The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Caught Between
Review(s): 36

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2007-04-06
Reviewid: 147691Chapter: 4
Lovely.

I must say, I'm a sucker for introducing characters as the story goes along, like you did, instead of just explaining who they are right off the bat, and so I must say I was hooked from the beginning.

I agree, the ending was a little inconclusive, but I really really did like it.
Kudos on a good story. ^^

Peace forever
bennedetto

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-07-06
Reviewid: 143984Chapter: 4
So cute. Very original. Good work.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139108Chapter: 4
Quite enjoyable & far better than half. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-10-04
Reviewid: 100338Chapter: 4
Very good! I've enjoyed your story. I especially like that you wrote this from Elizabeth's point of view.

Reviewer: AnnikaDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93340Chapter: 4
Your story was wonderful, I really enjoyed. I would also love to read about Mack at school. Please PLEASE at least deeply consider writing it.

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93326Chapter: 4
I was so glad to see you updated this wonderful fic! I love Mack and Liz and was so happy to see their story continued. You've done a great job showing some of the stress and pitfalls that would come with a 'mixed' marriage, yet kept both of the characters amazingly human throughout the whole ordeal. Great mixture of Canon characters thrown in for spice as well. If we ask really, really nicely will you consider continuing this??

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93266Chapter: 4
Though it seemed to go a bit fast (although that could be because of my just waking up - I'm so sleepy!), I love this story. I never really thought about marriages between a wizard and a Muggle - I mean, I thought about it, but not nearly as much as you obviously did.
I support writing a sequel; I'd love to read about Liz and Macks child (if they have one).
Anyway, good job!

Reviewer: MacarellaDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93257Chapter: 4
I've greatly enjoyed reading this chapter, especially how they've managed to live through the security worries and inconvenient regulations, and find solutions, and keep their warmth and humor. It's very inspirational to read about people who realize that even such a gap in cultures and just everyday life, plus the necessary secrecy towards others are not as imporant as what holds them together; one feels assured that they'll find ways to deal with and survive even in the impending reign of terror.

As always, I've immensely enjoyed your sense of humor. Too much to quote, but I especially loved the "Dumbledore may be eccentric, but if he's senile, I'll eat my cauldron." And E.A.R. Lol! And the father-in-law's disembodied head floating in the fireplace. And him (Mack's) still unable to remember how much is 6x7; it was a tense moment, but still it was funny.

The only disappointing thing about this chapter was when I got to the end, and realized that it's indeed the end. Surely, now that you've started to write again, you're not going to stop! A sequal would be lovely, and a depiction of Mack's Hogwarts days would be really great too.

And I'm wholly with you (and Jane Austen) on the best subjects for writing: there's enough misery and unpleasantlness in real life to read about it in fiction in leisure time.

Thank you very much!

Hoping to see your name on the updates again at some point,
Macarella.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2004-07-20
Reviewid: 93247Chapter: 4
It's done? I do hope you do a sequel, because I've really enjoyed the original storyline.

-PQ

Reviewer: CybčleDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93100Chapter: 4
Very good story indeed. I'm glad I have read it. I like your characters very much.
See you if you write something else.

Cybčle, 27, Belgium.

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92857Chapter: 4
If you want a suggestion for a sequel I would love to see the reactions to a new baby I am facinated with how different muggle and wizardarding parenting really is

Reviewer: Miss Stephanie D.Date: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92852Chapter: 4
Thank you very much for returning to your writing; I can only surmise that the world was a poorer place over the fifteen years that you did not share your thoughts.
After reading the first chapter of 'Caught Between', I anxiously awaited each additional installment. Please know that I very much enjoyed your tale.
Again, thank you for sharing your writing with us.
Gramercy,
Miss Stephanie D.

Reviewer: The Reigning LorelaiDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88471Chapter: 3
This is very good! Your transitions are excellent, I must say. Is this the end of the story, or are there more chapters to come?

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88388Chapter: 3
Awesome story! I can't wait to read the rest!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88341Chapter: 3
[but I must admit that I felt a little smug about finally finding something in the non-magical world that he wasn’t able to do. It evened the score between us a bit.] Hehe! I like that. A very realistic reaction.

[In spite of being warned about anti-Muggle charms around the place, I still felt a strange urge to bolt as we neared the stadium.] Great attention to detail and it makes sense taht a Muggle wouldn't just wander into the middle of a Quidditch pitch.

Great perspectives about Muggle/wizard weddings and first broom rides. I wouldn't have minded more elaborate details, stretching out the Quidditch game and wedding into separate chapters, but the pacing as it is is fine. You do an excellent job of making the transition from Muggle to magic normal as well as extraordinary and you give the HP universe a fresh and original eye, recalling the magic of the first book. Looking forward to Ch. 4!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88285Chapter: 3
Great story! Very interesting! Must be hard to write about two OCs and their families and the difficult topic of Muggle/magic interaction, but you did it very well.

And the story promises to become even more interesting! I started to be suspicious when I matched the wedding day (half June after the August that Ireland won the Quidditch Cup) with the time Voldemort came back. Thankfully, you didn't make it interrupt the wedding, but at least it'll be very interesting to see how Elizabeth will cope with this.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: MacarellaDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88198Chapter: 3
Very interesting - can't wait to see how this develops.
I've enjoyed this chapter, but sometimes I wished you described things in a bit more detail - like Elizabeth's reaction to Quidditch (it seems that what produced the greatest impression on her was her fiance's reactions to the match) and their wedding (wouldn't there be some difference in traditions?) and honeymoon in Italy - magic sightseeing and probably his reactions to muggle stuff.
But I loved Cassandra's take on credit cards and Elizabeth's feeling of playing dress-up in Madam Malkin's - both very realistic. And "Rome’s wizarding district hidden in the ruins of the Forum" - just wish there was more about it; it's a wonderful idea, but you just can't squeeze a month in magical Italy in one paragraph.
And the flight on a broomstick - no wonder her sister wants to date a wizard. Plus he can turn cushions into cats. (BTW, I liked it how you described how spells gradually wear off - very realistic, almost scientific - like he gives it a bit of energy, but then it wears off, naturally. And a purring cushion somehow seems very fitting.)
Thank you very much.

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88189Chapter: 3
Just stumbled upon this, as I'm not a regular at Sugar Quill, but I must say that I've enjoyed what I've read. I need to write down your name so that I can check back periodically for updates.

Your outsider's outlook on the events of Harry's fourth year and the perspective from which you tell the tale is unique and refreshing and very very well done! Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81560Chapter: 2
THIRD CHAPTER!!! PUT THE THIRD CHAPTER UP!!!!

Reviewer: ZoeSmithDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80520Chapter: 1
Lovely story! It must be hard for a Muggle girl to fall in love with a wizard. Actually it must be hard for the both of them.

I'd really love to read the rest :-)

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80512Chapter: 2
It's very interesting to see the magical world from the Muggle point of view. Even more interesting to see that prejudice works both ways. Good writing--keep it up!

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80486Chapter: 2
A very enjoyable story about a Muggle being introduced to the magical word for the first time. Are Liz and Mack related to Ernie our sweet ickle Hufflepuff? *grin*

I love your writing. Keep the story up.

Reviewer: MeDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80450Chapter: 2
This is a great story! Keep it up!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80410Chapter: 2
Very charming and original. It's so nice to see the wizarding word from the perspective of Muggles. You capture the excitement of discovering a whole new world along with the stress of having to keep your discovery a secret. Elizabeth and her family are delightfully normal and their reactions ring true. Looking forward to seeing how Elizabether reacts to Quidditch!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80408Chapter: 1
Great opening, you really set us down in the middle of the action. Tight writing.

[He was an RAF pilot during the war and had to parachute out after being hit. He landed in my grandmother’s garden, and the rest is history.”] Oh, that's such a charming detail, very original and cute. It adds an authentic touch to the story.

Great dialogue. Your characters really sound like grown-ups and the flow of the story is smooth. Liz adjusts to idea of her fiance being a wizard a little too quickly, but maybe it's because she's in shock.

I've always wanted to see a story about how Muggles and magic folk meet and marry. This is really great and it's so refreshing to read something so original with original characters.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80337Chapter: 2
What a great concept for a story! It can't be easy, learning that everything you thought you knew isn't true, but I am rally enjoying seeing Liz's reactions to the world. Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80315Chapter: 2
So far so sweet. How about throwing in the Dursleys somewhere?

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80161Chapter: 2
Very creative, I've always wondered what it might be like for a muggle to find out someone they know is a wizard... This is wonderful thus far, I can't wait to read the next chapter!

Liz

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74789Chapter: 1
great story but that is one way to totally freak out your girlfriend just vanish into thin air

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74770Chapter: 1
Interesting idea. I like it. Update soon.

Reviewer: MacarellaDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74646Chapter: 1
Charming!! Both the story and style. I like it how you make it both very believable - characters, dialog, setting - and also with a touch of a dream in it.
And I love the humor - too many excellent phrases to comment, but one of my very favorite, "now you can see why I’ve been a little evasive about my educational history." :))

This very enjoyable, please, continue soon!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74633Chapter: 1
Wonderful! This is a lovely story. I really like the distance you have them from Harry and Hogwarts. So Mack seems like he must be related to Ernie. I'm definitely interested to see how this unfolds!

Great work!

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74579Chapter: 1
Great start!

Reviewer: MaryAnne der EselDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74541Chapter: 1
What a very unique and interesting storyline! You've done a great job on the first chapter, and I'm looking forward to reading more.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74525Chapter: 1
Lovely story. I'm looking forward to reading it as it continues. This is an interesting concept and the writing is very good. Also, I assume Mack is some sort of cousing to Ernie Macmillan? I'm interested to see how they are related.

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74509Chapter: 1
What a nicely written story, although I must say we heartily disapprove of the phrase 'dead serious' making any appearance at all in any of its guises. But really, I love this take on things. It's quite intriguing, and although I can imagine what might happen next, I'll be keen to read what you come up with.

Your style is very eloquent. My favorite line: 'I tried to push back the alarming mental picture of three-year-olds starting fires without matches.' Touche! It's humorous without being overdone. Good job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --