The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Oblivious
Review(s): 40

Reviewer: wonderwolfDate: 2006-04-07
Reviewid: 141721Chapter: 1
This is great... Good job.

Reviewer: MagicdustDate: 2006-02-05
Reviewid: 139392Chapter: 1
I absoulutly love it! It is imaginative and suspensful. You certainly have a knack for writing! You can adopt personas and every detail just falls into place
Cheers!
Magicdust

Reviewer: Rachael EdwardsDate: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134922Chapter: 1
Very nice, especially for a first-time author!The characterizations were well-done, and the writing style was clean and spare. And, my personal favorite, everything was spelled correctly and the grammar was correct! It's always nice to see an author taking the effort to correct in these small but oh-so-important areas.

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-06
Reviewid: 109941Chapter: 1
Much too short, but nice.

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2004-12-11
Reviewid: 107547Chapter: 1
this was really cute, i like it!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107440Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2004-11-29
Reviewid: 106303Chapter: 1
An interesting and original idea. You captured Lockhart’s psyche beautifully and I really enjoyed the character of Healer Howell. This is very believable- Lockhart can be so frustrating and endearing at the same time- he really still is a precocious child. I look forward to seeing more of your writing.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: JenDate: 2004-11-19
Reviewid: 105241Chapter: 1
Just wanted to drop you a line to let you know how much I enjoyed this story. This was written just as I imagined it would be if Jo does partake on ever bringing Gilderoy back again. I noticed you are a new author here and I must say I look forward to reading more of your work in the future!

Reviewer: mikey ur lil bro lolDate: 2004-08-07
Reviewid: 96238Chapter: 1
hey adele*
its mike
uk ur bro u told me to review ur storie, so i did

Reviewer: Godric' HollowDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 96011Chapter: 1
Hi Adele, I enjoyed this little story. Im trying to read more fanfiction as I have only read about 5!
I think you really captured his character. I though it was mean that the healer didnt just obliviate from behind when he wasnt paying attention instead of telling him. I laughed my head off with the opening sentences! He was really funny, and the Healer in training had the perfect amount of 'sick of this guy but have to do my job' Bravo (sorry Im shocking when it comes to reviewing fanfic)

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94036Chapter: 1
I'm torn between exasperation (on Lockhart, not your writing) and slight guilt. I mean, he did get hit by a Memory Charm and... well, those things can do things to a person.

Somehow you managed to write this story to the point where I didn't feel like strangling Lockhart, which is very rare thing.

Reviewer: frankie beebleboxDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93629Chapter: 1
Ha! What an interesting concept, having to re-modify poor Gil's memories time and time again. I supposed it would be rather traumatic to have to relearn everything. Wonderful characterization through the whole shebang, and I adore the poem in the beginning. Great job!

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-05-30
Reviewid: 85275Chapter: 1
Actually, this one is finished. I'm starting on a separate story, which, as of now, is titled "Divided, We Stand." I haven't had much time at all to do anything except study - junior year of high school is so much harder than I expectd it to be, especially second semester! It's been absolute chaos. So now that this is finals week and I've been exempt from all except two, I have time to breathe and time to write. I'm ecstatic!

I know this piece was not very long, but had it been any lengthier, I would have not been able to submit it! It was a last minute whip-up, and fortunately, it earned me a spot among these fine authors here.

Well, I've just spillt cranberry juice on my arm, but before I scamper off to clean myself up, I'd like to thank each and every one of you profusely for the sweet and constructive input. 27 reviews ... that's incredible. I'm touched! The very first review I received brought tears to my eyes, I was so excited. I've looked up to the writers here on the Sugar Quill for quite a long time, you see, and now's my chance to add a little bit of my own ingredients to the melting pot that is Sugar Quill.

OK, my arm's getting sticky, enough rambling for me.


Fondly, Adele - xox!

Reviewer: InkDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84542Chapter: 1
I think you did a really good job on this piece. I would have made it a teensy bit longer, but I enjoyed reading it. Are you going to continue this piece or stop it? (I'm a little confused.)

Great Job.

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83005Chapter: 1
That was a nice change of pace. I'd never read a story about Lockhart... later (other than the bit in Book 5), it's really well done.

I especially enjoyed the ending:
“Muggles?”

Blanche groaned and massaged her temples. “Nothing, Mr. Lockhart.”

“What do you mean by Muggles?”

“Good night, Mr. Lockhart.”


And congradulations on becoming a SQ author. :0)

Reviewer: StereoMDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80393Chapter: 1
Awww. I never thought I'd say Gilderoy is cute, but aww. He *is* cute. :)

Wonderful little story. :D

Reviewer: KaitDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80067Chapter: 1
Yup, its me again! But I just wanted to say, from one Draco fan to another, I love that his initials are GEL. It goes to show how superficial he is, and I love it!

Ok, I'm not coming back now, I promise!!

Reviewer: KaitDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80066Chapter: 1
ADELE!! YOU'RE HERE!! CONGRATS!!

Alright then...on to the story.

This is just SO cute. I think it is totally in-character. It goes to show that not even a memory charm will change a person. It kind of makes me feel sorry for the poor guy...but just a little, as he is still a credit-stealing liar!

You did a gread job on this, and make sure you go on to your second piece! See you at UR!

~Kait

Reviewer: Merry MorrisDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79776Chapter: 1
I always wondered whatever happened to Lockhart after book 2--poor fellow. I did enjoy your story, though...
It sounded just like him...the NEW Lockhart, andyway. Ooh, I'm getting confused. Good luck in your writing!

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79717Chapter: 1
Adele, you made it! Well done to you for persevering and for writing such a great piece. Your Gilderoy is absolutely IC and I love your idea about the impact of his memory charm. Poor old Gilderoy - he's such an idiot really, but a charming one.

Hope to read a lot more from you soon :)

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79692Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so original--poor Gilderoy! I really liked your opening--with the valentine reference from CoS. I can see how the healers would lose patience--you did a great job showing how annoying/endearing he was. Looking forward to your next fic.--whatever it may be!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79687Chapter: 1
Cute. I think you have him perfectly in character.

“I want this seat to be shared with everyone, though with the common knowledge that it is principally mine.
-Never too far down to try to be one up on everyone else.

“What do you mean by Muggles?”
-Hmm. Never thought that GEL might be Muggleborn.

I love the way you’re always clean (struck out)
-Makes you wonder about his dating history.

Reviewer: DelaniDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79658Chapter: 1
Wow. I like this piece, Lockheart is (dare i say it) cute. I feel badly that his fortune had to turn out the way it did, but this piece doesn't make me feel sad, just kind of makes me goo, "awwww", (in a cute/sad way :) ) Nicely done!

Reviewer: Adele26Date: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79613Chapter: 1
From one Adele to another, very well done. I'm looking forward to your next submission.

Reviewer: KatDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79545Chapter: 1
OMG it was perfect. Managed to be hilarious and sad at the same time. Great job. I hope you write more stories soon.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79527Chapter: 1
[Gilderoy Lockhart beamed and left his quill to rest in the inkbottle. Absolutely exquisite. I ought to get it published. Or make it a greeting card. And I could be on the cover!] OMG! That was perfect! You've captured Lockhart's wonderful sense of optimistic narcessism!

Nice snapshot of what it must be like to work with people who have memory problems. It reminds me of the time I volunteered at a nursing home where most of the residents had Alzheimers. You write Blanche's feelings with a perfect mix of frustration, sadness, and affection. Looking forward to your second piece.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79510Chapter: 1
very nice little story =)

Reviewer: TobyDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79489Chapter: 1
From one dork to another, I had a lot of fun with this. Lockhart was one of my least favorite characters and you humanized him for me. Thanks!

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79465Chapter: 1
Wowee! You're finally here, my adopted-mum-from-Unredeemed! Hilarious fic, too. Love the ickle Gildieness of it all. He's hilarious. Peace out.

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79456Chapter: 1
Aww...how sweet, cute, and original. The only comment I have is that this sentance "his favorite one in the entire room – no, entire hospital… okay, he hadn’t been through the entire hospital, so say, ward – which he always sat in " was a bit weirdly phrased...you can disagree...truthfully, thats all...the rest was perfect!

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79437Chapter: 1
To other reviewers who didn't quite "get" it: In CoS, when Lockhart is flying back to Myrtle's bathroom on the tail of the phoenix, he exclaims, "This is just like magic!" Clearly, he has not only forgotten that he is a wizard, he has even forgotten that magic exists. This does indeed suggest that he is a Muggle-born.

However, canon-Lockhart still retains the memory of non-personal concepts such as "professor" and "sword". In fact this is an entirely plausible concept of a memory charm, since memories of personal reference and memories of facts and ideas are stored in different brain circuits. Lose the latter, and you just don't function; lose the former, and you have no sense of self, but you can still speak about general things.

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79435Chapter: 1
Loved this! You hit off Lockhart superbly.

“I want this seat to be shared with everyone, though with the common knowledge that it is principally mine. I want the world to know that I, Gilderoy Lockhart, have written my greatest masterpieces in this very chair.”

It really doesn't seem that he'll ever recover, does it?

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79424Chapter: 1
Congratulations for becoming a SQ author!

Now, on to the story - Brilliant idea, to say the least. Lockheart was always a joke to me, but this story made me think things through. To lose something as important as ones memory is not a joke at all. You made this point pretty clear and for that, I congratulate you.

My favourite part was:
'Gilderoy’s chest heaved with every breath. “No! I’m not! I’m just a man, a very talented one, with charming good looks and a smile to die for! You’re just – just – JEALOUS!”'

Perfect Lockheart.

Hope to see the next piece soon.

Animus

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79401Chapter: 1
Ugh, I forgot to change the James to Janus. I really do think I need glasses.

Thanks for the heads-up! I'm going to see if I could possibly get that changed...

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79381Chapter: 1
This is a great story. You've captured Lockhart perfectly. It seems he can only make so much progress, but maybe that's a good thing. He's as much a danger to himself as other people. I'd like to find out more about Blanche Howell. My only nitpick (apart from "Bibbity-bobbity-boo", but that could be explained by a Muggle background) is that it's the JANUS Thickey Ward. Not James. ^^;; Sorry about that.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: MadelineDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79372Chapter: 1
Adele, I really love this story. I finally read it after you plugged it on UR, and I can see why SQ accepted it.

I like how Lockhart, though "incapacitated," still retains his personality from before the accident. He is still very conceited, just for different reasons.

My favorite part was the poem. It's very artsy, if you ask me. :)

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79347Chapter: 1
::grins::

very cute. I love his poem! I'm not exactly sure why a Memory Charm would erase his knowledge of magic though; particularly if he's not Muggleborn, and I didn't get the sense that he was.

aside from that little nitpicky bit, it was a good story:) Leland Artzt? Interesting name...

My favourite little detail was the fact that it was *his* chair, but Lockhart was big enough to share it with the rest of the ward ;)

Favourite line?
>Another slight grin softened Leland’s austere face. “Twelve’s a charm.”

heehee
~TPR

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79319Chapter: 1
It s finally up! And I love it! I think i feel a few changes in it, but only a few! I like the concept and the way you bring it off!

Some things I like:
>>With a brisk wave of her wand, Blanche conjured up a bacon buttie on a plain, white plate.<< I definitely like the detail in this sentence. I can see it there!

>> “How good to see you, Healer …?”
Head Healer Leland Artzt stared at him in confusion before responding. “Healer Artzt.”
“Right on the tip of my tongue,” said Gilderoy, apparently unfazed. << Very much in character! This just screams of Lockhart!

Great work!!

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79315Chapter: 1
This is clever. I could see the frustration of the folks working with Mr. Lockhart to get him to focus. He really did a job on himself in CoS, and the you have hit the precision of why the healers of his ward treat him like a child.

I think it is interesting that you have made him afraid of magic. He was not particularly good with it while he was in charge of all his faculties, but he has lots of Muggle associations of magic. What assumptions are you assigning to Lockhart?

Was he Muggle-born? "Bibbity-bobbity-boo," is a Disney reference that is distictly in the Muggle realm. Why do you have Lockhart remember this? He has no recollection of his life as a wizard, as you have written him.

I don't think that the hospital healers would "make him live like the Muggles out there" in any event. Ability to connect with his magic or not, he is a wizard (though not competent, by any stretch of the imagination). He has no memory. The wizarding world does seem to be a cold place, but I don't think they would cast him out at his most vulnerable moment. The Longbottoms are not going anywhere, and I don't think it is reasonable to assume that Lockhart is, either. He is a wizard with a severe wizarding problem. His amnesia was caused by a spell, and sending him to live among Muggles would accomplish...what? That would make him a problem of the Muggles, but he would be just as successful connecting there as he has in the wizarding world.

I am curious about your motivations. In any event, this piece is sweet. It was creative, from an interesting perspective. I hope to watch you grow as an author.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: KewiiDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79314Chapter: 1
I loved it.
I loved the combination of the good old Lockhart from CoS combined with the unknowing aspect (its almost childlike).

I also loved Miss Howell. A great character that I would like to see more of.

COngrats on your first Quill piece.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --