The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Curtain Call
Review(s): 36

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-14
Reviewid: 135844Chapter: 1
Most Excellent

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129595Chapter: 1
Cool use of words.... love the double meaning of the title. Also like the eerie touches, including the almost "Twilight Zone" effect of ending where he began.

Well done!

Reviewer: FauxDate: 2005-07-25
Reviewid: 127808Chapter: 1
I like the story even though the ending makes everything seem a little hopeless!

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127083Chapter: 1
Wow!That is awesome!write more

Reviewer: TanDate: 2004-12-18
Reviewid: 108062Chapter: 1
Please tell me there's a happy ending? This is just... so cruel, and such a horrible ending.
(no offence intended)
Please tell me there's something better?

Tan

Reviewer: TashaDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107222Chapter: 1
This was really sad, but nice. I really liked the sounds and images that follow Sirius on the other side....

Reviewer: ellaDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102665Chapter: 1
this is a great fic. :(( it made me cry.. but i loved it, nonetheless.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101398Chapter: 1
*waves hi*

Wow. This story is amazing--such great depth. The complexity of our actions and reactions. I really liked how Sirius and Lily connected over guilt. I could sympathize with both of them. It completely felt right.

Reviewer: HelenDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97546Chapter: 1
Oh Chary - this story has simply taken my breath away! The ending is truly heartbreaking and so beautifully crafted. I loved the way you built in the layers of Sirius's confusion about where and when and who he was, your description of his trains of thought and his reactions to what he sees. It could have been conceptually difficult for a reader to follow the 'otherworld' of your creation, but your writing makes it feel so vivid and so tangible....Superbly done.

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96213Chapter: 1
I am so totally speechless right now! That was one of the saddest endings in fanfic that I've ever read. It's amazing how much power you packed into this little piece. And the quote at the beginning is very appropriate. I can't believe a piece of fanfic actually left me breathless. Amazing!

Reviewer: KoreyDate: 2004-05-05
Reviewid: 81360Chapter: 1
That was a kinda neat version of what happened to Sirius. I also like your other fic, with Snape and Lois, and wanted to ask if you are going to right a sequel?

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76218Chapter: 1
Wow. That was so incredibly poignant and heartbraking that I'm shaking right now as I'm writing. You are truly a talented writer! I loved the ending and Sirius's and Lily's relationship with each other.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: ediDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 76018Chapter: 1
wow. i wish i could give you a review that eloquently expresses how blown away i am by this, but st the moment i'm busy being speechless. you're an amazing writer, and i really, really, really hope you continue this. thanks for posting -- it was a delight to read.

peace <3 & blueberry jello,
-edi-

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75932Chapter: 1
Amazing. Absolutely amazing. It was...wow. Really, really well done. Wow.

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-03-25
Reviewid: 75847Chapter: 1
Whoa..... did he try and leave Heaven or something? At least, that's where I assume they were.....

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75825Chapter: 1
This is really good and very depressing

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75821Chapter: 1
Wow. This is...I can't really say "realistic" or even "plausible" but it just...feels right. For Sirius, for Lily.

I'd like to think that Lily can convince him, one of these days...she at least has the time to do it.

Great job!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75781Chapter: 1
I had a dream this weekend about my own death, and not to scare you, but it was similar to this story! I find that you really did well capturing the surreal atmosphere and the confusion about where he was. The emotions were great. Lily was well-written and Sirius was too! Thanks for a great story.

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75734Chapter: 1
Wow. I don't know where to start. First, wonderfully written story. The imagery and dialogue were perfect. I loved that it was Lily there to escort him and I cried when Lily confessed that she couldn't move on because she thought she heard Harry crying for her. For a mother, that would truly be Hell. Or perhaps, Purgatory. Spiritually speaking, that was the sense I got from this story. Purgatory being a place in between Earth and Heaven where you are until your soul is ready to move on.

In another way, Sirius barreling through the veil almost represents the reader's inability to accept his death. We keep pushing him back through the veil, but can't really come up with a plausible way for him to fall all the way back, so he keeps ending up in the same place.

Wonderful story. Thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75704Chapter: 1
This is an amazingly powerful piece! you ended it just right, too. Way to go, Chary!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75667Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. Marvellous. Is there going to be a continuation of any sort? This was just wonderful suspense and characterization. Lily and Sirius are both perfect, and I like how all the dialogue isn't sappy and all, well, happy as most authors see Sirius's time beyond the veil. This is much more realistic. Good job!

-Linnet

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75661Chapter: 1
Well, this was just marvelous!! *wipes eyes*

Your Sirius is (frustratingly, and at the same time beautifully) in character. Oh, why doesn't he LISTEN to anybody? Sigh.

I love the concepts you explore here about what lies beyond the veil. The interaction between Sirius & Lily is wonderful. It really feels like a suspension of reality that works on a number of different levels.

A beautiful story...thanks for sharing it!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75641Chapter: 1
That was so good on so, so many levels.

I don't know if it was on purpose or not, but I like how it reminded me of Lewis's "The Final Battle" with that ethereal sense of eternity being very close and very far away all at once, with all times existing at the same time, etc. And it also reminded me of his first Narnia book "The Magician's Nephew" and that in-between place where the characters sleepily wanted to stay forever. And since I love how he portrayed that in the books, I love how you did something similar to that here.

But the lovely yet bittersweet twist of Sirius going through the same thing Lily did (I choked back a sob at how she thought the seagulls where Harry crying) going through their guilt and accepting where they are at.

How you captured the mysterious afterlife was very believable. I can really see JKR writing an afterlife like this. Well done, Chary!

Reviewer: kinderjediDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75624Chapter: 1
Beautiful. I was teary by the end. Excellent characterization.

Reviewer: Sunny DayleeDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75612Chapter: 1
(grumbles in frustration) What an ending...

And for a second there, I'd though Sirius would stop being so bloody stubborn and would accept things. A well written piece. I can't even say what I want to say. The feelings of the story and...yeah, I can't put it in words.

Thank you muchly for the story. Even though I'm still in denial about the whole thing, it kinda helped a little to see that Sirius was, too (though now I'm all depressed).

Reviewer: aurendelDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75594Chapter: 1
Chary,

I love your new story. Your Sirius seems perfectly in-character: a combination of loyalty and recklessness that blinds him to any self-knowledge.

That said, I must make my requisite whine for you to continue Beloved on This Earth. I've read several wonderful Snape/OC romances, but honestly, yours is my favorite (even with such formidable competition as RJ Anderson's Darkness and Light or Aashby's Brave New World, both excellent--and FINISHED. OK, subtlety is not my stong point.). Yours is the only fic I daydream about how it will go on. And I've been mentally trying to resolve it for . . . oh, about a year. Devotedly.

The new story is a very good sign that you're still writing HP fanfic, and gives me hope for more Lois! :-)

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75558Chapter: 1
Greeeeeat. You know what they(the powers-that-be) should do? They should have Phineas come and yell at him! They should have Phineas really read him the riot act. Or else help him go back through the veil properly, if it's at all possible... yeah, I bet I'd be sitting about in No-Man's-Land for awhile too.

Reviewer: ellieDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75545Chapter: 1
Very nicely done :D

I am very impressed.

Reviewer: PackismithDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75542Chapter: 1
When I read histories as good as yours ,I wonder JKR will get a really hard work to figure out Sirius' character on books 6-7 and once ( again) surprising us. JKR gave us a character so alive, so vivid ...

Thanks, I enjoyed reading you.

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75537Chapter: 1
This. Is. Brilliant.

keep writing

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75529Chapter: 1
Oh, oh no, Sirius!

(OK, that was me talking out loud when I read the end.)

This is heart-wrenching and so very plausible. Sirius' brash certainty; his and Lily's shared guilt; his realization that Harry means more to him now than Lily (and by connection, James) does.

This line is wonderful
"His quick mind was turning over all the information he held, sifting through the images and his own disjointed thoughts since hed found himself here, waiting for the satisfying "click" of the pieces as they slotted themselves into place."
He just won't give up, give in, even if it does him no good. And Lily with the seagulls...I can't even imagine the anguish.

Did I mention the beautifully wrought imagery, particularly the laundered sheets?

Definitely something I'll have to read more than once...or twice...(all summer).
Thanks.

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75527Chapter: 1
Ohh, this is sad, but...well, I want to say 'realistic', but that's kind of hard to say, isn't it? It's very well thought out, your ideas are quite good. Amazing writing!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75509Chapter: 1
Amazing. I love the fact that Lily comes back for Sirius, and that she shares the bond of guilt over abandoning Harry with him. Truly, truly a wonderful piece of work. Bravo!

Reviewer: KarlieDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75505Chapter: 1
Beautifully written!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75501Chapter: 1
Most impressive!

Catherine

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75480Chapter: 1
Oh dear.

Again and again -- I wonder how long. I wonder how long it took Lily; I suspected when she first mentioned "someone" thinking the seagulls were a baby crying if she meant herself....

You do an amazing job with the memories and the surrealness, the shifting timeframe....

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --