The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Ferret Day
Review(s): 54

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-12-09
Reviewid: 146405Chapter: 8
Wow, interesting twist. The most obvious story would have him be nice all day and break the cycle, but I love how only when he's evil does the calendar move forward.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-24
Reviewid: 145470Chapter: 8
Most Excellent. Thanks

Reviewer: AutumDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120763Chapter: 8
Well...I wasn't expecting that...it was interesting. And after some reflection, I can say that I did like the ending (That is the ending, isn't it?) although it was somewhat disturbing. I imagine that there's a backstory to this, and the fact that I don't have it is the only real problem with this fic...great job!

Reviewer: CamryDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120162Chapter: 8
I've just read this, and loved your writing. You've done a great job of keeping the canon characters sounding like themselves, even when Hermione helped Draco. I was really hoping for an ending that would redeem Draco, but what you've written allows him to step back into canon as the Draco we see in book 5. Excellent!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-11-04
Reviewid: 103464Chapter: 8
What. An. Ending. I never finished the movie "Groundhog Day," but I don't know if that would have helped me any; Draco's solution to his problem was completely unexpected!

Reviewer: jynx67Date: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102526Chapter: 8
That was so bloody brilliant. Just the way you did each chapter different, yet the same. And the ending... so much like Draco.

Reviewer: Zephyrus ProlixityDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102465Chapter: 8
Woah!

Since I exhausted all of the superlatives I could think of in my last review I'll just say:

What a fine finish to what I hold as one of the most brilliant fics ever. I love how you wrapped it up.

Except for one thing... Malfoy ought to've been doomed to repeat September 2 for all eternity just as he feared. (IMHO);>

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101119Chapter: 7
Bill Murray as Draco. H'm. ;)

Reviewer: ArtemisDate: 2004-09-23
Reviewid: 99104Chapter: 7
WOW! What a story! You found a starting point and went with it. Good for you! I hope this is not the last we will be hearing from you. Bravo!

~Artemis~

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98936Chapter: 7
Ground Hog Day with an attitude! :-P I LIKE IT. I just wonder if Draco will finally get the message ;-).
I hope it takes a L-O-N-G time because I'm really enjoying this story.
Sam

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92014Chapter: 7
This is straying away from parody, but it's still great.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91983Chapter: 7
Have I mentioned how much I enjoy this story? Every chapter brings out another side to this seemingly shallow character, and every chapter makes me like him even more. Well, as much as I *can* sympathize with him. Wonderful reactions from the supporting players in this chapter, especially from Persephone for some inexplicable reason. As always, I can't wait for more!

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91140Chapter: 7
awww what happens next!!!???????? fabbity idea! how does it all work out? please post!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91072Chapter: 7
LOL! Great job! It's very weird to read Malfoy as...nice. Wonder how this is going to end...

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90925Chapter: 7
Please don't make Draco behave like that ever again. It disturbed me greatly.

LOL, just kidding. It did turn my world upside down, though. Fortunately you retained enough of Draco's supercilious formality to keep him recognizable! :D

Reviewer: AdrienneDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90851Chapter: 7
This is so creative! And funny, I like Draco's comments about his mom, ha ha.

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90768Chapter: 7
Drat you. You've made me dig out my old copy of Ground Hog Day. Now I have to go watch it. *On a personal note---I despise Malfoy. Are you trying to make me change my mind? I don't want to change my mind, thank you. ;P*

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88841Chapter: 6
Clever! I loved it. Draco's characterization was perfect.

Reviewer: Olivia WoodDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80723Chapter: 6
So is the day going to get turned back to Sept. 3 now....? Update soon!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80680Chapter: 6
That ought to teach Draco. Great story!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80634Chapter: 6
Ha! Love the fact that he asks Hermione for help. . . and the line about fiding some pleasure as a ferret almost caused a disturbance here at the office. Fabulous job, as always, dear. Can't wait to see if this works or not!

Reviewer: happydogDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80616Chapter: 6
Oh man... That's pretty good. "Groundhog Day" has a bit of history with me as well. I used to work for TELE-TV, one of the first companies to create an on demand video service. I was in the settop group and to test, we used a laser-disk version of "Groundhog Day" as a streaming input to our settop box. Imagine watching, over and over and over again a movie about a day that keeps repeating over and over and over again. The funny thing is, I actually still kind of like that movie. I'll be interested to see your Chapter Six. Keep on writing!

Reviewer: Zephyrus ProlixityDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80611Chapter: 6
Brilliant. Fabulous. Inspired. Masterful. I don't know which superlative to use this time... You obviously know how much I like your writing by this time, so I should probably just say: You are supreme.

Having Draco humble himself to take instruction from 'Mudblood' Granger, is a tremendous idea... I can't wait to see how the tale ends, now that he has made it through the day without becoming "Draco the amazing, bouncing, white ferret".

Please, hurry with the update.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80599Chapter: 6
He consulted Hermione! What a clever twist. And she does help him in a very characteristic manner. Great job :)

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79700Chapter: 5
What a great idea! ! Humourous, and well-written Lady Narcissa’s story makes for fun light reading. Out of curiosity, when will Draco discover a special sticky surprise that he left for himself unintentionally?

("He chewed it into a tidy wad; Draco plastered it to the underside of the desk just out of reach of his knees. Someone would find it, and it wouldn’t be him. He smirked at the thought and when class was finally over, he moved the wad of gum forward. Whoever sat there next would get a nasty surprise.")

Please continue with Ferret Day.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79590Chapter: 2
[Goyle looked on like some lovesick puppy as Draco opened the box to reveal a homemade cake] Good description and I like the idea of a spidernest pie. Very creative.

I like this glimpse into what beign a ferret must have been like for Malfoy. A lot of people reference the ferret incident, but this is the first time I've seen someone explain it from Draco's POV. You do a great job capturing Draco's snottiness and insecurity. Nice job!

Reviewer: kaitDate: 2004-04-09
Reviewid: 77838Chapter: 5
haha very funny...I particulary like the theme, just because Groundhog Day is my birdhday! Will we find out WHY this is happening though, and when it will end??

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77799Chapter: 5
Oh, man! Draco just can't catch a break, can he! LOL

Nasty little git, isn't he?

Great job!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77768Chapter: 5
He is such a little git, isn't he? I can't even imagine the audacity to try and kill Dumbledore. . . it's all worth it to see him bouncing along in the end, though! Great job, as usual.

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77716Chapter: 5
hahaha! This is really great! I love this! Update soon!

Reviewer: Olivia WoodDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77690Chapter: 5
Hehe. There's so many ways you could go with this... I can't wait to see what you'll write. :) If Draco keeps this up he'll be in for a nasty surprise when the days finally *do* change. :) Update soon!

Reviewer: Diggory LivesDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77586Chapter: 5
Aww...poor Draco :( I wonder what the little stinker will come up with next. I enjoyed reading your rendition of Hogwarts: A History. :) Well done. Can't wait for the next chapter and day in the mind of a Malfoy. :)

Reviewer: Olivia WoodDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77152Chapter: 4
Update soon! It's getting really interesting... poor Draco. :)

Reviewer: Erin LovegoodDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75929Chapter: 4
Lady Narcissa reigns supreme. Awesome concept for a story;I can only hope Malfoy doesn't get what he wants but what he deserves. *Evil malicious grin*

Reviewer: scrummybunnyDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75824Chapter: 4
I'd hate to quote those terrible commercials, but I feel that I must--so far, I'm loving it. Ferret Day? What a brilliant idea for a Dracofic. Love the little snot, but the boy needs his come-uppin's. Can't wait to read what's next :)

Reviewer: Ara Kane, part 2Date: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75769Chapter: 4
Ah, so Ferret Boy has caught on! Too bad for him that things turned out the same even when he tried to do things differently. Can't wait to find out what his Brilliant Plan is going to be!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75685Chapter: 4
Excellent Draco story - your view into his mind is authentic, and it's chilling the way he's so completely convinced that he's right. No doubts about himself at all. Of course he would try and use it to his advantage, wouldn't he?

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75617Chapter: 4
Oh, I can't wait to see what happens next. Very good!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75547Chapter: 4
This just keeps getting better and better. I can't wait to see what the little rodent has thought up this time.

Reviewer: Sunny DayleeDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75532Chapter: 4
I know I've already reviewed, but I just had to again! Figures Malfoy'd try to use this to his own advantage...very much looking forward to reading whatever "advantages" he's going to take.

Must congratulate you on making me lose my stomach. The idea of Snape eating an egg is...ugh. The idea of Snape eating is ugh! Well heck, the idea of Snape is ugh.

And wow! I didn't know Crabbe and Goyle knew so many words!

I loved the third chapter, Draco's realization. Can't really say what it is about it, but I really like it.

Reviewer: TalimeekaDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75202Chapter: 2
Like Groundhog Day than I suppose? Great idea! The story's going great so far, Malfoy's very in-character and it's well-written, especially the parts where everything seems familiar. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74907Chapter: 3
HA! Draco having to continuously be the Amazing Bouncing Ferret. . . One would think Ron was paying you for this story. :-)
"Everything was Potter’s fault somehow."
Brilliant1 Keep it up!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74798Chapter: 3
BWAAHAHAHAHA! Poor ickle Draco. What's going to happen next? :-)

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74777Chapter: 3
Very interesting story. I am curious to see where it is heading. Keep writing.

Reviewer: MaskDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74763Chapter: 3
This is really funny keep it up....... I'm quite looking forward to how Draco is going to get himself out of it :0)
Mask

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74754Chapter: 3
I get it now! I love this take-off on "Groundhog Day", one of my favorite movies. I can hardly wait for the next installment just to see how things turn out and how many times Draco has to re-live his day to finally see the error of his ways. Great story so far...keep the updates coming!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74739Chapter: 3
A-haaa! When I read the title to this fic I knew it had something to do with the movie "Groundhog Day" -- and what a day to have to relive, over and over and over! :D

You do a very good Draco here. The "love" for his mommy and selfishness with the sweets were very authentic details. Can't wait for him to cotton on to what's happening -- my guess is he'll bust a blood vessel panicking over how to get out of having to live the same day over and over and over...

Reviewer: Max ZookDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74706Chapter: 3
Yeah, I get it -- "Ferret Day," indeed! Too bad it happened on September 1 and not February 2 ...

Looking forward to how this plays out, it has a lot of possibilities!

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74651Chapter: 3
Ohhh, just where are you taking this? I can't waite!

Reviewer: NARDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74618Chapter: 3
Really funny story, I like it :-)

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74577Chapter: 1
Ha! I loved your very in-character Draco and his brattitude. He really does think that the universe revolves around him, doesn't he?

It's even more amusing/creepy when one considers who "Mad-Eye Moody" really was.

Incidentally: What is Draco's slimming secret? All those Spider Cakes and Every-Flavor Beans and he's still a skinny little kid who can fly after the Snitch. I'd like to know how he does it. :D

Reviewer: Zephyrus ProlixityDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74568Chapter: 3
Bloody brilliant! As usual. If only Draco were doomed to repeat [i]that[/i] fateful day over and over and over eternallly... that would be justice indeed.

Reviewer: Sunny DayleeDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74535Chapter: 3
HAH! You write an excellent Malfoy! He's so disgusting and hateful you just have to love him (in some odd, twisted way). I think my favourite part about him was the Ever Flavour Beans thing. It's so something he would do!

And oh my golly, "a bulldog with a chest", I laughed so hard. I so love your Draco parodies.

Reviewer: DogsonDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74502Chapter: 3
Awesome! I love the fact that you do not go into definite details all at once. You're such a great writer. I really love this story. Let me know when you get more of it complete. Bother.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --