The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-03
Reviewid: 146348Chapter: 17
wow

Reviewer: KageDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111725Chapter: 17
I'm not sure if I got this right but...if Percy and Penny had reunion sex, doesn't that mean the twin girls are possibily Percy's daughters not George?

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101550Chapter: 17
I love this story, I really do. Speaking as a kid who got spanked (and deserved it, I'll admit)I didn't have any problem with the spankings. I feel that, as with anythiung, spanking in EXCESSE is NEVER a good thing. However, if I had ever BACKED MY MOTHER'S BRAND NEW JAGUAR over a fence and RELEASED A STAMPEDE OF COWS, well, yes, I would say i deserved to be spanked.

The only thing that bothered me , and I'm rather surprised no one has mentioned it, is the fact the Harry cheats on Ginny. It seemed very OOC. Harry is a very loyal person.I have no doubt that he would never cheat on whoever he ended up with. Moreover, it did not add to the story at all. i personally think it detracted from it.

Otherwise, great fic.

Reviewer: KojiDate: 2004-05-02
Reviewid: 81053Chapter: 1
Jeese, iv never laughed so hard great fick, carry on with the good work. lololol :d all I can say lol

Reviewer: LDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78372Chapter: 17
Great story, I'm totally addicted to it!

Reviewer: ShannonDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78365Chapter: 1
I'm glad you're enjoying the story. The relationship between Percy and the twins is a very interesting back story on sibling rivalry in the books that I find irresistably fascinating, obviously.

Percy is irritating and arrogant, and he always will be, or he wouldn't really be Percy. I try to point out that he has some good reasons to be irritating and arrogant, especially when dealing with Gred and Forge. I hope I've managed to do that.

Penny does play one against the other a bit and it's not really fair, but in her defense life hasn't been very fair to her. She's angry at the fact that she has to make a choice between two men she loves, and make no mistake in this story she *does* love them both. In very different ways, though, Percy is her soulmate, George is her heartmate. George is a better companion (essential in any good marriage) and Percy is a better lover (also essential in any good marriage)

I don't think George is second best. She chooses him to be her life mate, that makes him her first choice. It doesn't mean that she does, or that she can, stop loving Percy. Love and desire aren't like switches in the brain that can be turned off and on at will.

She does get carried away and have sex with Percy. Wrong? Maybe. Human? Definitely. I think her reaction to Percy's date is pretty reasonable. She is a little jealous, but also guilty. Percy has lost everything and has suffered a great deal while she and George have really been very happy together. She wants something really good for Percy, and she knows she can't be it for him. That puts her in the tough spot of watching him struggle through the dating game. Also, at that point in the story she is heavily pregnant, ungainly and feeling pretty unattractive. Mostly I think she's envious of any woman who moves without grunting and can still wear high heels without toppling over.

Jasper is irritating and arrogant as well, of course, because he *is* his father's son. And guess what? George loves him anyway. Ironic? You better believe it. Basically it's each brothers worst nightmare come true. Percy's stupid, irresponsible little brother is in charge of caring for the most important things in his life and he's doing a decent job of it. And George finds himself coveting, and having, the same ambitions for himself that were once his irritating older brothers. That is, he wants to be a good father and husband, do the right thing, set a good example.

That's where my inspiration for the story comes from. It's almost a "It's a Wonderful Life, Percy Weasley" thing. Life seldom does turn out the way that we plan it.

Keep in mind, too, that Percy's role at Hogwarts is Headmaster. Which is largely an administrative and leadership role. Percy excels at both things. If he does decide to teach, and he might, undoubtedly he'll be better at it than Umbridge, NotMoody and Snape.

Reviewer: thestral_unicornDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78129Chapter: 17
A lovely story so far.

Reviewer: LesaDate: 2004-04-09
Reviewid: 77853Chapter: 17
First, I apologize, this is going to be a very long review. I don't usually invest this much time in them but your story struck a chord and I wanted to respond.

This is a very impressive piece of fanfiction. I wasn't sure I wanted to start it at first. Usually I stick to R/H or H/G fics just because I have limited time to read fanfic as it is and neither Percy or the twins interested me much.

You've fleshed all the characters out very well, all their personalities feel very real. The odd thing for me was that as I read the only one I really cared for was George but I had to go to the last posted chapter despite of it.

Percy - still irritating and arrogant despite all his sufferings which in a perfect world would have made him a little more understanding.

His contempt for his parents was sad. They didn't give up on him, even though he gave up on them.

His opinion of Dumbledore and his handling of Hogworts made me cringe. It's sad to think that he's going to take over with no experience at all of teaching or handling children and put aside all the knowledge the other headmasters could share. Speaking as someone who has worked with children for 5 years (an aide in a Special Ed. class & Kindergarten PE teacher) there is a reason why a teacher has to "Student Teach" before being allowed to teach on his own. It's to learn that book smarts only get you so far and actually dealing with children is the only way to learn. I'm sensing a train wreck or maybe hoping for one.

Penelope - I still have a hard time getting a handle on her. She seems to be playing both men against the other in a very selfish way. The "I'm a mother" mindset is really blinding her to the injustice of her actions. She would resent being manipulated the way she manipulates both George and Percy. I was truly amazed that she slept with Percy when he returned. Yes, he was gone 8 years and I understand that he was her first love but it had been 8 years. She was married again and supposedly in love with her husband, maybe not the same way but she's lying to George and to herself. Her responses when she thought Percy was dating someone were ridiculous.

George - On the one hand I feel for his pain. On the other hand he knows that the only reason he was still around is because Penny wanted her children's lives to be undisrupted. He's going to have to go the rest of his life knowing that he's always second best. He doesn't deserve that but he seems content I guess.

One more thing, the spanking in the story. Didn't have a problem with it at all. Mainly because the Wizarding world operates on a whole different set of guidelines. Just like they look down on non-magical people in general, corporal punishment is considered a fact of life.

Jasper is a very arrogant child that thinks he right most of the time. Reasoning rarely works on a child like that because they are so sure that know more than you. Also, his little mistakes weren't simple writing on walls or using bad words. His mistakes were big, potentially damaging one that could have had serious consequences, which he failed to see. A problem with children in general (as well as a few adults is the inability to see the big picture.)

I'm not going to get into the whole child abuse issue. There are bad people in this world who do bad things to kids, thats a given.

Some people spank, some don't, that's the way it is. I have 2 children (14 & 10) who I swatted from time to time. I haven't done this in several years simply because nothing they have done warrants that kind of discipline. My kids aren't trouble free but their mistakes are minor, very minor compared to Jasper's.

Having grown up in a family where all the aunts & uncles attended parochial schools their views of corporal punishment are quite different. They liked to one-up each other. At family gatherings I heard things like "Sure Sister slapped your palms with a ruler but did she make you wet your hands first?" And so on and so on. Believe me, they are fine upstanding and well adjusted people.

Sorry, to go on so long. I just wanted to vent a little and also, tell you that I'm looking forward to reading more of this story.

Reviewer: ShannonDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77572Chapter: 1
To Kate I'd like to say first, I'm glad you're enjoying the story. I am madly in love with all of the Weasleys, indecent I know since half of them are young enough to be my own children, but hey...

I'm glad also to know that Jasper annoys you, he is meant to. I also understand what you're saying about him being there too often at some points and not enough at others. It's tough to do the story from so many different points of view. It's much easier to write, and I'm sure to follow, when the story is written the way Rowling does it, from one characters point of view. Unfortunately I love all the characters so much I can't do that. I feel positively schizophrenic sometimes negotiating the sibling relationship between Percy and the twins because I really do see all their points of view.

To Stine the Drama Queen 'How can you hate Percy?! ;) Poor Percy. Truthfully, I didn't like him much myself until sometime after I finished reading OotP. Then I took a better look at his character and now find myself an unwavering Percy fan. "I would trust Percy Weasley with my life."

And to Mahavishnu, there is nothing wrong with agreeing to disagree. Like I said before I appreciate the fact that you shared your opinions with me. I expected at least one reader to react exactly the way that you did to the corporal punishment issue. As a parent, I'm sure you can relate, one of the toughest issues, if not the toughest issue, to deal with is discipline. What works, what doesn't, what you'd like to do sometimes vs what you should do, etc...Just for the record if I were Molly Weasley I would have made Fred and George stay home from the Quidditch World Cup match and degnome the garden after they delberately disobeyed her by taking their trick stuff with them. I love those twins, but I've said it before and I'll say it again, they are headed for *big* trouble, and I don't hesitate for a second to lay a good deal of the blame for it squarely on Arthur and Molly's shoulders.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77546Chapter: 17
Ummm... where to start? I loved the prequel for this (sorry I didn't review it, I went straight on to this one)and this is quite good too. But not as good. Mostly because I can't stand George and absolutely love Percy. And Jasper annoys me, there seems to be too much of him in one aspect and not enough in another. But apart from that I love it, it deals with a plot like 'My Favorite Wife' but oh so much more complicated, it's so bittersweet it makes me want to cry. It's a real light and shade fic, really beautiful but really bleak... Do you get what I'm trying to say? I'm rambling a bit because it's quite difficult to explain what I'm thinking about it.

About this chapter I just have to say my favorite line was "So I take it you didn't tell him about the fabulous reunion sex we had?". LOL, I have to say I lost it at this point. Brilliant! Can't wait, make the next installment SOON.

Kate

PS... oh, forgot to say 'GO PERCY!'

Reviewer: Stine-Drama QueenDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77506Chapter: 1
I am really enjoying this story, I really like George in this tale, and to be honest, I never liked Percy anyway. I am so torn on who to side on... I would hate to be in Penny's place. I read your first story also and you spin great yarns :-) Keep it up

Reviewer: MahavishnuDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77486Chapter: 1
My personal opinions about corpral punishment and its use aside, I am enjoying the story. I think that I'm probably just going to have to stop my Jeremiad here, as I don't think we'll ever be in agreement about whether or not spanking is an appropriate parental response to children's misbehavior. You explore the psychological nuances of a POW's experience and re-integration into society with sensitivity, as well as the reations of those around him. For the sake of brevity and to move on from the direction this thread's taken, I'll probably not comment on any future integration of corporal punishment into the story.

Reviewer: ShannonDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77471Chapter: 1
I indicate a few times in the story that Jasper is *not* routinely spanked. George pointedly says that he doesn't like to do it, but he will if he has to. You must have missed the part in the whole car cursing incident where it narrowly missed crushing Jasper to death. I would argue that a rampant enchanted vehicle on fire is indeed a rather hazardous safety issue.

Now turning your sister into a mule may *not* be physical endangering, I guess it depends on the quality of your magical healer. Fortunately for Phillipa they had a good one. However, cursing every lemon drop in the shop (which didn't just burn a hole in somebody's tounge, it actually removed it) is also unarguably hazardous behavior. And for which, I might point out, Jasper was *not* spanked.

As for the wizarding world's view of physical punishment I mention elsewhere in the story that Molly Weasley relates the tale of the old caretaker catching her and Arthur snogging in the bushes and that Arthur 'still bears the marks' from his punishment. Then she giggles. The scene takes place towards the end of GoF when she is visiting Harry before the TriWizard although I'm not able to tell you the exact chapter. I've already mentioned Filch, Umbridge and Snapes more sadistic tendencies. The Wizarding world, of course, does not mirror life and philosphy in England or America. In neither country can a man be imprisoned for life without a trial, which is what happens to Sirius Black.

George's parenting philosphy stems from his worry that Jasper might wind up like he and Fred. They are infrequently disciplined by Molly and Arthur, too infrequently in my estimation, and are very likely going to find themselves in some very serious trouble before the tale is finished. Which is why I perceive that he might be a stronger disciplinary influence on his own children, albeit reluctantly.

You might have noticed, if you are paying attention to what is happening right now in Iraq, that it is very difficult, even after a war has been won, to completely eradicate corruption in power. I don't think that when all is said and done that Voldemort and the Death Eaters will all be defeated never to be heard from again. In my story Lucius Malfoy is dead, although I don't say so. His wife and his son however haven't given up the good, or shall I say bad, fight.

I do differentiate between physical punishment which is abusive, and that which is not. For one thing George and Penny share a complete absence of malice towards Jasper. They don't want to hurt him, they want to make him think about the consequences of his actions before he winds up hurting himself or somebody else. This, in my opinion, is what makes all the difference between beating a child out of anger or hatred, and spanking as a predictable and forewarned consequence for unacceptable behavior. You might also notice, though, that understanding the potential consequence for his behavior doesn't stop Jasper from being evil.

Naturally with your personal history you have strong feelings about the topic and I appreciate you sharing them with me. I hope the issue hasn't ruined your enjoyment of the story.

Reviewer: MahavishnuDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77458Chapter: 1
My argument is only with one aspect of an otherwise engaging narrative. As a child who was (severely) abused by this sort of discipline (as well as every other form of abuse)and as an adult who has spent the past nine years working with severely emotionally disturbed children who suffer(ed) from the same stressors that made my home an unsafe place to be, I have to argue that while spanking itself is occasionally not abuse (the child who runs out into the street to meet oncoming traffic comes to mind)employing it as the most consistent response to challenging behavior - especially with children on - or at - the verge of puberty/adolescence qualifies as abusive parenting in my opinion.

I'm, also wondering how credible Draco Malfoy's prescence in the headmaster slot really is, since you indicated that George spanking Jasper would be preferrable to having Malfoy flog him. Within the context of Rowling's universe, Lucius Malfoy might have had some influence with the board of governors, but he didn't, wouldn't (or most likely couldn't) use his money or his influence to secure a position for himself as the leader of those who supervise the learning process. The fact that the governors would only do his bidding under the threat of being cursed indicates to me that while he may once in a great while be able to influence policy through intimidation, it is very unlikely that eitehr he or his son will ever have the ability to vcompletely manipulate the board into appointing suspected Deatheaters into that position.

I also don;'t see the reinstitution of corporal punishment at Hogwarts occuring, especially since it appears that England's all-access and private enrollment school alike outlawed corporal punisment somewhere in the mid to late '90's.

Separating kinds of physical abuse into mutually exclusive categories as if one degree is less harmful psychologically than others is not the sort of resposne I'd expect from a fellow parent, either. Physical abuse is physical abuse..whether it's being locked into a cupboard, having a blood quill engrave its lines into your hand, or the use of frequent spankings to correct/control behavior. Canon only gives us one instance where Molly Weasley ever physically disciplined one of her children by spanking, and I believe that was Fred for burning a hole through Ron's tongue with an acid pop (which I believe in this situation to probably be a justifiable response , as it's an enormous safety issue sort of misbehavior, not an economically inconviencing one, like enchanting a brand new sports car to wreck a fence. I just don't see anything in canon to support the idea that George would become a strict disciplinarian as a parent, or that wizarding children are punished this way consistently.

Reviewer: ShannonDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77455Chapter: 1
If you read the story you will notice that Jasper's wand has been taken away. And he's been taken off the Quidditch team too. The story isn't meant to advocate for physical punishment anymore than the Dursleys locking Harry under the stairs is meant to advocate for imprisoning children in the dark without food.

The use of physical punishment is a controversial issue and you are of course entitled to your opinion. Unquestionably abused children often do act out agressively, but children who are never hit act out agressively as well. I don't think every child who is spanked is abused and I certainly don't think Jasper is abused. Although Harry definitely is.

In any case I'm not one to shy away from controversial topics in my writing. I think I've presented two sides to an issue, one from Harry's point of view and one from George's.

I do happen to have children, but I daresay that's fairly irrelevant to the issue at hand. I fortunately don't have to worry about one of my children turning the other into a farm animal for Christmas. What I'm trying to portray, of course, is what it might be like to have a child that is capable of such a thing and how the parent of said child might react. I don't think Penny's reaction is too extreme, however you will note that she feels quite badly about it later. And as George points out to Jasper grown-ups have bad days too, and are just as capable of reacting badly to a difficult situation as anybody else.

Reviewer: MahavishnuDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77354Chapter: 1
So are you a parent? Does spanking make your child behave? I've been a parent for the past nine years, and I can tell you that spanking leads to aggressive behavior on the part of the child- it sends the message that it's ok to inflict physical pain on others to get them to do what you want them to do.. My work with severely emotionally disturbed children has also borne that out....spankings may be a short-term fix, but they don't alter behavioral patterns. Indeed, they may cause certain behaviors to manifest themselves in an unwelcome fashion. Wouldn't a better solution have been to take this child's wand away when these behaviors first started emerging, or banning him from the quiditch team earlier in the season, or removing any of a half-a-dozen other incentives that would serve as more of a lever of manipulation?

Reviewer: ShannonDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77337Chapter: 7
What's up with all the spanking? What would *you* do with Jasper Weasley if he was your son? What's up with the sanguinary evil quill that Umbridge uses to force students to slice open their own hands with? What's up with Filch's fixation on flogging and hanging students up with chains? What's up with Snape forcing students to disembowel helpless animals? If I had an evil child I think I'd prefer to deal with him myself rather than allowing strangers to torture him. George makes that pretty clear to Harry in the first chapter.

Reviewer: MahavishnuDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77323Chapter: 1
What's up with all of the spanking?

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77260Chapter: 1
oh, my... heart-twanging story.

those twins are Percy's, aren't they? *cringing for George*

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77051Chapter: 5
I'm really enjoying this story. Your backstories in and of themselves are fascinating--Ginny as the elf princess, Charlie and his wife, the war, how Draco Malfoy ever got to be headmaster, etc. . .
Your writing has a certain gritiness which I don't see in fan fiction much. It will be very interesting to see how Penelope & George will deal with Percy's return. Looking forward to reading more.

Reviewer: ManiDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76869Chapter: 1
As a fellow Weasley lover i have to say that this is really fantastic stuff! I love the way you've shown George's character and i love jasper. I've only read the first chapter, but i had to be the first to review, so now im off to read the rest. Well done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --