The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Penance
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: Amick_woodsDate: 2006-05-26
Reviewid: 143057Chapter: 1
Very Good! This is pretty much how I see those two sisters and their relationship. A gem!

Reviewer: MarleneDate: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117343Chapter: 1
I loved it! I always wondered if Andromeda was alive when Sirius and Bella ended in Azkaban, or if she ever came to visit. I like the way you write both sisters, they are so in character!

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113805Chapter: 1
twisted loyalties, no? Good job.

Reviewer: taliaDate: 2005-02-04
Reviewid: 112931Chapter: 1
beautifully done- i have a lump in my throat. It never occured to me that they could have been close growing up. It says somethin to me that Bellatrix didn't mind, well, let her at any rate,date ted.

Reviewer: NinevehDate: 2004-10-25
Reviewid: 102358Chapter: 1
I found this fic via a link in The Sorting at FictionAlley and had to come, and I’m very glad that I did. Azkaban, Bellatrix and Andromeda – three favourite characters.

“And she would never admit that sometimes she almost understood.”

You can take the Andromeda out of the Blacks, but you can’t take the Black out of Andromeda. I enjoyed your portrait of a tough Andromeda, that almost vicious sense of duty shot through with an abiding sliver of guilt that keeps her returning to Azkaban. The chocolate was a nice touch. Bellatrix was also very well portrayed, and the brief mentions of Narcissa hinted at a complicated relationship between the sisters much more interesting than the ‘Andromeda good: others bad’ that appears in too many fics.

“She was damned both by the Blacks and as one.” My favourite line, I think. I really hope that JKR shows us Andromeda in HBP. She has <I>such</I> potential!

Reviewer: The Indubitable Mr. SpockDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95175Chapter: 1
I like ir. It's good that we get a Black Sisters story now and then. There aren't enough.

Reviewer: AmethystPhoenixDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89132Chapter: 1
Ooh... very chilling and angsty. Great job portraying the two sisters' relationship and Andromeda's non-existent relationship with Narcissa. I wonder if Bellatrix really called her name or not...

~AP

Reviewer: SwatkatDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84773Chapter: 1
Oh, goodness! That was a fabulous portrayal of Andromeda. Torn between the decisions she's made and the blood ties that she can't deny - fabulous, fabulous.

<i>She was damned both by the Blacks and as one. </i>

That line about nails it. Excellent job, I enjoyed reading this very much! *g*

Swatkat

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82323Chapter: 1
I never even stopped to think of how Andromeda would react when Bellatrix went to Azkaban. I like the idea of her visiting Bellatrix every month or so, and you pull it off very well.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79180Chapter: 1
Wow, this is incredible. Both what you write about and the way you write are chilling, haunting, gripping.
The complexity of the situation isn't solved (how could it be) but is instead explored by "both sides of the coin" in an extremely well written play of perspectives...
I think my favorite line is "She was damned both by the Blacks and as one." That's incredible writing.
:-)

Reviewer: RinoaDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78889Chapter: 1
I love it. This gave me chills - it was fantastic. I was hoping to find some romance/fluff when I treaded SQ today, but I have to say I'm extremely glad to have found this instead. Excellent work.

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78788Chapter: 1
Chilling. Extremely well written, amazingly done. These characters are fantastic. Your writing astounds me. Keep up the great work....I WANT MORE!!!
~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: TeriDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78725Chapter: 1
Wow. *shivers* Well done.

Reviewer: Madeline ElsterDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78647Chapter: 1
Excellent--a nice study of two sisters and how they are dealing with respective betrayals and difficulties. Your emphasis on their being Black and the mannerisms and reputations they have aquired help show the, I guess, relation between the two as sisters, if that makes any sense. In any case it adds a fascinating insight to these two characters; they share similarities despite their lives being different now. There's a sense of history between these two that you achieve with few words. Good job!

God Bless and Peace Be With You,
Madeline

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78588Chapter: 1
This was so touching...I loved it. The interaction between Bellatrix and Andromeda was very realistic. I loved the line that stated that Bella had no qualms about following the Dark Lord, but was ashamed to accept a bar of chocolate from her sister. It was very touching how Andromeda kept the wrapper--remnicent of Neville in St. Mungos. Good job, and keep writing!

-Linnet

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78582Chapter: 1
*Shivers*. That was really brilliant - you could feel the anger and confusiion. You evidently thought carefully about how this fanfic would , and it appears that you also let the story take it's own form. That's definitely a good thing. You should write another chapter, or a companion piece.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78557Chapter: 1
Enjoyed that.

Bellatrix had no qualms at all about serving the most terrible Dark Lord in recent history, but was ashamed to accept a bar of chocolate from her sister.
-Good line.

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78552Chapter: 1
very well done and very interesting. I think you do an excellent job of presenting both Andromeda and Bella's perspectives. At then end I couldn't decide who I felt more sorry for, and who would have thought I could ever feel sorry for Bella?

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78515Chapter: 1
Wow. Very, very good. I liked it.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78510Chapter: 1
Wow, great story. I'd like to read one about her visiting Sirius, too. It's so chilling how she can only recognize her sister with difficulty, and how Bella so calmly accepts her fate, saying there are worse things than Azkaban. I like how Andromeda wonders why she keeps visiting, and finds she can almost comprehend Bella's choice, in a strange way. Great job!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78477Chapter: 1
Wow. You've done what few people have in the fandom so far; managed to humanize Bellatrix. Yet you haven't excused any of her crimes or ignored the damage she's done to her victims. I also liked your portrayal of the conflicted Andromeda, though in my vision of her she's not as dismissive of Sirius. Thanks for a great (though slightly chilling) read!

Reviewer: zaraDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78475Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwwwwwwwww- that was so good.. moving and trhoughfull and so real

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78458Chapter: 1
Very poignant.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78444Chapter: 1
Good story about sisters and our battles and love for each other. Good job!

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78437Chapter: 1
I liked this story, though I find myself lacking in intelligent things to say by way of commentary. I think Andromeda was right to visit Bellatrix, despite all the latter did (and will do). The romantic in me leads me to believe that Bellatrix *did* say 'Goodbye' at the end, that Andromeda did not imagine it. Whatever else she is, Bellatrix is still human...for her to be completely bad would be false. She will never be redeemed...but she's not a demon.

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78433Chapter: 1
This is simply amazing. I've been thinking of trying to write Andromeda visiting Azkaban for quite a while (to see Sirius, though), and I'd even thought of it as being after nine years, for some reason. I hope you won't think I've copied you if I ever get around to it - you've included so many things that have been in my mind too! Mrs Longbottom, for one - my Andromeda's a Healer ...

Anyway, what you've done here is simply wonderful - I'm having trouble thinking of what else to say at the moment, as it's all too close to home! Brilliant Bellatrix, and Andromeda's lovely, although I wish she'd take Sirius the odd bar of chocolate too. Do you think they ever met each other again after Sirius escaped? What a conversation that would be! I have Tonks carrying letters between them, but I haven't written any!

Sorry this is so much about my stuff. If you should fancy discussing anything further, it would be great to hear from you. Thanks for a great read, and all the very best.

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78431Chapter: 1
This is simply amazing. I've been thinking of trying to write Andromeda visiting Azkaban for quite a while (to see Sirius, though), and I'd even thought of it as being after nine years, for some reason. I hope you won't think I've copied you if I ever get around to it - you've included so many things that have been in my mind too! Mrs Longbottom, for one - my Andromeda's a Healer ...

Anyway, what you've done here is simply wonderful - I'm having trouble thinking of what else to say at the moment, as it's all too close to home! Brilliant Bellatrix, and Andromeda's lovely, although I wish she'd take Sirius the odd bar of chocolate too. Do you think they ever met each other again after Sirius escaped? What a conversation that would be! I have Tonks carrying letters between them, but I haven't written any!

Sorry this is so much about my stuff. If you should fancy discussing anything further, it would be great to hear from you. Thanks for a great read, and all the very best.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --