The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Afterwards
Review(s): 142

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145127Chapter: 1
I'm crying. real tears. that was beautiful, you have such an amazing talent for these, I wish someone would record them!

Reviewer: ZaniidorDate: 2006-02-07
Reviewid: 139483Chapter: 1
I love this musical, and it's obvious that you've put a lot of thought into it--especially the differing musical styles (i.e., the songs don't all sound the same, nor are they borrowed from other sources). I can't wait for you to record some of the songs and have 'em up on MP3 or something (I do hope you plan to do this eventually).

One thing: One line doesn't make sense. "And tell THEM that I miss YOU too..." What the...? What is the sense in this line? There are a few options to correct it. "Don't forget, I miss you too" is a paltry one, but better than "tell them". "And, Sirius, I miss you too" might be okay. "And now you're gone, I miss you too" is a bit odd, but might also work. I'm sure you can come up with better options, but the main idea is that the current line reads as telling Sirius to go to James and Lily and say "By the by, Harry misses me, and he wanted me to let you know." (Repeated of course for the other two singers.)

Further, I love your lines for Lupin (although I'm not sure they hold to the original story...and they seem to have overtones that I'm not sure I'm reading right). He seems to have a lot of emotion here, and, given that I love him as a character to begin with, I can really see someone playing him, singing this, putting so much feeling into the lyrics. Amazing.

Don't give up on this! It's worth a finished product.

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-01-26
Reviewid: 138918Chapter: 1
The first time I read this - the first one of your songs I'd read - I laughed because it was so unexpected, and clever and witty. The second time - just now - I'm almost crying. Exquisite.

Reviewer: Rob Grey 03Date: 2006-01-01
Reviewid: 137861Chapter: 1
I just happened to come across your name in the Forums somewhere, and after finishing with "God Rest Ye, Merry Hippogriffs" in the Great Hall, and Sirius' last post there, I came to this, and... I just cried, it was so perfectly sorrowful - I didn't cry this much for Sirius in the books, or even for Dumbledore, but somehow Sirius' posts in the Great Hall, especially his last one, and then this... *Still weeping*
This really brought home Sirius' loss for me.
Thankyou for such a pristinely sorrowful piece.

Reviewer: NatalieDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133854Chapter: 1
Awwwww!! I love it!!! Brilliant!! Keep it up!!

Reviewer: ChristinaDate: 2005-10-05
Reviewid: 133786Chapter: 1
Oh wow, this made me cry! You have amazing talent, incase you haven't been told (which I'm sure you have). I need a tissue...

Reviewer: you-know-whoDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133418Chapter: 1
Wow....that's really...wow.
Ever since I read Ootp I thought about what life might be like for Sirius, but it never occured to me that he might mee James and Lily to tell them about present-day Harry. This song is so sad, it made me cry. Hogwarts the Musical is a really good idea though, I hope you put all the songs together for the whole thing soon.

Reviewer: hannahDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133370Chapter: 1
Damn you, you make me cry hard.

Reviewer: GraceDate: 2005-07-18
Reviewid: 127373Chapter: 1
(sobbing)
THIS IS INCREDIBLE!!!!!

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126196Chapter: 1
I must have read this about 87 times, but I've never reviewed, and I can't believe it. I *love* this song. It's so sad! And I've heard you singing it, which just makes it rather sadder. It's pretty, too. :) I love it, and thank you!

Reviewer: VishalDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124383Chapter: 1
Wonderful songfic. Did bring tears to my eyes.

Reviewer: JulietteDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120517Chapter: 1
Wow. You are brilliant! I cried really hard and then forced myself to bookmark this. Afterwards is so sweet and sad. *Cries again*

Reviewer: BramDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116193Chapter: 1
your stuff is wonderfull! I want to see all of it played out! I might even like it more than the movie, for some reason it seems more, hmm, real? thankyou for sharing this with us!

Reviewer: Ravenclaw_DudeDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115907Chapter: 1
This is one of the best things I have EVER read. You've really captured Harry, Remus and Dumbledore's emotions. I was a bit wary of reading this at first, due to the effects Book 5 had on me, but I'm glad I did.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113518Chapter: 1
Oh...wow. I think this was you're last one on your author's list, so that usually means that this one would be the oldest. If this is one of the first that you wrote, then...wow. My hat is off. Even if this isn't your first, it is amazing. I started to cry, and I generally can't cry over fanfic. It was just so great. I especially loved Lupin's chorus: Tell Lily how he looks like James/Except he has her eyes...Damn you, for being dead. I can really picture these characters thinking this stuff, hell, they probably are...damn, there I go, talking like they're real again :P. Anyway, awesome, and I'm sorry I haven't read this before.

Reviewer: dannyDate: 2005-02-08
Reviewid: 113213Chapter: 1
your poeams are shit if i were you i'd go kill myself
p.s please go out with me
btw this is a joke

Reviewer: JamesDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 109966Chapter: 1
This is really, really sweet. It made mee cry, and I'm, only addmitting that because it really did. I really think this is sweet.

Reviewer: MarieDate: 2004-12-15
Reviewid: 107773Chapter: 1
Very very beautiful!!!

Reviewer: katulaDate: 2004-12-11
Reviewid: 107546Chapter: 1
Really Beautiful. I wish I could hear the music!

Reviewer: SaritaDate: 2004-12-09
Reviewid: 107344Chapter: 1
I've really enjoyed reading all of your songs and your prose fic, but this is the one that got to me the most emotionally. It's simple but incredibly touching- it even made me cry a bit, and I'm not what you'd call a watering pot. All of your lyrics are really well done, though, and I'd be thrilled if you could get them set to music :)
Keep up all the good work!

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106727Chapter: 1
I have only just recently worked up the courage to begin reading fanfic again, after the effects book 5 had upon me. However reading this, I cried again. This is the most beautiful heart breaking lament that truely deserves to be set to song and played. Thank you.

Reviewer: BrielleDate: 2004-11-09
Reviewid: 104028Chapter: 1
I have this song stuck in my head! I keep breaking out in Dumbledore's verse in very inappropriate places! Aaargh!

Reviewer: AllyDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101733Chapter: 1
I like this section of the musical the best - Lupin's part is especially touching.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101576Chapter: 1
Ooh, I just finished reading all the songs and am very impressed. In "Afterward", I especially like Lupin's part; the "damn you, for being dead" is poignant in its realism and gives the song a bit of an edge.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99745Chapter: 1
I'm in tears. Oh, my, God. I read this on a recommendation from Jo Wickannish on the review challenge thread. And I can't say I've ever been more moved.
Tell my mum I remember her
Tell Dad I know his voice
Tell them I don't cause much trouble
Unless I have no choice.

-that part kills me.... and what a perfect trio to reflect the loss of sirius. Well done!!!

Reviewer: FyliwionDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99407Chapter: 1
I'm not a big reader of Sugar Quill.. mind you I hear alot about it but rarely do I have time to go. So when I was told about a musical for Hogwarts I'm going... mmmm... and when I heard it was sad.. I was going.. too much angst.. But I read it, because.. it seemed intresting. And I'll tell ya this... looking at your last one made me cry. I mean I'm going through it and I'm like... ai! I've got to go reread the series.. again! I usually glance over in HP poetry or songs or anything... but oiy.. that ones just absolutly beautiful.. and you do really really well at writing. *applauds* I hope you keep writing this, because its a beau.

Reviewer: SIDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99406Chapter: 1
This is...beautiful. Nearly made me cry...if you ever get the music or a recording of this posted somewhere, you must let us know. I'm enthralled by all the songs you have posted here; if this musical is published I'll be lining up to see it! Brilliant work!

Reviewer: silverstagDate: 2004-09-24
Reviewid: 99250Chapter: 1
wow, you caught me crying. That was so beautiful and sad... HOW DO YOU DO IT?!?

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99022Chapter: 1
WHY are you not on the Professor's Bookshelf? And WHY aren't you doing this for a living yet? You're depriving the world of great, great poetry, woman...

Reviewer: JuleDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98299Chapter: 1
That was really good,but also really meaningful.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97848Chapter: 1
Ooh, I have read all of your songs now, at the least the ones you have posted on the quill, and this is my favorite. The others were amazing as well, but this one really hits home.

I hope your musical makes Broadway one day, I'll make a special trip up north to see it opening night, lol.

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97845Chapter: 1
This one is definately my favorite, but I've read them all. I really hope you manage to find someone to transcribe the music for you. Will there be dialogue as well or is this more of an operatic story? I'd be excited to see some of the scenes the lead into the songs.

Reviewer: Purple Eyed WeasleyDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97820Chapter: 1
this was absolutely beautiful. fantastic job. u really should write out how the tune goes, i would love to be able to sing all of these songs.

Reviewer: AristotleDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97804Chapter: 1
Wow. What a great song! It's so sad, I'm misty-eyed. But then, when I read 'Damn you, for being dead.', I cracked up...

I can almost hear a tune in my head, and I hummed along with it. But I severly doubt that it was the same as yours. ^^

Reviewer: FrazilDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97747Chapter: 1
I've overlooked your songs many time before ("Ick, songfics!"), but I persuaded myself to sit down and read "Think, Harry!" today. Then I read the next one. Then the next one.... And it was definitely a case of saving the best till last (but the other songs still ROX!). To me, you've got the pain of Sirius' death across better than OotP did, and I can't say much more than that - except by repeating the three words that half the reviewers have already used:
"beautiful", "poignant" and "wow".

Reviewer: ryorrowDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97660Chapter: 1
Each part makes me so emotional. You have really captured the feelings. Excellent work.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96521Chapter: 1
Wow! It was so good! and I almost cried...again. It's so sad!! I love it!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95987Chapter: 1
This is amazing, very touching.
Thanks.

Reviewer: GryffleraverinDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95454Chapter: 1
That was beautiful! I have tears in my eyes....
I like that you seem to put serious thought into your songs; they're well thought out and in-character. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94751Chapter: 1
You just know exactly which buttons to push, don't you? To make me sad, I mean. I think I liked Remus' bit best--but Harry's is a close second. Not that I disliked Dumbledore's. :) Oh, heck, I loved it all. Bellissimo!

Reviewer: MeaghanDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94099Chapter: 1
... these songs are fabulous. You should seriously consider making "Hogwarts, A musical". I think if would be histerical. like pick one of the books like the 5th and turn it into a musical. like write it in play format. that would be so great. id read it! you seriuosly should!

Reviewer: AmorinaDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93986Chapter: 1
Wow!! That was amazing!! It was sooo beautiful it made me cry!! You are an amazing writer.. I hope to hear a song of yours out in the real world some day! Your style and rhyming patterns were very efficient and the words were soo powerful!!

Reviewer: AnnabelDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93978Chapter: 1
I want so badly to hear this sung . . . if there is ever a Harry Potter musical, this *must* be in there. Thank you for this . . . obviously, by the throngs of people that have reviewed, this is beyond remarkable. To sound redundant, I'm sure, you are a truly gifted poet.

Reviewer: RedDate: 2004-07-25
Reviewid: 93930Chapter: 1
Lots of things to comment on here
So many things come out and shine
You should not have any fear
You're doing just fine!

Not great eh? Very good though, well done the line "And tell them that I miss you too..." Is the link that turns this poem from good to great.

Well done!

Reviewer: TrishDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93790Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Nearly made me cry.

Reviewer: GemDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93723Chapter: 1
WOW. That was incredibly moving. I really wish that there was a way to play the tune along with it. Im somewhat of a music nut myself...so when you finish "Hogwarts, the Musical" and it becomes a smash hit on Broadway, I will be extremely excited!!! What a classic it would be. You have some real talent here. waiting with anticipation

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93673Chapter: 1
You made my chin shrivel (My chin does that when I'm on the verge of tears) I really felt for them. You know that feeling when you feel really empty but at the same time full of sadness. That's what I got reading this. I feel so bad for all three of the. Especially Lupin, he must be so lonely. We need to get him a girl (Get's books to find suitable single lady)

This was wonderful

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93595Chapter: 1
I absoulutly HATE songy poem things. I can not stand them.
But, I LOVE this one. It is so, so, so, so good! My favorite bit is the Lupin chorus, where they sing, "Damn you, for being dead."
I love love love love love it! The whole thing just flowed so easily, not the a lot of the others which are kind of choppy.
Great accomplishment.

Reviewer: green meanieDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93583Chapter: 1
that was really beautiful. i think this my favorite of your poems. it really captures how i imagined what they would probably say. you have a definite way with words.

Reviewer: ~Pheonix~I know I spelled that wrongDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93580Chapter: 1
that is really good. you should be a composer if you can do all this! im not much of a music-maker. i can PLAY, just not MAKE UP songs.

~Pheonix~I know I spelled that wrong

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92427Chapter: 1
Y'know...I've read thousands and thousands of fics, and this is the one that's come closest to making me cry.

Favourite bit:
'But you were like a comet
That blazes bright and free
Trailing flame and glory before
Plunging to the sea.'

:(

'

Reviewer: EmeraDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91901Chapter: 1
It made me cry a bit. Thank you.

Reviewer: Kim K.Date: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91886Chapter: 1
Wow. I've read all three of your songs.... they're fantastic. you need to learn to read and write music so that you can sing them... you're realy good. really.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91802Chapter: 1
Sniff! I love how you used three people who had all loved Lilly and James as well as Sirius. Harry saying " I don't cuase much trouble" is so in character, him wanting to please and protect everyone.That was the bit that pushed me over the edge into snifflesville. Lovely

Reviewer: kathyDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91775Chapter: 1
wow. wow.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91700Chapter: 1
I've read this before, but I'd forgotten it. This. Is. Amazing. Spot on. Perfect. I love this. It made me cry the last time I read it, and it definitely made me cry again. You have a wonderful gift. Keep it up, this is my favorite song-fic.

Reviewer: Gypsy GirlDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91596Chapter: 1
wow... that made everything so... real. i really don't know how else to describe it. i remember my friend crying when sirius died, and i remember thinking, "at least it wasn't ron."

but now, i read this, and it hits me. this was beautiful... it brought tears to my eyes.

please, sirius... come back through that veil!

Reviewer: SevenDiamondsDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91400Chapter: 1
Very nice. It's rather difficult to really review a song. It's obvious you put some effort into it, and despite the lack of music to hear, the lyrics still convey the powerful raw emotions that form the foundation of the song.

Good job. (If you'd like any of my criticisms of the song itself, feel free to send me a personal message via the message board :)

Reviewer: cryingDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91320Chapter: 1
i love it!!! it made me cry but could you end it like they all say "Damn you, for being dead" i wish i was too?

Reviewer: BunniDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91314Chapter: 1
I'm crying like a orphaned toddler.. I started crying during Harry's first part and kept getting heavier as I read on.. this is very good.. very emotional.

Reviewer: big daveDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91267Chapter: 1
wow,
i don't usually like poetry, but yours is really great.

Reviewer: DeeDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89093Chapter: 1
*sniff* This is so touching! My eyes are tearing up right now. Oh! You are good!

*rushes for her Kleenex*

Reviewer: Nohwrah B.Date: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88890Chapter: 1
oh god... I really really don't want to cry, but you have left me no choice. That sent a chill through my spine, that has. I love this- Harry's chorus is... wow. It's amazing...
Thank you for writing this, you really are a very good poet. It isn't forced to rhyme. It just looks as if you wrote it and that just coincidentally happened..
Wow.. and auw... I think you broke my heart...

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86082Chapter: 1
Wow, this is so powerful and sad. Do you have a melody for it?

Reviewer: Too_Many_SoxDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85853Chapter: 1
OMG you are now officially my favorite SQ author. I came back to read this one after reading your new one's reviews mentioning it and you are just an amazing writer. You picture all the characters exactly the same way I do. I loved how Harry's, Dumbledore's, and Lupin's part were all individually them, but together they give the same message. And it's touching to see these three different people with different roles in life and in the war but they're all really concerned about how Harry will be affected. It just shows the connection of all the people (living and dead) who are watching over Harry and who consider him so precious.

Reviewer: caliDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84621Chapter: 1
o gosh that was sooooooooooooo good, it was tounching to its like one of those stories in Angst but in poem i like harry's verses the best very touching

Reviewer: AddisonDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84533Chapter: 1
O, wow.

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84453Chapter: 1
*sniff* I'm gonna cry!!!! *sniff* I loved "Tell Lilly that he looks like james. Except he has your eyes." and I liked Harrys first paragraph! oh hell... I Loved the whole thing!

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84314Chapter: 1
Awww... this is sooooo cute and sad at the same time. I just loved the whole entire thing! COngrats on the greatness....lol

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84311Chapter: 1
Awesome songfic! It was so good, yet so sad! AWWW!! I miss Sirius and James and Lily! You wrote this whole song? Excellent job! I loved the lyrics! It was so great!! Brilliant job!!!!! I LOVED it!

Reviewer: TiaDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84306Chapter: 1
Awww... You made me cry! I love Lupin's Chorus.. Bittersweet. Write more!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84276Chapter: 1
Wow, very very moving, very sad, very poignant. I loved it. Usually I don't read things like this, but this one was just really excellent. The format worked, somehow, but i couldn't tell you what was good about it specifically. Nicely done!

Reviewer: dianeDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84248Chapter: 1
To be quite honest this is the first thing I have read that I have given a review. Each characters chorus fits them so well and you feel for them the sorrow and grief yet acceptance also. You have managed to maintain connection to the canon and fill in a missing puzzle piece for the characters. Thanks

Reviewer: jameyzDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84247Chapter: 1
AHHHHHH!!!!!! It's so beautifull! I was clutching my cup of yogurt to my chest reciting it out loud by the end. The words flow so well and it fits so well together!

"And tell them that I miss you, too --
Damn you, for being dead."

*sob*

jameyz

Reviewer: jameyzDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84243Chapter: 1
AHHHHHH!!!!!! It's so beautifull! I was clutching my cup of yogurt to my chest reciting it out loud by the end. The words flow so well and it fits so well together!

"And tell them that I miss you, too --
Damn you, for being dead."

*sob*

jameyz

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84228Chapter: 1
Ack! How do you rhyme like that?! Its so awesome!

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84216Chapter: 1
"Tell Lily that we love him
Tell James how well he flies
Tell Lily how he looks like James
Except he has her eyes."

That brought tears to my eyes. I thought Dumbledore's line "And he's well-liked by the staff" seemed sort of comical and out of place, unless you meant for it to be comic relief.

Everything else was very nicely done. You captured the emotion very well.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84169Chapter: 1
Another good 'un. Keep it up! :)

Reviewer: ThareltsDate: 2004-05-21
Reviewid: 83871Chapter: 1
This poem/song is incredibly beautiful and immeasurably touching. It made me cry. You are a wonderful poet, Barbara the Wallpaper-er. (And yes, your name *does* rock.)

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83603Chapter: 1
This poem is so beautiful. I can't wait to read your others Barbara. It gets better everytime I read it.

Reviewer: Shi-chanDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83388Chapter: 1
That is just...beautiful. It really is.
I can't say anything else. I practically cried.

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79966Chapter: 1
****AUTHOR RESPONSE****
While I'm flattered that some of you think I ought to be on the Professor's Bookshelf, I think I'd prefer to prove myself first -- I'm no RJ Anderson, you know! (Brilliant woman -- go read her stuff! Read Erica Smith's, too! *wow*)

Anywho, many thanks to Nigella for sending people this way -- I'll always take a critique!

Thanks, everyone, for responding.

Barbara the Wallpaper-er, working on piece #2 :D

Reviewer: PravdaDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79711Chapter: 1
WHY WHY WHY are you not on the Professor's Bookshelf??? HELLO PROFESSORS, WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU??? This is so beautiful. I definitely cried. Definitely. I think the choruses are the best, but it's just so hard to decide which one made me cry harder (my measurement of which part is the best for this piece). Very well done.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79703Chapter: 1
This was beautiful. This poem was recc'd to me by Nigella, and I am so glad she pointed me here. The imagery is wonderful, and I especially found the choruses heartrending.

<<I see the Dog Star overhead and it sparkles bright and cold
When did I get so weary; when did I get so old?
My hopes and dreams have vanished
Pushed beyond the pale
But shall I see you once again
When I pass through the veil?>>

Stunning. Well done. Write more...soon!

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78389Chapter: 1
I left a comment on here earlier, but I went back and read this again, and I loved it so much, that I just HAD to ask you a question: Would you mind letting me put a link to your Sugar Quill page on my website? I'd love it if everyone I knew read this - it's so wonderful, it deserves that!!

Still in awe,
Caitlin

Reviewer: KarenDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78343Chapter: 1
wonderful..but i cried...why do we get so emotional over this fictional character and his friends?
will watch for more of your work!

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77712Chapter: 1
Oh, my goodness! I read this a few days again, and didn't review then, but instead - wait for this - I went away and tried to write a song/poem of my own! I can honestly say that I haven't attempted to write anything in verse since I was forced to at school more than twenty years ago, and this has been a wonderful experience for me - I have actually produced something I can bear to read, although it's nowhere near as good as yours! I want to thank you so much for inspiring me - I've been able to write a piece which fits into my own story but is from a different character's POV, something I've been wanting to do for ages but couldn't think how. So thank you again, and again!

I can only echo what everyone else has said: 'Afterwards' is all beautiful and wonderful (Dumbledore especially, for me), and I love your name too.

Reviewer: jo-anneDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77567Chapter: 1
simple, yet so full of emotion.

beautifully done.

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77281Chapter: 1
One story, 54 reviews (and counting, no doubt). And all that for a format (song lyrics and/or verse) more than a few people have admitted they skip past.

Well done.

Reviewer: lalaDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77252Chapter: 1
I do think this is one of the most quickest rising fics here. I'm not exactly sure how to say it. It got so many reviews in such a short time! Your name drew the people to check it out. They clicked on the link just to try a couple paragraphs or so. And they got hooked. And they were moved. And they cried. And they reviewed. Or maybe that was just me. But that's exactly what happened. This is AMAZING. It should be on the professor's bookshelf, definitely. What was you beta-reader thinking, not having put you on yet?

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77162Chapter: 1
That was really, really beautiful and very sad. Excellent job. That really got to me.

Reviewer: SierraDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 76969Chapter: 1
When it got to Dumbledore I let out a wail I loved it thank you

Reviewer: andreaDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76852Chapter: 1
this is great!

Reviewer: AmberelDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76826Chapter: 1
Okay, I admit it. I almost didn't read this when I saw it was song lyrics. But I glanced down, saw the first two lines of Harry's chorus, and had to read the entire thing. Beautiful, especially the chorus'. They just gave me shivers. I only wish I could hear the music you have to go with it. :)

~amb

Reviewer: Whispers in the Ghostly GroveDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76798Chapter: 1
I swear, I don't know if I suddenly got cold or what, but reading this made me shiver. It's so profound, so sad! Talk about putting yourself in other's shoes... I don't know if it's appropiate or not to say "congratulations on something well-written", it's too sad... I think I'll just leave it at "something well-written"... whew!

Reviewer: CrystaliaDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76792Chapter: 1
Wow... I'm usually not a poem person, but I loved it. A few lines in particular:

The sun is setting in the west
Your star rises in the east

Tell Lily that we love him
Tell James how well he flies
Tell Lily how he looks like James
Except he has her eyes.

and all of Dumbledore's 2nd verse really stood out. I don't know... they just did.
Amazing Job, beautiful. :) keep it up!

Reviewer: JanelleDate: 2004-04-01
Reviewid: 76741Chapter: 1
This was beautiful! I always knew you had talent but you've out done yourself. Great job

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-01
Reviewid: 76726Chapter: 1
Wow. That was beautiful. Very well done.

Reviewer: romeeDate: 2004-04-01
Reviewid: 76714Chapter: 1
owow I just heard a song called "going trough the motions". It's a song from buffy the vampire slayer preformed by the cast. Itīs on the album:Buffy- once more with feeling. if you sing the poem with this poem it perfectly fits :D (srry for the bad english, but I donīt know how to say it different)

Reviewer: romeeDate: 2004-04-01
Reviewid: 76713Chapter: 1
Iīm crying now!(ok just a little bit but itīs sooooo beautiful.....)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --