The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 50

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-24
Reviewid: 140231Chapter: 1
No. It was not. I'll stay here.

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138466Chapter: 1
After reading the reviews and then rereading mine I realized something: I wrote that with half a bottle of wine in me and it so showed. Before you run off thinking that should be inducted into AA, might I add that it is custom to drink wine with dinner in Argentiminaland (also known as Argentina, where I live). Now, for a truly decent review:
You always seem to be able to write something that not only causes me to laugh uncontrolably, but to ponder. In this fic, not only did you manage that, but you also managed to make me laugh uncontrolably through tears, which is quite frankly the most wonderful emotion that a human being is capable of. I therefore applaud you and will being making a Jack Shrine in my very own Harry Potter's Bedroom (also known as the cupboard under the stairs).
Your truly,
Mina from Argentina, Jack Addict

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138465Chapter: 1
Never, in all my years of reading books that included s*** people have I ever read such an amazingly entertaining representation of what it really means to be truly, amazingly oh-my-god-this-will-hurt-tomorrow drunk. I especiall understand it because Malfoy piss faced resembles my husband and I when we're drunk. Yes, we are quite the entertaining pair. We have it on tape. (that last bit was said with dripping sarcasm)
So once again, oh Jack the Great, I say, "KUDOS! YOU ARE A GENIUS!"

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135416Chapter: 1
I always read the reviews and come up with something else to say. As i was reading i came across something.

You're NOT single?!?! I'm not surprised. But i was hoping u were single! Awwwwww.

Hahaha you've got all these girls flirting with you!

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135415Chapter: 1
This is really good! Where did you get the idea that this was terrible? With a capital T and that rhymes with P and that stands for POO. There was a similar line in a play i was in. Did you get it from there? The line in the play was 'With a capital T and that rymes with P and that stands for POOL.'

Great story. I makes me feel good that Harry would do something like that even for Malfoy. Harry's a good person. The world nneds more guys like Harry. I want a Harry! LoL
Emerika

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135172Chapter: 1
That was NOT terrible! Drunk Draco is AWESOME!!

And I liked your idea of Lucius getting Kissed.

But the sentence, 'But no one deserved to be Kissed' cracked me up. Good thing Kissed was capitalized, or you might've angered Narcissa.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134683Chapter: 1
"Because JKR is selfish. Let me have a turn, come on!"
That's great... That's better than great...

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131762Chapter: 1
Up until the 'poor misguided souls...' bit which i really didnt get, it was wonderful. good mix, you hardly ever laugh and feel sympathy at the same time... least of all for Malfoy.

Reviewer: anbieDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129008Chapter: 1
T and POO don't rhyme which *is* relevant if you think about that last sentance in respective terms.

So I suppose you are correct, was Terrible.

Keep trying. =)

Reviewer: AnaxandraDate: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125043Chapter: 1
Damn good writing.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123080Chapter: 1
--You poor, misguided souls. Go read something better. This is Terrible. With a capital T and that rhymes with P and that stands for POO.--

Don't mock your readers for reading this and actually liking it. It reminds me of that Eminem album where he laughs at everyone for making him rich by buying the album. And I didn't just admit to listening to an Eminem album...

I seem incapable of leaving serious review's for Jack. I'm really going to try this time.

This was actually really touching. One of the toughest things for any kind of artist is getting pigeon-holed. And yes, you are incredibly funny. But both of serious fictions you have posted on SQ (I'm not counting the unfinished Salazar one), are really very very good. So please, keep writing serious stuff as well.

Draco was marvellous throughout. His drunk logic was brilliant, and yet you still maintained his biting wit. Particularly, "Potter fell silent, appropriate wallowing in his own idiocy." Very Draco. The way you managed to convey drunken language was really good too, it was a nice touch. And the humour worked through the piece just makes it all the more tragic.

And, of course, you've captured Harry's nobility perfectly, as well as the problems with being so stupidly noble, including the fact that sometimes it doesn't make a blind bit of difference.

So, I don't think I laughed once while reading that. For once, I didn't choke, or spit food all over my sceen but I did thoroughly enjoy it. Good job!

Reviewer: rugbugDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106705Chapter: 1
i love the music man!!!!

(and of course, this story is very good too)

Reviewer: LossenrhosDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106542Chapter: 1
Not terrible. Not terrible at all. Actually rather touching. Poor drunken Draco. Typical of Harry to carry his enemy back to school. Typical of Draco not to say thank you. Excellent characterisation all round, in fact.

< Part of his mind said as he fell, I am a Malfoy. This is far too undignified behavior for someone of my breeding. The rest of his mind said, Oof!>

So funny, and somehow pathetic. You've actually got me feeling sorry for Malfoy here. No mean feat.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105846Chapter: 1
You poor, misguided souls. Go read something better. This is Terrible. With a capital T and that rhymes with P and that stands for POO.


*gasp* Did you just insult... Jack Ichijouji? *smack*!

Reviewer: BrytningDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102448Chapter: 1
Ah, being a member from UR.net, I love this. A drunk Malfoy is a good Malfoy. *grins* As I have said before, you have such a talent for writing completely opposite emotions into one fic. Wonderful work, that. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101685Chapter: 1
Hangunder Charm *Snorts*. Excellent. Anyway, great little fic, balanced out the humor and the angst perfectly. A lot of the time its amusing to watch drunk people, but a lot of the time its pathetic (I'm using the word pathetic as in to have feeling for, pathos).

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92804Chapter: 1
No, it's good! Not perfect, but 99% there. Well, perhaps someone like Simon Cowell (that American Idol catty guy) would say more like 95% perfect, but... "Malfoy would express his joy that at least he, Malfoy, had not allowed dreams to lead him into murdering his own loved one." So sad. "“Dammit! No point in havin' 'em 'round if they're not going to be 'round so they can carry me 'round.”" So funny!

Reviewer: Angel09Date: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89807Chapter: 1
What the..........what was this story even about??!! Is this a joke?! Its not funny!!!! AAGGGHH! IT BURNS!!!!!

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86416Chapter: 1
This wasn't terrible but great! From the funny beginning to the desperately sad end.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86363Chapter: 1
Well. All we can say is SOMEONE should have killed off Malfoy Sr. in fanfic years ago, and we, for one, applaud you. GO JACK!!!! **ivy & Gracie applaud wildly**

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84056Chapter: 1
Make that four stories of yours that I love. Seems you recently got promoted to professor. Congrats on that, and well deserved I must say.

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80497Chapter: 1
wow....

Reviewer: BridgetDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80321Chapter: 1
I thought it was very good. I loved the hilarious begining and then it got sort of sad near the end. Harry is right, no one diserves to be kissed.

Reviewer: IceDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76830Chapter: 1
hahaha hangunder. brilliant. and yes, p DOES INDEED rhyme with t. good job! :-D

Reviewer: EllyDate: 2004-03-21
Reviewid: 75420Chapter: 1
Terrible? Someone's searching for compliments, and it seems that it worked too. True, it wasn't your best but I'd think it rather impossible for you to write something terrible. I find it interesting that you claim to have a missus, here I was thinking you were gay.

Reviewer: TebazilDate: 2004-03-21
Reviewid: 75418Chapter: 1
How can you say that was terrible? If I could get half as well as you do, I would be doing my homework right now. Seriously, you should write professionally. You have talent.

Reviewer: PokeyDate: 2004-03-20
Reviewid: 75357Chapter: 1
No actualy, that was quite good. Your realy an amaizing writer I've always loved your stuff. You captured the characters realy well, props to you.

P also stands for pool. :D

Reviewer: youDate: 2004-03-20
Reviewid: 75345Chapter: 1
IT was ok. I liked the way you made Draco talk when he was drunk.

Reviewer: meDate: 2004-03-20
Reviewid: 75342Chapter: 1
I didn't think it was poo, (although I do like that little author's note, it made me laugh) I thought is was actually good! I liked it, and you're right, some things never change! bye now

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74967Chapter: 1
You really should be more confident in your work. Are you kidding me? This is fantastic. Grade A. Wonderful. Perfect characterizations. Expressive.

I really loved this piece. You've got all the characters down perfectly-I loved Ron and Hermione starting to bicker. I hope to see more from you at SQ!

-Linnet

Reviewer: MaddyDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74871Chapter: 1
Hehe, I love Drunk!Malfoy! Hehehe...

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74722Chapter: 1
Oh, God, Jack, I'm cracking up. You're insane, you know that?

Every bit of your writing is thrilling; I'd bet you couldn't write something crap if you tried. Actually I won't bet that, but siriusly, you're Good w/ a capital G and that rhymes with P and that stands for POTTER!

Oh dear, you have a missus? Here I was hoping you'd be single.... :)

love it, as always ( you do an excellent sloshed Malfoy)

~TPR

Reviewer: AsheDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74589Chapter: 1
Actually, last time I checked, it was Terrific. With a capital T and that rhymes with P and that stands for Pretty Damn Awesome!

Reviewer: Olive HornbyDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74421Chapter: 1
Quote at the end from "That Prequel Movie" at TFN? Your story is definitely not 'poo'!

Harry has obviously matured a lot in this story. Not only is he helping Draco Malfoy, but he also has a little bit of pity for Lucius Malfoy after all they've both done. After all that Harry has been through he's going to have to grow up pretty soon, and you do a nice job showing some of the changes without flat out stating them. Draco's drunken state is pretty funny (at least until you reveal why he was drinking), and you preserve his brattiness while managing to give him a little more depth. I liked Hermione's comment about the Cannons never having fair weather.

My favorite part of the story was the very end. Harry and Draco now have something in common that has to hurt them both deeply, but they can't get past their differences and don't want to. Nice story.

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74387Chapter: 1
This is not Poo! It's Good! That starts with 'G' and that rhymes with 'C' and that stands for 'Charming'!

Funny description of Draco's problems. I liked seeing the incident from both sides. I also liked Harry's reaction to Draco insulting Ginny and Molly.

I can't feel sorry for Malfoy. I can only hope Lucius really does get Kissed.

Reviewer: Jaymee AsherDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74378Chapter: 1
Oh, don't beat yourself up, Jack. I thought it was good. Not your best, I'd have to say - Laughter is still the best - but you've still got it!

"And they bickered, just as always, because some things never change."

:) Thanks for that. Always a little room for some R/H, right?

Reviewer: RomulusDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74364Chapter: 1
Hey, liar! It wasn't bad! I like the way you catch Malfoy's thoughts.

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74355Chapter: 1
um i for one don't think that this is poo. i think it was very good myself.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74323Chapter: 1
Nope, sorry Jack, but I liked this one. Quite a bit, actually. Aside from the wonderful ability to channel Draco Malfoy's sarcasm beautifully, you have (once again) shown him to have a much more human side as well. I actually felt pity for the guy. Very well done!!!

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74319Chapter: 1
Actually, I thought it was pretty damn good. . . . but what do I know?? ;-)

Very entertaining.

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74317Chapter: 1
Noooo, Jack! You have that song from The Music Man stuck in my head now!

Er ... right, reviewing the fic ... good as always Jack! Very funny.

>>>Hey, you! From Hon'ducks. Honeydoneys. Hon... outta the c'ndy store!”<<<

That was hilarious!

Reviewer: RuthieDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74315Chapter: 1
No no no. It was Terrific. With a capital T that rympes with G and that stands for Great!

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74304Chapter: 1
It most certainly is not poo, have a little more faith in yourself! I really enjoyed it actually. Especially when Harry asked Draco why he was drunk. I had to stop reading I was laughing so hard. You did an excellent job, keep 'em coming!

Reviewer: cileagDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74302Chapter: 1
It's not terrible! I enjoyed it quite a bit actually. A couple of notes though. 1. From my own experiences, it's hard to get so drunk that you forget without getting so drunk that you get sick...and Malfoy puking (elegantly and sneeringly of course) might be amusing, and more realistic. 2. The ending is a little confusing..well, this sentence really: Malfoy would express his joy that at least he, Malfoy, had not allowed dreams to lead him into murdering his own loved one.

Too many he's. I get the gist, but it could be said a lot stronger. Or take it out and add another witty comment--maybe about being so stupid as to have a traitor as a pet or his rushing off had gotten sirius killed, something more obvious anyway.

Other than that though...I really like the characterization of Harry and Draco. Nicely done!

Reviewer: PhoenixWingsDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74252Chapter: 1
It's just a little late to warn us not to read it at the *end*, isn't it? :) Yay for Draco and Harry not being OOC. That made me happy. And it really wasn't that bad.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74227Chapter: 1
Well for poo that was pretty darn good! Drunken Draco was excellent. He wasn't too clever, yet he still had the sneer for Harry. Harry had the same attitude toward Draco that he had for Dudley in OotP. At least Draco wasn't as heavy to drag home. Ron and his cannons and Hermione--sometimes when "things never change" that is a comfort as well.

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74208Chapter: 1
Sorry, Jack, can't agree with your ending self-assessment now. You tweaked this to your usual 110% awesome and that ending became so, so powerful. Both Malfoy's and Harry's characterizations had not a hair out of place. Too bad you didn't give us a B to work with so we could tell you what a brilliant story idea it was, too.

P also stands for Perfectissimo--which is what we've come to expect of you, I suppose. But then, you have yet to keep from delivering. Keep it coming, Jack!

~NZ~

Reviewer: khatijaDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74187Chapter: 1
Poo rhymes with loo and shoo, and also true. I liked it anyway Jack. This is True with a capital T... and that rhymes with P...

Reviewer: SaxifraceDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74183Chapter: 1
Lies. It's not Terrible. It's really really good. Poor Malfoybaby just makes me want to cuddle him, mud and all.

Reviewer: pirateloverDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74163Chapter: 1
First review! The Music Man! Good story- original.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --