The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139775Chapter: 1
An interesting take and well done.

Reviewer: Scarlet CrystalDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119198Chapter: 1
I figured I'd come and review here. Kewii, I still love this story and will continue to do so! It is wonderfully written and very clever. I've often wondered if there was more to Petunia...

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110168Chapter: 1
Interesting fic. Obviously you believe in the theory that Petunia received a Hogwarts letter but turned it down, and that's why she's so bitter when Lily accepts her invitation to learn magic.

Of course, we don't even know that Petunia's older than Lily, much less that she received an owl. Still, it's an intriguing theory and your fic describes well how Petunia might have reacted to such a letter.

Reviewer: TalimeekaDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83310Chapter: 1
Wow, I can't believe I've never read this before. I was really confused at first, and thought you had accidentally mxed up the names. This is a great story though, well-written, good ending, and a great plot bunny!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80397Chapter: 1
Fascinating. I've read with my mouth half-open, too busy reading to close it. :D

I like the way you portray Petunia, wanting to be grown-up and therefore refusing her invitation for Hogwarts. I'm not a big supporter of the witch!Petunia theory, but it's a good explanation why she's so bitter.

You probably wrote this before the March Chat, but I thought I'd mention it anyway: JKR said that Muggleborn witches and wizards are sent special messengers, not just strange, short Hogwarts letters.

You should keep an eye out for repeating words. In the first 8 sentences, you use 'often' 5 times! I noticed a few other repeating words, but this one was the worst.

Anyway, good job; you had me hooked!

Reviewer: DaveDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78795Chapter: 1
i think its a very good story. i haven't read much of the harry potter seires and i'm not a big fan of it but i did enjoy your story :)
The way you ended it was done really well, i thought.

Reviewer: Magical MuggleDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77207Chapter: 1
OMG! That was so good. So absolutely perfect. I've always wonbdered when someone would write about Petunia...This was just too great! It explains everything perfectly! Thanks so much for writing this and for being such a great writer! It was excellent! =)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77165Chapter: 1
Nicely done. It shows Petunia as a pompous tight-laced know-it-all and explains her jealousy. Plus it has a nice sense of balance to it.

Great work!!
I like this line:
>>Still, Petunia was sure that someday Lily would learn the difference between reality and make-believe.<< i like this. Almost like foreshadowing.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77127Chapter: 1
That was a really interesting fic. I never considered that the recipient of the letter herself would refuse to go to Hogwarts.

Well done!

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77126Chapter: 1
I think I reviewed this on ff.net already but now I get to review it on the Quill. As I said, since OotP, there's been a rash of Petunia-sympathetic pieces and yours is definitely one of the better ones. I can't wait to see more of your work.

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77115Chapter: 1
Wow, that was very believable, and it definitely made sense.

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77103Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed reading this! I had had the same idea, but you did it better than I would have. I especially like the juxtaposition of the owl and the laundry.

Reviewer: brettDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77099Chapter: 1
this is a really good story whatever u wantto call it. can't wait ]for more from you. its very Petunia-ish.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77073Chapter: 1
Congratulations on your first SQ story! Recently, I've been reading a fair number of Petunia fics, and this one captures her personality and relationship with Lily very well. It's ironic to think that Petunia herself might have been invited to Hogwarts, but that she had rejected the very notion of magic in favor of the practicalities of being an adult.

Reviewer: SundanceDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77058Chapter: 1
Brilliant insight into Petunia's character!!! You've characterised her wonderfully - she's really Petunia, even at 11 :) Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: He eh !1Date: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77054Chapter: 1
Hee heee she lost her chance!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77047Chapter: 1
Really interesting! I don't know how possible it is, but very well-written and well-thought out. And so sad...
I hope to see more of your writing!
:-)

Reviewer: wendelinDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77045Chapter: 1
lovely story, really well written. congrats! it has petunia's character down so perfectly... just explains all her finicky cleanliness and everything. i love the way she was able to make things happen to lily too, that was well done.

i have some gripes though - would Hogwarts really accept a refusal from an 11 year old? shouldn't the parents be involved? and when she refused, did petunia's magic go away? how?

but great story! write more!

Reviewer: AmberelDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77037Chapter: 1
What an interesting explanation for Petunia and her hatred of magic! You did a great job making Petunia's character believable, and I found the glimpses you gave of the sisters relationship fascinating. I'd love to see a follow up story about Petunia's thoughts after Lily recieves her letter/goes to Hogwarts.

~amb

Reviewer: PaulineDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77035Chapter: 1
That was delightful. Even though Petunia thinks of herself as such a grown up young lady, you've captured the POV of a bossy, too serious child perfectly. Poor Petunia - imagine choosing to do the laundry instead of going to Hogwarts. :)

My only (extremely minor) quibble is that the Hogwarts letter adresses Petunia as "Ms". This would have been a very rare form of address back in the days when Petunia received her letter. I think Richard Regulus might have called her "Miss".

But, this doesn't detract one iota from the fact that your little story was magical. Despite what Petunia would have you believe. :)

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77024Chapter: 1
Awwwww. Very nice! I enjoyed this. Oddly, it REALLY reminded me of myself and my little sister. I often get jealous of her and wonder why she never gets in trouble when she does things I would get in trouble for. Wow. Deja Vou! (Is that how you spell it??? I dunno...)

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77000Chapter: 1
That was so sad! Plausible explanation, especially if you're a believer in the "Lily's parents are Squibs" theory. Hope to see more from you at SQ!

-Linnet

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --