The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Breaking the Rules
Review(s): 47

Reviewer: evelynDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123744Chapter: 1
(: i really like this piece!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115471Chapter: 1
This is good- witty and intelligent, with some good characterisations. I especially liked the forst sentence ;)
<Rule 5. Weasleys are more intelligent than they look, less innocent than they appear, and never have any money.>
LOL! How true. Wondeful stuff, keep writing!

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94398Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness. This is hilarious. You've got Padma spot on and I just love her evaulations of the Weasleys. This is an interesting ship, but you made it work.

My favorite part is:

"Rule 7. Never, ever, agree to go on a date with a Weasley. This goes double for any formal occasion. Ron doesn't know how to behave, the twins don't know how not to misbehave, and Percy doesn't know how to stop behaving."

Excellent.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92453Chapter: 1
Very cool story. Very cool. But, uh, is there any second part to it? It feels incomplete. Because so far we haven't seen the reason why Padma should regret agreeing (if she does agree).

Reviewer: charredtwilightDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92268Chapter: 1
Let me just say that I loved this story. It's very cute and very well written, but most of all it has the members of my favorite HP family, the Weasleys! I think you've done a good job capturing their characters. Keep up the good work! :)

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86296Chapter: 1
That was adorable :D I loved it.

Reviewer: MegDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80745Chapter: 1
Just one small thing I would do is put at the very very end "I said yes" or something like that. But I like this story, it's really quite clever. What happened to Harry when they were out by the lake, after he and Ron take Hermione by the arms he just sort of disappears.

Reviewer: AjaxDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79694Chapter: 1
This is a fantastic beginning. Padma's personality comes through brilliantly, you managed to take a rarely-mentioned character from canon and flesh her out in a very effective manner. Her humour and her intelligence are great. She's definitely very perceptive, I love how she mentions all sorts of details about the Weasleys. It's great that you didn't just choose to focus on her relationship with George, but concentrated on the other Weasleys too. The Weasleys are a tightly-knit family, in addition to being very similar to each other in personality, and if a person is to have a relationship with one of them, she'll have to interact a lot with the others as well, and it was lovely to see you acknowledge this by mentioning Ron, Fred, Percy and Ginny in addition to George.
My one criticism would be George's final lines when he asks her to the ball. I don't know what a Leaver's Ball is, is that like a graduation ball? You might want to mention it in Padma's narration before George asks the question, because it just comes out of the blue otherwise. Also, given the way Fred asked Angelina out, I'd think George would be a bit more light-hearted and funnier when asking Padma out, and not use such plaintive dialogue as "find it in your heart to go with me." But these are nitpicks, really. I enjoyed the story a lot, and I'm eagerly waiting for the next chapter.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79629Chapter: 1
Well. This is probably the first and only fic devoted to shipping that I've actually enjoyed. The ship is unusual, but funny, and you manage to make clear in a delightful way how they came together. There's only one little nitpicky thing: Fred and George both scraped three OWLs, according to OotP, not five. But that's a detail. I very much liked this fic.

My favourite line is probably rule 2. No, rule 7. No, 2. Or 7. Oh well. Both of them. :)

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79277Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed reading this. It's very good; just the kind of humor that I like...I'm looking forward to reading more by you!

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79200Chapter: 1
Perfect.

<i>It is a truth universally acknowledged that a Ravenclaw in need of a date does not go anywhere near a Weasley.</i>

Miss Austen, make room for Angel of the North.

<i>one is therefore encouraged to choose your Weasley wisely.
</i>

What a classic line.

Thanks for a great fic.

Kizmet

Reviewer: Kate_AnguaPotterDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79175Chapter: 1
Wow! This is a fun but polished story... I really like the way it ended... Good for giggles, really sweet but NOT fluff. I love it.

Reviewer: MeDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79129Chapter: 1
LoL, great story! I love the rules! Especially the last one... "Rule 7. Never, ever, agree to go on a date with a Weasley. This goes double for any formal occasion. Ron doesn't know how to behave, the twins don't know how not to misbehave, and Percy doesn't know how to stop behaving." Genius. And George being smart... *Ooooh... Aaaah* :P

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79107Chapter: 1
Wow! This is really funny! Follow-up, please? I really want to know what's going to happen!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79073Chapter: 1
What an interesting pairing! That's definitely one I would never have thought of, but it seems to work well. I love your depiction of Padma. . .she's such an under-used character, and her/your eloquent and flowing writing style is very Ravenclaw-ish (for lack of a better word). The rules are hillarious and amazingly true to form. I would love to see what happens next!!!

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79015Chapter: 1
Very nicely written. Is there a sequel planned?

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 78978Chapter: 1
That was SOO hilarious! i loved it. It was funny enough to make me snigger, but not too funny so i wasn't rolling around on the floor laughing my guts out.

Reviewer: SusanDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78891Chapter: 1
This is great! LOL! Love the rules! More insight than you'd think (well, not you, your the author;-) )

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78881Chapter: 1
I absolutely love this piece! The rules are funny and the way Padma breaks them is quite touching. George has always been my favorite Weasley twin. He seems to have taken Molly's tutoring more to heart than Fred which is quite evident in your writing as well as in canon. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78873Chapter: 1
this is very sweet and creative to say the least...great work!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78861Chapter: 1
Lol- very nice and cute XD

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78830Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this fic: its unusual narrator, the "Jane Austen as Ravenclaw" style, and the plot- it was a delight all the way through. I hope that you are planning a sequel, since I assume George & Fred did not make it to the ball after their hasty but spectacular departure from school. As everyone else has commented, the last rule should really become fanon canon. ;o)

I usually don't point out typos, but I did notice one tiny flaw that wasn't mentioned as far as I could see in the other reviews:

In the line <<"Look. I know it's weird. You dated my brother once, and it wasn't the best, and you're probably scarred for life, and completely put off my family, but would you, possibly, could you ever, find it in your heart to go with me to the Leaver's Ball with me.">> you repeated "with me."

Anyway, it was real pleasure to read and I hope to see more from you.

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78803Chapter: 1
As a lover of Jane Austin and the Weasleys, this was an absolute treat. I was a wonderful idea to use JA-like narration for a Ravenclaw. I LOVE this story. Great work!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78802Chapter: 1
Well written, full of laughs- there's something in this story for almost everyone.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78799Chapter: 1
"Rule 7. Never, ever, agree to go on a date with a Weasley. This goes double for any formal occasion. Ron doesn't know how to behave, the twins don't know how not to misbehave, and Percy doesn't know how to stop behaving."

I enjoyed this irresistible story immensely! And after all those delightful and funny rules you saved the very best one for last. -Grin-

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78798Chapter: 1
very funny, all the rules are very reasonable, especially rule #7. Goerge is very in character and you really give Padma life. Great fic.

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78796Chapter: 1
I like this fic. I read it twice, and recommended it to two other people. Maybe a sequel?

Reviewer: khatijaDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78789Chapter: 1
cute but i wonder if you made the twins out to be a bit TOO simple... either way, I loOoove it!

Reviewer: gumpyDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78783Chapter: 1
ahhhh! I like this a lot. Its very cute and well put together! Plus I love the vocabulary(:(:!! Please update soon!!

Reviewer: PoocaDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78782Chapter: 1
Oh, this is too cute. I love Jane Austen style, and I really like the rules. Just the kind of thing a Ravenclaw would write out, too. :)

Reviewer: Sammy WeasleyDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78776Chapter: 1
Nice story. I like the rules that are intermixed with the actual story. It makes it fun. The last rule is great.

Reviewer: kathleen c.Date: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78764Chapter: 1
that was a nice little story! I especialy liked Rule # 7 and the bit about how Percy cant stop behaving. Keep it up! :)

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78737Chapter: 1
A delightful read with a light touch. I enjoy your take on Padma and her appreciation of George, and you handle the tone well. I hope there will be more.

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78734Chapter: 1
More? Is there more? Or is that a cleverly ambiguous ending to go along with a clever idea for a story? The rules are a bit wordy and complex, but perhaps the Ravenclaws are, too, then. It depends on if they're the mathematical type of studious or the verbal type, I suppose.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78730Chapter: 1
So cute! I loved this line:
"Never, ever, agree to go on a date with a Weasley. This goes double for any formal occasion. Ron doesn't know how to behave, the twins don't know how not to misbehave, and Percy doesn't know how to stop behaving."

It made me laugh. Good job on a great unusual pairing story!

-Linnet

Reviewer: KatDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78728Chapter: 1
i loved it! very entertaining. i especially liked rule number 7. lol.

Reviewer: ddavid abbeyDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78724Chapter: 1
bravo!

Reviewer: Fluffy_RoseDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78710Chapter: 1
I liked this. A little unlikely, perhaps, but well written and very amusing 'rules'. I particularly liked:
"Ron doesn't know how to behave, the twins don't know how not to misbehave, and Percy doesn't know how to stop behaving."
Hehe!
I also enjoyed the Jane Austen reference at the beginning - I find you can't go far wrong after quoting 'Pride and Prejudice' :)

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78709Chapter: 1
Heh.

That was certainly one of the funnier things I read today.

-Steve

Reviewer: cileagDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78707Chapter: 1
this was purely delightful! I hope you're going to keep going..the writing was witty, and being an Austen fan myself, I was at first critical of the attempt to imitate but now I'm fully approving! First-rate job! You did have one typo:
I was not unfamiliar was the Gryffindors..
I'm sure you meant...with the Gryffindors.

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78702Chapter: 1
I loved it! I don't think I have ever read a fanfic from Padma's PoV before but it was great!

Very witty and I liked all of your observations about Weasley's. Rule Number 7 is a quote so fantastic that I honestly think we should all memorise it!!

Nic xx

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78700Chapter: 1
that was very cute

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78698Chapter: 1
This is adorable! I love the idea, and I love the way you've phrased the rules...especially that last one.

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78696Chapter: 1
Ah! Hilarious. I loved it. What a great idea for a story, so original! I loved the rules, they were so true! You hit them right on. This needs a lovely sequel, to which I have no ideas, otherwise I would offer them. Perhaps just the date? Oh well, keep up the good work! I look forward to reading more of your stories.

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78692Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story. Padma's is a POV you don't normally get, and it was nice to see the Weasleys through someone else's eyes, particularly when their view of them is changing from bad to good. You do the twins' voices very well too. Great job!! :)

Reviewer: AmélieDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78678Chapter: 1
"Ron doesn't know how to behave, the twins don't know how not to misbehave, and Percy doesn't know how to stop behaving."

Such a nice ending to a delightful story ; I really love how you managed to capture all the Weasley's personality, even through Padma's point of view. And the 'rules' were a great idea, really cute :)

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78675Chapter: 1
That was so cute. I loved it. Seriously, it was really adorable. :-) Congratulations on your writing abilities.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --