
This certainly was interesting! Pride, Bitterness, hatred turned inward. I hope you can do a similar piece for the other houses. It's a nice way to get a perspective. Be ever so humble, Slytherin's home. :)
I'm looking forward to more of your work!

Reviewer: mishaDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94530Chapter: 1
Very intersting idea. The slytherins from within and three different views. It would have been interesting to include a chacracter like Haywood as well, for the mudblood in slytherin point of view, but all in all a very interesting read.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89641Chapter: 1
That was very good. Extremely well written, very insightful. I loved the Draco perspective, in contrast to the others, how he wants to see everyone else humbled. Your characterization is right on and you really made me think more deeply about what it might mean to be Slytherin and, like Theodore says, how things might change whrn (if) the war ends...

Reviewer: EurydiceDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82816Chapter: 1
Lovely style, thoughtful insights. I like reading explorations of the various houses, and writers who put nonGryffindors into stories. Very, very nice.

Reviewer: =)Date: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79445Chapter: 1
I like how you put so much thought into this, and how the characters are so compelling... this was great :)

Reviewer: brettDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79003Chapter: 1
really well writen and i liked it alot

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78658Chapter: 1
scaryyyyyyyyyy

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75283Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I love your elegant writing style, everything flows so perfectly. I also like the slow transition between people and feelings, and it seems as if you're really writing through each character's eyes. Great job =)

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74912Chapter: 1
Very interesting study- I like how each person has a slightly different variation of House pride. Nice work showing that not every Slytherin is evil, and that each House's strengths can also be their weaknesses. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73599Chapter: 1
This is really good. I love fics that analyze the mentality behind the Houses, and this is a very good one. Great job on it.

~Rach

Reviewer: elaineDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73552Chapter: 1
It makes so much sense :)

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73452Chapter: 1
Wow! This is really good! I love the contrast of views on Slytherin as a House and as a group of individuals. Very interesting!

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73435Chapter: 1
It's good to see you active again! I check at ffn every so often to see if you've been working on anything new...alas! But it's good to see some more of your very excellent work going up at the Quill. It's an asset to the site, and I look forward to having all of Distractions here as well. Your Theo is one of my favorite interpretations of Slytherins--different, but oh so believable. These guys deserve to be here--keep posting them!

PS: Please tell Mira that inquiring minds want to know how Theo likes fish'n'chips!

Reviewer: ZeenatDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73301Chapter: 1
I like the way the tone changes subtly with each character- Estella is proud of her house but resentful of the stereotype it is given. Theodore is deeply cynical and seems to hate the ruthless atmosphere he lives in while recognising that he fits into it... he embodies you're idea of a paradox. Draco is scathing of others- his view is utterly arrogant and is too completely fixed in his ideas - despising the non-Slytherins and non-purebloods- to realise the flaws of being a Slytherin. I think this is an interesting study of how the idea of Slytherin differs between members of the house- showing that there is not just one understanding of what it means.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --