The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135020Chapter: 3
Hmmm.... very interesting. Much promise for the next couple of chapters. I'm eager to see how this whole things turns out.

The beginning leaves much unresolved. I know that they've temporarilty made up and the reason for Alice's calls have been solved... but I'm thinking that something more is about to brew. I've not yet decided whether that "something more" will be good or bad. I just hope it all works out.

A very well thought out chapter. I look forward to new installments.
mdelaur

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134930Chapter: 1
So, I'm really excited that you posted a new chapter, upset that I couldn't get online a couple days ago to read it right away, and devestated that I'm too exhausted from volunteering at a Haunted House and have to get up way too early for a Saturday.... so I can't read it now. But I promise I will tomorrow. I'll devote a couple of hours to reading it tomorrow night.

I can't wait!!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134788Chapter: 3
I had to reread all the chapters because of the time between the previous post and this one. Doing so only drove home how much I missed your writing. I hope the next update will come soon.

I enjoyed:
-Max's less than stellar past
-that I can hate Ares even more.
-Gully: short for gullible?
-V.A.M.P.: made me think of S.P.E.W. of course. Shame Hermione will never hear of it.
-“Wait,” Rose blurted out. “You kill Muggles?” Hah!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120705Chapter: 2
I am sososososoooo glad you updated :) I've missed Max and Ros and Maddie and the girls...and I've missed you, too!

I enjoyed Ros' encounter with Umbridge. Her close observations of McG's facial expressions were great (and Vector's hastily amended order). Loved the Order meeting, too. I think it's great that Maddie and her girls are getting involved (or trying to, anyway) - and Ros' Uncle Ty! Oh, and the way they treated Mrs. Black's portrait!

My, there are so many things to look forward to. I want to find out more about how Ros would (if ever) figure in the teachers' taking on Umbridge. I want to find out how Maddie et. al. would fare in the Order. And of course I want to find out what happens next with Max and Ros! More please - but take all the time you need, I'll love your work no matter when it gets posted :) *hugs*

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120696Chapter: 2
To begin with, I'm so glad you updated and honored that you dedicated the chapter to me! I'm also upset, however, that the problem with Alice hasn't been revealed and resolved. I want Rosmerta and Max to be in peaceful bliss once more! But I do like the characters' developments. It makes them appear more human to know that Rosmerta has doubts just like millions of other women, and that their relationship isn't perfect, but that it works. I hope that everything will smooth out nicely.

I liked the mirror humor you added in the beginning, and thought it great that Rose stood up to Mrs. Black. But Selena's actions toward Remus trouble me. I'm sure that Maddie must have the greatest of faith in her to include her in the Order, but she pushed Remus entirely way too far. I'm hoping that as the chapters evolve, she'll become more likeable. I enjoyed the relationship between Maddie and Mad Eye Moody (and like the way their names go together nicely). I really love her character. I also like how you kept Molly in character with her disapproval of Maddie and her "tartlets". Of course, I hope that Molly will warm towards Maddie eventually. It was also clever how you wove in book five into your story, and I'm glad it'll continue. I can only hope that J.K. Rowling doesn't contradict anything you made up in the 6th book! (If she does, I refuse to except it as cannon).

"...wearing their defiant expressions as if they were the finest strands of pearls"
-This was a really nice phrase. Such a pretty way of putting it. I also liked the paragraph where Rosmertas surprises herself with the emotions she's feeling. And the ending of Chapter 2 made me so sad. I hope Rosmerta's wish comes true, and I hope that everything resolves itself nicely.... but you have the liberty to add in drama and spice to keep me a dedicated reader!

I can only hope that, since you have written ahead, another update will be in the near future.

Hooked as always,
mdelaur

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120688Chapter: 2
Poor Rosmerta, her frustration and concern about what's going on with Max is very well portrayed. Rosmerta and Max's situation was left on a suspensful cliffhanger at this chapter's end... I groaned when I realized there wasn't any more to read. Great writing!

Speaking of Great Writing, you did a superb job of capturing Dolores Umbridge in all her repulsive glory.

And Maddie, Rose, Selena and Isis are in the Order! Sheer brilliance!!! The scene/confrontation between Remus and Selena crackled with engery, and Remus' reaction to her baiting was so fierce, intense and controlled.

Moody's and Dung's conversations with Maddie were both delightful. Especially Moody's... there's history between them, isn't there?

Molly's reaction to Maddie and her girls was very in-character. I'm looking forward to seeing future developments on the "Molly vs the Scarlet Women" front.

Thanks for a terrific chapter!

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2005-03-25
Reviewid: 117685Chapter: 1
I have a week off for Spring Break, and I really hope that your new chapter will be updated soon so I have time to read it.

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110668Chapter: 1
I just wanted to tell you that I really enjoyed your High Spirits story and I am thrilled you have started another Max and Rosmerta story! I love that they curl up on the couch to watch football. There are so many moments like that, which make their relationship seem so real; they make compromises just like the rest of us. So here's to you finishing this story, and a happy ending for Rosmerta and Max (not to mention Queennie, I'm sure she would hate to be left out!)

Reviewer: MartinaDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98423Chapter: 1
A wonderful first chapter in what I am sure will be a wonderful new story. I have newly finished High Spirits, and this is promising to be as good.

Reviewer: mariagonerDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87796Chapter: 1
An incredibly promosing beginning to a story I'm sure will end up matching your other Rosmerta stories. I'm dying to see how Max and Rosmerta's relationship will end up as. Please continue! You've got one faithful reader here!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-05-05
Reviewid: 81348Chapter: 1
Forgot to say that I love the use of Sarah McLachlan -- that's one of my favorite albums ever. :)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-05-05
Reviewid: 81347Chapter: 1
This review is embarrassingly late, but better late than never, right?

>>Slowly, she opened her eyes and then closed them again. She listened as the steady rhythm continued, like a heartbeat. Funny how such a simple thing, a necessary function really, could bring a joy so great that it seized your heart and squeezed it with a fierce and tender grip.<<

Yeah, if you only you knew that you were about to get a face-full of doggy drool. ;) *Hilarious* opening!

>>Real intimacy, Rosmerta had come to realize, was not sharing a bedroom but sharing a bathroom. Unlike sex, which by its very nature was meant to be a joint endeavor, grooming habits were a private matter. It was one thing to love someone while entwined in a passionate embrace; it was quite another thing to love them while they were flossing their teeth.<<

Hah! One of the things I love most about your writing is the realism -- how someone with whom you're entirely enamoured can still annoy the hefck out of you. :D

>>“Well then, what do you blokes want to smell like?” Rosmerta asked.

“Hmmmm…beer. Sweat. The great outdoors.”<<

LOL, such a man's man.

*fans self at end of morning scene* Steamy!

>>“Or get drunk on tequila and pick a fight with a bunch of Mexican vampires.”

“Yeah. Not his finest moment, although to be fair they started it and we didn’t know they were vampires.<<

Dude, those men should not be let out of the country without chaperones. ;)

>>An awkward silence followed until Rosmerta’s eyes widened like someone just catching onto a big secret. “Oh!” Rosmerta exclaimed, clapping a hand to her mouth. Professor McGonagall’s body tensed.

“Did Hagrid elope? I knew he was mad about Madam Maxime but I didn’t think they’d get married so soon. Oh, that’s so romantic!” Rosmerta gushed, leaning against Max in a swoony sort of way.<<

Rosmerta's reaction is so funny, but more importantly, it shows how developed she is as a character. A Mary Sue would have instantly read between the lines and thought, "Oh! Hagrid must have REALLY been sent on a mission to the giants!" :)

>>“Hagrid was in Azkaban? He’s an ex-convict?” Max abruptly stopped walking. His hand slid from her grasp and he stood there gaping at her.<<

Good showing of Max's human fallibility there. He and Ros aren't perfect, idealized people.

>>Pulling me onto his lap as if I were his personal property! What was he thinking? And then fondling me in front of everyone! All right, calm down—he was just being affectionate, you do like that…but for the love of Merlin, can’t he keep his hands to himself for five minutes?<<

I'm in Rosmerta's camp here -- I would be seriously peeved by this! Max, you're a doll, but take two seconds to THINK! (/scolding)

>>I’ve spent the last forty years swatting hands away from my bottom.<<

Oh dear...the poor woman. I'm still irked at Max, but I'm trying not to laugh at this line!

>>Sometimes it was absolutely wonderful, like when they cuddled together in bed and listened to the rain hit the roof. Other times, like when he left his clothes and trainers all over the place, she dearly wished that her house had a separate wing for him.<<

Oh, I understand...

>>A pained expressed crossed Max’s face. “A Jane Austin movie? How about Die Hard? I think you’ll like the actors in it.”<<

Heh heh, my husband ALWAYS manages to find Die Hard on television when I would rather watch decorating shows.

>>Rosmerta gasped and clapped her hands together. “Oh, thank goodness! I was so afraid I broke it!”<<

This scene is so amusing! It fits that someone of her upbringing would have little familiarity with Muggle life.

>>“Max? It’s me. I know it’s been a while. I…I’ve had a bit of bad news and I…I just wanted to talk with you. Please…call me back.” A string of numbers followed.<<

*Wince, wince, wince* This can't bode well! :(

A wonderful continuation of Rosmerta and Max's story -- as always, you draw the reader right into their world. I envy your skill! :)

~Katinka

Reviewer: EchoDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79785Chapter: 1
Your first chapter is off to a good start! I must say I had my doubts when I finished High Spirits: A Hogsmeade Tale, what else could you possibly write about? Well I guess you answered that question. I'm dying to find out who this mystery woman is! Is it Emma/Emily/what ever? Or is it *gasp* Alice?! I need to know please write more soon.

-Echo

P.S. I loved Rosmerta mistaking Fang for Max, as well as her fasination with the remote!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 78980Chapter: 1
Nice start for the fifth year. Looking forward to the new story :)

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78366Chapter: 1
Wow! Amazing. I love it. Let me mention that again: I love it. Write more, please. Thank you!

I loved their interactions... so real. I loved Fang. He was so incharacter! Because of course a dog can be that! I love the fact that Rosmerta is a real human being, with loves and concerns. In the books she felt to me as far off, unreachable. This was so not how I imagined her. But your story gave her new light, and I love her now. Thank you.

Reviewer: Ara Kane, part 2Date: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75914Chapter: 1
I forgot to say that I really liked the phrase "let-me-sell-you-insurance voice." *huggles Max -- platonically, of course*

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75912Chapter: 1
Yaaay! This chapter was a lovely roller-coaster ride. I truly enjoyed the "early morning affection" and appreciated the little tiff between Ros and Max. I was sorry they had a bit of a difference, but could understand where she was coming from. At least they sorted it all out.

The bits in Max's apartment were delightful! I loved Ros's fascination with the Muggle contraptions. I'm planning to have Maeve encounter American cable TV in the sequel to "Breakfast Cereal" -- she and Ros can compare notes :D

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-03-25
Reviewid: 75882Chapter: 1
well thats a nice little story hope you keep up with it its very interesting

Reviewer: AliaDate: 2004-03-21
Reviewid: 75364Chapter: 1
lol, my family does the same thing with our fortune cookies. Good chpt, continue please

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75250Chapter: 1
I really like the interplay between Max and Rosmerta here. They have fantastic chemistry, and you write human relationships very well.

As always, very polished and smooth.

Catherine

Reviewer: EllieDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75219Chapter: 1
Did you get fumbling towards ecstasy from the title of the Sarah McLachlan c.d.??? Anyways, good story... like it he he

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75216Chapter: 1
New relationships are hard and wonderful at the same time. You certainly gave us a good picture of Max and Ros's adjustment to each other. I particularly enjoyed the insights on sharing the bathroom. After twenty-two years of marriage, I wonder if the Victorians didn't have the right idea having separate dressing areas!

I enjoyed this first chapter very much and I'm really dying to see Ros's reaction to Umbridge, if they ever see each other. In the meantime, I know that woman had to be his ex-wife. No one else could have such bad timing!

I enjoyed the Muggle references and the delight that she expresses over Muggle gadgets. I know if I were a part of the wizarding world, I'd want to own all the Muggle gadgets I have now, just for fun.

Reviewer: EllaDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75064Chapter: 1
I'm so excited! I loved High Spirits, and now a sequel! Very cool.

This line was great:
"It was so wonderful to see Hagrid in love—and not with something that could bite his leg off."
Lol!
and "The printed version of Cornelius Fudge shook his fist at her."
Here's to Queenie completely covering Fudge!

I love how everything isn't perfect (which things rarely are) but both Max and Ros are still happy, in the end. Very realistic.

“Is this what the noble art of Divination has come to? Naughty biscuits?”
LOL! They play that too! The best fortunes are when you get one that says you'll soon be making a lot of money... in the bedroom! *forces self back on topic*

Oh, dear. Please don't let that be another woman....

Thanks for the new story, it's great!

~Ella

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75050Chapter: 1
lol! I just reread the prequel to this! Gotta luv the timing!

lol... so... great chapter! I can't wait to see what's going to happen! The message on Max's answering amchine was interesting, and the he's back/he's dead thing promises to be really interesting as well! Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75037Chapter: 1
"Real intimacy, Rosmerta had come to realize, was not sharing a bedroom but sharing a bathroom. Unlike sex, which by its very nature was meant to be a joint endeavor, grooming habits were a private matter. It was one thing to love someone while entwined in a passionate embrace; it was quite another thing to love them while they were flossing their teeth."

I love that paragraph. It's so true. This look at Max and Rosmerta (and Queenie, Fang and Rosenkrantz) happy and domestic was delightful! It's great to see them again.

And I'm glad to hear good news of Persephone and Hester!

This scene was another highlight:

“Did Hagrid elope? I knew he was mad about Madam Maxime but I didn’t think they’d get married so soon. Oh, that’s so romantic!” Rosmerta gushed, leaning against Max in a swoony sort of way.

McGonagall’s body relaxed like a silent sigh. “No, I don’t believe Hagrid has eloped, but he is…extending his visit a bit.”

McGonagall and Rosmerta were both so perfect there. Rosmerta's conclusion was a logical one, and I loved the description of McGonagall's body relaxing "like a silent sigh."


Max's reaction to the news that Hagrid had been in Azkaban alarmed me a little bit, so I was relieved when he reacted with a "poor guy" when Rosmerta told him that Hagrid had been there for three months.

The argument about Max grabbing her in the tavern was also handled wonderfully. I could see Rosmerta's point, but I could also see why Max didn't understand, until she found the perfect analogy. Glad that the argument didn't last very long.

Rosmerta's delight with the TV and the remote was adorable! But ack!!! Who was that woman on the phone???

I can't wait for the next chapter!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --