The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Quod Timet
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: sageDate: 2005-12-14
Reviewid: 137147Chapter: 1
I liked this - fics that aren't afraid to make Hermione accurately
scary / determined are hard to find. She's the one the Sorting Hat
should have had trouble placing (IMO). She makes Harry look about as
*ambitious* as a flobberworm and she's not exactly thick is she...

I don't agree that the way Ron simply and straightforwardly overrode
Hermione's ranting by saying 'I love you' seemed 'completely fake' as
one reviewer put it. He's going to have to say it one day after all
and why not in the middle of one of their blazing arguments if it fits
the internal logic of the story? It's their default way of
communicating right up until the point in HBP where Ron dumps Lavendar
and it's unlikely to completely stop even after they've finally wised
up. Ron is bright, perceptive, hot-tempered and often shows better
judgement than Harry, for example, just like Hermione, so once he
knows he's not risking being laughed at, it's not all that OOC to
imagine that he might just come out with it. I've always felt that Ron
is acutely aware of exactly how strong his feelings are for Hermione,
dating from the Yule Brawl, he's just not going to risk admitting it
to anyone else (even Harry) without evidence that Hermione isn't going
to stomp all over his heart. The central way in which Ron differs
significantly from Hermione is that throughout the series he has
behaved like a typically laid back lazy teenage boy when it comes to
his studies, as opposed to Hermione's equally typical 'good girl'
behaviour, a dynamic which you have evoked really well in this story. They are actually pretty similar in all other respects
(brains, bravery, judgement, exemplary dealing with CAPSLOCK!Harry etc
etc), except of course that Ron with his 6 siblings is both more
light-hearted and tougher than kindlier, oversensitive 'only child'
Hermione. This complementarity of personality, which goes a lot
further than just being Harry's sidekicks, is, of course what makes
them row so often, and produces the sexual tension, which you have also
drawn beautifully in this story!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-07
Reviewid: 136850Chapter: 1
Brilliant

Reviewer: Deadly_SecretsDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128580Chapter: 1
OMG, this was soo cute!! I love it so much!! You did a great job with the characters, and Luna was interesting. Awesome work =)

Reviewer: CatwomanDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112491Chapter: 1
Ooh...Hermione & Luna catfight! I can hear the hissing now...

Reviewer: DazzleBoxDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98417Chapter: 1
Poor Ernie! It was Ernie's second fall that broke me, and I had to laugh and laugh. Brilliant!

Reviewer: pearlsDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98087Chapter: 1
an ok story...like the fact that Luna pushes Hermione to take over;)

Reviewer: >>Date: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93544Chapter: 1
brilliant, very cute and extremely sweet! especially loved the beginning and the middle where harry makes so many parallels in hermione's speech about luna to ron's one about viktor. ((:

Reviewer: odd ballDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88954Chapter: 1
that was brill!! i luved it!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86376Chapter: 1
Luna pushing Hermione over the edge, what a nice idea :)
Good writing, too.

Reviewer: ValDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83743Chapter: 1
That was very good. Quite amusing, but poor Ernie! *grin*

Reviewer: fantasylover12001Date: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81457Chapter: 1
Very cute fic. ;snickers; Poor Ernie though...

Reviewer: BeeDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77798Chapter: 1
Yaaay! I loved this story! So cute and funny, and not in the least bit vomit-inducing, which is a rarity in the world of R/H fluff. ;) Great job. :)

Reviewer: AmberelDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76285Chapter: 1
lol! :) What a fun story! I'm not sure if I'll be able to read Ernie's name again without grinning - poor Ernie!

I thought Hermione's reaction was great, and I enjoyed Ron remembering the Vicky argument while she ranted. I do think Ron was rather ooc when he confessed how he felt to Hermione, but as you said 'every fangirl has to be allowed her dreams.' So I forgive you for 'sensitive sweater man Ron'. :)

Looking forward to your future work..

~amb

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76255Chapter: 1
Very sweet! *sigh* if only guys would really be so romantic. :-)

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76226Chapter: 1
Completely fake how Ron just told Hermione that he loves her. Utterly fake.

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76219Chapter: 1
Poor Ernie.

That's all I can say.

The rest of this is simply classic. :)

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76191Chapter: 1
Wow, this was so adorable... yes, Ron did seem a bit forward, but it was a wonderfully fluffy fic in the long run, I can tell you worked hard on it. Kudos to you!

Reviewer: myfDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76173Chapter: 1
Hee - this was sweet. They're so frustrating, the both of them.

<i>She was clearly going to remain unperturbed if it killed her.</i>
I love this line! So perfectly Hermione!

One Britpick (perhaps): cream in her coffee? Milk, surely. I'm happy to be totally wrong, though.

Hope Harry's allergies clear up. :)

Thanks!

Reviewer: whizbeeDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76160Chapter: 1
Aww, this was a cute story. You do r/h ver well, although I thought the end was maybe a *little bit* rushed. Altogether, it was very good.

But poor Ernie...

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76156Chapter: 1
That was very cute, and I snorted a few times myself! Good job!

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76123Chapter: 1
That was such a great fic!!!

I loved jealous Hermione and the whole scene with Ernie was brilliant!! Ron being torn between two wome, you can just imagine how dumb-struck he would be by Luna and Hermione fighting over him, lol!

It was really, really good and I'm sorry that it was just a one-parter.

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76106Chapter: 1
Simply loved it! I laughed so hard. Wonderful characterizations. I can see Hermione acting just like this. I liked the way Harry reacted.

Reviewer: Sugar ThiefDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76101Chapter: 1
Awwww cute! I love your writing. The hangman's noose is classic.

Reviewer: PaulineDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76068Chapter: 1
*snerk!* Poor Ernie!

Like Ginny, I too have wondered about Ms Lovegood's intentions. This is exactly the sort of wake-up call Hermione needed, and you told the tale wonderfully. I loved Ron's internal voices recalling all the R/Hr/Vicky brawls of the past. I'm not sure that I'm ready for sensitive-new-age-Ron yet, but I guess we can all dream, can't we? :)

Reviewer: lindsayDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76059Chapter: 1
i reallyenjoyed that, and sensitive ron could hapen, maybe..poor ernie! it was cute.

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76045Chapter: 1
first one!....anyways this was very cute even though i don't think ron would be that forward but it worked all the same. poor ernie..haha

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --