The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: ChristaDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126912Chapter: 1
Absolutely heartbreaking.

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-17
Reviewid: 114162Chapter: 1
a njce goodbye

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86593Chapter: 1
This was great. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mirax_TerrikDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84448Chapter: 1
That was very good. More bitter than sweet, but very moving. It seems so sad to think of brothers having such an awful relationship and not being able to fix it. ::sigh:: Sirius was very much in character. ::huggles poor Sirius:: Thanks for sharing your fic!!

Reviewer: Black-in-lowDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79889Chapter: 1
Your stories is simply awesome!!! I also think Sirius had feeling of regret about Regulus' death, and I really imagine him jealous of James, because James apparently took Regulus place as a brother to Sirius, in Regulus eyes at least. It was so sad, it almost made me cry... I like Regulus a lot, I always think about how he was, and your story was almost how I think about him... awesome.

Reviewer: Jolie BlackDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78903Chapter: 1
Oh, this story really hurts my heart!

Siriusís thoughts about his own role in what became of Regulus are totally, totally heartbreaking, and at the same time so real. Thatís what life is like, sometimes itís too late and you donít get a second chance. Bitter, but true, and youíve written it so beautifully! These lines really make me tear up:

>>> ďAt least you came to your senses in the end,Ē Sirius said softly. ďI know it doesnít mean much, and if you heard me say this youíd probably be appalled, but Iím proud of you for that.Ē <<<

That says so much in so few and so simple words, brilliant.

I canít help wondering though what happened (between this moment and the time Sirius talks to Harry about Regulus at the start of OOTP) to make Sirius change his mind about Regulus, calling him an idiot who got what he asked for. I find the idea that he talks this way to cover up his real feelings quite interesting, and not too far-fetched. I hadnít thought of it that way before but it really is food for thoughtÖ


Thanks for sharing this with us!

Jolie

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78585Chapter: 1
This was fabulous! The only fic of it's kind I've read before, and very well-done. I always liked the idea of Regulus and Sirius being closer when they were younger, and growing apart as they grew up.

-Linnet

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78208Chapter: 1
The story is so sad. The setting you portrayed in the beginning was perfect... was beautiful. Your story portrays Sirius so right.

My favorite part: He was stunned to realize that, despite living with him most of their lives, he really hadnít known his brother at all.

The quote is sort of like one from the Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan, a story of mothers and daughters. Jing-Mei says that although she was Suyuan's daughter and lived with her all her life, she never really knew her, they never connected. This excerpt of your story reminded me of this novel. Both the novel and your story were very good. Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading more of your work!

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77801Chapter: 1
I'm always interested in stories about Regulus, and I enjoyed this a lot - thank you! I think you've judged Sirius' feelings for his brother very well, based on what he says about him in OotP, and I love the idea of him picking flowers himself and taking them to Kings Cross - I really felt I was there on that damp, deserted platform (being a Brit who's spent a lot of time in such places!) I'm off to read your other stories now - they sound right up my street! - and I'm sorry I've taken so long to get round to them.

One small point - I'm a Tonks family enthusiast, and I wish your Ted had been a bit nicer to Sirius! I'd like to think Andromeda would have married someone who'd make an effort to understand him ... ah well.

All the best.

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77227Chapter: 1
That was *sob* so sad *sob*. I *sob* love your Regulus and *sob* Sirius *sob* stories.

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77145Chapter: 1
Very moving. I like the idea that Sirius made an attempt to find out what had happened to his brother...it confirms my ideas that hismentions of Regulus in OotP were made in bitterness, or even regret. This fic is very well written like all your others, but perhaps Sirius is a bit too open - I always thought of him as someone who hid their feelings from the world - but then again, that coud be an image of the later Sirius, born from a life of regret.

Your use of the phrase "gods, Regulus" - very interesting! So, in your opinion, the wizarding world does not follow the same god as the Muggles? That's a very interesting concept, and one that I hope J.K.R. will elaborate on in the two remaining books - especially as death and the 'afterlife' as it were, are main themes after Sirius' departure through the veil.

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77076Chapter: 1
i wish someone would write a story about 'turning traitor" from regulus' point of view. it was a good story. i can imagine sirius feeling grief even for someone he wasnt closew to. i liked the part about the replacment brother.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --