The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 116963Chapter: 1
Sad

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109671Chapter: 1
oh jesus. this story is absolutely cruel.
poor, poor neville.
it's even worse when you think that there are children who do cope with horrible things like this. you didn't pull any punches here, it was quite brave of you.

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79262Chapter: 1
*hugs teddy bear*
That was so sad. "You mustn't take it to heart..." wouldn't them not recognizing him be worse than them insulting him?
Well, I can only wonder. But it is sad.
~Q

Reviewer: JennyfromtheBurrowDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78657Chapter: 1
This is really excellent. You captured the sad, anticlimatic frustration of such a visit very well. Keep writing!

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78487Chapter: 1
"self-consciously kindly halls"? The description seems a bit awkward to me... I'm not exactly sure what it means. I also thought it was odd that the nurse mentioned-- Oh! I understand now! When she talked about Frank Longbottom's weight, she was saying that he was overweight, not underweight. That confused me for a moment.

I think you really captured the feeling Neville has when he's visiting his parents, especially in the last exchange between Neville and his mother. It's a really horrible thought.

Reviewer: YOHLM:Date: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77236Chapter: 1
It was really sad.and I didn't like the part where she scratched Neville.I like the idea though.

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76928Chapter: 1
That was ... well, I can't think of a good word for it. Sad, sweet, in character, and so right. The nurse's impersonal, "They don't recognise you..." Sniff, sniff. "The dreadful hour..." Your diction (is that the right word? I mean word choice, anyway) is absolutely spot on.

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76913Chapter: 1
Oh, Tann. That was magnificent and very powerful. I found the almost-hidden emotion you show in Mrs. Longbottom Senior to be touching and so on-target for women of her (presumed) age and class--and refreshing, to find that someone has looked beyond the vulture hat, handbag, and coat and found a human being. Neville's pain is so clear.

"The blob in the chair raised its eyes toward Neville, unexpectedly soft, dark, full of human pity. His fat white hand gently stroked the boy’s hair. ‘Mustn’t cry,’ he murmured. "

This was the most affecting moment, for me--the brief flash of sanity, of humanity, in Frank. Beautifully done, Tann--an excellent, understated, subtle moment. Thank you!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76892Chapter: 1
Well done. I like the way you have them react. It must have been especially hard for Neville when he was young. I like the way you can see into their former attachment for Neville. You can see that defending him was their last act. That failure seems to be what stayed with them through the years.

I can see similarities to Alziemer's disease.

Sad, but well done

Reviewer: AmberelDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76845Chapter: 1
argh! I need to stop reviewing after midnight - I never seem to catch my mistakes and we can't edit our reviews! :(

~amb

Reviewer: AmberelDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76842Chapter: 1
Tannhäuser : I haven't seen a story about Neville and his parents quite like this, and I found it very to interesting read. Most stories involving Neville and his parents tend to be bittersweet or sad, but your story was very stark and depressing.

The description of Frank and Alice was quite vivid; the imagery in your story very powerful. I especially liked the way you described the halls of St. Mungo's. I doubt anyone who's had to visit a loved one in a nursing home or someplace similar could help shivering at the "self-consciously kindly halls of St. Mungo’s". I know I couldn't.

Very good job.

~amb

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --