The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: All Night Long
Review(s): 83

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-24
Reviewid: 144990Chapter: 4
Quite excellent.

Reviewer: MilayaDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136939Chapter: 4
I noticed you had just recently started posting this on Checkmated, so I decided to reread, and it seems to get better each time I read it! Your grasp of the characters is just great, especially Hermione; a lot of fic writers tend to make her too annoying, but your Hermione is very likeable while still retaining her canon quirks. I especially like Ginny's insight into her character: "Hermione was frequently tactless, but I should have remembered that she was never deliberately unkind." Very true! And both her calculations as to when Ron will notice her and her implied insecurity over whether or not he will are very Hermione-ish traits. Young Ginny is adorable as well, especially her interactions with Fred and George, which I think portray their relationship very well. The humor is great too, with the Molly/Arthur love potion story. Lovely!

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-11-11
Reviewid: 135793Chapter: 1
Hee. I loved this. Your characterisation of Ginny was wonderful, and I loved the story you made up about Mrs. Weasley and Love Potions. That had me laughing.

Thank you for a wonderful story.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126853Chapter: 4
I liked the story, and the way you incorporated bits of PoA into it....Hermione's confessions seemed slightly out of character, though. She has never been the type of person to gush, particularly over Ron, nor has she ever been cool toward Harry, who does not really become moody until the third book and after.

Reviewer: TrueDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123885Chapter: 4
Aw, that was great!

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123148Chapter: 4
What a delightful story! I honestly think Ginny and Harry will get together some day, and this was a nice little peek at what Ginny might have been thinking. Plus, her worries about how the Petrified People reacted to her were quite interesting. JKR never delved into that, and it was well investigating.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-05-13
Reviewid: 122019Chapter: 4
Thanks for telling me about this. I probably would have gotten to it eventually, as I've seen it on your profile, but I'm glad I read it now. Overall, it was an excellent fic. The idea that sensible and practical Hermione was the one to bring her back after what was sure to have been a confusing year, to say the least, for Ginny worked very well. Reading about Mrs. Weasley's love potion was very interesting, as was Mr. Weasley's reaction to it. I love the idea that this was the first he'd ever heard of it, if that's what you were going for.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121087Chapter: 4
[“Of course it’s Ron. Who else would it be – Draco Malfoy?”]

*snert* I love it when Hermione gets all snarky.

[Ginny, if you’re the type of girl who likes moody, headstrong, humourless men, you’re welcome to Harry!”]

Hehehehe! I love how Hermione can acurately describe one of her best friends in such an unflattering way and still not come across as mean.

[Certainly I would make an effort to be kind to that poor Ravenclaw in my Herbology class whom everyone else teased, because I knew what it was like always to be the one left out.]

Nice way to slip a little canon into your fic. Very plausible.

[“Wake up! It’s time for school!”
Hermione sat bolt upright. “New subjects this term!”]

Hahahahahaha! That's so Hermione, getting all excited about school starting. I bet if Ron wanted to seduce her, all hed have to do is whisper Arithmancy equations in her ear!

[Then there’s the Pherenomial Potion. If you can persuade a man to drink it, his hormones will go full fire, and you have guaranteed, um, love.”]

*Dies laughing* So the wizarding world has its own version of Viagra? I can just picture the commercials....

That was a really sweet story, excellent missing moment and I love this explanation as to how Hermione and Ginny became friends. Excellent!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119871Chapter: 3
[I don’t understand how I never realised it!"] I can see Hermione being really outraged at this, especially since she seems to be, and thinks she is, a good judge of character. The more I think about it, especially as Hermione is telling Ginny what happened, Lockhart got off way too lightly.

[The girl who spent her whole day with Harry Potter could waste her energies on a mere teacher!] Ha! Ha! This was just so sweet and you really ache for Ginny. Let's hope Harry notices her in Book 6 or 7.

[Who wants to have a crush on a teacher anyway?"] *coughRemusLupincough* Although, that line is sort of funny considering the number of Hermione/teacher fics there are on Sites That Shall Not Be Named.

I loved Hermione planning out Ron's noticising of her down to the last second and I liked how you showed her vulnerable side when she was analyzing how Ron might move on from her. Ginny's reaction was great, nice description of the walls swaying and the room shrinking.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2005-03-25
Reviewid: 117645Chapter: 4
Awww, I'm not a shipper, but this really touched me. Very true to the characters and canon, except that IMO pre-teen Ginny would not think in words like 'syllabus' and 'inexorably.' Love the way H. talks to Crookshanks, very appropriate, catly language. Love the discussion of boys' growth spurts vis-a-vis their interest in girls, ditto the first words spoken by the victims of the Basilisk after they are un-petrified. Ditto-squared and multiplied by pi for the way you use Hermione's realization of Lockheart's perfidy to draw Ginny out and lead to the final revelation. No fan-fic I've read--including the Uberfic--has made me appreciate Ginny's strength of character the way this piece has. I can now believe in the possibility of her and Harry coming together.

Reviewer: MAriposaDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117504Chapter: 4
I loved this story! I can see it really happening in the books. Its wonderful! I really liked the ending where Mrs. Weasley was telling them about her own adventures in love. That's so sweet and funny! Great story! :oD

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-03-22
Reviewid: 117394Chapter: 2
[Hermione pulled her nightdress over her head, and modestly began to remove her clothes from underneath it.] This sounds like something Hermione would do. Very realistic touch.

[Do you know, when he woke up from being Petrified, his first words were, ‘Hi, Madam Pomfrey, would you like a grape? They’re really for Harry Potter, but would you like one?’] *snert* This sounds exactly like Colin. He's just such a good. cheerful character!

Wow! I really loved your description of what it was like being petrified. Everything makes so much sense and you really capture the characters. I can really see Mrs. Norris trying to scratch Madam Pomfrey and Nick going on about his beheading. And that *is* a good point: if he's dead, how did he drink the mandrake juice? I really like the interplay between Hermione and Ginny. Great dialogue!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116744Chapter: 1
You do a great job of capturing Ginny's inner voice, her guilt over what happened with Tom Riddle, her uncertainty about friends, his family's poverty and her awkwardness over Harry. I like how you're filling in the missing moments of how Ginny and Hermione became friends as well as scenes like Ron and Hermione buying school things and Ron getting his new wand. Great job!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114667Chapter: 4
Very, very sweet.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112744Chapter: 4
Wow! I really liked this- especially the Mrs Weasley story at the end- how perfect that he never drank the potion yet fell in love with her anyway. This was brilliant- humourous, romantic and at times a touch sad. I felt so sorry for Ginny meeting all those people in Diagon Alley but not having a single proper friend, and also when she saw Harry in the Leaky Cauldron... poor kid. I liked the described start of Hermione's crush on Ron. I never thought of it before, when she relised she liked him, don't know why. Poor Hermione her calculations were incorrect by about six months. So typical of her to try and work that out mathematically. Wonderful wonderful story- I hope you keep writing.

Reviewer: Ria_StahlDate: 2005-01-01
Reviewid: 109423Chapter: 4
Write MORE!!!! sigh. Reading Ginny/Hermione Friendship stories remind me of Harry and Ron...or James and Sirius. Hey! Can we have a sequel??!!! Please!! Pretty please with a cherry on top?

Reviewer: BeeDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93438Chapter: 4
I like it quite well. :)

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85791Chapter: 4
how sweet! love the Arthur and Molly story at the end; what a great "missing moment" to explain why the boys found the girls "in a fit of giggles" that morning.

Reviewer: fantasylover12001Date: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80950Chapter: 4
I loved this! I always wondered how Hermione and Ginny went from being near strangers to very good friends and this explains it perfectly. I also loved the story with Molly and Arthur. It's just so them^_^

Reviewer: CaliDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80519Chapter: 4
That was a brilliant piece of work. I've been following your writing ever since I discovered "Turning the Corner". I enjoy the way you piece together the smaller plotlines in canon and turn them into wonderful pieces of character description, romance and insight. Thank you =)

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80514Chapter: 4
I like the way you are dealing very realistically with Ginny and Hermione. You're staying close to the characters the way they are represented in canon. Good work! Thank you for tastefully integrating events from canon in here to lend your story an air of authenticity.

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80513Chapter: 4
[quote] We hardly noticed when Harry and Ron walked into the room, asking for scrambled eggs and sausages. It was bad enough to think of Mum as a naughty teenager who nearly broke the law to ensnare a man. My eyes met Hermione’s, and I knew that she too was thinking about a flame-haired, flame-eyed girl, just like me, who had wasted a perfectly good Soulmate Potion.
[/quote]

Very nice. I think the reason love potions are illegal is that too many impatient students would start using them.

Great story. I liked the way that you developed Ginny and Hermione's friendship, starting with misunderstandings and going on from there. Ginny's jealousy of Hermione was especially well done.

Reviewer: FionnabhairDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80436Chapter: 4
"Ginny, if you’re the type of girl who likes moody, headstrong, humourless men, you’re welcome to Harry!”

LOL! How sadly true this is! That sentence sounded so completely Hermione-ish that I laughed out loud. I really enjoyed this exploration of an often neglected relationship, and also of what must have been a trying time for Ginny. Thanks!

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80334Chapter: 4
hehehhehe.....very good!!! xxxxx maybe u could write a companion piece to that with harry and ron?!
beth xxx

Reviewer: LDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80299Chapter: 4
aw!! a happy ending!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80294Chapter: 4
Wonderful! This is such a great little fic. Thanks for sharing it with us!

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80292Chapter: 4
Wonderful incorporation of canon into the story. I always wondered about Mrs. Weasley's love potion. And I love Hermione's explanation of why she couldn't fancy Harry. Well done!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80287Chapter: 4
Yay! Last chapter :o) But now you'll have to start a new story!
"“Of course it was never going to be Harry. Harry drives me round the twist, with his moody silences and refusal to tell us stuff and ignoring good advice and never facing up to the practicalities.”
“I thought,” I ventured, “that Ron would irritate you with all his joking and arguing.”
“Yes, but I like being irritated by Ron. Ginny, if you’re the type of girl who likes moody, headstrong, humourless men, you’re welcome to Harry!”" (at first I thought this was unfair to Harry, but then I realized that Hermione is doing what she later tells Harry he should have done with Cho. Harry is one of her best friends, and of course she loves him, but right now she is reassuring Ginny that she does not like him, like him...so she is not painting him in the most flattering light)
"Mum, sitting opposite a vertical copy of the Daily Prophet, was eating porridge in the parlour."
"The newspaper may have grunted slightly, but perhaps Dad was only turning a page." (hee hee, that's funny)
"We found it just too funny that, without the benefit of either magical or Muggle love tricks, her soulmate had noticed her anyway." (awwww, and theirs will soon notice them as well)

very good ending to your story, Grace has Victory! It's interesting to see your view of how Ginny moved on a little after her first year and made new friends because of a night of Girl Talk with Hermione :o)

Jules

Reviewer: KatiejuneDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80271Chapter: 4
So cute! I love how you ended with the boys coming downstairs to hear Mrs Weasley telling the girls about the potion. The story was very well though out and presented!

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80249Chapter: 4
Icve been falowing this one... cute

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80243Chapter: 4
Good little story; one of the few that I really looked for updates to every day. This line, especially, was very perceptive:

Hermione was frequently tactless, but I should have remembered that she was never deliberately unkind.

-Steve

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80202Chapter: 4
Great ending to a great story! I quite enjoyed this story... well done!

Cheers!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: Tamira LuneDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80176Chapter: 4
Hahha cute you should go on with Ginny fics. You're very good at them!

Reviewer: JenadamsonDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80157Chapter: 4
What a cute story! I like the idea of Ginny and Hermione bonding that early on in the books. All of Ginny's thoughts were great. But I most enjoyed Hermione's description of Harry as: 'moody, headstrong, humourless'. Too funny. This was a joy to read!
Jen

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80131Chapter: 4
The perfect ending to a really enjoyable, well-written fic. I love your version of how Arthur and Molly started their relationship. Molly's impression of Arthur being too busy with his Muggle radio to notice her, that's genius!

I also liked Ginny's resolution to be nicer to the Ravenclaw, which I assume is Luna. It was a nice touch, along with other little comments that you made, which fitted in perfectly with out hindinsight having read OotP.

Hope you have plans to write another piece soon,

Nic xx

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 80015Chapter: 3
OOOOOOO!!! post more post more!!1 i love it when you read something and you know what they are talking about but the other character doesnt.....classic :)
beth xxx

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 80010Chapter: 3
>>"I suppose you wanted to believe the best of him. Shouldn’t we always believe – " But my words died in my throat, when I remembered how willingly I had believed the best of Tom Riddle.<<

I never fully realized how much of a bonding point this might be between the girls -- the feeling of being deceived. I'd always imagined that the beginnings of their friendship started at the Quidditch World Cup, but I think you're right in placing that moment here.

>>"No!" How extraordinary! The girl who spent her whole day with Harry Potter could waste her energies on a mere teacher!<<

I dunno, I might have had a crush on Professor Lupin. ;)

>>"About five minutes after I realised I was over Lockhart. There he was, telling me all about the Chamber … and he’d been so brave, so enterprising, so very right in the way he’d behaved … yet he was so modest about it, unlike some people. And he’s so intelligent too. And he really is very good-looking, even if he does forget to comb his hair … there just wasn’t any doubt in my mind that I belong to him, and always will."<<

Ahhh, that's sweet. I'm not sure if Hermione would be quite that "open" in discussing the object of her love, but it certainly shows that she recognizes Ron's good qualities (why else would she get on Ron for slacking, if she didn't think he was intelligent!).

>>"I think it’ll take another ten months."

I gawped. "How can you be so precise?"

"Because of his height," she said calmly.<<

It's *hilarious* that she would approach this from an academic perspective! It makes her anger at the Yule Brawl all the more understandable. :D

>>"I suppose that might happen, but it doesn’t seem very likely. After all, I am his best friend. We’re together every day. When he does wake up to girls, I’ll be the first girl he sees. So I’m not really worried that he won’t be interested."<<

Such logical certainty! Sad, that she has no way of taking a part-veela into account quite yet.

>>"Second?"<<

LOL! Ginny's in for a pleasant surprise, isn't she? ;)

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79939Chapter: 3
Ha! Hooray! Ginny seems to be feeling better by the chapter and I loved Hermione's logical analysis of when someone might notice her. So typical of her. You keep everyone in character so well. I can't wait for more.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-04-24
Reviewid: 79937Chapter: 3
Priceless! I can just picture Ginny's expression there... I can't wait until she realizes that Hermione wasn't talking about Harry at all...
Only one criticism, which is I find it hard to believe that Hermione would be so open about her feelings, especially with Ginny, whom at this point, is hardly a close friend...
Anywho... brilliant, and I can't wait to read more!

Cheers!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79936Chapter: 3
Great ending to the chapter. Ginny is great, very in character. I love how you have her handle and interpret Hermione's confession. I also like how you handle Riddle. You have her deal with it without getting angsty. It really seems like the way she handled it in canon.
Her jumping to aHermione was also cute, oblivious to Ginny's feelings and very confident in her plan working. I love how she has everything worked out, it's really funny.

Reviewer: B.J.Date: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79894Chapter: 3
OMG! No! Why'd you end there?! And here I was checking Sugarquill for updates and seeing that *you* updated made my day. And now...and now I got a cliff hanger. (Stops to take deep breathes)

Ok, I'm calm now. But please update really really soon. I love your fic so much.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79877Chapter: 3
Wonderful, as always. I love how logical Hermione is about matters of the heart. . .like she can predict Ron's reactions exactly. And she almost can. . . Can't wait to see how it ends!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79872Chapter: 3
Funny, heart wrenching, and insightful, Grace Has Victory’s All Night Long is a wonderful piece of writing. No one really has established just how Ginny and Hermione became friends. It is very rare that two people become friends immediately, let alone two people like Ginny and Hermione- and both of them do need a friend who’s a girl rather desperately, whether they realise it or not. I appreciate the fact that Crookshanks likes Ginny- we know that he is a good judge of character. An excellent missing moment- I can’t wait to see more!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: L.Date: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79860Chapter: 3
aw, poor Ginny!! More, More!!

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79843Chapter: 3
I was really pleased to see the next chapter up so quickly after I'd read chapter 2. This was another superbly written piece, the dialogue is fantastic and you are really able to get inside Hermione and Ginny's heads.

I thought that maybe Hermione was a little too over-confident about Ron noticing her in the years to come, but then again, we've never known exactly what's going on inside her head regarding Ron. I did like the way she had made all of the calculations based on growth spurts and things she'd read in books - how typical of Hermione to plan how she was going to fall in love!!

Hope there's more to come soon.

Nic xx

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79822Chapter: 3
Hermione is so IC here it's funny. It's hilarious. The growth-spurt calculations!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79814Chapter: 3
Grace has Victory, the chapters of this story get better as they go along! I have really enjoyed your portrayal of how Ginny and Hermione became friends :o)
here are some lines I especially loved:
"I wonder why they call them memory ‘charms’? More like curses." (me too!)
"Crookshanks stretched plaintively, as if we had neglected him, and we both began mechanically stroking him again." (awww...Crookshanks)
""But, really, it makes more sense to love someone you know," said Hermione. "Someone whom you know isn’t going to change into a coward as soon as you come close to him. Someone whom you know isn’t stupid. Someone with whom you can have fun every day because he’s always around. Someone with whom you don’t have to pretend because you feel comfortable telling him anything."" (someone with whom you can have endless arguments...)
"The bedroom walls shrank away, and the bedcovers billowed up enormously, and the candles – and shadows – flared up to the ceiling. I had lost all sense of balance, and didn’t know whether I was swaying backwards onto my pillows or forwards into Crookshanks. I was suspended in an eternal moment" (very good imagery...I can see it happening in my mind's eye)
Ahhhh, poor Ginny. Suffering in dillusion much like all the H/Hr's out there...why don't people see the truth?! You're on a roll...can't wait to read your next chapter!

Jules

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79805Chapter: 3
Great Chappie! Carry on. (o:

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79760Chapter: 2
>>She had Harry and I didn’t.

And we had to share a room tonight.<<

The agony!!! ;)

>>This year, I will join in with at least two extra-curricular activities. This year, I will not follow Harry Potter.<<

Ginny's voice really captures the insecurity and awkwardness of a 12 year-old girl. The poor dear, in such anguish!

>>No, you had monopolised the interesting person… <<

hee hee

>>And Nearly-Headless Nick kept going on and on about how if the Basilisk could Petrify him, it ought to have been able to sever his head completely too, and could Madam Pomfrey do anything to complete his decapitation.<<

Nice try, Nick.

>>“You see, it was all very quick. One moment Penelope and I were creeping out of the library, staring into her mirror in case the Basilisk should be on the loose, but not seriously expecting it would be. The next moment we saw the reflection of these two great yellow eyes. And I hardly had time to think, ‘It is the Basilisk!’ before Madam Pomfrey was feeding something into my mouth, and the mirror had gone, and the library corridor had turned into the hospital wing. I know now that it was five weeks, but at the time it only felt like a second. And I was bursting to explain that there we needed to bring in some roosters. It took me several hours to realise that my thoughts were all out of date.”<<

Can you believe that some people actually think Hermione is an introvert? Given her nattering, I would have to disagree. Good job with the Hermione-ness of her speech. And it's very touching that she honestly forgot all about Ginny's involvement with the basilisk.

...Wait, that's the end of the chapter?!?? More, more! :D

~Katinka

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79759Chapter: 1
>>I had faced Tom Riddle and lived. I could face Hermione Granger and my insides would die only a little more.<<

An interesting beginning premise! I think Ginny might be a little intimidated at first by any older girl, but especially so by one she'd inadvertantly Petrified. ;) Ginny's spunky with her brothers, yes, but I don't think she had many friendships, prior to Hogwarts, with girls her age.

>>Stab. Even as Hermione protested, “Wait, Ron, we should buy our books first – ” I was processing the truth.

Hermione Granger was Harry Potter’s girlfriend.<<

Oh, no! Ginny ships H/H! ;)

>>I knew I would never dare suggest that we follow them into that forbidden palace – Mum might think I was hinting. And, really, the old robes did still fit.<<

That makes me sad. :( Here's hoping Arthur gets a big, fat raise in Book 6.

>>Just as I could never interfere between Harry Potter and Hermione Granger. They were Best Friends. They might share their sweets with me, but they would never share their secrets.<<

It's funny how she doesn't lump Ron in with their Best Friendship -- probably because as her brother, he's ordinary and familiar and, well, unexciting. :)

>>Colin looked relieved. “Really? They live there, and they’re more or less safe? I wonder if we’ll ever see one? Because you can’t really keep a creature like that in captivity at all, it would pine away. But it would be the most brilliant pet …”<<

Colin makes me laugh, the sweetie.

~Katinka

Reviewer: KatiejuneDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79753Chapter: 2
I really like that it written in 1st person. Made me feel much more connected with Ginny and her internal struggles. Would love to hear from you in you write more

Reviewer: Tamira LuneDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79751Chapter: 2
ooh sinister;)keep up the great work!

Reviewer: LDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79681Chapter: 2
aw, poor Ginny! Great idea for a story though! Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: B.J.Date: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79672Chapter: 2
I really like the story. It's nice to see someone's view on how Hermione and Ginny became friends. Please continue. I'm really looking forward to the update.

Reviewer: Laura HDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79612Chapter: 2
Yay! Another chapter! I read the first one recently and loved the idea. I've often wondered how Ginny and Hermione became such good friends. And the way Ginny, Hermione and Mrs. Weasley were acting the next day made me think something happened. Thanks for giving us a view of the missing evening.

Reviewer: nikiDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79593Chapter: 2
i like it, and am looking forward to more! Does Hermione know about Ginny's role in the Chamber or does she just think she was also a victim? I suppose future chapters will answer that. I'm anxious to see how Ginny reacts to Lockhart's . . . vile cowardice.

Reviewer: =)Date: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79577Chapter: 2
I like it a lot so far. Very IC. Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79572Chapter: 2
Very compelling story. Please continue!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79552Chapter: 2
Fantastic! Keep going!

Cheers!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: GDDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79534Chapter: 2
Great story - I agree with Ginny that Hermione was tactless - but I think thats in keeping with cannon.

Hope you write more soon.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79520Chapter: 2
oo good, more soon please!!!!
beth xxx
p.s thanks for the email :)

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79517Chapter: 2
Great chapter! I love how you're slowly building up the tension, and Hermione completely forgetting about Ginny being in there was a nice touch. I think it shows that Hermione doesn't associate Ginny with the Heir at all, which is great. Keep it up!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79513Chapter: 2
Another excellent chapter! Some of my favorite lines were:
"I felt a slow, deep flush spread beneath my freckles as I nearly met the green gaze of the Boy Who Lived. I tore my eyes away in time and stared at the floor, thinking that he was handsomer than I remembered, while I murmured a polite “Hello”." (I don't think Ginny calling Harry the Boy Who Lived makes her a fangirl, and I do think it's funny and charming of her as a 12 yr old girl :o))
"The door swung open alarmingly. Was there a ghoul in the Leaky Cauldron? No, it was only Hermione." (if you had a ghoul living in your house, you'd think one lived in everyone's house as well...how cute!)
"And Nearly-Headless Nick kept going on and on about how if the Basilisk could Petrify him, it ought to have been able to sever his head completely too, and could Madam Pomfrey do anything to complete his decapitation." (you did a good job with Nick...too bad he didn't get his wish)
"Hermione could evidently think of plenty of conversation points herself. It was a pity they all seemed to converge back on the Chamber of Secrets." (we all know that Hermione really doesn't possess much tact, but it's interesting to see how Ginny notices this and how it further distances her at this point)
"But Hermione did not reply. I stared at her impatiently. “Is there something they didn’t tell me? Answer me! If this is about me, I have the right to know.”" (poor Ginny...she should know everything there is to know about the Chamber and what happened there...this is an interesting way to have it explained to her. I can't wait for the next update!)
This is moving along quickly, and I'm looking forward to the next installment! You do so well in staying true to JKR's characters of Ginny and Hermione :o)

Reviewer: PolinaDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79507Chapter: 2
Another great chapter! I didn't know whether to laugh or cringe the whole time Hermione kept going on and on about being Petrified! On the one hand, it made me chuckle that Hermione kept chatting away in her characteristic way, but on the other hand she was being so terribly insensitive! Splendid chapter.

Favorite lines:

And Nearly-Headless Nick kept going on and on about how if the Basilisk could Petrify him, it ought to have been able to sever his head completely too, and could Madam Pomfrey do anything to complete his decapitation. As if she could do anything at all for a person who’s already dead! If you ask me, he’s lucky even that the mandrake juice worked on him.”

It's hilarious that this was the first thing Nick thought about when he became conscious again! :)

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79505Chapter: 2
You do a great job of interpreting Ginny's thoughts. I don't think I've ever read a fic that's purely from Ginny's PoV before but I really enjoyed this one.

I'm sure Ginny would be put out to discover that she has to share a room with Hermione and I really liked the interaction between the two girls in this piece.

And I like how Crookshanks has taken an immediate shine to Ginny...what with him being a good judge of character!!

Reviewer: Jolie BlackDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79502Chapter: 1
This is looking to be a very promising story indeed!

All canon characters seem nicely In Character to me, and Ginny’s feelings about the Weasleys’ poverty come across as very believable and genuine. All those little things…


But most of all, I really like the story idea, it’s a great missing moment to pick.

I really love the way the friendship between Ginny and Hermione has developed over the course of the books, but it *is* something that JKR just wants us to take for granted, and I admit I did, until now. But this story makes me realise that the Trio’s group dynamics (even if you left out the romantic vibes) are certainly complex enough to make you wonder whether Ginny and Hermione always got along just fine! They didn’t exactly start off on the right foot, either – I hadn’t quite realised this before, but this paragraph sums it up really well:

>>>> Mum didn’t say that our family owed Hermione Granger a few favours, but it hung in the air between us. It was my fault that Hermione had spent five weeks of the last year unconscious in the hospital wing. If Mr and Mrs Granger were to feel comfortable about sending Hermione back to Hogwarts, they had to see that most wizards were safe, responsible people. <<<<<<

And there’s so much more potential for conflict! I can’t wait to see how you will depict that over the course of the story.

I’m looking forward to the coming chapters! :-)


Jolie

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79499Chapter: 2
Oh dear, I hope Ginny will get a little happier in further chapters. Right now she sounds as though she really needs a hug. Or perhaps a psychiatrist. After all, she did go through a very stressful experience. In any case, great chapter as always. I hope the next is forthcoming soon.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79286Chapter: 1
cool..more please! :) xx

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79202Chapter: 1
I haven't read much fanfic lately, but this story caught my eye. It looks like your story is off to a great start...I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: StuDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79195Chapter: 1
I like this story already. Too much Hermione/Ginny stuff is all about giggles and girliness at first sight. This is much more interesting.

It also introduces the idea that Ginny needed a female friend as much as Hermione did, something I never got the impression of from Harry's POV. But it seems Harry and Ginny's mother both were wrong about the strenght of her early social contacts. I think you portrayed her situation perfectly.

Nothing about this bothered me, either, except for the whole Think/italics thing in the Leaky Cauldron, which I found sort of confusing. Is think a command? Was that her trying not to be jealous?

Happily awaiting more,

Stu

Reviewer: kattispitzDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79178Chapter: 1
very good! I never really thought about what Ginny must of been thinking after her 1st year and what she felt like when she talked to the people she petrified. You did a really good job of going inside Ginny's mind! Update soon! :)

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79164Chapter: 1
I like it so far. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79145Chapter: 1
You have my attention. I liked your characterization of Ginny as she enters her second year at school very interesting and will definitely be watching for the next chapter.

Reviewer: AreDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79144Chapter: 1
This is pretty good. I would like another chapter fast!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79139Chapter: 1
I'd love to see a continuation of this! Very intriguing. You've got Ginny down perfectly!

-Linnet

Reviewer: brettDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79123Chapter: 1
its really goood. i like how Ginny is thinking. trying to think about her first year but she still does. can't wait for more

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79115Chapter: 1
I like the beginning of this story so far, and how you've portrayed both Ginny's basic strong-willed personality (such as her interrupting Colin "just so Colin would know this wasn't a monologue) and how she has been affected by what happened in her first year. I think her jealousy of Hermione is quite believable, and am interested in seeing how you show their friendship starting. The other Weasleys are very IC (though I get a feeling Molly would have found out about Percy's girlfriend instead of still thinking he was just writing essays) as well, and you explain plausibly why Hermione was staying in the Leaky Cauldron.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79098Chapter: 1
very nice little story i hope you keep up with it =)

Reviewer: PolinaDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79088Chapter: 1
It's so great to see your new story! I enjoyed "Turning the Corner" immensely and from reading the first chapter of this one I'm sure I will love it, too. One can just feel Ginny's frustration building through this whole chapter. You do quite well with the first-person POV (a POV that I usually avoid in fanfic). Looking forward to future chapters!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79072Chapter: 1
This is an interesting start to an interesting point of view... I had never considered the fact that Ginny must feel excrutiatingly horrible for what she did to some people in CoS, namely Hermione, but also the fact that Ginny might not care for Hermione if she thinks Hermione likes Harry...
VERY good start... can't wait to read what's next!

Cheers!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79071Chapter: 1
Wow. Reading this made me remember how it is to be 12 and completely unsure of yourself. . . Wonderful, wonderful job. Few people have tackled the inner demons Ginny *must* have felt coming back to school after attacking everyone, and this is fantastic.

Reviewer: TabeaDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79069Chapter: 1
Great beginning! I hope you write about ten more chapters! :D

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79042Chapter: 1
Yay, first review! I was hoping you might write some more. I like your take on Ginny but I feel rather sorry for her. She sounds so lonely. She NEEDS a friend. It's also nice to see a story that focuses on friendship rather than pairings. Hope the next chapter is soon.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --