The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Unexpected Desire
Review(s): 49

Reviewer: Kaity PotterDate: 2006-11-12
Reviewid: 146148Chapter: 1
Wow great story !!

Reviewer: lil_munchkinDate: 2006-05-06
Reviewid: 142583Chapter: 1
another awesum fic!!! still, i think that giiny does NOT suit dean! HARRY AND GINNY ARE DESTINED TO BE TOGETHE AND YOU KNOW IT!!!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140093Chapter: 1
Another Excellent bit of enjoyment. Thanks

Reviewer: KresselDate: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137079Chapter: 1
This had me riveted! Of course Ginny would see a family when she looked in the mirror; she's a very maternal character with such a strong mother as a model. And as we all know now, it had to be Harry. Very sweet that Dumbledore should be hoping for it and for precisely the reasons you gave. The contraceptive bit shocked me a little, but that's the modern secular world, I suppose. Thanks for the story!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133979Chapter: 1
Aaaawwwwww! LOVED it.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-07
Reviewid: 113196Chapter: 1
I really liked that. A good idea, using the Room of Requirement to get to the mirror. Very cute and well written. Ginny was very well characterised, although I thought Luna seemed a bit- less wildly eccentric than she was in the books. Still, I guess we’ve never really seen her just relaxing around friends. Any how, very good fic, I especially liked Dean in this.

Reviewer: Persephone LunaDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106410Chapter: 1
Ahh! This is masterful! I cannot possibibly say how much MEANING this fic portrays. I love how it ends (even though I want more!) with leaving so many possibilities open. Just like the moral of the story, there are so many choices placed before us. Thank you for writing this, Mistral. You did a wonderful job with an ingenius idea.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95812Chapter: 1
I had a computer crash and lost everything--and this is the only way I know to contact you. So, is there a part two to this wonderful story yet? ;-)

Reviewer: ChristineDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95273Chapter: 1
I quite enjoyed that, and look forward to reading more stories by you!

Reviewer: LeiDate: 2004-07-14
Reviewid: 92290Chapter: 1
This fic 1 of the greatest i've read since i joined! ^_^

Reviewer: jaderookDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 90034Chapter: 1
Awww! This was great. Doesn't everyone go through this? Magic mirrors or not...

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85473Chapter: 1
But...wait....what does she choose?

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2004-05-25
Reviewid: 84541Chapter: 1
I enjoyed reading this fic. I thought that it was different from a lot of the ones i've read. Good job

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81843Chapter: 1
Very cool Mirror of Erised fic. I liked your take on the twelve children, and think that you did a wonderful job with Ginny. She is very in character and really comes to life. I also liked your portrayel of the friendship between Ginny, Luna and Hermione, it rang really true to canon. I liked Hermione's knight line, it's great to read after spending time at various debate threads.

Reviewer: craftygurlDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80744Chapter: 1
ohhhhhhhhhh, sooooooooo sweet! that was sooooo cute! keep on writing!

Reviewer: JaimeDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80632Chapter: 1
Awesome story! But it's ended? I don't want it to end here. There are so many things left unresolved, like what is Harry thinking through all this? Do Hermione and Luna ever visit the mirror? What does Hermione know about Harry's feelings exactly? And what does the future hold for all concerned?

I'd love to see a sequel or another point of view to this story. I'm sure this story will be one that I revisit in the future. : )

Reviewer: Bryonia AlbaDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80371Chapter: 1
I'm not an H/G shipper. I'll admit that right off. Still, I liked this story a lot. I liked that rather than *throwing* Harry and Ginny together and they automatically fall in love, you instead leave other possibilities open. The attraction is there, the desire is there, and the compatibility is there, but the choice is there as well. I liked the simultaneous sense of inevitability and ambiguousness you gave your story.
I adored your characterizations, especially Luna's. She was appropriately eccentric and dreamy, but it was done subtly, which is rare in a Luna characterization. I also liked your Dean, who is rarely written about. Yes, he's artistic, but you made him an artist with an actual personality, and one that I liked very much.
While Neville/Ginny is still my OTP, I enjoyed reading this. Really nice job!

Reviewer: AramintaDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80073Chapter: 1
Wow! What a nice, thougtful fic! You are really good at writing meaningful dialogue, and mixing that with character thoughts. Ginny was fantastic in this, and i really thought you did a nice job with Luna.

Loved this line--“I’m not waiting for him,” Hermione said, her eyes still on the Quidditch pitch. “I just…don’t want anyone else. He’s my knight.”
::squeals:: Ahhh...Ron and Hermione...

The great thing about this story is that, even though Ginny knows what she desires, she finds that she isn't confined to a fate and comes away from this particular challenge with a new sense of self, and a positive feeling about her future possibilities. Great job!

Reviewer: JaquelyneDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79813Chapter: 1
I have to agree with another reviewer. I did have many questions after the end of the story. There are things going on with the friends that aren't being seen.

Like I think that Harry is harbouring a crush on Ginny. What happened when he looked at the painting. I would love to know what his reaction was... or the reaction that the painted Ginny had at being viewed by Harry. Dean didn't speak of it, and he knows that they are friends.

Also, what would Harry and Ron see now, if they looked in the mirror.

I love the story. I had read it on another site, can't remember where and loved it then. When I saw it here, I reread it for that reason. But the questions this time were louder. I am with the others about a sequel. Either Harry's POV and him finding the mirror again... or a year or so later from Gin's POV.

~J~

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79795Chapter: 1
Wow. This was beautiful. You're so talented.

Reviewer: DelylahDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79690Chapter: 1
Lovely, lovely story. I halfway hoped that she would find Harry in front of the mirror, and discover that they wanted the same thing, but the way you ended it is so much better. This is absolutely going into my "all time faves" list.

Reviewer: LDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79684Chapter: 1
aw, very cute! I'm loving all the Ginny fics!

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79607Chapter: 1
Hi Mistral, great to see you applying your skills again. I think that JPH and GWIHOW are some of the best of the pre-OOTP fan works.

I'll echo much of the praise you've already received. Like many of your readers, I'm left wanting more. You leave a lot for us to finish in our heads. Is Ginny going to break up with Dean soon? I think so, but it doesn't appear guaranteed. And how will she react if Harry takes another girlfriend? Right now she seems to think she'll take it well, but will she, really?

Very astute how Ginny characterize Harry as being unready for a real relationship, how his upbringing has contributed to his emotional immaturity. That paragraph in the middle is very interesting -- even Harry admitting to Ginny that he really doesn't know how to treat a girlfriend. And Ginny realizing that Harry will need love to sustain him in his eventual fight. Wow.

Sure, I'd love a sequel - but perhaps it might be more interesting if you jump forward a year or two. Maybe a vignette from mid-late seventh year - Harry has had a few more girfriends, but nothing lasts, but he cherishes his three female friends even more than before. Ginny is done with Dean, and not looking further.

Oh, and there certainly is some hint of an interest from Harry - just why did he hesitate so long up in the dorm over that new picture of Ginny? Nicely understated, that bit.

thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: Kate_AnguaPotterDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79605Chapter: 1
I really like this. Um... That's all. It made me feel very happy. But I have to say that from now on I demand that Harry and Ginny have to have heaps of kids in all the fanfiction I read. I've never liked fics where they only have one or two, generally spoiled brats. Harry needs a BIG family.

Reviewer: TAMIRALUNEDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79580Chapter: 1
very cute. Especially liked the one about Ginny in a bathing suit!;)

Reviewer: AnimusDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79574Chapter: 1
Pretty good work, to say the least.

I like how you developed the topic and concluded it. Flawless execution. I also liked the parallels you draw between Harry and Ginny. I can really see Ginny seeing exactly that if she would come across the Mirror.

Keep up the good work.

Animus

Reviewer: MeDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79573Chapter: 1
I LOOOOVE this ficcy! It teaches a great lesson and itz very well written. Couldn't ask for more... besides maybe a sequel with what Ginny does with her life, but I suppose you can't have your cake and eat it too, but you do have your cake because itz in your tummy... so maybe the sequel is in my tummy! Okay, I'll stop now... :P

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-04-20
Reviewid: 79559Chapter: 1
Fantastic! I really really liked this... partly because I liked how you wrote the characters wonderfully... and partly because you've suggested great things ... such as a relationship between Hermione and Ron... and a possible relationship between Ginny and Harry... but you didn't actually act upon them, you just hung them out there for all to see.
Thanks for your great story! I really enjoyed it!

Cheers!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: a.j.Date: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79557Chapter: 1
Very well thought out and written. I'm just sad that's the end of it. You hinted at a lot of possible story arcs throughout your fic. I hope you continue them because I'd love to read them!!!

Reviewer: DaeDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79543Chapter: 1
very good everyone was in perfect charater.
please consider writing a Sequel.

Reviewer: AntoniaeastDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79516Chapter: 1
That was fantastic, an utterly amazing fic. Ginny's character was very well written, as were all the characters from the books. And the scene in the mirror was so sweet.

Reviewer: JenadamsonDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79509Chapter: 1
What a wonderful story! Ginny's characterisation was spot on, as were Luna's and Hermione's. I love mature! Ron. And Hermione calling Ron her knight...fitting for a chess player. It's nice to see a story in which Ginny is content with her life and boyfriend (Dean was lovely, by the way). Ginny sitting on the floor with Dumbledore was also wondeful to see. The glimpses into Harry's feelings for Ginny were great, too (and probably my favourite part!). I get the feeling that he's told Hermione something she couldn't share with Ginny. A piece from his pov would be more than welcome. Great job!

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79504Chapter: 1
Oh, that was thoroughly enjoyable! Thankyou!

Reviewer: GridleyDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79493Chapter: 1
Without a doubt, this has to be the best fic I've seen with the Mirror of Erised. I'm glad you pointed out how the deepest desire of one's heart is not the only one, and implied how that desire can change (perhaps only slightly, but still change) with time. Nice also to see the little flashes of Harry's interest in Ginny.

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79469Chapter: 1
Wow very well written. I hope you consider writing a sequel to this. Dumbledore's talk with Ginny was very well done.

Lot of small little things like reactions and things people say like Luna and Hermione, very in character.

I sincerely hope you consider writing a sequel.

Beautifully done.

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79460Chapter: 1
My goodness, I usually don't review unless the story is truly worth it. This is superbly written with spot on characterization and plot. Your stile, in my opinion has even improved from Just Plain Harry. Rather than telling the reader the story, you supply a vehicle that carries us through the story so that we may enjoying it in our own unique way. Of course I’m a sap so that meant tears…thank you very much…and now I’m an hour past my normal bedtime. Six a.m. comes early, but the smile on my face as I slip into sleep tonight will have made it worth it. Thank you.

Elizabeth

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79446Chapter: 1
I loved this! You've got every characterization absolutely perfect, and the idea of Ginny looking into the Mirror is intriguing. I was a bit confused on whether Ginny was going to break up with Dean or not in the end, but I believe I'm right in saying that she's not going to. Anyway, fantastic job, and I'd love to read more of your work!

-Linnet

Reviewer: martDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79423Chapter: 1
brilliant!!!!
you've got to post this at other sites too. this is one of the best ginny fics i've read. my ony quibble is that luna seemed OOC, but then she is hard to write.

Reviewer: DelaniDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79421Chapter: 1
Bravo! Bravisimo! Sequel, the audience cries! Dumbledore's suggestion of Harry's
Erised encounter is the perfect opportunity! Would you consider writing an updated visit from Harry's POV? Pretty Please? I loved this one so much!

Reviewer: AshaDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79402Chapter: 1
I just have one thing to say.

Sequel!!!

great work.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79394Chapter: 1
Very, very interesting. I don't know if I really think Ginny would see that in the Mirror, but it certainly makes a good story. Obviously she would be extremely thrown by seeing something like that. I like how you had Harry acting slightly strange around Ginny, and recognizing how well they interact, setting up a basis for them in the future. Hermione and Luna seem to overlook the fact that the Mirror does not show the future, and that what a person sees may not even be possible. But since they haven't talked directly with Dumbledore about it like Harry has, they may not understand it exactly. I'd wager Harry doesn't really understand it entirely, either. Very, very interesting. I'd be interested in reading other stories you write, as well. Excellent!

Reviewer: Melissa ReneeDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79391Chapter: 1
Very nice. I liked the twelve children bit and Ginny's horror at the thought of becoming her mum (so realistic).

Reviewer: mayDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79365Chapter: 1
It has been quite a while.
This has been a wonderful return to find a new story posted by you.
Totally found myself immersed in this captivating story.
Absolutely fell in love with the idea of the Mirror of desire and what Ginny's deepest desire is.
Brilliant!
Outstanding!
This story made me so happy!

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79359Chapter: 1
wow! This is a great fic! I love what Ginny seems and how shocked she is. A Dean posting Ginny's picture by his bed . . . lol!

Reviewer: HarteDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79348Chapter: 1
Great story. So many stories paint Dean as wimpy or evil. You have his character just right. You might want to write a sequel, from Harry's point of view. I do wonder what he felt when the looked at the picture Dean drew. Also, maybe Hermione would also sneak in.

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79338Chapter: 1
I must say that this fic was absolutely splendid! I think you captured Ginny extremely well, as you always have even before OoTP came out. Though, I think Luna might need to be a little more odd and dreamy, but that's about the only problem I can find! You did a wonderful job, and I must say, this has made me think quite a bit. And I might just suggest a sequel, wherein Harry visits the Mirror again...but, that's just me...
Great Job! Keep it up!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79337Chapter: 1
I will put this fic in my favourites folder and read it sometime. I skimmed through it and know that I will enjoy it. Well done.

Reviewer: MandrakeDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79329Chapter: 1
I loved this! Really well written and good characterizations - especially Luna, hardly anyone can write a really believable Luna. Is there any more to this story? I feel like I still have lots of unanswered questions. Like what was up with Harry? Has he finally noticed our little Ginny? And what is she going to do about Dean? Surely there's a sequel in there somewhere? ;) Even without one, this was a great read. Thanks!

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79321Chapter: 1
I did like it, but it seemed a bit too drawn out--each scene could have been shorter. It just needed a little tightening up. But I liked it, I did! I don't know about G/Dean; I sort of thought that she was just saying that to Ron to vex him. The whole 'family' thing at the end was very sweet. Sniff.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --