The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 533

Reviewer: GinnyPotter101Date: 2008-03-26
Reviewid: 150664Chapter: 3
WHY DON'T THEY REMEMBER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHY NOT? WHY NOT? Please??!?!?!?!?!

Reviewer: AribethDate: 2008-02-16
Reviewid: 150526Chapter: 19
I like how you have found convincing ways to fit dancing, singing, and all the other stuff that is not usually found in fanfics in ways that fit with the plot. By the way Bethany had better continue up the path of light otherwise I might be forced to beat you with blunt objects, I love her character!

Reviewer: orangesherbertDate: 2007-01-24
Reviewid: 146993Chapter: 27
this is an EXCELLENT story, albeit a bit confusing. but please finish it. I can't wait to read it!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-10-28
Reviewid: 145965Chapter: 27
A very entertaining tale that is , obviously, not completed. Is the remainder posted elsewhere? I would like to finish reading it.

Reviewer: phoenixtear19Date: 2006-06-25
Reviewid: 143695Chapter: 27
Amazing job, can't wait for more!

Reviewer: Aranel AbeilleDate: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141173Chapter: 27
ahhh! please please tell me you're going to update soon. It's been two years!
I love this story- the inclusion of the pevensies and the three musketeers is positively delightful, and all your canon characters are wonderfully done. I. Love. Sirius. : )
If you could email me to let me know when you're planning on updating, it would make my day. : ) smd5b@virginia.edu. Thanks!

Reviewer: BeautyofMercuryDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140951Chapter: 1
Are you aware of the fact that all of the Pevensie children DIE in the last book, The last battle, exept for Susan. If you are aware and don't care I am sorry and if this problem is somehow solved in chapters ferther on from the fourth one I am even more sorry!

Reviewer: PamelaDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135435Chapter: 27
I write my reviews for the entire book on the last chapter.I hope there is going to be more.I thought the stuff with the frnch soldiers telling Ron he's a pining for a girl w/her pretty little nose always in a book.I'm not a fan of M/G,but that part was great.I am a big R/H fan.I loved when Ron gets all jealous of Victor.Loved this story,PLEASE WRITE MORE!

Reviewer: cheesekakkeDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 134966Chapter: 1
::reads HBP::*squeals*::throws book at wall::
OOOOOH! You've gotta finish this story!!

Reviewer: PixieDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134226Chapter: 27
Just thought you might like to know. The language that you use for the Bulgarians in this story is actually a mixture of Bulgarian and Russian. The same goes for the names of you rinvention as well. You might want to rewrite those parts for the sake of people who actually understand Bulgarian. Otherwise, I must say that I quite enjoyed the story, though the fast switches between story lines can be confusing at times. i am looking forward to reading the rest of it. Good luck!

Reviewer: Lloyd LoganDate: 2005-09-19
Reviewid: 132875Chapter: 27
Damn it's so frikkin original! I luv it! I wanna noe wut happenz wit Ginny and Harry! GINNY AND HARRY! plz continue.

Reviewer: schnabeldameDate: 2005-09-01
Reviewid: 131440Chapter: 27
Well, having looked at the other comments I hardly dare hope ... you've spun a beautiful storyline and I think it would be worth finishing. As I think you have your very own style (especially the pov-work is very different from canon, but I love it, because we get to know other characters better!) and every one of these characters has their very own development. Different from canon, but still logical and consistent with the individual characters. I would be very glad to be able to read the end of the story! (And apart from that I find it very tempting to have a good storyline with Sirius alive and kickin'!)So I'll just chime in with everyone else: please do finish!
Greetings from Germany!

Schnabeldame

P.S.: if you'd be interested in having your story translated into German - just let me know

Reviewer: AineDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131132Chapter: 26
So I add my voice to the throng- more soon, please? I love the development of Sirius and Lupin, as well as the more sympathetic Malfoy. Stories are so much more interesting when the characters are complex, not black and white (I think this is the appeal of Snape, you know, the complexity of the man). And this story has such a richness of complex characters. I wonder, though.. I was a little put off by what seemed to me a bit of homophobia; the evil baby-dyke Millicent and the description of Umbridges "cross-dressing choirboy" smile although, admittidly, that fits Umbridges character allready in JKRs descriptions...still). It'd be nice to have these balanced by maybe a sympathetic queer-ish character. Please don't use gayness to denote evil! Ok, done with my pet-peeve soapbox. The fact remains, you are a gifted writer, and I want to read the rest of the story! (lIke the 500-odd other folk who have commented here)

Reviewer: DebraDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127822Chapter: 27
oh, please finish! this is wonderful- I can't wait for the rest!

Reviewer: SandyDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126140Chapter: 1
Good story so far,seems to be sad at this point.Sandy

Reviewer: Sakula TreleaseDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123088Chapter: 1
I can't believe you!!! UPDATE! This is one of the BEST fanfictions! You can't leave us hanging like this! I need more Sirius!!! PLEASE!!!!!

Reviewer: ChristianaDate: 2005-05-23
Reviewid: 122640Chapter: 27
This is excellent! I also enjoyed the "real" reason your friends thought you weren't writing. This is written very much in canon--thoroughly enjoyable!

Reviewer: janeDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120947Chapter: 1
While this is a nice story it is not possible. the reson harry has to stay with the dursleys is because Petunia is BLOOD.

Reviewer: jeessicaDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120932Chapter: 1
ur better than rowling

Reviewer: JaededDate: 2005-04-21
Reviewid: 120227Chapter: 27
I just read this story and i am dying now because it is not finished. The entire concept of vampires, and dark wizards unsure of themselves (I suspect that ms. van de witte is really bethany's clair which is excellent for angst) the changing pov with ginny, draco etc... but HOW COULD YOU LEAVE ME HANGING LIKE THIS? this is like spending hours being made love to without the climax... i know that book 6 is scheduled soon and you wanted this completed before book 5 but this is an amazing awe inspiring story that needs to be completed. the characters and fans alike cry out for it. UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE DEAR SWEET MERLIN PLEASE UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: EmbyrDate: 2005-04-10
Reviewid: 119148Chapter: 27
GAH!! I thought this was finished when I started it! Goodness! you can't just leave it ending like that! This is a wonderful story, don't abandon it! Is over a year enough time to deal with the 'Other More Important Things In Life'?? Please come back and finsh this!!!!!!!!
The Ever-Nagful
Embyr

Reviewer: TashDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116543Chapter: 27
That was fantastic!! You haven't updated in SO long but I just had to read the story after looking at your beautiful artwork. Please, please, please, please update soon! I'm begging you....thi story is to good to just be left hanging...

Thanks,
Tash

Reviewer: Sakula TreleaseDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113748Chapter: 27
Is there more??

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113097Chapter: 27
**applause** that rocked!

Reviewer: **Date: 2005-02-01
Reviewid: 112653Chapter: 27
It's a good time now - please

Reviewer: Brian TurkDate: 2005-01-21
Reviewid: 111679Chapter: 27
I've loved this excellent story, but something in this chapter made me pause. I simply cannot believe that Draco would have passed up the opportunity to take back the portkey, knowing full well what it means, after having fretted about having lost it. In my mind, I can see him helping himself to it, sneering that he wasn't Harry, deactivating the cloaking on his broom, then laughing as the comprehension and horror dawned on Ginny that she'd actually kissed him instead of Harry.

And it strikes me as odd that Bethany White, having been in intelligence, would have such weaknesses. Could it possibly be that Muggles do psychological profiles on intelligence personnel and wizards don't? This strikes me as a bit absurd, particularly since wizards would have means of extracting much more reliable information magically than mere Muggles could hope to obtain.

Despite, these ... aberrations of character, perhaps? ... this has been an extremely well-written piece and I very much look forward to its conclusion!

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2004-12-31
Reviewid: 109406Chapter: 27
Good job!! Poor Malfoy. Now i would have prefered to be D/G shipper, rather than H/G. um...nah...not really. But your fic-Draco deserves Ginny, though Ginny serously deserves Harry, hmmm i'm confused. Oh well, hey can we have a Happy ending?? thanks!!

Reviewer: Cannonsgurl90Date: 2004-12-26
Reviewid: 108632Chapter: 27
Hey, great job! Update, and quickly please! I love it but- aaaaahhh! D/G is killing me! Please get it over with!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2004-12-24
Reviewid: 108527Chapter: 27
To this point I have enjoyed your story. Patience I have. Immortality I do not. Are you okay?

Reviewer: kikiDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106067Chapter: 27
just decided to check back and see if you updated... not yet, great job so far! i can't wait for more!

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2004-11-26
Reviewid: 106020Chapter: 27
*pokes* Hey! *pokes again* update!

Reviewer: jebranDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103473Chapter: 27
excellent ,well done .can you post the remaining chapters

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102225Chapter: 27
Wow. That's pretty much all I can say. You deserve all the great revies you have been given. I love you characterisation. I'm envious You can write, draw and possibly tap dance! I have really enjoyed what I have read so far (I'm at Under Your Nose)and will not sleep until I complete this!

~LemonPixieDust~

Reviewer: RuthDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101288Chapter: 2
Again, a groovy chapter! :D There's a mistake in the last sentence though, it should be "Hermione's hair stood on end", not "Hermione's hairs stood on end".

*goes to read more*

Reviewer: RuthDate: 2004-10-13
Reviewid: 101286Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed reading this, and I can't wait to read more. Actually, I think this is the second time I've read your fanfiction, it's just great! :)

There was just one little comment I wanted to make, I mean, that's what this box is here for, right? :) It's concerning this sentence: The castle and its contents would pass to Lily alone at the age of majority. Instead of "age of majority", did you mean "age of maturity"? That confused me slightly.

Anyway, great reading!

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 100006Chapter: 1
I LOVE your story! It's wonderrully writen! PLEASE, PLEASE hurry in making the rest! I love Sirius in this story! I'm not very good in giving advice so...I still think it's good though! Take care!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97138Chapter: 15
I was beginning to have much more respect for Bole, before he became a cowering git once more. Ah well. Lucius was excptional in this chapter, and I am definitely intrigued by Draco's first test. I thought it most interesting that his Grandfather tried to teach him Parseltongue. :-) I am still wondering what is going to happen with the song, and the trick with the poem was quite lovely. Wonder who that message was for?

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96122Chapter: 14
You are fond of the cliffhanger endings, no? :-) Another great couple of chapters. I especially enjoy reading your descriptions. Your extensive use of alliteration is great as well, and I love the vocab in here. Interesting turn of events, with Bethany not being able to complete her mission. Oh, and I thoroughly enjoyed your characterization of Mrs. Figg. Brilliant turn making the cats animagi! Great job, and I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94778Chapter: 9
Wow. There are so many sub plots all churning for attention! Your additions to this world (flora, fauna amd human) are amazingly reminiscent of Canon. Love the fact that F&G are co-captains. Still intrigued by the two new professors and how they are related to each other. Oh, and Bethany has a familiar? I wonder if you chose that word specifically. Very intriguing.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94672Chapter: 8
Just a quick note to say I loved Cadogan in this chapter. I promise, I will review more tomorrow, but I haven't had much time here lately. :-)

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93658Chapter: 5
Ooooh. . . interesting. One of the prof's working for Voldemort? This could be a new twist on things. Greatly enjoyed the fight between Ron and Malfoy, as well as the reaction fo the Squid.

Reviewer: green meanieDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93441Chapter: 27
Damn you! You can draw so well and you can write! Im just messing with ya but seriously its like whoa.....You are definitely awesome at both of these things. You are seriously talented and should write your own book and illustrate it yourself so then the profit is bigger and you are recognized for both! please write more and please paint/draw/illustrate more! :D

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92759Chapter: 27
Where's that little bowing/worshipping emoticon? I could really use it now...
Oh. My. God. Even in the face of canon, you still write an awesomeawesomeAWESOME story. The many interlying plots are superbly handleded, plus the relationships and traumas among characters. The little things -- like Colin going as Annie Leibovitz, or Ron's Support Troupe are perfect. As for Umbridge, well, you've made me hate her all over again. ^_^
I do want to note that in the beginning the chapters were all rather short. Now they all appeared to have quadrupled in length. I'm sure you noticed this yourself at some point. Was it something you didn't even notice as you were writing, or some... ulterior motive thing?
J'adore cette histoire.
~Queenie

Reviewer: emileeDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92639Chapter: 1
I am a new reader on this site, but your story has kept me enthralled for days! Are you planning on writing more? No pressure if you're busy, I just wanted you to know that your story is excellent! Thank you!

Reviewer: Janie XDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92439Chapter: 27
This fic is ruddy excellent! I have been smirking, chortling, and gaping my way through it, and it has been wonderful to read these lovely long chapters. However... you are VERY VERY WICKED to leave off with a cliff-hanger like this. I'm waiting anxiously for the next installment!

Reviewer: Jessica TredolfDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92411Chapter: 27
The whole story was fantastic! It kept me on the edge of my chair. And I just couldn't stop reading. I always wanted to find out what was going to happen next.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92215Chapter: 4
Interesting chapter! Loved your characterization of Snape in this one. he's just so deliciously evil. . . and Neville! Good for him, knowing the answer, even if Snape made sure he would never speak in class again. Graet job!

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91998Chapter: 1
Interesting beginning! I have heard many, many compliments for your story since I began reading here at SQ, but haven't ever really had the chance to come see for myself. Now, I am reading for the Penseive's Review Challenge, and I am so glad I chose to come over here. Nice blending of OC's and Canon characters, and the plot is definitely intriguing. Can't wait to see more!

Reviewer: kate-maryDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91922Chapter: 27
Hi, I've really, really, really enjoyed reading your work and now you've left me with this cliff-hanger! Aaagghhh!!!! Please tell me that you'll post the next chapter soon!

From Kate

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89668Chapter: 21
OH! Look at me, I'm reviewing again... oh, that was too good, the names on the map and all. Plus the little preview for this chapter.
I can just hear Lupin saying "Mischeif managed" very very quickly. LOL!!!!
~Q

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89620Chapter: 27
Gaaah! No! You can't have stopped there!!! Please keep going! Am loving your AU fifth year! More please!

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89538Chapter: 14
I normally don't review until I get to the end of a story, but I've made an exception.
Oh my god, this chapter was tense. I was shouting at the screen and cringing in my seat and gasping with the final paragraph. I still hear an eerie silence echoing around the computer.
...
On to the next chapter! XD
~Q

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89507Chapter: 22
Gesundheit is bless you in the uk ... jsun!

Reviewer: DanielleDate: 2004-06-28
Reviewid: 89270Chapter: 1
This is really good i read the whole thing and i hope you ge more chapters in soon!

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88473Chapter: 5
This is an interesting story. I can't wait to keep on reading it. I am surprised that Bethany White seems to be an agent for Voldemort, and a spy against Dumbledore. I would have guessed the other new Professor would be a double agent. She seems like she could have used her beauty to lure men in a trap, by getting them to trust her, then having them killed later. Hmmm. The plot thickens. Keep up the good work. Your art is also phenomenol. (I can't spell, sorry.) Anyway, I will be back later to finish this.

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88431Chapter: 27
OMG!!!!! I LOVE this story! it seems like something that JKR would write! it's absolutly AMAZING! PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE update soon... it's been 5 months!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88037Chapter: 27
EEEK! I just found your story! YOU HAVE TO UPDATE as soon as you can, I'm hooked!

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-05-30
Reviewid: 85279Chapter: 27
Last updated in JANUARY...oh man, I think I might die. I just discovered this fic, and it's BRILLIANT!!! I'm sure you've got zillions of reviews already telling you that, but I'll just add mine to the pile. I love the way you bounce between all the different POVs. Plus, your storyline is just so in tune with the way I see characters behaving, so I feel even more attached to the fic. Harry in the gorilla suit, btw, was hilarious, as was Draco's bribing the salesman to steal Harry's original costume. That was so very, very Draco-like.

I have to say that I thought Bethany and Clarimonde being sisters was a given from the beginning, because when we first see them at the staff table- was it through Harry's eyes?- he remarks that they look the same except for a few minor differences. My slow self, however, did not make the connection between Clarimonde and Claire, and plus I thought Claire was dead, so...the vampire thing came as a surprise, anyways.
But WHAT is up with the Society of Orpheus and Bacchus????? Is it a real, valid thing? Is it just a way for Claire to lure the kids away and drink their blood??? I don't get it!!!

I'm dying to know what's going to happen with the Slytherins and their romantic interests- meaning Snape and Draco, of course. I think we're going to have a couple of very unhappy campers shortly. Poor Draco. I'm afraid he's going to go even worse after this, that maybe Tom will capitalize on his increased hatred for Harry to draw him further into the DE world. As for Snape...well, his life has always been pathetic, hasn't it? I guess he might as well add another reason to his list of reasons to hate Sirius Black. (The fact that Bethany thinks he fancies Trelawney is just absurdly funny)

The whole Tom/Lord Voldemort thing is really, really weird and really, really fascinating. I can't wait to see an explanation of WHY he does that, of why he doesn't reveal himself as LV until, presumably, after a potential DE has been accepted. Oooh! And is the masked guy who keeps objecting to Draco being a DE Bole??? Or someone related to him? I HATE Bole, he's evil, even though it's oddly fitting to see someone torturing Draco, much as I love him. IS there any hope for Draco? Should I even bother asking?

Thanks for the fic!!! Can't wait for the next update....sigh.

Reviewer: jaelonnaDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84427Chapter: 27
hi, jaelonna here.
just registering my sincere love for this story and my sincere sadness that the author appears, for some reason, to be stuck. if it's by any chance the lack of recent reviews, im simply going to say: I LOVE YOUR STORY!!, because i cannot express enough how delighted i am in reading it, and am really wishing & hoping for an update soon. :)
love, huggles, and good luck with your writing (or whatever you may need luck for)
~jaelonna

Reviewer: KristinaDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79187Chapter: 1
I have a question. Is Thomas Junior TOm Marvolo Riddle?

Reviewer: The CorinthianDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78826Chapter: 27
You've shown your quality: the very highest. Although the Black/White/Clarimonde does seem a bit heavy-handed, and your Sirius looks like he crawled off the cover of a Harlequin Romance. Not that the latter should be registered as a complaint! I have ABSOLUTELY no problems with your renderings of him. Can I have one? To keep? Please? Excuse me. I love the Musketeers, but I think it was unkind of you to dress Harry up like a monkey and leave Ginny snogging Draco (I'm of the H/G school). Even if it did result in Draco in a pirate suit. Excuse me again - your prose is swoon inducing. Entering Umbridge was odd, just because we now have book 5 and this wonderful alternate (sort of) universe. Are you planning to tie it in to the JKR cannon, or leave it alone? I think you'd do well to leave it, although I'd be interested in reading the ensuing literary gymnastics if you did try to tie it to the real book 5. The one thing I can't get my head around is the Narnia connection, actually. Unless...oh, shit. Clarimonde van der Witte isn't the White Witch, is she? Argh. I've got steam coming out of my ears now. There's an illegal page runner, if ever there was one (for all you Jasper Fforde fans out there). Keep writing! I don't care about the bloody plot bunnies, or whatever they are, just finish the story! Why is it the people who can actually write true to JKR write at the same speed she does? Pout.

Reviewer: allieDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78637Chapter: 27
brilliant!!!! I am sooo addicted, so pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeez hurry with the next chapter, it is excelent so far!

Reviewer: Katinka, againDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75468Chapter: 27
*checks the SQW*

Oops.

*hands back knitting needles*

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75467Chapter: 27
*nudge, nudge*

How's the next chapter coming along?

*hides Axells's knitting needles*

:P

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75443Chapter: 27
Oh gosh AL this is so gooooood! YOUR SIRIUS IS MY IDOL, MY GOD, MY DREAM MAN!!!!! i like the way you encorporated the new charachters of book five in (like umbridge). i check for your updates twice a week at least, whenever i'm on the net - huuuuuurry!!! it's like waiting to unwrap christmas presents. i want - nay, i DEMAND to see sirius and bethany getting hot and heavy, lots of snogging please! also some more of remus cos we love him too. (lol, soz bout demanding, i have no right... *bows down*)

loving everything you do, and in love with your sirius

*~Truly~*

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75441Chapter: 27
Oh gosh AL this is so gooooood! YOUR SIRIUS IS MY IDOL, MY GOD, MY DREAM MAN!!!!! i like the way you encorporated the new charachters of book five in (like umbridge). i check for your updates twice a week at least, whenever i'm on the net - huuuuuurry!!! it's like waiting to unwrap christmas presents. i want - nay, i DEMAND to see sirius and bethany getting hot and heavy, lots of snogging please! also some more of remus cos we love him too. (lol, soz bout demanding, i have no right... *bows down*)

loving everything you do, and in love with your sirius

*~Truly~*

Reviewer: jkbDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74991Chapter: 27
I am really enjoying this story. I can't wait to see what happens next. And, I love the Draco/Ginny storyline! :)

Reviewer: witch@heartDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74189Chapter: 1
I discovered your pictures first, merely because you are the first author alphabetically listed in the Professor's Bookshelf fanart section, and I was exploring the site for the first time. I was amazed at how good the canon ones (i.e. "Luna Lucid" and "He's Not Dead!" <Darn right, Harry!>) were. My personal favorites were the sketches of Sirius and Remus, to which I dragged my friends over the next few days. I read the first few chapters of SOB, but one thing led to another, and I didn't get back to it for a while. Then, when I was bored and ogling Sirius yet again sometime last week, I decided to read a few more chapters.

A few. Right.

This story is absolutely wonderful. I love your OCs and characterization and plot and humor and most especially your romance. I don't know where to begin praising it. I suppose I'll start with my favorite character: Bethany White.

At first, she seemed like the typical Death Eater OC: beautiful and evil and very likely to fall in love with either Sirius or Snape. Case closed. But then she developed (gasp) personality! And a history! And a mind of her own! She's fantastic.

Then you really sent me to heaven by making her love interest a beautifully in-character Sirius Black. Sirius really is perfect in SOB; he isn't too surly or too playboyish or too selflessly heroic.

And they fence! So do I, so this gives me the opportunity to slip into Bethany mode whenever practice is getting too boring. Of course, I've discovered that this isn't really such a great idea because it brings to mind your pictures of Sirius, which makes my eyes slip dreamily out of focus and a goofy grin spread irresistably across my face. That tends to earn me both bruises and really weird looks from the guys I'm fencing with. *sighs* How is it fair that you can both write and draw??

Anyway, every interaction between Bethany and Sirius is more fun to read than the one before. I particularly love the bit where he wakes her from the nightmare.. and the bit with the spiders.. and the bit AFTER the spider when she tries to deny to herself that she called him "darling".. and the flashback to Beaubatons..and..you get the point. Her internal arguments are hilarious. ("Must. Stop. Thinking. About. That.")

Draco is well-done too, and this is coming from someone who hates Draco with all the strength of her HP-obsessed soul. This is the first fic that has made me sympathetic towards him. And the best part is: he's still in character!! Do you know how rare that is?

Ginny is sweet too. I can't wait to see her reaction to the little revelation she's just received. That will be a nasty shock indeed, especially after she's talked to Hermione and who knows who else about the presumed kiss.

All of the canon characters we know and love (or hate) are perfectly in character, which is great. I'm going to skip over huge chunks of stuff I loved to save time, computer memory, and your lovely eyes. Oh, I can't wait to find out who Moony's mystery fiancee is. Hurrah for our brave, proposal savvy (PotC ROCKS! Especially Orlando.) werewolf! I also love the bickering and banter between him and Sirius.

I just noticed the Black/White name contrast thingy a few days ago, having been even more obtuse than usual lately. Nice touch. There has to be a connection between Claire White (doesn't "Claire" mean white as well?) and Clarimonde van der Witte the evil seductive, blood-sucking vampire. Dunno what van der Witte means, but I'm willing to bet it's not at all dissimilar to White. Hee hee. Must watch for developments on that front. Also, I realized that "NRP" from the sonnet must stand for Nan R. Penvensie while in the middle of a tennis game. I had been thinking maybe Potter or Pettigrew.. then it occured to me and I yelled "PENVENSIE!" at the top of my lungs, earning me yet more weird looks from other people playing tennis. You're getting me a lot of weird looks, you are.

All in all, this is one of the best fics I have ever read. It is much more similar in tone than most to the canon, and the plot is beautifully sustained and deepened in each chapter. Everything's starting too come together: the Penvensies are coming back into the picture, literally and figuratively, and the villains are coming out into the open. By the way, I love the Musketeers! The fleur de lis is sheer brilliance; you could make it relate to murder, or Lily Potter, or both. Gorgeous play on words. The imagery and diction is simply marvelous. There are few fics that leave me guessing and anxious like yours does, few fics that can me hide from the monitor on my bed (for all of 30 seconds; then I'm yanked back to read more) in embarrassment for the characters like your story does almost every chapter. Incredible, and I can't wait for more. Thanks!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 74083Chapter: 27
Not finished? How can you do this to me? After that cliffhanger! And Malfoy's realization!

Oh, but this is such a great story! The style reminds me somewhat of Robert Jordan's "Wheel of Time".

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 74063Chapter: 24
You've got absolutly ingenious plot ideas. The musketeers helping Ron, the spiders, Ginny and Draco, Harry as gorilla. Brilliant!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-10
Reviewid: 73904Chapter: 14
Wow. A great description of the match, nearly as tight as the final in PoA. Absolutly stunning job.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-10
Reviewid: 73858Chapter: 11
I guess it's time for a preliminary comment.
First, Hermione doesn't take Muggle Studies, and she wouldn't start just because of van der Witte. Is there any other reason for her taking it up? Ron maybe?
Second, while I thought the characters overdone at the beginning of the story, the start to fit very nicely into your plot. This story is growing more and more enjoyable every chapter.

Reviewer: Gigi RoseDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73259Chapter: 27
Hmm...I never always thought that a Ginny & Draco thing was just wrong...but you have made it work! I love your conflicts: Bethany & Sirius' stuggle to survive and stay hidden, Ginny's struggle to keep Harry, Draco's internal struggle between his head and his heart, and Harry's struggle (not much more to say, right?). Anyway, its great. The intensity of Draco is just awesome!

I don't know about throwing Umbridge in there...but the story is still coming along really well. Keep updating!

~Gigi Rose~

Reviewer: pirateloverDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71097Chapter: 27
I never read this story but just wanted 2 tell u I'm a big Pirates of the Caribbean fan & I love Johnny!

Reviewer: JulietDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70946Chapter: 21
I just wanted to say that I really appreciate the links you include in some of the chapters, it is nice to know what some of the terms you mention really look like. :) Oh, and the "Will Turner" thing was cute...had you seen Pirates Of the Carribean recently?

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-02-03
Reviewid: 69327Chapter: 27
I LOVE this story!! I can't believe I missed the update! I can't think of enough good things to say about your writing so I won't even try.

I am SO curious to read the rest, but I will try to be patient.... Just one minor (ok major) request, PLEASE don't do anything rash to try to bring SOB back into cannon. I'm still in denial about the death of one of my favorite characters and I hate reading storys where the authors feel compelled to kill him even if they hadn't originally planned to just to stay in line with cannon.

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69040Chapter: 27
Loved the 33 reference. :)

MmmmmmmmmmmDraco/Ginny. I like to think that's my influence (but I know you too well). *pats Draco*

Erm... was it just me, or does Ginny STILL have the dagger? Methinks the Death Eaters will be in for a surprise when a Weasley shows up for The Final Task rather than Draco.

Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: CheesekakkeDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68724Chapter: 27
I just realized. 'Show of Quality' Does that have anything to do with Faramir?
Just wondering.
*I watched the movie last night*
And I can't believe I didn't see it before!!!
*I call myself an Obsessed, Possesed Tolkien fan*
*Yeah, right*

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68085Chapter: 27
Yay - a new chapter of SOB, and some time to sit down and review it properly. And you've packed so much into it too.

First off, what an excellent and highly topical chapter title. For one giddy minute I thought that a dishy captain of Gondor might be lurking somewhere in the Hogwarts grounds, but then remembered that SOB is not a crossover fic ;)

>>“The iron suits you,” he whispered.<< That line made my skin crawl. Your Lucius is in love with power and the hold that it gives him over others. No wonder he's such a big favourite with You-Know-Who. He also seems to have found the perfect foil here in the hideous Umbridge. They make a really charming pair.

>>Their fragile bindings and pages flapped helplessly ... and fell haphazardly around the room in a violent flurry as Lucius suddenly strode into the eye of the paper hurricane.<< Great stuff. This sentence conjured up a vivid mental picture of the whole scene for me.

>>Bethany drew her chin up and met Lucius, glare for glare.<< I like Bethany when she's feisty. Or dancing the rumba with a certain mild-mannered werewolf. I must go back and read *that* chapter again.

What a great characterisation of Dumbledore in this chapter. He can be very difficult to get right - in most fanfics he either seems to become a dotty old fool who is constantly eating sherbert lemons or the omniscient protector of Hogwarts. You have captured the balance of the powerful and whimsical sides of his character perfectly.

>>The last thing he needed as he struggled to gather his wits was a room full of booze, burps and wheezes.<< LOL!

>>What kind of task? He wondered vaguely whether Tom meant something like the Dark Arts practice O.W.L.s?<< Poor Draco - he really hasn't thought through this whole Death Eater thing has he? I feel quite sorry for him here.

Some lovely interaction between Bethany and Sirius in Dumbledore's study, particularly the exchange about nightmares. Sirius is such a charming rogue, isn't he?

Your Slytherins are very interesting in this chapter. Draco comes across very much as the underdog when faced with Bole and his cronies, which I'm sure would irk him greatly. And how galling to finally do the right and brave thing, realise Ginny is his girl in red and then have her mistake him for Harry. You have made me feel a lot of sympathy for Draco throughout this chapter, which is not my normal reaction to him to say the least. I'll be hugging him in a minute.

>>“…and those two down-and-outs sleeping at the end of the platform,” said someone else, “… aren’t there shelters for that sort?…”

“Yeah, bet they’re sick as well… it’s so draughty in here, and there’s no colour left to them—”<< Ooh - I've got a bad feeling about this. Perhaps I shall take an extra-pointy umbrella on the Tube with me tomorrow.

Gaah - another cliff-hanger. You are truely the queen of cliff-hangers, Axelle.

Overall I really loved this chapter. There's such a lot going on, great characterisations and some really funny moments. But I want to know what happens next - more when you are able, please.

Atropos

Reviewer: ~Dreamerz~Date: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68067Chapter: 27
YEY!!!!! You updated!! This is just a fabulous story. Yes we’ve been anxiously waiting, but it just shows you're taking your time. So don't feel rushed by any means! ^_^
Though once again you have left us in suspense. *Tricky You* So I absolutely must know what's going on with Bethany. Just as well I can't help but feel a tear drop of pity for Draco.
Can't wait to hear more!! Lots -a- love!

~Dreamerz

Reviewer: CatDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68032Chapter: 27
A ripping yarn as always! I can't wait to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: CheesekakkeDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68031Chapter: 27
YOU UPDATED!!
*Cheesekakke does mad dance around the room*
That was pure brilliance!!
Excellent description, and glorious use of vocabulary
>>The irons hung heavily on Bethany’s wrists with a sepulchral chill, a promise of pain and isolation that penetrated to the bone.<<
I loved it!! The classic use of phrases, just mixed around.
>>“Granger? What’s she got to do with anything?”<<
And I especialy loved that line from Aladdin, or wherever it's from.
>>“Do you trust me?” <<
I do!! What abrilliant response. Keep going!! In fact this is more entertaing than the real Harry Potter books!!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68025Chapter: 27
Pirates. Heh. And you call me a plotbunny mistress?

>though whether in fury or anticipation

Well, we know, don't we! That Lucius...I love how he can't resist teasing her with that memory, not realizing how it might come back to bite him, if she *really* remembers. Or maybe he'd like that.

>pinch of Umbridge’s pudgy fingers on her arms,

Ewwww! Your descriptions are always so vivid. The ransacking of her room, and the details of what is getting destroyed, is so sad. We really know so little of Bethany's past, that these little glimpses we get, as they are being destroyed, is very poignant.

>She resisted the overwhelming urge to roll her eyes

Go for it, Bethany! Roll those eyes!!!

>The half-moon spectacles which had formerly lent the old wizard a benign, grandfatherly aspect now only magnified the blue fire of a dragon awakened.

Oooh, lovely! It's hilarious how Albus turns Umbridge's own weapon against her.

Your Draco is such a hoot - he's nasty, but a compelling character, in that we get to see his motivations. He's very 3-D. The sense that he's in waaaaay over his head in this initiation business almost - but not quite - makes one feel sorry for him.

>bright yellow curls and a skeletal jaw dripping with the bloody remains of its feast

Again, ewww! You have such a talent for the grossest, most evocative descriptions.

>it didn’t seem as though Lucius could be relied upon as an ally after all, she thought

<laughing evilly>

Mmmm..Bulgarians! I'm stunned and amazed, always, by your ability to balance such a complicated plot with such style and clarity.

>the last thing Draco could afford to do was to screw it up with a lifetime of detention for castrating the Slytherin captain.

BWAH!

I love the scene between Ginny and Draco. What a classic romantic mistake, written superbly.

>

Trust Sirius Black?



>She laced her fingers through his. “I do.”

Awwww....

Yet another superb chapter. I don't quite know what to say - there is so much richness and great characterizations and wit in this fic, and it just keeps getting better.

Reviewer: CharyDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68024Chapter: 27
Hurray! Finally we get to find out what you’d done to poor Bethany and it was better, and worse, than I’d imagined. Dumbledore’s rescue was wonderful (that man could lie for Britain!), but every moment with Lucius and Bethany had my spine crawling. The sense of menace you managed to create with so few words was astonishing.

>>“The iron suits you,” he whispered.>> >>Whirlwind clusters of disjointed images flickered past her mind’s eye… four stone walls in a crypt, an altar, the dim ochre blur of burning torches, and a circle of black-hooded figures, each grasping weapons, riding crops, whips, and lengths of water-drenched rope… >>

::Shudder::

Thankfully, you lightened it up nicely with Umbridge’s stomach churning flirting and some very funny visuals:

>>“Er… no one there, sir,” barked Ely from the threshold. Lucius glanced irritably at the lacy camisole in the man’s hand which the burly giant tossed away guiltily.>>
>>Deftly tugging at a strip of cloth hanging from Yeats’s side pocket, Dumbledore extracted a satin slip and a small assortment of silk underthings.>>

Lol and yuck! What a couple of perves!

I loved Dumbledore’s introduction to Umbridge. That was a beautiful little addition of a back-story that adds so much to their relationship in OotP. I’m not sure what to make of Lilith again – she didn’t seem inclined to hiss and spit at the intruders, but wasn’t pleased to see Snuffle return. Odd that.

The trouble with your story is that it makes me greedy – each scene leaves me wanting more and I long for extra screen time for every character, both canon and OC. Of course, I realise the only way to please me would be to write them all a story each. Maybe next time? ;) A prime example of this is your Draco – he’s just so perfect:

>>Nor did he have a soft spot for the librarian, whose dour, pinch-faced at any hour suggested chronic haemorrhoids.>> LOL!!
>>Disarming hexes were easy enough… Confundus hexes he could practice on Goyle and Crabbe. Hmm… though it may be hard to tell the difference…>>

Hee! If JKR ever lets us see into his head, I hope this is just what he’d be like! The library scene was hilarious and I’m very happy you haven’t had him mooning over Ginny – his arguments with himself are too much fun! Better though than even his perfect snarkiness, was his reaction to hearing “Harry” had kissed Ginny and the discovery of who it really was! I can’t wait for Ginny to find out.

>>“Ah, yes, there vos news of a circus lion that had escaped from a town not far from here,” he explained. “But ve need not be afraid. It is old and like domestic cat, the news report vos saying. Eighty-five percent chance it vill not attack.”>>

LOL!! So absolutely no need to worry there then! Hee, *both* of these guys remind me a little of Hagrid. :D You did a great job with their accents too – loffly. :)

>>“I vos remembering that Viktor said you vood be the von vearing the glasses.>>

I liked this line. It made a very nice change and was all the more fun because I didn’t see it coming.

The description of the rescue in the Manticore scene was great – it really had me on the edge of my seat. It was nice to see Draco get to play the hero for a change, although I can’t ignore the fact that he wouldn’t have needed to if he hadn’t been about to lock her in the pit in the first place! Bole is as vile as ever, you have his voice down perfectly – there’s someone you wouldn’t want to bump into on a dark night. Neville though was acting strange during his brief appearance and who was he frightened of? Draco didn’t seem sure and I’m not either.

It was so good to see Bethany and Sirius get to spend some time together; even if it was spent crawling about in tunnels fleeing Lucius and Co. I especially enjoyed the image of Sirius all dirty and grinning (yum!) and being utterly heroic getting her safely out of the castle despite his injuries. What a guy! But then what was happening to Bethany in the end? Not being splinched like those other agents? That would be too horrible to contemplate!

So once more you finish a chapter leaving me feeling exactly as I do when starting one – desperate to find out what happens next. You’re killing me here, you know that? ;)

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68000Chapter: 1
Is the title a reference to the lovely Faramir from LOTR?

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67998Chapter: 27
It's great to have a new chapter to read! Your depiction of angry Dumbledore was marvelous, and your handling of Umbridge is perfect as well. I was delighted by Dumbledore's use of mythical Article 87 to rescue Bethany.

Speaking of rescues, Draco's rescue of Ginny was intense! Poor Draco, you've depicted his turbulent emotions most poignantly, especially where Ginny is concerned.

It's a pleasure to meet Dima and Krystof, and an especial pleasure to see Sirius alive and so well!

Reviewer: PaulineDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67988Chapter: 27
Axelle - You already know how delighted I am to see the SOB is back. Here's why:

You manage to show us the essence of each of the characters with such an economy of language. For example, in these few lines:

- “I wonder,” continued Umbridge, as if he had not spoken. “… I wonder whether we ought to have a look round to fetch one.” She leaned her considerable pink bulk forward and peered curiously around the door into Bethany’s chambers.

You've given a glorious physical description (pink bulk indeed!), reminded us of Dolores' pigheaded ability to talk down to the most intimidating of wizards, and shown her for the dastardly sneak that she is (who needs a warrant when you have Madam Umbridge to protect you from chills?).

And, I'm impressed with the way you channel your inner Draco. Not that the ferret is a character I particularly like. But, you've done a terrific job in creating sympathy for him, without turning him into the sophisticated, witty fangirl's fantasy that some writers resort to. I especially love the fact that he's a bit of a quidditch dud who suffers the scorn of the egregious Genghis Bole. :)

The action in this chapter was edge of the seat stuff. You seem to be moving the plot forward like a runaway train. I can't wait to see where we crash next!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67982Chapter: 27
Part 2 of kilometric review...

GAH! I was about to admonish you most strongly for doing such a horrid thing to Eamon, but Sirius just saved you from that so you had better thank him the next time you see him :)

I also love your Bulgarian accents *looks worshipful* I had trouble with Viktor's some time ago. He kept going Austrian/Luxembourgish on me! I also like how Viktor described Harry through his glasses and not the scar. I'm sure the guy understands what it's like to be equated to just one aspect of his person/personality.

...Maybe Krystof should have said "Forgiff me"? (Told you I'm especially conscious about the accent thing at present.)

Portkey? *cue foreboding music* Pardon me while I read on eagerly some more...

"...the fastest brooms an’ all the magic in Britain can’t make talent where there ain’t none..." Someone should tell Draco that Quidditch, for all its prestige, just isn't his line.

“’Can’t trust our Seeker to find the feckin’ Snitch ‘f it was glued to ‘is arse…” -- Oh, Maeve said almost the same thing about Draco just last week, if I'm not mistaken! Hee! But then JKR has made that so clearly obvious in canon that everyone can pick up on it...He apparently does come through when it's important, though. Loved the scene with the Manticores!

And tee-hee, I am loving Draco's reaction to his mystery girl's identity!

What I didn't love, though, was that nasty cliffhanger at the end! What happened??? I siriusly hope they turn up alive in the next chapter (and also hopefully at the end of this fic)!

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67971Chapter: 27
Just saw this update. Shall start reading in a few minutes.

Loving the Faramir reference in the title though. <3

>:D<

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67960Chapter: 27
It's cruel, you know!! These sadistic cliffhanger endings are just downright cruel!

So much in this chapter to gush about...I just don't know where to start! First of all, I love the title. I think it has a double meaning in regard to Draco, too, which makes me love it even more.

>The iron suits you,” he whispered.<

I think I physically shuddered when I read that. That whole scene was extremely tense, but beautifully written so that it developed slowly and built the tension at the right pace.

>The Headmaster’s eyes held nothing of the kindly old jester Bethany had seen pleasantly goading Snape in staff meetings or eyeing the parade of desserts at dinner. The half-moon spectacles which had formerly lent the old wizard a benign, grandfatherly aspect now only magnified the blue fire of a dragon awakened.<

Yes...that's perfect. That's the Dumbledore that Voldemort is afraid of. This is a great description!

>Disarming hexes were easy enough… Confundus hexes he could practice on Goyle and Crabbe. Hmm… though it may be hard to tell the difference… <

LOL! You do a great job writing Draco in this chapter. I am incredibly intrigued to see where his path is leading in this story.

>You haff travelled a great distance and you must be cold… and tired.<

Excellent job writing the accents on these two...their voices came alive to me as I was reading them.

>But… how could Weasley possibly have the dagger unless the girl in red had been… unless she was…<

Oh my dark lord, indeed!! Draco's way of handling this revelation was very telling, I think. And the entire scene between he and Ginny was excellent. Your story pacing is so perfect...I'm quite envious.

Then we come to the end, at which point I can only scowl at you...I believe this was the most nail-biting cliffhanger of them all so far. But, of course, I will be patient and await the next chapter to see what happens. I'm sure it will be every bit as wonderful as this one was.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67957Chapter: 27
The precioussss has been updated! Yayness! This day started out rather crappy but things sure improved quickly, thanks in part to you! ^_^ And now I shall review as I read...

"The iron suits you." - Apparently, the reason why Draco is an only child is because Narcissa didn't want to humor her dear ol' hubby and Lucius was too cheap to buy golden chains :O But judging from Umbridge's girlish flush, she looks like she might be game. (Hmmm...is this the birth of Lucius/Umbridge, the HMS Sneering Toad?)

May I just say that the ransacking of Bethany's rooms is chilling my soul. Ely and Yeats truly are cretins, and so is Lucius for allowing them to ruin such old, valuable and beautiful things!

"But his fury did not compare to the wrath on Dumbledore’s weathered face as he strode into the room...* - *crumples into relieved heap*
*gets up again to read more*
*cackles at McGonagall's fringed nightcap* How can it be fringed such that Bethany can see it? It must look very odd indeed. *IDEA!* Maybe Minnie likes to collect funky nightcaps the way the goons seem to like lingerie. (They kind of remind me of the two cross-dressing pirates in PotC, BTW :D)

"the blue fire of a dragon awakened" - and that, my friends, is why you must not tickle a sleeping dragon, especially one who can quote you the letter of the law -- or at least pretend to do so convincingly!

"Lucius glared accusingly at Umbridge." - and so sinks the HMS Sneering Toad...

"whose dour, pinch-faced at any hour suggested chronic haemorrhoids." - Erm, shouldn't this be "dour, pinched face"? Sorry, I still seem to be in beta-reader mode...

Anyhoo, back to the fic, very nice Draco scene :) I kind of snickered when I read "meet me in secret"...sounded a lot like Kellie's fic...and I was expecting to read about Draco finding out who his mystery girl was. I can't wait for when he does, and then realizes Ginny thought he was Harry! Hehehe!

Hmm, maybe I should cut this review short and just post another one on the rest of the chapter. This may prove kilometric!

Reviewer: belitaDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67953Chapter: 27
A pirate fetish? You? I haven't the faintest idea WHAT you are talking about!
;)

I'm having a love/hate relationship with Lucius here.
love: >>He tilted his head and bestowed a curious half-smile, as if amused by some private joke<<
It's just so perfectly devilish.
hate: >>the iron suits you<<
Grrrrr.

Perhaps I just love to hate him.

Ely and Yeats are very amusing goons. Cretins is right - the nerve of them trying to pocket Bethany's unmentionables!! :O

Darn it all! You're really making me like dear Draco. His inner monologue is enjoyable - very witty and snarky.
>>Confundus hexes he could practice on Goyle and Crabbe. Hmmm...though it may be hard to tell the difference...<<
His jealousy and feeling towards Ginny are wonderfully articulated

Sirius is ever so swoonable (as if there were any doubt he would be!). Who wouldn't trust him! And I have to say that the mental picture of him covered in dirt flashing a blindingly white smile made me smile, too. :D

Both the Bulgaria scene and the final travelling scene are wonderfully descriptive - you painted a perfect mental picture for me of the sights, the sounds, and the general feel of the locale.

Oh, and the best laugh:
>>Bite Me! The How To Guide For The Aspiring Vampire<<

Good God, woman! How do you do it!
:D

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67951Chapter: 27
Beautifully crafted, beautifully paced, tight and well written!

The suspense at the beginning and the end are finely tuned.

Well worth the wait! I love the taut interplay between characters.

Catherine

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67942Chapter: 27
WARNING: Disjointed and not particularly useful review ahead...

>>To her alarm, he brought his face closer until his lips brushed her jaw and the etiquette of personal space was thoroughly breached by his disconcertingly familiar manner. She cringed as his lips brushed her ear.<<

(chants to self, "Must not think of Jason Isaacs, must not think of Jason Isaacs...")

>>...and the tinny clang! of the ginger biscuit tin falling against stone.<<

Travesty! They're probably all crumbs now, no thanks to these thugs. ;)

>>Lucius glanced irritably at the lacy camisole in the man’s hand which the burly giant tossed away guiltily.<<

Should we make him turn out his pockets, too?

>>Bethany blinked. Opening, then closing, her mouth, she drew her gaze up to meet his, and arched a sardonic brow. Good Lord, he’s just as thick as the other two.<<

heh heh heh...

>>And yet, after the night’s confusing events, the one thing of which Bethany could be certain was that there was no torture conceived in hell itself that would induce her to betray Sirius.<<

*heart flutters*

>>“Article 87,” boomed Dumbledore, “subparagraphs 33(f) and 33(g), of the Ministry Decree of Unauthorised Access to Protected Institutions in the Fourth Restatement of the Magical Security Council’s Congress of 1016. Article 87 which requires the written authorisation for irregular visitation from the Head of said Protected Institution.”<<

Wow, one might think you're an attorney. ;)

>>Deftly tugging at a strip of cloth hanging from Yeats’s side pocket, Dumbledore extracted a satin slip and a small assortment of silk underthings.<<

asd;fakdfj;alsdkfja;sdlkj LOL! I'm writing as I read, so I guess I called one!

>>The “task” didn’t sound like it might be an essay exam, at least. Written exams were the worst; Draco’s quill hand inevitably seized up after the first two hours or so and his mind had a tendency to wander…<<

Er, somehow I don't think that's something to be concerned about, Draco. ;) *giggles at the thought of Voldemort proctoring the SATs*

>>Bite Me!: The How-To Guide for the Aspiring Vampire.<<

*snert*

>>Just… because. Because the very thought was… well, it was just… inconceivable. Offensive. An outrage. Just plain wrong. Draco was sure he’d be forced to perform Obliviate on himself just to scour the very image from his mind.<<

Poor, confused, little Draco's interiors are quite amusing! Too bad he doesn't have a diary handy. :D

>>“You were having a nightmare,” he said, brushing the hair from her forehead. His blue eyes sought hers. “Do you have those often?”<<

Ahhhhh...

>>“Then, a safe journey to you both,” the Headmaster said.<<

Oooh, "you both"! Now that's a nice phrase! :D

>>Harry fancied a number of times that he saw or even heard the soft footpads of the lion, walking beside them, prancing ahead, pausing, then keeping step with them again… but with every turn of his head, his eyes met only mist and shadow.<<

Hmmm...yet another unregistered Animagus?

>>Holy Salazar, he was done for now.<<

Heh heh, start running, Draco!

>>This is the part where I'm reading the Manticore rescue so intently, I don't know what to say...<<

>>But… how could Weasley possibly have the dagger unless the girl in red had been… unless she was…

Draco’s mouth dropped open.

Oh. My. Dark. Lord.<<

sasd;lfkajsdkfjasldk Surprise, kids! Oh, dear -- that meeting didn't end on a good note. What must Ginny be thinking??!??

>>She not so much heard as felt the shattering of the air around her, and then, quite unexpectedly, a violent tug on her limbs—and suddenly the pain, as if she were being drawn and quartered.<<

She's not Splinching, is she???

An amazing chapter, as usual. I remain deeply envious of your writing abilities, and look forward to more, whenever you're able. :)

~Katinka

Reviewer: TinyWillowDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67941Chapter: 27
Arg! Your killin me with the cliff hangers! Its such a good story and I cant WAIT for the rest! PLEASE PLEASE HURRY!! I just MUST know what happens next!!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67934Chapter: 27
Eeek! New chapter!

*jumps up and down excitedly*

Is the title a nod to Faramir?

*scampers off to read*

Reviewer: RUGDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67908Chapter: 27
hey cool i was the first one to review chapter 27. i guess no one else checks for updates every hour or so because they all actually have lives... sigh...

Reviewer: RUGDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67906Chapter: 27
URG YOU LIKE CLIFFHANGARS WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY TOO MUCH!!!!! AFTER EVERY CHAPTER YOUJUST *HAVE* TO LEAVE A CLIFFHANGAR IN EVERY PART OF THE STORY, WITH ALL THE PEOPLE IT'S FOLLOWING!!!!!!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Jessica Hudson (Using Amy's e-mail)Date: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67531Chapter: 2
I love the first chapter of your book. It has great ideas and I look forward to reading more of it. *cheer*

Reviewer: SimoneDate: 2004-01-15
Reviewid: 67185Chapter: 26
I don't usually read unfinished stories and I started reading this one because of some fanart based on the story (I can't remember exactly whose), so now I find myself stuck with a cliffhanger. Do please finish the story!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --