The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: As Flies
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: MarigoldDate: 2006-10-05
Reviewid: 145603Chapter: 1
Wheeeewww. I like your Narcissa. I just read Swan. I can see how she would go from that to this.

Very powerful.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119530Chapter: 1
Much too short, but otherwise good.

Reviewer: EntiDate: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119213Chapter: 1
Well, that was very interesting.. I just read your latest Narcissa portrait (about the marriage and all) and I thought I'd read this one too. They're both good, but the atmosphere is really different. Here she's obviously very far gone. I can imagine that when Lucius is around, she's just the good wife as expected by him and the family, but when he isn't, she stands her own. I really like how the past is still there in her mind, Sirius and the others, but she really sees them negatively only now. But they're still there. And Lucius and Draco would never understand her really, or why she would still think of Sirius (even if it's in a negative way), so she could never tell them. She actually seems a bit crazy, having lived this life so long (turning into Bella a bit, as she notices herself). Really interesting, good that she's still strong and not this cowering lonely soul on the inside but really someone who does actually think she's done the right things in life.

Ok I don't know if that made any sense.. But I liked it, it was really different than the other fic but also good.

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79792Chapter: 1
Wow! This is a really good and somewhat spooky portrayal of Narcissa Malfoy. I think you've really got her IC, and Draco too. Everything running through Narcissa's head: brilliant. And the last paragraph is genius. Wow.

Reviewer: KramslerDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77688Chapter: 1
This is the best fan fic I've ever read! Please keep them coming!

Reviewer: AmélieDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77518Chapter: 1
Wow.
I loved 'Reflections', but this one is...The atmosphere you've managed to create is delightfully creepy [yes, there is such a thing ;)] and I love the way you've depicted Narcissa. I kow a lot of people see her as a weak woman, nothing more than Lucius's trophy ; I don't believe that for one second, and I'm happy to see you don't seem to either. So, great story!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77484Chapter: 1
Very nice! I love how you interweave the theme of the Greek gods playing with human lives into the main storyline of Narcissa having to face her hexed, jinxed son YET AGAIN. You made her frustration very evident, as well as her distaste for Potter. The characterisation is excellent given that we know so little of Narcissa compared to either of her sisters or her husband. I like the way she has all these thoughts going on in the background about her sister, her classmates, her fears for her son. The ending was nicely chilling... Great to compare Draco to that particular character! Doesn't bode well for him though, but since I don't really care about Draco, I liked it. >D

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77479Chapter: 1
dark. i like the unique way you look at the other side of the story, and the hint of mythology you include.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77476Chapter: 1
Very, VERY well done. I love how you have painted Narcissa in this fic, and the comparison to Regulus. . . wow. Few people would have drawn that conclusion, but it's done impeccably. Lovely foreshadowing!

Reviewer: RonjaDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77461Chapter: 1
I read this twice ? It was just too good.

Most likely the best Narcissa characterization I have read.
It is the first time that I read a fic which compared Draco to Regulus. It works! You managed to expand both their characters for me.
Thanks for sharing that fic. I really enjoyed it.

>> ?Don?t,? I say distastefully, ?be such a Gryffindor.? << (-:

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77437Chapter: 1
Ooo, that was excellent! Thankyou!

Reviewer: sueDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77435Chapter: 1
That was spectacularly written. Well done. Completely plausible.

Reviewer: TerryDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77425Chapter: 1
Oh wow. What initially drew me to this fic was the quote from King Lear (it's one of my favourite Shakespearean quotes), and... wow. It was just so... sinister. And creepy. And so well written. An excellent idea, brilliantly executed. Well done!

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77424Chapter: 1
Woah, that was good! It captured Narcissa perfectly, and was so chilling it gave me shivers up my spine! It's exactly how I imagined their relationship to be. Great job!

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77411Chapter: 1
Wow.

That was very good. Chilling, cruel and very real... simply amazing.

Keep up the good work.

Animus

Reviewer: RonniekinsDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77405Chapter: 1
This is really well done. I think you've captured Narcissa's character beautifully, especially her relationship with her son. The last few paragraphs were... chilling. I hope you write more!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77393Chapter: 1
Whew. That is perhaps the best Narcissa I have ever read. And equal to Lucius. I love the tone she takes. Both inside her head and with her son. Besides being smart, she is brutally honest in her assesment of their situation. She may believe that Muggles are scum, but it is not a blind choice for her. She is smart enough for her view to be cruelly accurate.

Great work!! Love the title!

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77384Chapter: 1
Wow. This was potent. By that, I mean short and powerful.

I think I'll need to read it a few more times to get everything. For now, I'm not sure whether Draco really did remind her of Regulus in his fatal naivete
or if she was covering up almost saying he reminded her of Sirius.

Don't be such a Gryffindor...

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77378Chapter: 1
Wow, that was pretty crazy. I can definitely see how Draco's parents would view him as a disappointment, since he doesn't have anywhere near his father's cunning and intelligence. The bit at the end with her laughing was pretty chilling, even if I don't understand it exactly . . . Well done!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77371Chapter: 1
A good fic! A dark element for spice and insulting Draco by giving him Griffindor characteristics was a great touch!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77367Chapter: 1
I agree with the previous reviewer--I love the way you portrayed Narcissa. Her musings on Draco are always what I've thought of him..not sure how much sense that made, but good job! I'd like to see more from you soon.

-Linnet

Reviewer: DelleveDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77359Chapter: 1
That was quite a whirlwind of a fic and that's a good thing. The quick pace and the jerkiness of Narcissa's thoughts was done very well. It's interesting to see Narcissa in a harsher light than what's usually seen in fanfic. I think you captured that harshness quite well. Excellent job.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --