The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Just Be Tactful
Review(s): 32

Reviewer: DebbieODate: 2007-10-13
Reviewid: 149620Chapter: 1
Oh, that was great. Luna is such a wonderful character and you portrayed her very well here. I love how she outsmarts Ginny in this story. She has a way of always getting to the heart of things with Harry, it makes sense that she would with Ginny too. Nice.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-07
Reviewid: 136840Chapter: 1
Luna Rules

Reviewer: ^beat'n'happeningDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134101Chapter: 1
AGIVEGA LEFT THE SUGARQUILL!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: shaolaDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84636Chapter: 1
wow, very good story! I liked how you characterized the six. The beginning fight between Ron and Hermione was quite funny and really how you do expect them to act. The way you portraied Luna was just great, especially from Ginny's piont of view, who doesn't understand her and isn't really sure wether she likes Luna, as Luna is acting so crazy sometimes. So Ginny doesn't feel weird about asking Luna to be tactful to Harry, and isn't even sure wetherher words got through to the other girl. Nevertheless one notices that Luna does notice perhaps much more of what is happening around her and is possibly insulted by other people, just doesn't let it show- but really, we don't know, because she's so weird... Ok, enough of that, I'm babbling... but nice Neville and your Ginny was so great! How she isn't sure about her feelings for Harry and still does think about him a great deal and tries to help, whenever she can. I mean, going after Luna to prevent that she's hurting him accidentally... Ewww!

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83571Chapter: 1
Sorry - I mean 'not many fics'. Anyway, now I'm reviewing again: GREAT WORK!!

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83569Chapter: 1
This was very good. There aren't fics that have a Luna who is just right, but this one does. Her character is very well captured (or not captured, as it is Luna) and so is Ginnny's. I really like it.

Reviewer: maidenjediDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83466Chapter: 1
Wow...Luna's *great* in this piece. She stands out above everyone else. It's a solid read and a wonderful choice for a missing scene. I've been wanting to read decent Ginny-POV fic from OotP and I'm glad to have stumbled on this.

Reviewer: Sinistra MDate: 2004-05-18
Reviewid: 83199Chapter: 1
Excellent!!! I loved your take on this off-the-page discussion; it's just how I'd have wanted it to go!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83122Chapter: 1
Marvelous, how well you presented Luna. The dreamy girl who still picks up more than anyone would ever think.

Reviewer: missbDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79598Chapter: 1
“Yes,” Ginny snapped. She had mounting feelings of irritation. For Michael and his childishness, for Cho and her prettiness, for Luna and her dreaminess, and for Harry’s desperate, unbearable pain."

Fantastic line!

I loved this story! It's very hard to find a good characterization of Luna, but you managed a great one here. Well done! :)

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79280Chapter: 1
That was great! I think Luna is really hard to write and you really captured her! Good job!

Reviewer: peckerDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79276Chapter: 1
okokokokokokokok

Reviewer: JellyDingyStarDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79214Chapter: 1
Well, sorry it wasn't awkward exactly, I just got the impression that the story was more aimed for H/G evidence than... Sorry about that last reveiw.

Reviewer: JellyDingyStarDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79212Chapter: 1
Erm, well that was sort of awkward. No that it wasn't good but it seemed to be more a Harry/Ginny story.

Reviewer: Hunter's MoonDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79190Chapter: 1
This is a great fic! The character's voices - Ron's, Hermione's, Luna and Ginny's - were so natural and close to canon! I like how you incorporated certain aspects from OoTP, such as the Ginny-Michael relationship and how Harry didn't notice Luna until fifth year, without making it seem forced.

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79174Chapter: 1
This one was really good - it was an excellent Luna, and Ginny was right too.

“Probably more complicated,” Luna said. She looked completely calm. “Everything always is.”

Only Luna would think of that ...

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79168Chapter: 1
awesome missing moment because i really can see this scene between ginny and luna happening...great work!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79140Chapter: 1
I like how "Luna did not instinctively whip round like most people Ginny knew. Instead she turned slowly, like a ballerina in a Muggle music box, until she faced her companion."

It's very Luna-ish. I think this was my favorite line. You've gotten Luna's personality down very well--great job!

-Linnet

Reviewer: brettDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79120Chapter: 1
i really like this new one you have. its really good and i love how you write Luna its so like her is the HP books:D and i really like your other story "the GReat Partenr Swap" its all really good. please keep on writing

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79111Chapter: 1
I really liked your depiction of the Ginny-Luna relationship. I think it's very difficult to write Luna believably, and you've done it very well here. I've never tried yet, even though I know someone who has some Luna-like qualities (not the affinity for weird conspiracy theories, but the same "eccentricity" and dreaminess.) I thought her sudden change of tone to down-to-earth angry when Ginny calls the Stubby Boardman theory "rubbish" was also quite IC. I really liked the dramatic irony of Ginny being so worried that Luna is going to upset Harry with her unique approach to life if the subject of Sirius comes up between them, since the reader knows that Luna actually helps Harry find some measure of peace where no one else could.

Reviewer: nikiDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79087Chapter: 1
Good one! i thought your characterizations were great! Luna and ginny were spot on, and Neville, Hermione, and ron were very realistic though they played significantly smaller roles. I also liked Ginny's feeling that she'd been outsmarted somehow . . . I think that sums up Luna's interaction with the others pretty well. It seems almost like instead of noticing less than the rest as it sometimes seems, she sees a lot more clearly than others at times.

Reviewer: BasilMDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79082Chapter: 1
That's very good. I could see this really happening, and Ginny’s thoughts seem right on the mark.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79081Chapter: 1
This is really good. Your Luna is terrificly frustrating and dreamy, just like in canon, and I really like how you write her. You did a nice job with Neville, Ginny, Ron, and Hermione, too. Thanks for a delightful story.

Reviewer: Ayla LupinDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79080Chapter: 1
Hmm - that was very good. I say "hmm" because it made me wonder, you know? Luna has be as befuddled as Ginny. ^^ Ah well, a mark of a good story!

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79067Chapter: 1
Nicely done. I think you have captured Luna's qualities and Ginny's urgency very well. Great job!

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79064Chapter: 1
Wow. This is quite good. Everyone is in character. Love it. I especially love your Luna. Great.
~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: sabrinaDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79060Chapter: 1
Wow, I never imagined this situation like this.
Good work!

Reviewer: WindscionDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79054Chapter: 1
Awesome Luna.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79051Chapter: 1
Wow, I've seen some decent Luna's from other people, but none came even close to yours. You wrote her so well, it's amazing! Of course, you wrote all the characters very well, but somehow I always felt that Luna is the most difficult to figure out, b/c, well... no one can truly figure her out! Not even Ginny. Oh yeah, and your Ginny is perfect: her actions, her thoughts, the way she takes care of Harry without him even being aware.

When I read that phrase you start with, I always imagined that Luna was the one to ask Ginny about Sirius. But of course, your interpretation is so much more interesting, and somehow, given Luna's character, more likely. I'm impressed how you took that remark and ran with it. Excellent work!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79048Chapter: 1
Great story! I like how awkward their interaction is--it's a reminder that they're not really that close. I like how secretly perceptive Luna is about Ginny and Harry, and how Ginny is still a bit touchy on the subject, responding far too quickly to questioning. It's interesting that neither Neville nor Luna really knew why they were going to the Department of Mysteries, so I'm glad to see how Ginny explained the situation, though she could have been a bit more tactful herself in some ways. Excellent!

Reviewer: miejDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79046Chapter: 1
Hi, great story..I really like it :D..

Reviewer: HeatherDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 79040Chapter: 1
What a great missing moment! I think you captured Luna very well, as well as the somewhat awkward (or, what I have always presumed to be somewhat awkward) nature of Ginny and Luna's friendship. Well done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --