The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Father and Son
Review(s): 41

Reviewer: tykoDate: 2008-04-02
Reviewid: 150717Chapter: 1
So this story was written over 4 years ago, and nobody's reviewed it in good over 2 years. But I was directed here from Coffee and Chocolate, an excellent rec site that just recced this story this week. I didn't really think it'd be my thing--too sappy, really--but I really enjoyed this story. It captures the spirit of JKR very well, and I feel like she'd be pleased with the "moral of the story." Really an excellent little peace. And despite the fact that it was written pre-HBP, it flows perfectly into canon with no problems at all, really, and I think it's very appropriate for that post-OP summer, where things started to get really crazy. Again, good job.

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2005-12-30
Reviewid: 137818Chapter: 1
*sniffle* Brilliant. Touching. Starts out happy, gets sad and somewhat terrifying, ends with a good laugh. Perfect. Wonderful characterization. JKR would be proud. Can't think of a better thing to say than that.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137468Chapter: 1
Amusing.

Reviewer: lysithaDate: 2005-08-25
Reviewid: 130880Chapter: 1
this is agreat one-shot, very touching and realistic. I like it very much ! ;)

Reviewer: KatherineDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125738Chapter: 1
Just Beautiful. very real. =) My kudos to you.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113995Chapter: 1
Powerful story, I really liked the way you made Ron out to growing so much emotionally. The "cold" look in his eyes conveys part of what he has been through. He, like Harry, has been through a bit much for a 15-year old. The bit about Arthur not recognizing him for a second was good too.

Excellent piece.

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 96989Chapter: 1
Wow... That was wonderful. Really. It brought tears to my eyes while reading. I think you hit Arthur wonderfully, he's not like Molly in that he'd get riled up over nothing, but he's firm in what he believes and is willing to do anything for what matters most. I also loved your Ron. He learned what will be a very important lesson for canon Ron to learn. Great ending to. Made me laugh. :D

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95713Chapter: 1
This was a great fic! It's really nice to see some interaction between the Weasleys without distractions from Harry, Hermione or whoever. I particularly liked the affectionate teasing between them, as I thought it showed how close they really are. Arthur teasing Ginny about Dean was very funny.
You also did a great job of showing that Arthur is a very good father to his children. He loves them all, as shown by his concern for them, but he is also very good at educating them about life. I loved how he showed Ron it's wrong to wish anyone, even Malfoy, dead.

Reviewer: Livia LianaDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95613Chapter: 1
This is a nicely written story. It has a nice gentle flow and has a distinct, plausible atmosphere. The conversation is an interesting one, and while I don't particularly agree with your characterization of Arthur as a mild-mannered fatherly type, you have given him a clear voice and stuck with it throughout the fic, and the things he says to Ron and the choices he makes in his comments fit well with your characterization, and I really like that. It's a sign of very good writing.

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95240Chapter: 1
What a nice story! Great job.

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95236Chapter: 1
Great fic! I really like how you show the interaction between Arthur and Ron, and I like your Ginny too.

Reviewer: sweetieDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88859Chapter: 1
that was so sweet and sad! i love Arthur and Ron's relationship and you showed it perfectly. awww...Ron's crying! now you made me cry! *gives Ron a big hug* beautiful story!

luv sweetie

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80660Chapter: 1
Funny + moving + powerful = great!

Reviewer: Olivia WoodDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77147Chapter: 1
Happy. :)

Reviewer: floraDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75470Chapter: 1
beautiful..really!I liked it :)

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-03-20
Reviewid: 75344Chapter: 1
This is a really well written story, it fits perfectly into the Weasley family, and I can totally picture that happening. Good Job :)

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75280Chapter: 1
Oh this is a great fic......

the scary thing is.....
it is if you described Ginny
just like my father would describe me.....

very scary

very good

nice job

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: jamuDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75254Chapter: 1
that was really good! and really sweet to, a great father-son moment between Arthur and Ron. And that boyfriend part with Ginny at the end was funny-it balenced out the emotions in the story. You had lots of terror, and anger, and confusion in the conversation about Malfoy, and the Death Eaters, but then, you lightened the mood with the conversationa about Dean with Ginny. Very well written-i can't wait to see more of your work.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75243Chapter: 1
Wow! Great use of dialogue, Ron and Ginny were certainly in character. You set the scene cleverly, economically. I'm not quite sure if Arthur would be that forgiving of Lucius Malfoy, but I admire his principles--and yours. A powerful piece.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75240Chapter: 1
Do I have to say anything else than: "wow!" ?

Well, let's start with a bit of constructive criticism. I thought the story started out a bit akward-sounding. I think it's because you use so many replacements for 'said'. It's all right to put 'said' in once every four lines or so. It makes the story flow all right, and makes the reader concentrate on the dialogue instead of the tags. Because that's exactly what happened: I was thoroughly distracted in the beginning by "Ginny cried" that came after "Ron panted". It was a bit too much. But soon after that, it became better, and I could concentrate on the dialogue, which was brilliant.

I think it's the dialogue and the atmosphere that make this story really good. I can just picture Arthur choking when Ron says that the Death Eaters had wanted to torture Ginny. And I like the understanding they finally reach (but not without effort!), and then the light and funny end.

Great story!

Reviewer: LinneriaDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75225Chapter: 1
Wow, that was wonderful! :) Really sweet and very well written! The closing lines were just beautiful.... I love your story!!

Reviewer: TeresaDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75213Chapter: 1
That was really really good. i think it's the best post OotP story i've read so far. So tender and true.... Where does one sign up to be adopted by the Weasleys?

Reviewer: SmDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75190Chapter: 1
This is so awesome! It put a lump in my throat and then at other times it made me laugh. :) wonderful.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75183Chapter: 1
I like this! It is a very necessary message that many people need to hear. And I think it works particularly well in this setting. The similarities between Ron and Arthur help strengthen what you are doing. In my head, I think that if Ron is going through this, then Arthur must have at some point in his life. To see hiim come out whole and good is heartening. And the similarity extends to the Malfoys. That father is hastening his son's fall. The fact that Arthur knows that and still does not want to exact the ultimate penalty underpins your whole story.

Great work!!

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75178Chapter: 1
Muy wonderful :) I think you captured Ron very well, and Arthur is such a good poppa :)

Reviewer: CareyDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75176Chapter: 1
I loved this! This was perfect, and exactly the kind of story I've been wanting to read! Brilliant writing! ~*Carey*~

Reviewer: LineDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75159Chapter: 1
this was very good, hehe
and funny!!!
and brilliant!!
I loved it,
~Line

Reviewer: Edd WoodwardDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75157Chapter: 1
Very endearing story. Just the thought of Arthur's agony over anything happening to his children is very touching. Wonderful work. Hope to read more of your stories.

Reviewer: LettaDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75152Chapter: 1
Great story!!! SO good!!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75148Chapter: 1
Awesome job. I love how you described Ron as he was venting his fury at Malfoy--Arthur didn't even recognize him as his son. That's pretty powerful, and it hurts me a lot to realize that it's an accurate description of what can happen to people. I like how Arthur was so quick to stop Ron from indulging in hatred. The only thing that seemed odd was that Ginny seems more confident about her boyfriends in the books--but then, I guess it's different discussing such things with friends than with parents and older brothers. Nicely done!

Reviewer: RuthieDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75135Chapter: 1
I absolutely love Arthur! After the trio he and Lupin are tied as my favorites. This is a great story!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75126Chapter: 1
Wonderful. Truly wonderful. I love Arthur's emotions in this piece, his not wanting to let the kids grow up, but at the same time forcing Ron to make a very adult realization about Malfoy. Fantastic.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75108Chapter: 1
Wow! What a wonderful story. I've read several Arthur/Ron father/son stories and this is one of the best. Like Ron, I'd forgotten that Lucius Malfoy was a father/husband with all that entails in my own loathing for his character and I'm glad Ron and Arthur embraced in understanding at the end of their talk. Again, great story.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75096Chapter: 1
Lovely, so lovely! The prose is flowing well, but it's the feelings that truly stand out. Everything sounded just right from beginning to end. I especially liked the way you wrote Ron.

Reviewer: wendelinDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75076Chapter: 1
Nice one! It flows well, has a nice resolution, leaves the characters changed... a very good short story.

Reviewer: susanDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75074Chapter: 1
This is a nice little filler moment. I can see Arthur being like this...when his temper is under control.

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75073Chapter: 1
AWW!!! I so very nearly cried, it's not even funny!! That was really good. Thanks for giving me five minutes of sheer bliss.

~Mikau

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75070Chapter: 1
That really rang true to what Arthur probably was thinking. Beautifully done. Good job.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75065Chapter: 1
Oh, this was a lovely little snippet from the lives of the Weasleys. I felt like I was Arthur hugging Ron there. Thank-you so much for writing this!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75030Chapter: 1
Oh, the hug was beautiful. I can see it - the tension and the melting, so well written. You've done Arthur wonderfully, strong and compassionate. Nice work.

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75024Chapter: 1
This was so sweet and very well-written. I really think you captured Arthur's perspective in a way I've never seen before, and I must say I really enjoyed it.

" Arthur stared at his son, and for the first time in his life, he did not recognize one of his children. The features were the same as they always were, the freckles, the shock of red hair, but the expression made him cold inside. "

That is really great! It gave me the chills!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --