The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Ludlow Fair
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-08
Reviewid: 119012Chapter: 1
Quite well done.

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83599Chapter: 1
I loved the story - the words were great, and the flow of events was brilliant. I feel so sorry for James and Lily..

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78752Chapter: 1
"The Beautiful People." My God, that's brilliant. Absolutely perfect.

Reviewer: ClarryDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78711Chapter: 1
Wow! I really enjoyed that, I love the wya you managed to make it dark and the different angle on Lily and James' replationship. It was all really orginal!

Reviewer: KagomeDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76280Chapter: 1
A great read as always.

I don't know why, but every time I read this fic it seems different ... maybe it really is? I recognized this story only when I read the James/Lily's speech about having the child and James asking Lily if she was sure the child was his (groar ... if I were in Lily's shoes I'd just decide the child to be a fatherless one _)

Anyway, this time as the other time I've read it, this fic is wonderful. Greatly written, the characters are perfectly shown, shaped and built, the poem fits perfectly and gives a certain "flavour" to the narration. Today as always, great job!

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76183Chapter: 1
Brilliant, brilliant. Really added a different perspective of the Marauders to me...loved how you worked in all their new jobs. Snape coming in at the end...wow. That was just...wow. Lily and James having problems, also worked very well. Loved how Dumbledore ends it right there...I would have also liked a prequel, though...what exactly did James do to Voldemort?

The emotions capture the times perfectly; the distract recklessness of the midst of a war, wanting to fight yet unable to, and all of these under issues that arrive.

Aerin

Reviewer: ArtemisDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76143Chapter: 1
This is so interesting. The first thing that struck me was this wonderfully new setting that you've set up - it was so romantic, and interweaving that wonderful poem...brilliant.

As everyone has mentioned before...what a wonderful Snape you've created. Your protrayal of him as "the shadow" really took me by surprise. Such a pleasant twist to the plot.

Sirius, Civil Engineer Extraordinaire - excellent. Again, as people have already said, you have a wonderfully realistic take on Sirius' character and it was breathtaking.

I loved this one line immensely...so wonderfully written. So much information packed into those incredibly words - it was beautiful.

<<The Minister for Magic herself was there, dancing with Richard Wilkes, and laughing at the pro-Muggle propaganda that was being circulated. The Aurors skulked about outside, watching from any angle, seeing their favourite fish getting fatter, while evading all the hooks.>>

It was interesting how your referred to the Malfoys and the Lestranges as "Beautiful People." I wasn't exactly sure why you did so, but I thought it was curious.

This was a simple idea, conveyed in a wonderfully bew way - fantastic:

<<He had tried to extend olive branches towards the rest of her family, but her sister refused to have anything to do with him, refusing all invitations to visit him.>>

All in all, you're a fresh writer, with a mind for new and interesting ideas that you can so easily weave into complex and beautiful writing. This was a wonderful read - thank you.

Artemis

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76124Chapter: 1
I'll echo Ozma: it is lovely to see a fresh approach to Sirius after school; he is usually, endlessly an Auror or in MLES. I can really see him as a civil engineer, and the creation of the Ferris wheel, just because they could, is so like every engineer I have ever known. Your portrayal of Snape is likewise beautifully nuanced, as is his contempt for anything he percieves of as not being "responsible" or produtive enough--on his terms. Your James and Lily are also beautifully drawn.

Characterization aside, I enjoyed very much your take on the Wizarding world. Nice work!

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76120Chapter: 1
What a great concept. There are a few things that really strike me: your characterization of Snape, for one, is excellent, and I find it extremely interesting that Remus is so quiet here. There's a bit of abruptness to the flow, but abrupt things happen so in a way it's fitting.

There's a pretty successful interweaving of things from canon and things from fandom, and I like the hints of things left unexplained (like what happened on the Hogwarts Express). Those little touches are what leave me thinking about a story long after it's been read and digested.

The idea of Sirius as a sort of civil engineer tickles me, and Peter's professional choice fits in so well with what could have happened later. Nicely done.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76119Chapter: 1
I just read this at FA, I believe--I squealed when I saw it here. I LOVE this story. Really original ideam, and the tone is so Marauder-ish that you just have to believe it could have happened.

-Linnet

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76073Chapter: 1
Your portrayals of James and Lily were especially realistic and complex. I've never seen Harry's conception approached as an accident before; this was brilliant.

I also very much enjoyed your Snape, both as the sucessful young Apothecary, and Lily's Shadow.

Your Sirius was also a treat. This wonderful line of yours sums up what I liked about the way you wrote him: "The undisputed leader of his year, he was now at the bottom of a long ladder, and enjoying the climb immensely." It's lovely to see a post-Hogwarts Sirius who's neither overly reckless nor childish.

Great handling of Peter and Remus too. It's realistic that the four of them wouldn't stay in such close touch after school. Having Remus drift out of touch with the seems to fit well with what we know happened.

Your descriptions of the fair being set up, and the later devastation and all the bodies were both very evocative. Another fine description of the "Beautiful People" dancing while the Aurors watched: "The Minister for Magic herself was there, dancing with Richard Wilkes, and laughing at the pro-Muggle propaganda that was being circulated. The Aurors skulked about outside, watching from any angle, seeing their favourite fish getting fatter, while evading all the hooks."

Poor Jane Weasley. Her closeness to Percy was described beautifully and it's impossible not to imagine the powerful effect her loss is going to have on him.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --