The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Parting of Ways
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Dotty_darlaDate: 2006-01-29
Reviewid: 139010Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed that! Admittedly, I got confused at the first part because it didn't say where the Blacks where until Bellatrix said that they'd might miss the train. Other that, I liked it. I especially liked the line: the boy Snivellus (that could not be his name, could it?) Lol!

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-09
Reviewid: 113269Chapter: 1
A Very Good Story

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85510Chapter: 1
I liked that. Regulus didnít seem bratty (yet) but sorta sweet and innocent. I loved the descriptions of Narcissa and Bellatrix, and Sirius and James were very well characterized.

Reviewer: JosieDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84820Chapter: 1
Ooh. Wow. That was really good, you really got the personalities of Regulus and Sirius as children/teenagers. I just... wow. Coherent speech seems to have left me. You should take that as a compliment. :)

Reviewer: CarlieDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84810Chapter: 1
Wow, amazing first chapter. It was very powerful. I like your take on Regulus and that he wanted to side more with his brother then his parents. I liked that quote "he didn't want to replace Sirius for them". And I think that is the way Mr. and Mrs. Black say Regulus as (a replacement), their eldest child, their heir turned out to be a complete dissapointment, so no way were they going to allow their second son to mess up the family name for them. I like your portrayal of Sirius through Regulus's eyes as well.

Reviewer: S. WormtongueDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84669Chapter: 1
Wow, that's really powerful! You gave a really nice potrayal of Bellatrix (everyone else, too, but mostly her).

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76216Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Your portrayal of Regulus, Sirius, and their dynamics were spot-on!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: RivDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75915Chapter: 1
oh my god.... its sad but like cool but like....wow.... powerful story... i really liked it. Like the bit at the beginning where he just wanted them to stop, and the conversation he had with the hat......it's sad......... Thanks ...it was great

Reviewer: Olive HornbyDate: 2004-03-25
Reviewid: 75866Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story. I can easily see Sirius picking on his little brother, and Regulus being confused and uncertain without the same kind of tight-knit group of friends that Sirius had. The way Regulus's cousins draw the Slytherins to group around Regulus and try to pull him in is very suggestive of how Voldemort and the Death Eaters probably recruited him (and others) later. You can tell that Bellatrix and Narcissa aren't necessarily concerned for him personally, but are simply taking advantage of the opportunity Sirius opens up by rejecting Regulus. Nicely done.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75836Chapter: 1
Very nice - perceptive, full of foreshadowing and I loved the way you slipped into Regulus's mind. It's even more tragic, considering what happened to him.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75815Chapter: 1
Wow. You've really captured the Blacks we know - Sirius, Narcissa, Bellatrix. I can just see this happening at the station.

I like your take on the Black we don't know, too. I like your Regulus a lot, and feel sorry knowing what's going to happen to him.

Great job!

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75705Chapter: 1
Good idea, but all I would say is a bit less cursing as it weighs down the story considerably, and maybe the confrontation scene should have been more anger and rage and less insults...just some ideas!
-Ginny

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75679Chapter: 1
A very well-written story Ė and a surprising, original take on Regulusís character, the brother of whom we know so little. Itís so easy to imagine him as rotten to the core the way all Slytherins allegedly are, right from the start Ė but I get the feeling that your Regulus is much more *real* than that. I find it very believable that he didn't side with his parents against Sirius, at least not at first. Given what we know happened to him later, itís almost heart-breaking to see him so determined to be the one Slytherin that can make a difference, torn between his brother and the rest of the family and their expectations. The way he refuses to take sides, not knowing (unlike us) that he will fail miserably, and the way Sirius is as much to blame for that failure as the evil cousins and their friends are. If Sirius had not left him behind on the station platform, if heíd just taken him along to the Gryffindor compartmentsÖ it almost makes Regulus a tragic character Ė which is a way Iíve never thought of him before. Thanks for expanding my horizons!

Jolie

Reviewer: ktidDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75640Chapter: 1
*koll*AWESOME dude

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75589Chapter: 1
Marvelous...I love young Regulus. It's sweet and sad at the same time, how he wants to change Sirius's mind about Slytherins....wonderful work! I hope to see more from you.
-Linnet

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75569Chapter: 1
That was a very powerful fic and most likely an accurate portrayl of Regulus. Excellent job!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75565Chapter: 1
I've always thought Regulus probably looked up to Sirius, despite their parents hating Sirius. Little kids don't listen to mean grown-ups if they've got a big brother who's everything you'd look up to. Smart and handsome and witty and popular. And unlikely to get terrified if the Hat seems to be flirting with him!

Reviewer: ArtemisDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75562Chapter: 1
Wow...*long pause*

I thought for a long time after I finished reading this...I love fics that make me think. I don't even know where to start. This is...powerful. You've done a brilliant job with Regulus; I could sympathize with him instantly. 'Twas sooooooo dreadfully sad that Sirius told him to "piss off." The thought process that went through Regulus' head during the sorting was incredible. What a fantastic ambition - that is truly genius, what you developed there. My favorite line was:

<<And that is a very brave desire, to change minds that donít want to be changed.>>

You also dropped a subtle hint as to what house he would be sorted into, you mentioned something about his ambition. I love the little nuances like that.
Some things that I wasn't too sure of, I'm undecided on these issues:
- how you truncated all their names, that is: Cissa, Meda, Reg, etc. Usually, I'm not too fond of things like that, but I think it might actually work in your fic.
- the language. I was a bit taken aback since you jumped right in with some harsh language. Again, even though at most times this wouldn't work, something about your fic made it okay. This situation and environment was right, it seemed.

I just have to say it again: I loved how you developed his thoughts in the sorting. That was just purely brilliant.

Cheers and thanks,
Artemis

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --